DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
1. The following is a NON-FINAL Office action upon examination of application number 18/316,139 filed on 05/11/2023, in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on April 07, 2026. Claims 1-28 are pending in this application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Priority
3. Application 18/316,139 filed 05/11/2023 claims Priority from Provisional Application 63/340,506, filed 05/11/2022.
Response to Amendment
4. In the response filed April 07, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 2-3, 6, 9-14, 17-18, 20-21, 23, and 26-27, and did not cancel any claims. New claim 28 was presented for examination.
5. Applicant's amendments to the status identifier of claim 22 is hereby acknowledged. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously issued claim objection; accordingly, this objection has been removed.
6. Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 3, 11-12, and 14 are hereby acknowledged. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously issued claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); accordingly, this rejection has been withdrawn.
7. Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 11, and 12 are hereby acknowledged. The amendments are not sufficient to overcome the previously issued claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101; accordingly, this rejection has been maintained.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed April 07, 2026, have been fully considered.
9. Applicant submits “Independent claim 1 is amended to recite: "populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variables to perform operational execution of exercises and training for the plurality of exercise participants based on the initial requirements, the one or more detailed requirements, and the information received from the role players, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise devices, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non- satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices; and reporting performance of one or more participants and the plurality of devices during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance of the plurality of devices provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices." Driscoll, Clampitt, and Daniali, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the combination of features recited in claim 1.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, pages 17-18]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Independent claim 1 is amended to recite: "populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variables to perform operational execution of exercises and training for the plurality of exercise participants based on the initial requirements, the one or more detailed requirements, and the information received from the role players, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise devices, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non- satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices; and reporting performance of one or more participants and the plurality of devices during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance of the plurality of devices provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices." Driscoll, Clampitt, and Daniali, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the combination of features recited in claim 1” it is noted that this argument is a mere allegation of patentability by the Applicant with no supporting rationale or explanation. Merely stating that the claims do not teach a feature does not offer any insight as to why the specific sections of the prior art relied upon by the Examiner fail to disclose the claimed features. Applicant's arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Moreover, the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 04/07/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claim 1 that are believed to be addressed via the new ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and citations to address the amended limitations in claim 1 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
10. Applicant submits “Driscoll do not include “receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information,” and “receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information.” Because Driscoll does not include receiving the claimed role player information and the exercise participant information Driscoll also does not disclose “analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices.”” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, pages 18-19]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Driscoll do not include “receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information,” “receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information,” and “analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices,” the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 04/07/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claim 1 that are believed to be addressed via the new ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates new reference and citations to address the amended limitations in claim 1 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
11. Applicant submits “Clampitt fails to disclose receiving role player information from role player devices corresponding to a plurality of role players and exercise participant information from exercise devices corresponding to a plurality of exercise participants, as recited in claim 1.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, page 19]
As best understood by the Examiner, Applicant argues that Clampitt fails to disclose “receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices,” and “receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise devices, and locations or movement of the exercise devices.” In response, the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 04/07/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claim 1 that are believed to be addressed via the new ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates new reference and citations to address the amended limitations in claim 1 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
12. Applicant submits “Daniali fails to disclose receiving role player information from role player devices corresponding to a plurality of role players and exercise participant information from exercise devices corresponding to a plurality of exercise participants, as recited in claim 1.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, page 19]
As best understood by the Examiner, Applicant argues that Daniali fails to disclose “receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices,” and “receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise devices, and locations or movement of the exercise devices.” In response, the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 04/07/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claim 1 that are believed to be addressed via the new ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates new reference and citations to address the amended limitations in claim 1 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
13. Applicant submits “that the independent claims do not correspond to organizing human activity and cannot be carried out in the human mind.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, page 20]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response, it is noted that the claim limitations “receiving initial requirements identifying a scenario environment and information, the initial requirements including testing conditions that are different for at least some of the plurality of devices and performance expectations for each device of the plurality of devices, performing analysis and administration phase to determine one or more detailed requirements by revising the received initial requirements based on additional requirements received from a plurality of sources; performing task organization and technical development phase comprising receiving information about the plurality of role players, responsibilities of the plurality of role players, and locations for the plurality of role players and the plurality of exercise participants; populating with environment variables to perform operational execution of exercises and training for the plurality of exercise participants based on the initial requirements, the one or more detailed requirements, and the information received from the role players, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving role player information associated with operations performed, the role player information including metadata, information displayed, inputs received, and locations or movement of the role player; receiving exercise participant information associated with operations performed, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed, inputs received, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more role player; and reporting performance of one or more participants during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices,” when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One, are part of the abstract idea itself, i.e., are steps within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” group within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in MPEP 2106. The claim is directed to a method for providing training, exercising, and/or scenarios for conjuring technical targeting operations. The claim, when considered as whole, recites an abstract ideas of organizing and managing training exercises and device usage, which is a from or organizing human activity and mental process. Specifically, the analysis and administration of requirements can be performed as a mental process or with the aid of pen and paper. Organizing role players, responsibilities, and locations constitutes an organization/management activity (i.e., human activity). Planning and executing exercise/training based on requirements and role-player information is conceptually the same as coordinating human participants in a scenario, which falls within the grouping of organizing human activity. Last, receiving and reporting data merely provide inputs and outputs for the abstract idea. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the claims have been shown to recite an abstract idea via limitations falling under the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” abstract idea groupings set forth in MPEP 2106 via limitations that set forth steps for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including following rules or instructions, and steps that can be performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Moreover, in response to Applicant’s argument that the independent claims “cannot be carried out in the human mind,” it is noted that the steps of the claim mirror what a human would conceptually do. At a high level, the claim involves limitations related to gathering requirement from multiple sources, organizing roles and conditions for a scenario, monitoring participant behavior, evaluating performance and issuing instructions or judgments. A human exercise lanner could perform the same logic with the aid of pen and paper and review inputs, set rules, observe actions, compare performance to expectations, and decide outcomes. While the claim uses devices, this does not change that characterization because those components are only used to carry out the same logic, rather than improve how the computing system itself works. For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
14. Applicant submits “Operations such as "receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise devices, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices," are not operations that can not be practically performable in the human mind and do not fall within the mental-process grouping.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, page 21]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to Applicant’s argument that the "receiving, receiving, analyzing, and transmitting, are not operations that can not be practically performable in the human mind and do not fall within the mental-process grouping,” it is noted that a process is still considered a mental process if it is directed to collecting information, evaluating it, and making decision based on that information, even if implemented using computers. In this instance. The steps related to receiving role player information and exercise participant information, evaluating participant performance, and transmitting instructions based on that evaluation are all conceptually performable by a human exercise coordinator. Automating the information processing and decision-making across multiple devices does not change the fundamental character of the claim. The claim still recites an abstract idea related to monitoring and managing performance based on received information. For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
15. Applicant submits “Furthermore, even assuming arguendo that some aspect of the claims could be characterized at a high level as relating to an abstract idea, which the Applicant does not admit, the claimed combination of features integrates any alleged judicial exception into a practical application. The claims do not merely use generic computers as tools. Rather, they recite a particular technical implementation involving an aggregation platform, a multi-protocol network including wired and wireless communications, distinct device classes that capture and report operational information, real-time analysis of that information during simulation of a scenario environment, and responsive transmission of instructions to specific devices based on the real-time analysis. This combination of features apply any alleged abstract idea in a specific technological manner that improves the operation of a distributed training and simulation platform for different devices. Accordingly, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea and integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 04/07/2026, pages 21-22]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements in exemplary claim 1 are: a local database, a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices, which merely serve to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (computer-based operating environment) via generic computing hardware, software/instructions, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application, as noted in MPEP 2106.05. Applicant has provided no facts/evidence, cited any portion of the Specification, nor provided a persuasive line of reasoning showing how the additional elements are integrated with the abstract idea to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Furthermore, it is noted that the claims are devoid of any discernible change, transformation, or improvement to a computer (software or hardware) or any existing technology. Applicant has not shown that any specific technological improvement is achieved within the scope of the claims. It bears emphasis that no database, device, platform, or technological elements are modified or improved upon in any discernible manner. Instead, the result produced by the claims is simply information relating to performance of one or more participants, which is not a technical result or improvement thereof.
Additionally, the additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Accordingly, this argument is found unpersuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “The claims do not merely use generic computers as tools. Rather, they recite a particular technical implementation involving an aggregation platform, a multi-protocol network including wired and wireless communications, distinct device classes that capture and report operational information, real-time analysis of that information during simulation of a scenario environment, and responsive transmission of instructions to specific devices based on the real-time analysis. This combination of features apply any alleged abstract idea in a specific technological manner that improves the operation of a distributed training and simulation platform for different devices. Accordingly, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea and integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application,” it is noted that merely reciting an “aggregation platform,” “multi-protocol network including wired and wireless communications,” and “real-time analysis” does not by itself, amount to a practical application when these components are used in a generic manner. The claim does not recite an specific technical improvement to networking or to data processing, instead it uses conventional computing elements to perform abstract functions of collecting information analyzing it, and transmitting instructions. For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
16. Applicant's remaining arguments either logically depend from the above-rejected arguments, in which case they too are unpersuasive for the reasons set forth above, or they are directed to features which have been newly added via amendment. Therefore, this is now the Examiner's first opportunity to consider these limitations and as such any arguments regarding these limitations would be inappropriate since they have not yet been examined. A full rejection of these limitations will be presented later in this Office Action.
