DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (identifying cognitive impairment based on gaze may be considered an abstract idea) without significantly more.
For independent claim 1, the claim(s) recite(s) a process of identifying cognitive impairment by acquiring digital biomarker data, performing a preliminary task, and acquiring task-associated gaze information to determine cognitive impairment. As broadly as claimed these steps may be reasonably considered as the judicial exception of a mental process performable within the human mind, including by observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion forming, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III). For example, at least, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional observing a patient, and using the data to mentally extract, classify or learn from data features to determine a gaze related impairment. Similar may be considered a mental process when law enforcement professionals conduct sobriety testing.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the process steps as broadly as claimed are not tied to nor required to be performed, executed, or programmed on a special purpose computer.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the nominally recited processor and user terminal is/are recited at a high level of generality, not amounting to significantly more and instead amounting to insignificant data gathering as pre-solution activity.
Depending claims 2-10 inherit and do not remedy the non-statutory deficiency noted above, despite further specifying steps relating to tasks, display, faze analysis, and digital biomarker data, these further specificities do not integrate into practical application nor do they amount to significantly more via recitation of additional element(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hill et al. (WO 2018/006013, hereinafter Hill).
For claim 1, Hill discloses a method of identifying mild cognitive impairment by at least one processor of a device ([0055-0060]), the method comprising:
performing a task (106) of acquiring digital biomarker data for identifying mild cognitive impairment of a user of a user terminal (122) (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]);
performing a preliminary task (402) to allow the user to check the task before performing the task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]); and
acquiring gaze information (404) of the user in conjunction with performing the task and the preliminary task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]);
wherein the gaze information is used when determining displayed information in the preliminary task, and used when identifying mild cognitive impairment of the user in the task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 2, Hill discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preliminary task includes a test protocol database (108):
a first preliminary task causing a first object to be displayed on a first region of a screen displayed on the user terminal (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]);
a second preliminary task causing a second object to be displayed on a second region different from the first region on the screen of the user terminal instead of the first object (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]);
a third preliminary task of determining whether the user is gazing at a third region opposite to the second region based on the gaze information in conjunction with performing the second preliminary task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]); and
a fourth preliminary task causing different information to be displayed on the screen of the user terminal based on whether the user is gazing at the third region (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]).
For claim 3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the fourth preliminary task includes:
a first information output task (110) causing first information that the user is gazing at the third region to be displayed on the screen of the user terminal if it is recognized that the user's gaze is gazing at the third region based on the gaze information (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]); or
a second information output task (110) causing second information prompting the user to gaze at the third region to be displayed on the screen of the user terminal when it is recognized that the gaze of the user does not gaze at the third region based on the gaze information (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 4, Hill discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the second information is displayed in a region different from a region in which the first information is displayed on the screen of the user terminal (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 5, Hill discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the second information is displayed on a peripheral region of the second region where the second object is displayed (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 6, Hill discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the task includes:
a first task causing the first object to be displayed on the first region of the screen displayed on the user terminal after the fourth preliminary task is performed (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]);
a second task causing the second object to be displayed on the second region instead of the first object on the screen of the user terminal (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]); and
a third task of acquiring the digital biomarker data for identifying mild cognitive impairment of the user based on first gaze information acquired while performing the first task and the second task a preset number of times (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072] especially [0045, 0048, 0067, 0068, 0071, 0072]).
For claim 7, Hill discloses the method according to claim 6, further comprising:
calculating a score value (406) by inputting the digital biomarker data into a pre-learned mild cognitive impairment identification model (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]); and
determining whether mild cognitive impairment exists based on the score value (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the gaze information is generated by the device analyzing an image after the device receives the image including eyes of the user from the user terminal (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 9, Hill discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the gaze information is information received by the device from the user terminal, and is generated by the user terminal analyzing an image including eyes of the user (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 10, Hill discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the digital biomarker data comprises information on a number of times the user gazed at the third region, information on a number of times the user gazed at a region other than the third region, information on whether the user's gaze continues to stare at a specific point for the preset time, information on a time elapsed for the user's gaze to move while performing the second task, information on movement speed of the user's gaze and information on whether the user's gaze is accurately staring at the third region (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 11, Hill discloses a computer program stored on a computer-readable storage medium (software of 102), wherein the computer program, when executed on at least one processor (104) of a device (102), performs processes of identifying mild cognitive impairment (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]), the processes comprising:
performing a task (106) of acquiring digital biomarker data for identifying mild cognitive impairment of a user of a user terminal (122) (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]);
performing a preliminary task (402) to allow the user to check the task before performing the task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]); and
acquiring gaze information (404) of the user in conjunction with performing the task and the preliminary task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]);
wherein the gaze information is used when determining displayed information in the preliminary task, and used when identifying mild cognitive impairment of the user in the task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
For claim 12, Hill discloses a device (100) for identifying mild cognitive impairment, the device comprising:
a storage (storage of 102) configured to store at least one program instruction (software of 102); and
at least one processor (104) configured to execute the at least one program instruction (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]),
wherein the at least one processor performs a task (106) of acquiring digital biomarker data for identifying mild cognitive impairment of a user of a user terminal (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]), performs a preliminary task (402) to allow the user to check the task before performing the task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]), and acquires gaze information (404) of the user in conjunction with performing the task and the preliminary task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]), and
wherein the gaze information is used when determining displayed information in the preliminary task, and used when identifying mild cognitive impairment of the user in the task (Figs 1, 4-6) ([0024-0045, 0062-0072]).
Conclusion
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791