Claim Objections
17. Claims 1-2, 11-12, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors.
Claims 1, 11, and 12 were amended to recite “…the initial requirements including testing conditions that are different for at least some of the plurality of devices and performance expectations for each device of the plurality of devices, the plurality of devises including…” Claims 1, 11, and 12 should recite “devices” instead of “devises.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 was amended to recite “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: aggregating information received from the role player devices the exercise devices, and other devices configured to simulate the scenario environment…” Claim 2 should recite “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: aggregating information received from the role player devices, the exercise devices, and other devices configured to simulate the scenario environment…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 was amended to recite “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria…” Claim 10 should recite “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermined criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermined criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermined criteria …” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 was amended to recite “based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria…” Claim 21 should recite “based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermined criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermined criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermined criteria…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
19. Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
20. Claims 1/11/12 were amended to recite “analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants...” The phrase “satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance” is ambiguous because “satisfactory” and “non-satisfactory” are relative terms. There is no basis or standard provided for determining whether a performance is satisfactory or non-satisfactory. The claim does not define a particular objective standard for determining if performance is satisfactory or non-satisfactory, thus rendering the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
21. Claim 3 was amended to recite “wherein the testing conditions include one or more conflicting devices configured to conflict with one or more devices of the plurality of devices.” The phrase “the testing conditions include one or more conflicting devices” creates ambiguity as to what is being included in the “testing conditions.” Grammatically, “conflicting devices” appears to modify “devices,” which make sit unclear whether the claim is attempting to define a type of device, or whether it intends to describe a condition involving conflict between devices or communications. As written, it is unclear what the scope of “testing conditions” is, whether it includes actual physical devise, simulated adversarial conditions, or merely parameters affecting device behavior, thus rendering the claims indefinite. Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore determined to be indefinite for the same reasons above. Appropriate correction is required.
22. Claim 12 was amended to recite “to perform operational execution of exercises training for the plurality of exercise participants based on the initial requirements…”. The phrase “to perform operational execution of exercises training” is grammatically and semantically unclear. Specifically, it is ambiguous whether the phrase is intended to mean “exercise and training” (as recited in claim 1), “exercise training” as a single combined concept, or some other undefined category of activity. In this instance, the omission of a clear conjunction or structural modifier creates uncertainty as to the scope of the claimed activity being executed. It is not clear if the claim intends to recite two separate operations (i.e., exercises and training) or a unified operational process, rendering the limitation indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
23. Claim 25 recites “generate common stop analysis charts based on role player tracking activity within the system.” The phrase “the system” lacks antecedent basis, and therefore renders the claim indefinite. While claim 12 recites “a computing system,” claims 12/15 do not introduce “a system.” It is unclear if “the system” in claim 25 refers to the “computing system” introduced in claim 12 or to a different system. Appropriate correction is required.
24. Claim 28 recites “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving over the network from the role player devices and the exercise devices information about a user of the device and environment information where the device is located, the information about the user of the device including heartbeat and temperature of the user, and the environment information including temperature of the environment and electromagnetic interference of the environment; and wherein the satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants is determined based on the received information about the user of the device and the received environment information where the device is located.” The phrase “the device” lacks antecedent basis, and therefore renders the claim indefinite. While claim 28 recites “the role player devices” and “the exercise devices,” claims 12/28 do not introduce “a device.” It is unclear if “the device” in claim 28 refers to a “role player devices,” an “exercise device,” or to a different device. Additionally, the phrase “the satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance” is ambiguous because “satisfactory” and “non-satisfactory” are relative terms. There is no basis or standard provided for determining whether a performance is satisfactory or non-satisfactory. The claim does not define a particular objective standard for determining if performance is satisfactory or non-satisfactory, thus rendering the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
25. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and fail to cure the §112(b) deficiency noted above, and are therefore rendered indefinite based on dependency. Claims 13-28 depend from claim 12 and fail to cure the §112(b) deficiency noted above, and are therefore rendered indefinite based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
27. Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
28. Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with MPEP 2106.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the method (claims 1-10), non-transitory computer readable storage medium (claim 11), and system (claim 12-28) are directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process, article of manufacture, and machine respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-28 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea set forth in MPEP 2106 because the claims recite steps for gathering and processing user information to generate a performance report, which encompasses activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions (e.g., following rules or instructions), and steps that can be performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), and therefore fall under the “Mental Processes” abstract idea grouping. With respect to independent claim 1, the limitations reciting the abstract idea are indicated in bold below: receiving, from a local database and a plurality of remote databases, initial requirements identifying a scenario environment and information for a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the initial requirements including testing conditions that are different for at least some of the plurality of devices and performance expectations for each device of the plurality of devices, the plurality of devises including role player devices corresponding to a plurality of role players and exercise devices corresponding to a plurality of exercise participants; performing analysis and administration phase to determine one or more detailed requirements by revising the received initial requirements based on additional requirements received from a plurality of sources; performing task organization and technical development phase comprising receiving information about the plurality of role players, responsibilities of the plurality of role players, and locations for the plurality of role players and the plurality of exercise participants; populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variables to perform operational execution of exercises and training for the plurality of exercise participants based on the initial requirements, the one or more detailed requirements, and the information received from the role players, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise devices, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices; and reporting performance of one or more participants and the plurality of devices during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance of the plurality of devices provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices. These steps describe managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions since the information is related to a plurality of role players, responsibilities of the plurality of role players, and locations for the plurality of role players. These steps also encompass mental processes that may be accomplished by human judgment or evaluation, such as with the aid of pen and paper.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings described in MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Claims 11 and 12 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are therefore determined to recite the same abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements recite: a local database, a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices (claim 1), a program, a computing system including at least one processor, a local database and a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices (claim 11), a memory, at least one processor, a local database and a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices (claim 12). These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). Even if the “receiving” and “transmitting” steps are evaluated as additional elements, these steps amount at most to insignificant extra-solution activity, which is not indicative of a practical application, as noted in MPEP 2106.05(g). In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements recite: a local database, a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices (claim 1), a program, a computing system including at least one processor, a local database and a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices (claim 11), a memory, at least one processor, a local database and a plurality of remote databases, a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols, the plurality of devises including role player devices and exercise devices, an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, input devices associated with the role player devices, input devices associated with the exercise devices, one or more exercise devices, and one or more role player devices (claim 12). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to add significantly more to the claims because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Notably, Applicant’s Specification describes generic computing devices that may be used to implement the invention, which cover virtually any computing device under the sun (See, e.g., Spec. at paragraphs 0074). Accordingly, the generic computer involvement in performing the claim steps merely serves to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claim. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976.).
With respect to the receiving and transmitting steps, these steps amount to insignificant extra-solution activity, which does not amount to a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)), nor add significantly more because such activity has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional and thus insufficient to add significantly more to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(d) - Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 13-28 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above. In particular, claims 2-10 and 13-28 recite “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: aggregating information received, and displaying information on progress of the exercise and information about the exercise devices meeting predefined criteria,” “wherein the testing conditions include one or more conflicting devices configured to conflict with one or more devices of the plurality of devices,” “wherein the initial requirements include timing requirements for the plurality of devices,” “wherein the testing conditions and the timing requirements are different for each device,” “wherein one or more additional requirements are determined based on the initial requirements, capabilities of the one or more devices of the plurality of devices and training objectives.,” “wherein performing the analysis and administration phase includes outputting finalized requirements including the initial requirements and the one or more detailed requirements,” “wherein performing the task organization and technical development phase includes determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on pre-stored criteria, information about the changes, capabilities of the role players, information about a testing environment, and information about available devices,” “wherein the environment variables include weather conditions and presence or absence of equipment conflicting with communication over the network,” “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria, and reporting the performance of one or more participants includes identifying gaps in the performance of the one or more exercise devices,” “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: aggregating information received, displaying information on progress of the exercise and information about the exercise devices meeting predefined criteria,” “wherein the testing conditions include one or more conflicting devices configured to conflict with one or more devices of the plurality of devices,” “wherein the initial requirements include timing requirements for the plurality of devices,’ “wherein the testing conditions and the timing requirements are different for each device,” “wherein one or more additional requirements are determined based on the initial requirements, capabilities of the one or more devices of the plurality of devices and training objectives,” “wherein performing the analysis and administration phase includes outputting finalized requirements including the initial requirements and the one or more detailed requirements,” “wherein performing the task organization and technical development phase includes determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on pre-stored criteria, information about the changes, capabilities of the role players, information about a testing environment, and information about available devices,” “wherein the environment variables include weather conditions and presence or absence of equipment conflicting with communication over the network,” “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria, and reporting the performance of one or more participants includes identifying gaps in the performance of the one or more exercise device,” “transmit, during the operational execution of exercises and/or training to the plurality of mobile devices, information about relation of exercise participants and mobile and static targets within a scenario of the exercises and/or training,” “rank the performance of the exercise participants based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and the progress of the simulation of the scenario environment,” transmit during the operational execution of exercises and/or training, information about visualization of locations mapped in the scenario for viewing and situation awareness throughout the scenario,” “generate common stop analysis charts based on role player tracking activity,” “generate relational activity and engagement between target sites, the plurality of role players, and/or the plurality of exercise participants throughout the scenario,” “generate common stop reports in relation to the plurality of role players and their pattern of life movements throughout the scenario,” “wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving information about a user and environment information where the device is located, the information about the user including heartbeat and temperature of the user, and the environment information including temperature of the environment and electromagnetic interference of the environment; and wherein the satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants is determined based on the received information about the user of the device and the received environment information where the device is located,” however these limitations are part of the same abstract idea as addressed in the independent claims that falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings. Dependent claims 2, 10, 13, 21-22, 24-25, and 28 recite additional elements of other devices configured to simulate the scenario environment and a user interface (claims 2, 13), the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria through the network (claims 10, 21), communication circuitry configured to communicate with a plurality of mobile devices (claim 22), communication circuitry configured to communicate with a plurality of devices and one or more of the devices (claim 24), the system (claim 25), the device (claim 28). However, when evaluated under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B, these additional elements are in the form of a generic computer or software to tie the invention to a particular technological environment which, as noted above, is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more to the claims and is not enough to render the claims as eligible.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For more information, see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
32. Claims 1-2, 7, 9-13, 18, 20-21, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driscoll et al., Pub. No.: US 2008/0208779 A1, [hereinafter Driscoll], in view of Daniali, Pub. No.: US 2021/0311844 A1, [hereinafter Daniali], in further view of McCormack et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0128106 A1, [hereinafter McCormack].
As per claim 1, Driscoll teaches a method for providing a technical platform for training, exercises and scenarios for conjuring technical targeting operations (paragraphs 0001, 0016), the method (paragraphs 0001, 0016) comprising:
receiving, from a local database and a plurality of remote databases, initial requirements (paragraph 0004, discussing that parties to an agreement are able to take individual work sites to the next level. The embodiments implement more efficient processes to achieve better operational results. Certification and regular inspections are provided on an ongoing basis to determine whether the site continues to meet certification standards (which can be some of the many requirements of the agreements); paragraph 0005, discussing a method and system for administering requirements relating to services using an automated system and process…The embodiments begin by being supplied with input of at least two parties. From this, the embodiments automatically generate a contract between the parties…The contract can be any form of contract or agreement that is made between parties. The agreement has a plurality of requirements of employees of the service provider; paragraph 0025, discussing an automated agreement, training, and testing generator that generates the contract/agreement (that includes many requirements), generates the automated self-training program, and generates the automated self-testing program; paragraph 0026, discussing that the generator has access to a database of previously created and stored contractual clauses, self-training modules, and self-testing modules. The generator matches ones of the previously created, standardized clauses to the parties' requirements and combines such standardized clauses into a contract (or adds such clauses to a shell contract in, for example, a merge document). For example, the parties can be given a list of standard requirements from which they can select their requirements);
performing analysis and administration phase to determine one or more detailed requirements by revising the received initial requirements based on additional requirements received from a plurality of sources (paragraph 0017, discussing that the automatic generation of the agreement and the training/testing programs is driven by the requirements to which the parties have agreed; paragraph 0026, discussing that the generator 200 has access to a database of previously created and stored contractual clauses, self-training modules, and self-testing modules. The generator matches ones of the previously created, standardized clauses to the parties' requirements and combines such standardized clauses into a contract. For example, the parties can be given a list of standard requirements from which they can select their requirements; paragraph 0034, discussing that the embodiments also provide a comprehensive understanding of the requirements for every job, documented work processes that are carefully followed, technology to monitor operations and improve performance, consistent site certification standards and regular inspections...);
performing task organization and technical development phase comprising receiving information about the plurality of role players, responsibilities of the plurality of role players, and locations for the plurality of role players and the plurality of exercise participants (paragraph 0004, discussing that parties to an agreement are able to take individual work sites to the next level. The embodiments implement more efficient processes to achieve better operational results. Certification and regular inspections are provided with embodiments herein on an ongoing basis to determine whether the site continues to meet certification standards. These tests provide feedback to become a world-class operation. With the training and resources provided, the skills of the service provider's employees are regularly updated, for example, to meet certification standards; paragraph 0006, discussing that the employees are grouped according to corresponding specific physical geographical locations, if the service recipient has different physical geographic locations that the agreement(s) may cover; paragraph 0009, discussing that embodiments periodically report the status of employees' knowledge to all of the parties to the service agreement based exclusively on the computerized self-testing program; paragraph 0010, discussing a process of logging every service transaction performed by the employees of the service provider required by the service agreement. These logs can be maintained and reported to each of the parties to the service agreement; paragraph 0029, discussing that the employees of the service provider can be in one physical location or can be located at different physical geographic locations; paragraph 0036, discussing that the disclosed embodiments provide all the resources needed to ensure a site team operates at peak performance. The testing programs described provide an information management system to log the details of every service transaction performed. This helps the site team meet not only deadlines, but every requirement of every job. The information management system can capture the details of every service transaction to help red flag issues before they turn into problems. This also generates detailed, performance-based reports to help fine-tune the processes, optimize resource usage, and facilitate good decision-making; paragraph 0007);
to perform operational execution of exercises and training for the plurality of exercise participants based on the initial requirements, the one or more detailed requirements, and the information received from the role players (paragraph 0007, discussing that the embodiments cause the employees of the service provider to perform computerized self-training programs directed toward a first phase of the requirements; paragraph 0017, discussing that the embodiments generate the agreement and self-training/self-testing programs by matching standardized contractual clauses and standardized training/testing modules to the parties' requirements. Each of the standardized clauses that matches one or more of parties requirements is included within the agreement and corresponding training and testing modules are added to the self-training and self-testing programs. Therefore, the automatic generation of the agreement and the training/testing programs is driven by the requirements to which the parties have agreed; paragraph 0021, discussing that once all training/testing has been completed for all requirements the embodiments can periodically perform refresher retraining and retesting in item or new requirements can be added for training/testing; paragraph 0035);
receiving exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata (paragraph 0009, discussing that periodically reporting the status of employees' knowledge to all of the parties to the service agreement based exclusively on the computerized self-testing program. In addition, the embodiments can provide warnings to all of the parties to the service agreement if the employees of the service provider do not progress through the phases of the requirements within pre-established time limits. This process reports the results of the self-testing to the parties. Further, independent testing of the employees of the service provider, separate from the self-testing program can be performed; paragraph 0022, discussing that periodically report the status of employees' knowledge to all of the parties to the copying and printing service agreement based exclusively on the computerized self-testing program, as shown in item 122. In addition, the reporting can provide warnings to all of the parties to the copying and printing service agreement if the employees of the service provider do not progress through the phases of the requirements within pre-established time limits); and
reporting performance of one or more participants (paragraph 0009, discussing that the embodiments can provide warnings to all of the parties to the service agreement if the employees of the service provider do not progress through the phases of the requirements within pre-established time limits. This process reports the results of the self-testing to the parties; paragraph 0036, discussing that the embodiments provide all the resources needed to ensure a site team operates at peak performance. The testing programs described herein provide an information management system to log the details of every service transaction performed. This helps the site team meet not only deadlines, but every requirement of every job. The information management system can capture the details of every service transaction to help red flag issues before they turn into problems. This also generates detailed, performance-based reports to help fine-tune the processes, optimize resource usage, and facilitate good decision-making).
While Driscoll teaches receiving, from a local database, initial requirements, it does not explicitly teach receiving, from a local database and a plurality of remote databases, initial requirements identifying a scenario environment and information for a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the initial requirements including testing conditions that are different for at least some of the plurality of devices and performance expectations for each device of the plurality of devices, the plurality of devises including role player devices corresponding to a plurality of role players and exercise devices corresponding to a plurality of exercise participants; populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variables, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise device, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices; and reporting performance of the plurality of devices during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance of the plurality of devices provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices. Daniali in the analogous art of validation and testing systems teaches:
receiving, from a local database and a plurality of remote databases, initial requirements identifying a scenario environment and information for a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment (paragraph 0010, discussing techniques for performing and managing validation tests for XR applications to provide validation for the quality and usability of the applications within XR capable user devices. In one example, the validation process and testing may be applied to an extended reality (XR) application executed on one or more user devices or XR capable devices; paragraph 0011, discussing that a testing system may include one or more testing devices that may be configured to perform one or more validation tests for an XR (extended reality) application being executed on a plurality of XR capable devices. The testing device may be a testing robot or a simulator that is configured to mimic or replicate usage of the XR application on the XR capable device by a user and/or execute a predetermined set of operations based at least on one or more of the validation tests being performed within a testing environment. The testing device may also be an edge device that is operatively connected to a wireless communication network; paragraph 0026, discussing that the testing and evaluation process monitoring server may store test data and test parameters for the validation tests. The validation testing may include testing of all permutations that impact three-dimensional (3D) and/or spatial applications. Areas considered in the robotic automated validation testing include performance, comfort and usability, and input, in addition to areas that require special handling or attention to details. The various validation tests may be performed via the testing system. The testing system may comprise general-purpose computers, such as desktop computers, tablet computers, laptop computers, servers, or other electronic devices that are capable of receiving input, processing the input, and generating output data. The testing system may store data in a distributed storage system…The testing system may be equipped with various testing devices including hardware that is configured to emulate human movements or replicate usage of the XR application on the XR capable devices and/or execute a predetermined set of operations based at least on one or more of the validation tests being performed within a testing environment. In various embodiments, the testing devices may separate components that are in communication with the testing system, wherein the testing system may be located in a remote location);
the initial requirements including testing conditions that are different for at least some of the plurality of devices and performance expectations for each device of the plurality of devices (paragraph 0002, discoing that equipment manufacturers must validate their equipment against various applications, network performance, and user behavior diversity. A device validation process and testing generally measure the user experience of the device and the results of the test may be analyzed to improve the device and address potential issues. In one example, user experience or performance of an application using a selection of augmented reality (AR)/virtual reality (VR)/mixed reality (MR), or collectively, extended reality (XR) capable user devices may be analyzed. When these devices are produced by different manufacturers according to their own specifications, a given function or feature in the test application may operate differently in different devices; paragraph 0013, discussing that the testing system may receive a request, from the testing entity, to perform one or more validation tests for the XR application executing on an XR capable device. The request may at least specify usage of the one or more software modules and include testing specifications corresponding to an XR capable device, wherein the testing specifications may specify which validation tests to apply. In some examples, the validation tests may include performance tests, comfort, and usability tests, and input tests, and/or so forth. The testing specifications may also include information relating to the operating system, file system, hardware, and/or other software systems of an XR capable device that executes the XR application; paragraph 0014, discussing that the testing system may perform different validation tests on different extended reality (XR) capable devices. For instance, the testing system may perform, via a first testing device, a first validation test on a first XR capable device, and perform, via a second testing device, a second validation test on a second XR capable device…The first testing device and the second testing device may be the same or different devices; paragraph 0023, discussing that the testing and evaluation process monitoring server is configured to provide testing configurations to the testing system based at least on the testing specifications. In some aspects, the testing and evaluation process monitoring server may store validation criteria (e.g., acceptance level, the threshold for the number of defects identified, expected result) corresponding to various validation tests. The testing and evaluation process monitoring server may also include product requirements (e.g., implementation requirements, performance targets, service requirements, functions and features, quality requirements, customer experience/requirements, operations requirements, other technical requirements). The testing configurations may also be based at least on product requirements and the validation criteria. The testing and evaluation process monitoring server may also instruct the testing system which validation tests to apply and the pre-requisite for each test; throughput scheme; paragraph 0034, discussing that the request may include identifying information corresponding to a unique XR capable device and corresponding to a unique testing specification associated with the XR capable device. Additionally, the request may specify one or more validation tests to perform; paragraph 0029); and
reporting performance of the plurality of devices during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance of the plurality of devices provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices (paragraph 0023, discussing that the testing and evaluation process monitoring server is configured to provide testing configurations to the testing system based at least on the testing specifications. In some aspects, the testing and evaluation process monitoring server may store validation criteria (e.g., acceptance level, the threshold for the number of defects identified, expected result) corresponding to various validation tests. The testing and evaluation process monitoring server may also include product requirements (e.g., implementation requirements, performance targets, service requirements, functions and features, quality requirements, customer experience/requirements, operations requirements, other technical requirements). The testing configurations may also be based at least on product requirements and the validation criteria. The testing and evaluation process monitoring server may also instruct the testing system which validation tests to apply and the pre-requisite for each test; throughput scheme; paragraph 0067, discussing that the validation module may include one or more instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors direct the testing system to perform operations related to generating a validation report and transmit the validation report to a testing log. In some aspects, the validation module may analyze test results generated by one or more testing devices that execute one or more validation tests to determine whether the XR application is validated. The validation module may analyze test results as individual validation tests are completed. Accordingly, the validation module may instruct the testing and evaluation module to terminate testing if one or more test results indicate that the XR application is not validated. Conversely, the validation module may analyze test results when all validation tests are completed. In some aspects, the validation module may analyze the test results in accordance with product requirements and evaluation criteria. Accordingly, the validation module may indicate in the validation report whether the XR application is validated; paragraph 0071, discussing that the testing device may output the results of the validation tests in an output queue…A validation module of the testing system may report test results from the validation tests to a testing log. In some aspects, the validation module may analyze the test results to determine whether the XR application is validated based at least on one or more validation criteria (e.g., acceptance level, threshold value, expected result, etc.)).
Driscoll is directed towards a method and system for training and testing. Daniali describes a validation and testing system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Driscoll with Daniali because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying Driscoll to include Daniali’s features for including receiving, from a local database and a plurality of remote databases, initial requirements identifying a scenario environment and information for a plurality of devices configured to communicate using a plurality of communication protocols in the scenario environment, the initial requirements including testing conditions that are different for at least some of the plurality of devices and performance expectations for each device of the plurality of devices, and reporting performance of the plurality of devices during the execution of exercises and training, wherein the reported performance of the plurality of devices provides certification for one or more of the plurality of devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the device and addressing potential issues (Daniali at paragraph 0002); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Driscoll-Daniali combination does not explicitly teach teaches the plurality of devises including role player devices corresponding to a plurality of role players and exercise devices corresponding to a plurality of exercise participants; populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variable, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise device, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices. However, McCormack in the analogous art of virtual reality systems teaches these concepts. McCormack teaches:
the plurality of devises including role player devices corresponding to a plurality of role players and exercise devices corresponding to a plurality of exercise participants (paragraph 0132, discussing that the exemplary embodiment of the Military/Law Enforcement use case, the Input/Output Component stimulates a user's visual, audible, and physical senses using various third-party output devices; paragraph 0137, discussing that the system ensures that all End-user Application Modules receive data compatible with the end user devices; paragraph 0155, discussing that referring to the military simulation use case, an author can add a hostile character to the scenario and set the hostile character to either autonomously attack the trainee or run. When the trainee loads the simulation, the object the author created appears in the trainee's environment...; paragraph 0159, discussing that these UIs allow the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes; paragraph 0189, discussing that embodiments of the system are capable of providing the positions of trainees in the simulations and showing the results of a trainee using binoculars and communication equipment, operations during day or night, and environmental effects such as wind, rain, snow, and hail, moving and stationary firing capability against both moving and stationary targets, replication of munition fragmentation effects and characteristics and known surface-danger zones, surrogate weapons that have the same form, fit, and function as the real weapon with functional characteristics of the actual weapon system and performance; paragraph 0177, discussing that the invention allows the Operator to retrieve data from disparate sources—such as authoritative government databases, open-source databases, and real-time sensors—and visualize the data in AR using a Commercial Off the Shelf (COTS) head mounted display (HMD) mechanism, a tablet device, or a PC);
populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variables (paragraph 0184, discussing that referring to the non-limiting exemplary use-case whereby the invention is used for training Military and Law Enforcement Personnel, content, in the form of 3D assets are pulled from the Content Repository when needed and configured to look and perform according to configuration files and user settings at runtime using external data, configuration files, and user interfaces. For example, consider a rain asset in a simulation comprising of weather, adversaries, and terrain [i.e., environment variables]. The rain asset is configured with a float variable for intensity (1-10), which may be set at design-time (according to the simulation's author), run-time (according to the trainer or trainee), or real-time (according to data from a live weather database). Likewise, the adversary assets are configured with an intensity variable that defines their performance against the trainees. This approach is applied to all assets in our simulations to reduce the storage and bandwidth required and aligns with our modular design; paragraph 0189, discussing that embodiments of the system are capable of providing the positions of trainees in the simulations and showing the results of a trainee using binoculars and communication equipment, operations during day or night, and environmental effects such as wind, rain, snow, and hail, moving and stationary firing capability against both moving and stationary targets, replication of munition fragmentation effects and characteristics and known surface-danger zones, surrogate weapons that have the same form, fit, and function as the real weapon with functional characteristics of the actual weapon system and performance; paragraphs 0177, 0186),
wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices (paragraph 0155, discussing that for the Content Authoring Module, the ML Module or a resident machine learning component automates the creation of new content based on criteria set by the user. For example, referring to the military simulation use case, an author can add a hostile character to the scenario and set the hostile character to either autonomously attack the trainee or run. When the trainee loads the simulation, the object the author created appears in the trainee's environment. And then, according to the pre-trained machine learning model loaded by the ML Component, the actions and position of the hostile are controlled autonomously in a way that never required a human to program or animate the hostile object's actions or movements. In another example of this capability, the system creates content autonomously based on the prior content the user has engaged with and their performance with said content; paragraph 0186, discussing that the system provides a rapid scenario generation capability that includes a number of objects often found in a real-world conflict, including and not limited to unarmed civilians, internally displaced persons, and neutral parties. Each avatar or participant has a range of postures (friendly, indifferent, neutral, or enemy). Other assets include different organizations and equipage (militias with little or no equipment, well equipped organized units, partially armored, and fully armored near peer entities) to facilitate a range of combat conditions that a trainee needs to know how and where to engage targets for the desired effect; paragraph 0191, discussing that the system may provide a training simulation to train target determinations and effect applications that replicates the environment with unarmed civilians, internally displaced persons, neutral parties to include non-governmental operators, militias with little or no equipment, or other organized units indifferent to friendly and enemy mission or cause, partially armored combatant and fully armored threats (friendly, neutral, or enemy). Such training simulations replicate a multi-domain battlefield including air, land, and coastal areas and cities in the vicinity of littoral areas with obstacles and terrain features that provide realistic levels of cover and protection);
receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise device, and locations or movement of the exercise devices (paragraph 0155, discussing that for the Content Authoring Module, the ML Module or a resident machine learning component automates the creation of new content based on criteria set by the user. For example, referring to the military simulation use case, an author can add a hostile character to the scenario and set the hostile character to either autonomously attack the trainee or run. When the trainee loads the simulation, the object the author created appears in the trainee's environment. And then, according to the pre-trained machine learning model loaded by the ML Component, the actions and position of the hostile are controlled autonomously in a way that never required a human to program or animate the hostile object's actions or movements. In another example of this capability, the system creates content autonomously based on the prior content the user has engaged with and their performance with said content; paragraph 0189, discussing that embodiments of the system are capable of providing the positions of trainees in the simulations and showing the results of a trainee using binoculars and communication equipment, operations during day or night, and environmental effects such as wind, rain, snow, and hail, moving and stationary firing capability against both moving and stationary targets, replication of munition fragmentation effects and characteristics and known surface-danger zones, surrogate weapons that have the same form, fit, and function as the real weapon with functional characteristics of the actual weapon system and performance; paragraph 0177, discussing that the invention allows the Operator to retrieve data from disparate sources—such as authoritative government databases, open-source databases, and real-time sensors—and visualize the data in AR using a Commercial Off the Shelf (COTS) head mounted display (HMD) mechanism, a tablet device, or a PC);
analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices (paragraph 0158, discussing that as one example of the Machine Learning capability, referring to the exemplary embodiment of the Military/Law Enforcement Training use case shown in FIG. 22, one or more of the embodiments of the System 100 may include an Intelligent Tutor (ITutor) component using the ML Module 109. The ITutor component captures and logs data related to each training repetition using the End-user Application Module 101, and sends that data to the ML Module 109, which detects the user's events and scores based on real-time analytics. Using a basic statistics approach, in which key variables are manually identified to serve as performance indicators, the ITutor component detects the user's deficiencies or strengths. The ITutor develops and maintains a baseline average for the population for each key variable. Compared to the baseline, each user's skills will be automatically and ongoingly assessed based on their performance. The simulations are then altered accordingly to challenge the user appropriately by modifying the intensity of the variables correlated with the performance indicator. For example, expanding on the example above, for the user performing poorly with a pistol at night in the rain, after identifying this user's deficiency, the System 100 will autonomously create and deliver more training exercises to the user oriented with a pistol at night in the rain. Or, if the user has been getting shot from the left in close quarter combat more often than other users (compared to the baseline), our system creates and delivers more training exercises for the user oriented around adversaries to the user's left; paragraph 0160, discussing that one way the system assesses the user's performance is a simple logic gate for performance metrics, with ranges that establish events based on the metrics. For example, if the user has not obtained the minimum required 95% effectiveness in a given exercise, a logic gate may prohibit the user from advancing to a more challenging level. This allows the challenge to progressively increase as the trainee advances through the training levels and allow the System to decrease the challenge if the trainee experiences difficulty achieving the standards. Additionally, using the same method, after each session is completed, the trainee will receive tailored feedback in the After Action Review that is based on quantitative progress derived from these key variables. Based on poor performance metrics, a trainee is able to (or may be required to) go back to a prior level to focus on a single or multiple deficient skill(s). Using these methods, which are aligned with our overall architectural tenet of extensibility, the ITutor component provides the intelligent tutor capabilities to all trainees and allow military and police forces to employ pedagogical techniques that are suited to the specific training objectives of the event and domain being taught. The design and adherence to our architectural tenet of extensibility allows it to expand with the need to incorporate new performance indicators, analytics models, machine learning capabilities, sensors, and more); and
based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices (paragraph 0156, discussing that for the Content Delivery Broker Module 105, FIG. 9, either a central ML Module or a resident machine learning component provides recommendations to the user based on prior use. For example, referring to the military simulation use case, a returning user who has demonstrated a lack of pistol skills is provided by the Content Delivery Broker Module with a list of simulation content recommendations oriented around improving their pistols skills. This capability is performed by integrating system learning functions implemented as rules leveraging user audit and log data and content authoring that results from ML algorithms; paragraph 0177, discussing that the invention allows the Operator to retrieve data from disparate sources—such as authoritative government databases, open-source databases, and real-time sensors—and visualize the data in AR using a Commercial Off the Shelf (COTS) head mounted display (HMD) mechanism, a tablet device, or a PC; paragraph 0160, discussing that one way the system assesses the user's performance is a simple logic gate for performance metrics, with ranges that establish events based on the metrics. For example, if the user has not obtained the minimum required 95% effectiveness in a given exercise, a logic gate may prohibit the user from advancing to a more challenging level. This allows the challenge to progressively increase as the trainee advances through the training levels and allow the System to decrease the challenge if the trainee experiences difficulty achieving the standards. Additionally, using the same method, after each session is completed, the trainee will receive tailored feedback in the After Action Review that is based on quantitative progress derived from these key variables. Based on poor performance metrics, a trainee is able to (or may be required to) go back to a prior level to focus on a single or multiple deficient skill(s). Using these methods, which are aligned with our overall architectural tenet of extensibility, the ITutor component provides the intelligent tutor capabilities to all trainees and allow military and police forces to employ pedagogical techniques that are suited to the specific training objectives of the event and domain being taught. The design and adherence to our architectural tenet of extensibility allows it to expand with the need to incorporate new performance indicators, analytics models, machine learning capabilities, sensors, and more).
The Driscoll-Daniali combination describes features related to training and testing. McCormack describes a virtual reality system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali combination with McCormack because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali combination to include McCormack’s features for including populating an aggregation platform, connected to the role player devices and the exercise devices over a network configured to communicate using the plurality of communication protocols and including a wired network and a wireless network, with environment variable, wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving, from the role player devices over the network, role player information associated with operations performed on the role player devices configured to capture and report the role player information, the role player information including metadata, information displayed on the role player devices, inputs received via the role player devices or via input devices associated with the role player devices, and locations or movement of the role player devices; receiving, from the exercise devices over the network, exercise participant information associated with operations performed on the exercise devices configured to capture and report the exercise participant information, the exercise participant information including metadata, information displayed on the exercise devices, inputs received via the exercise devices or via input devices associated with the exercise device, and locations or movement of the exercise devices; analyzing in real time the received role player information and the received exercise participant information to determine satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants being tested and/or trained on the exercise devices; and based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, transmitting, through the network, instructions comprising tasks to be performed to one or more exercise devices and one or more role player devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes (McCormack at paragraph 0159); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Driscoll further teaches provide a user interface displaying information on progress of the exercise and information about the exercise devices meeting predefined criteria.(paragraph 0008, discussing all employees of a specific group receive consistent training and all of the employees of the service provider within the specific group progress through phases of the requirements together as a group. Further, control of progression of the employees of the service provider through the phases of the requirements is completely automated under control of the self-testing program; paragraph 0009, discussing that reporting the status of employees' knowledge to all of the parties to the copying and printing service agreement based exclusively on the computerized self-testing program. In addition, the embodiments can provide warnings to all of the parties to the copying and printing service agreement if the employees of the service provider do not progress through the phases of the requirements within pre-established time limits; paragraph 0022, discussing reporting the status of employees' knowledge to all of the parties to the copying and printing service agreement based exclusively on the computerized self-testing program, as shown in item 122. In addition, the reporting 122 can provide warnings to all of the parties to the copying and printing service agreement if the employees of the service provider do not progress through the phases of the requirements within pre-established time limits).
Although not explicitly taught by Driscoll, McCormack in the analogous art of training systems teaches wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: aggregating information received from the role player devices the exercise devices, and other devices configured to simulate the scenario environment (paragraph 0127, discussing that the End-user Application Module 101, the Input/Output Module 102 and the Peripheral Mediator 804 are designed to be flexible to support variation in the volume and variety of sensor data being ingested from the Input/Output Module 102. This design pattern enables seamless communications between different components and supports easy maintenance of the code and modification to the sensor configuration; paragraph 0128, discussing that in accordance with an exemplary embodiment for Military/Law Enforcement Training shown in FIG. 22, the Peripheral Mediator 804 mediates the exchange of data between the Input/Output Module 102 and input components, such that it receives, stores, aggregates, and sends to the End-user Application Module 101 data output by (i) sensors in the Head Mounted Display, including but not limited to data captured by cameras, gyroscopes, and microphones, and (ii) additional sensors mounted external to the Head Mounted Display, including but not limited to sensors mounted to the user's body, weapons, and duty gear, with said sensors including but not limited to heart rate, temperature, skin elasticity, skin connectivity, buttons, IMUs, Electromagnetic Tracking Devices, LIDAR, and Infrared. The sensors located in the HMD, including but not limited to cameras, IMUs, and microphones transmit data to the Mediator through a USB cable connecting the HMD to the device running the End-user Application Module 101 using a set of APIs. A microphone embedded in the HMD detects and streams the user's voice to the Mediator through the same cable. One or multiple IMU(s), and/or Electromagnetic Tracking Devices, and/or buttons are affixed to the weapon to track its position and status in real-time and stream the data through a radio or wired signal to a receiver located in the device running the End-user Application Module. This de-coupled architectural design pattern makes it easier to accommodate hardware changes; paragraph 0134, discussing that the Simulation Content Authoring Module has an Application Programming Interface that enables the Simulation Content Authoring Module to communicate with third party design software to author content. End-user Application Modules can be coupled or connected to the Simulation Content Authoring Module to allow the end user to author content. In another configuration, the end user may use design software from third parties. The Simulation Content Authoring Module has bidirectional communication with Data Ingest Translators Module and the Content Delivery Broker Module. External Data Providers are used by ingesting their data through the Data Ingest Translators Module and Content Delivery Broker. With reference to FIG. 3, the Simulation Content Authoring Module may also access content stored in the Content Repository Module Content from any of the foregoing sources may be combined with new content authored on the End-user Application Module or 3rd Party Software Applications to provide new content. As shown in the FIG. 7, output content including data, scripts, and models are fed to the Data Ingest Translators Module to translate the inputs into formats compatible with other end user devices. The translated inputs are distributed by the Content Delivery Broker Module to the other end user devices and stored in the Content Repository Module; paragraph 0189, discussing that embodiments of the system are capable of providing the positions of trainees in the simulations and showing the results of a trainee using binoculars and communication equipment, operations during day or night, and environmental effects such as wind, rain, snow, and hail, moving and stationary firing capability against both moving and stationary targets, replication of munition fragmentation effects and characteristics and known surface-danger zones, surrogate weapons that have the same form, fit, and function as the real weapon with functional characteristics of the actual weapon system and performance).
The Driscoll-Daniali combination describes features related to training and testing. McCormack describes a virtual reality system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali combination with McCormack because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali combination to include McCormack’s feature for including wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: aggregating information received from the role player devices the exercise devices, and other devices configured to simulate the scenario environment, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes (McCormack at paragraph 0159); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 7, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Driscoll further teaches wherein performing the analysis and administration phase includes outputting finalized requirements including the initial requirements and the one or more detailed requirements (paragraph 0021, discussing that the embodiments repeat the computerized self-training program and the computerized self-testing program for subsequent phases of the requirements as shown by the self-testing; paragraph 0026, discussing that the generator 200 has access to a database of previously created and stored contractual clauses, self-training modules, and self-testing modules 250. The generator 200 matches ones of the previously created, standardized clauses to the parties' requirements and combines such standardized clauses into a contract (or adds such clauses to a shell contract in, for example, a merge document). For example, the parties can be given a list of standard requirements from which they can select their requirements).
As per claim 9, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Although not explicitly taught by Driscoll, McCormack in the analogous art of training systems teaches wherein the environment variables include weather conditions and presence or absence of equipment conflicting with communication over the network (paragraph 0143, discussing that each training event comprises of generic, reconfigurable simulation content including avatars, buildings, terrain, weather elements, and other assets…The configuration variables contained in the configuration file can also establish if and how objects react to live, external data. For example, a rain asset can be configured with a float variable for intensity ranging from 0-10. The intensity can be set to respond to real-time weather data, according to data from a live, external weather database, whereby the source of the live data could be established in the simulation's configuration file, as well as how the virtual rain asset responds to the different values of the data; paragraph 0182, discussing that the objects and data may include renderings of stored or ingested data to show terrain, buildings, roads, weather, weapons, vehicles, aircraft, ships, and placement of hostile and friendly forces; paragraph 0184, discussing that referring to the non-limiting exemplary use-case whereby the invention is used for training Military and Law Enforcement Personnel, content, in the form of 3D assets are pulled from the Content Repository when needed and configured to look and perform according to configuration files and user settings at runtime using external data, configuration files, and user interfaces. For example, consider a rain asset in a simulation comprising of weather, adversaries, and terrain (i.e. ingredients). The rain asset is configured with a float variable for intensity (1-10), which may be set at design-time (according to the simulation's author), run-time (according to the trainer or trainee), or real-time (according to data from a live weather database). Likewise, the adversary assets are configured with an intensity variable that defines their performance against the trainees. This approach is applied to all assets in our simulations to reduce the storage and bandwidth required and aligns with our modular design; paragraph 0158).
The Driscoll-Daniali combination describes features related to training and testing. McCormack describes a virtual reality system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali combination with McCormack because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali combination to include McCormack’s feature for including wherein the environment variables include weather conditions and presence or absence of equipment conflicting with communication over the network, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes (McCormack at paragraph 0159); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 10, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Driscoll further teaches reporting the performance of one or more participants includes identifying gaps in the performance of the one or more exercise devices (paragraph 0009, discussing that the embodiments can provide warnings to all of the parties to the service agreement if the employees of the service provider do not progress through the phases of the requirements within pre-established time limits. This process reports the results of the self-testing to the parties; paragraph 0020, discussing that if all the employees of the group have not passed the testing, processing proceeds to item 112 which returns the employees to the current (e.g., first) requirement and repeats the computerized self-training and self-testing on the current requirement; paragraph 0036, discussing that the embodiments provide all the resources needed to ensure a site team operates at peak performance. The testing programs described herein provide an information management system to log the details of every service transaction performed. This helps the site team meet not only deadlines, but every requirement of every job. The information management system can capture the details of every service transaction to help red flag issues before they turn into problems. This also generates detailed, performance-based reports to help fine-tune the processes, optimize resource usage, and facilitate good decision-making.), but it does not explicitly teach wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria. However, McCormack in the analogous art of training systems teaches this concept. McCormack teaches:
wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria (paragraph 0156, discussing that for the Content Delivery Broker Module 105, FIG. 9, either a central ML Module or a resident machine learning component provides recommendations to the user based on prior use. For example, referring to the military simulation use case, a returning user who has demonstrated a lack of pistol skills is provided by the Content Delivery Broker Module with a list of simulation content recommendations oriented around improving their pistols skills. This capability is performed by integrating system learning functions implemented as rules leveraging user audit and log data and content authoring that results from ML algorithms; paragraph 0158, discussing that compared to the baseline, each user's skills will be automatically and ongoingly assessed based on their performance. The simulations are then altered accordingly to challenge the user appropriately by modifying the intensity of the variables correlated with the performance indicator. For example, expanding on the example above, for the user performing poorly with a pistol at night in the rain, after identifying this user's deficiency, the system will autonomously create and deliver more training exercises to the user oriented with a pistol at night in the rain. Or, if the user has been getting shot from the left in close quarter combat more often than other users (compared to the baseline), our system creates and delivers more training exercises for the user oriented around adversaries to the user's left; paragraph 0160, discussing that one way the system assesses the user's performance is a simple logic gate for performance metrics, with ranges that establish events based on the metrics. For example, if the user has not obtained the minimum required 95% effectiveness in a given exercise, a logic gate may prohibit the user from advancing to a more challenging level. This allows the challenge to progressively increase as the trainee advances through the training levels and allow the System to decrease the challenge if the trainee experiences difficulty achieving the standards. Additionally, using the same method, after each session is completed, the trainee will receive tailored feedback in the After Action Review that is based on quantitative progress derived from these key variables. Based on poor performance metrics, a trainee is able to (or may be required to) go back to a prior level to focus on a single or multiple deficient skill(s). Using these methods, which are aligned with our overall architectural tenet of extensibility, the ITutor component provides the intelligent tutor capabilities to all trainees and allow military and police forces to employ pedagogical techniques that are suited to the specific training objectives of the event and domain being taught. The design and adherence to our architectural tenet of extensibility allows it to expand with the need to incorporate new performance indicators, analytics models, machine learning capabilities, sensors, and more; paragraph 0160).
The Driscoll-Daniali combination describes features related to training and testing. McCormack describes a virtual reality system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali combination with McCormack because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali combination to include McCormack’s feature for including wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises, based one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria during simulation of the scenario environment, transmit, to the one or more of the exercise devices not satisfying predetermine criteria through the network, instructions providing automatically generated assistance for satisfying predetermine criteria, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes (McCormack at paragraph 0159); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 11 and 12 recite substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 1, as discussed above. Further, as per claim 11 the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium tangibly storing a program for providing training, exercises and/or scenarios for conjuring technical targeting operations, the program, when executed by a computing system including at least one processor, performing one or more of the functionalities (Driscoll, paragraph 0038). As per claim 12, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches a computing system for providing training, exercises and/or scenarios for conjuring technical targeting operations, the computing system comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Driscoll, paragraph 0038 and Daniali, paragraphs 0036, 0043).
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 2, as discussed above.
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 7, as discussed above.
Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 9, as discussed above.
Claim 21 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 10, as discussed above.
As per claim 26, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. Driscoll further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate relational activity and engagement between target sites, the plurality of role players, and/or the plurality of exercise participants throughout the scenario (paragraph 0020, discussing that if all the employees of the group have not passed the testing, processing proceeds to item 112 which returns the employees to the current (e.g., first) requirement and repeats the computerized self-training 106 and self-testing 108 on the current requirement. To the contrary, when all employees in the group have passed the testing (if there are more requirements, as determined by decision box 114) processing proceeds to item 116 which performs the computerized self-training 106 and self-testing 108 on the next requirement (e.g., second or subsequent requirements); paragraph 0030, discussing that the computerized self-training programs 204 directed toward a first phase of the requirements. The embodiments herein also use the computerized self-testing program 206 to determine whether all of the employees 211-213 of the service provider within a specific group have acquired knowledge that exceeds the first phase of the requirements).
As per claim 28, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, McCormack in the analogous art of training systems teaches wherein performing the operational execution of exercises and training during simulation of the scenario environment based on the environment variables comprises: receiving over the network from the role player devices and the exercise devices information about a user of the device and environment information where the device is located, the information about the user of the device including heartbeat and temperature of the user, and the environment information including temperature of the environment and electromagnetic interference of the environment (paragraph 0125, discussing that peripherals are loosely coupled to the End-user Application Module via the direct integration of the Peripheral Mediator Component in the Input/Output Module, which is coupled to the User Interface and the Software Methods and Variables, thereby allowing the End-user Application Module to exchange data with each Peripheral. For example, the Input/Output Module (i) receives input data, such as data from sensors that monitor the user's physical actions and biological status during simulations, including hand positions, heart rate, head rotation, head position, and the position of any other objects being tracked by the Input/Output Module such as controllers, weapons, and duty gear, (ii) delivers output in the form of data that is translated automatically into sensory feedback including but not limited to visual, physical, and audible sensory feedback; paragraph 0128, discussing that in accordance with an exemplary embodiment for Military/Law Enforcement Training shown in FIG. 22, the Peripheral Mediator mediates the exchange of data between the Input/Output Module and input components, such that it receives, stores, aggregates, and sends to the End-user Application Module data output by (i) sensors in the Head Mounted Display, including but not limited to data captured by cameras, gyroscopes, and microphones, and (ii) additional sensors mounted external to the Head Mounted Display, including but not limited to sensors mounted to the user's body, weapons, and duty gear, with said sensors including but not limited to heart rate, temperature, skin elasticity, skin connectivity, buttons, IMUs, Electromagnetic Tracking Devices, LIDAR, and Infrared. The sensors located in the HMD, including but not limited to cameras, IMUs, and microphones transmit data to the Mediator through a USB cable connecting the HMD to the device running the End-user Application Module using a set of APIs; paragraph 0177, discussing that the system architecture supports the visualization of i) real-time data, such as the position of hostile/blue-force/neutral assets and weather conditions; paragraph 0179); and
wherein the satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants is determined based on the received information about the user of the device and the received environment information where the device is located (paragraph 0158, discussing that as one example of the Machine Learning capability, referring to the exemplary embodiment of the Military/Law Enforcement Training use case shown in FIG. 22, one or more of the embodiments of the System 100 may include an Intelligent Tutor (ITutor) component using the ML Module 109. The ITutor component captures and logs data related to each training repetition using the End-user Application Module 101, and sends that data to the ML Module 109, which detects the user's events and scores based on real-time analytics. Using a basic statistics approach, in which key variables are manually identified to serve as performance indicators, the ITutor component detects the user's deficiencies or strengths. The ITutor develops and maintains a baseline average for the population for each key variable. Compared to the baseline, each user's skills will be automatically and ongoingly assessed based on their performance. The simulations are then altered accordingly to challenge the user appropriately by modifying the intensity of the variables correlated with the performance indicator. For example, expanding on the example above, for the user performing poorly with a pistol at night in the rain, after identifying this user's deficiency, the System 100 will autonomously create and deliver more training exercises to the user oriented with a pistol at night in the rain. Or, if the user has been getting shot from the left in close quarter combat more often than other users (compared to the baseline), our system creates and delivers more training exercises for the user oriented around adversaries to the user's left; paragraph 0160, discussing that one way the system assesses the user's performance is a simple logic gate for performance metrics, with ranges that establish events based on the metrics. For example, if the user has not obtained the minimum required 95% effectiveness in a given exercise, a logic gate may prohibit the user from advancing to a more challenging level. This allows the challenge to progressively increase as the trainee advances through the training levels and allow the System to decrease the challenge if the trainee experiences difficulty achieving the standards. Additionally, using the same method, after each session is completed, the trainee will receive tailored feedback in the After Action Review that is based on quantitative progress derived from these key variables. Based on poor performance metrics, a trainee is able to (or may be required to) go back to a prior level to focus on a single or multiple deficient skill(s). Using these methods, which are aligned with our overall architectural tenet of extensibility, the ITutor component provides the intelligent tutor capabilities to all trainees and allow military and police forces to employ pedagogical techniques that are suited to the specific training objectives of the event and domain being taught. The design and adherence to our architectural tenet of extensibility allows it to expand with the need to incorporate new performance indicators, analytics models, machine learning capabilities, sensors, and more; paragraph 0184, discussing that referring to the non-limiting exemplary use-case whereby the invention is used for training Military and Law Enforcement Personnel, content, in the form of 3D assets are pulled from the Content Repository when needed and configured to look and perform according to configuration files and user settings at runtime using external data, configuration files, and user interfaces. For example, consider a rain asset in a simulation comprising of weather, adversaries, and terrain (i.e. ingredients). The rain asset is configured with a float variable for intensity (1-10), which may be set at design-time (according to the simulation's author), run-time (according to the trainer or trainee), or real-time (according to data from a live weather database). Likewise, the adversary assets are configured with an intensity variable that defines their performance against the trainees; paragraphs 0159, 0189).
The Driscoll-Daniali combination describes features related to training and testing. McCormack describes a virtual reality system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali combination with McCormack because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali combination to include McCormack’s features for including receiving over the network from the role player devices and the exercise devices information about a user of the device and environment information where the device is located, the information about the user of the device including heartbeat and temperature of the user, and the environment information including temperature of the environment and electromagnetic interference of the environment, and wherein the satisfactory or non-satisfactory performance of the exercise participants is determined based on the received information about the user of the device and the received environment information where the device is located, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes (McCormack at paragraph 0159); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
33. Claims 3-6 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driscoll in view of Daniali, in view of McCormack, in further view of Clampitt III et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0319925 A1, [hereinafter Clampitt].
As per claim 3, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, Clampitt in the analogous art of testing systems teaches wherein the testing conditions include one or more conflicting devices configured to conflict with one or more devices of the plurality of devices (paragraph 0189, discussing that the second format may be a format that is compatible with the connected devices. In this case the parameters may indicate I/O operations, commands, etc. to be relayed to one or more devices, which may be in a first format that is not executable or is otherwise incompatible with the devices…The processor may implement the relay module to send a second message including the parameters in the second format to the one or more devices. The relay module may also identify the intended recipient devices based on address or other identification information the first message, or using stored address/identification information; paragraph 0190, discussing that in the second example, the second format may be a format that is compatible with the higher layer entities. In this case the parameters may indicate results of operations, tasks, actions of a workload and/or state information to be relayed to the higher layer entity, which may be in a first format that is not executable or is otherwise incompatible with the higher layer entity…The processor may implement the relay module to send a second message including the parameters in the second format to the higher layer entity. The relay module may also identify the intended recipient entity based on address or other identification information the first message, or using stored address/identification information).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Clampitt describes a system and method for testing. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards training and testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Clampitt because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Clampitt’s feature for including wherein the testing conditions include one or more conflicting devices configured to conflict with one or more devices of the plurality of devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the data integrity, quality, and assurance (Clampitt at paragraph 0045); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 4, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Although not explicitly taught by Driscoll, Clampitt in the analogous art of testing systems teaches wherein the initial requirements include timing requirements of for the plurality of devices (paragraph 0082, discussing that the provisioning module may be configured to create service coupling between the user of the resource and the resource itself. In embodiments, there may be three types of service couplings between the user of the resource and the resource. The first coupling type may be a tight coupling, which indicates a relatively strong relationship between the requirement and the device and/or resource. The tight coupling may be permanent and/or repeatable. Additionally, the tight coupling used when the requirement can only be met by specific resources or devices with specific capabilities or functionalities. The second coupling type may be a loosely coupling, which indicates that there is greater reusability and less interdependence between the features of the device/resource and the user/requirement when compared to the first coupling type. The third coupling type may be an ad-hoc coupling, which may be used when the requirement can be met by virtually any or all resources or devices; paragraph 0097, discussing that the query may indicate required attributes for the devices D1-DN (e.g., device or component type/model, device or component attributes, silicon stepping or stepping level, platform architecture, operating system type and/or version, hardware and/or software system requirements, etc.). Additionally, the query may indicate required workload requirements (e.g., throughput capabilities, benchmark capabilities, performance capabilities, response time capabilities, etc.), operations-based requirements, or time-based requirements; paragraph 0087).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Clampitt describes a system and method for testing. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards training and testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Clampitt because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Clampitt’s feature for including wherein the initial requirements include timing requirements of for the plurality of devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the data integrity, quality, and assurance (Clampitt at paragraph 0045); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 5, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 4. Driscoll does not explicitly teach wherein the testing conditions and the timing requirements are different for each device. Daniali in the analogous art of validation and testing systems teaches:
wherein the testing conditions are different for each device (paragraph 0002, discoing that equipment manufacturers must validate their equipment against various applications, network performance, and user behavior diversity. A device validation process and testing generally measure the user experience of the device and the results of the test may be analyzed to improve the device and address potential issues. In one example, user experience or performance of an application using a selection of augmented reality (AR)/virtual reality (VR)/mixed reality (MR), or collectively, extended reality (XR) capable user devices may be analyzed. When these devices are produced by different manufacturers according to their own specifications, a given function or feature in the test application may operate differently in different devices; paragraph 0013, discussing that the testing system may receive a request, from the testing entity, to perform one or more validation tests for the XR application executing on an XR capable device. The request may at least specify usage of the one or more software modules and include testing specifications corresponding to an XR capable device, wherein the testing specifications may specify which validation tests to apply. In some examples, the validation tests may include performance tests, comfort, and usability tests, and input tests, and/or so forth. The testing specifications may also include information relating to the operating system, file system, hardware, and/or other software systems of an XR capable device that executes the XR application; paragraph 0014, discussing that the testing system may perform different validation tests on different extended reality (XR) capable devices. For instance, the testing system may perform, via a first testing device, a first validation test on a first XR capable device, and perform, via a second testing device, a second validation test on a second XR capable device…The first testing device and the second testing device may be the same or different devices; paragraph 0023, discussing that the testing and evaluation process monitoring server is configured to provide testing configurations to the testing system based at least on the testing specifications. In some aspects, the testing and evaluation process monitoring server may store validation criteria (e.g., acceptance level, the threshold for the number of defects identified, expected result) corresponding to various validation tests. The testing and evaluation process monitoring server may also include product requirements (e.g., implementation requirements, performance targets, service requirements, functions and features, quality requirements, customer experience/requirements, operations requirements, other technical requirements). The testing configurations may also be based at least on product requirements and the validation criteria. The testing and evaluation process monitoring server may also instruct the testing system which validation tests to apply and the pre-requisite for each test; throughput scheme; paragraph 0034, discussing that the request may include identifying information corresponding to a unique XR capable device and corresponding to a unique testing specification associated with the XR capable device. Additionally, the request may specify one or more validation tests to perform).
Driscoll describes features related to training and testing. Daniali describes a validation and testing system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Driscoll with Daniali because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying Driscoll to include Daniali’s feature for including wherein the testing conditions are different for each device, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the device and addressing potential issues (Daniali at paragraph 0002); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, Clampitt in the analogous art of testing systems teaches wherein the timing requirements are different for each device (paragraph 0082, discussing that the provisioning module may be configured to create service coupling between the user of the resource and the resource itself. In embodiments, there may be three types of service couplings between the user of the resource and the resource. The first coupling type may be a tight coupling, which indicates a relatively strong relationship between the requirement and the device and/or resource. The tight coupling may be permanent and/or repeatable. Additionally, the tight coupling used when the requirement can only be met by specific resources or devices with specific capabilities or functionalities. The second coupling type may be a loosely coupling, which indicates that there is greater reusability and less interdependence between the features of the device/resource and the user/requirement when compared to the first coupling type. The third coupling type may be an ad-hoc coupling, which may be used when the requirement can be met by virtually any or all resources or devices; paragraph 0097, discussing that the query may indicate required attributes for the devices D1-DN (e.g., device or component type/model, device or component attributes, silicon stepping or stepping level, platform architecture, operating system type and/or version, hardware and/or software system requirements, etc.). Additionally, the query may indicate required workload requirements (e.g., throughput capabilities, benchmark capabilities, performance capabilities, response time capabilities, etc.), operations-based requirements, or time-based requirements).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Clampitt describes a system and method for testing. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards training and testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Clampitt because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Clampitt’s feature for including wherein the timing requirements are different for each device, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the data integrity, quality, and assurance (Clampitt at paragraph 0045); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 6, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Driscoll further teaches wherein one or more additional requirements are determined based on the initial requirements and training objectives (paragraph 0020 when all employees in the group have passed the testing (if there are more requirements, as determined by decision box 114) processing proceeds to item 116 which performs the computerized self-training and self-testing on the next requirement (e.g., second or subsequent requirements); paragraph 0031, discussing that the embodiments repeat the computerized self-training program and the computerized self-testing program for subsequent phases of the requirements.).
Although not taught by Driscoll, Clampitt in the analogous art of testing systems teaches wherein one or more additional requirements are determined based on capabilities of the one or more devices of the plurality of devices (paragraph 0077, discussing that the reservation module may be configured to check for existence of computing resources available in the ecosystem (e.g., resources provided by one or more devices D1-DN) and then either reserve/schedule the resources immediately for use and/or remove them from being oversubscribed. Any type of known scheduling, retention and/or intelligent placement algorithm may be used to schedule the resources. During an initialization phase of the CDI system 500, the reservation module may obtain capability and/or functionality information, which may be updated during provisioning/de-provisioning of the container, partitions, or VM. The reservation module may obtain the capability and/or functionality information on a static basis (e.g., obtaining the capability and/or functionality information from metadata repository), a dynamic basis (e.g., communicating with DMS 506 and/or devices to obtain a current status on the fly), and/or a semi-static (e.g., obtaining capability information from an intermediary device, or from both the repository 523 and by polling the DMS 506 or devices) In embodiments, the capability information may define the various attributes and/or parameters of the devices D1-DN such as device or component type/model, device or component attributes, silicon stepping or stepping level, platform architecture, operating system type and/or version, currently installed software applications, available memory, desired amount of computing or network resources that may be used for testing purposes, attached devices/peripheral devices, communications capabilities (e.g., wireless and/or wired network capabilities, as well as supported communications protocols), etc. The functionality information may refine the capability information based on past behavior(s), precision, confidence in the capability, and/or reduction in features and/or functions based on anomalies or temporary or intermittent failures. The functionality information can be used to refine the specificity of the resource and/or device that is identified and allocated to a project; paragraph 0082, disusing that the provisioning module may be configured to create service coupling between the user of the resource and the resource itself. In embodiments, there may be three types of service couplings between the user of the resource and the resource. The first coupling type may be a tight coupling, which indicates a relatively strong relationship between the requirement and the device and/or resource. The tight coupling may be permanent and/or repeatable. Additionally, the tight coupling used when the requirement can only be met by specific resources or devices with specific capabilities or functionalities.).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Clampitt describes a system and method for testing. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards training and testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Clampitt because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Clampitt’s feature for including wherein one or more additional requirements are determined based on capabilities of the one or more devices of the plurality of devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the data integrity, quality, and assurance (Clampitt at paragraph 0045); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 3, as discussed above.
Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 4, as discussed above.
Claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 5, as discussed above.
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 6, as discussed above.
34. Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driscoll in view of Daniali, in view of McCormack, in view of Robin et al., Pub. No.: US 2005/0114829 A1, [hereinafter Robin], in further view of Rantala et al., Pub. No.: US 2014/0141782 A1, [hereinafter Rantala].
As per claim 8, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the method of claim 1. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, Robin in the analogous art of change management systems teaches wherein performing the task organization and technical development phase includes determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on pre-stored criteria, information about the changes, capabilities of the role players, and information about a testing environment (paragraph 0352, discussing that configuration management is often confused with project change control, which is discussed below. The two are interrelated, but not the same. Configuration management is the tracking of the state of project deliverables and documents. Change control is the process used to review and approve changes. Configuration management provides the baseline data that the team needs in order to make effective change control decisions; paragraph 0377, discussing specifying individuals (including the customer, program management, and some combination of stakeholders and other team members) to serve on a change control board to authorize changes. Such a group can take many forms, as long as it is authorized to approve changes to cost, schedule, and functionality; paragraph 0441, discussing that after the team defines a baseline, it is placed under change control. This does not mean that all decisions reached in the planning phase are final. But it does mean that as work progresses in the developing phase, the team should review and approve any suggested changes to the baseline; paragraph 1375, discussing that an individual should be given ownership of a specific risk classification area and responsibility for approving changes; paragraph 1870, discussing processes to request configuration changes (steps, approval levels); paragraph 1875, discussing that the Change Management Approach field describes how the project's scope will be maintained through structured procedures for submitting, approving, implementing, and reviewing change requests. The change management process is responsible for providing prompt and efficient handling of any request for change).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Robin describes a system and method for facilitating the process of designing and developing a project. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards training and testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Robin because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Robin’s feature for including wherein performing the task organization and technical development phase includes determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on pre-stored criteria, information about the changes, capabilities of the role players, and information about a testing environment, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing organizations to derive better results for their business (Robin at paragraph 0072); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack-Robin combination does not explicitly teach determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on information about available devices. However, Rantala in the analogous art of device management systems teaches this concept. Rantala teaches:
determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on information about available devices (paragraph 0050, discussing that examples of embodiments also include a method for a network equipment to change a device (e.g. a UE) from communicating with a first data communication system to communicating with a second data communication system. The method comprises receiving an update request from the device, determining that the update request comprises information indicating a change in the device's capabilities relative to the device's stored context, and determining which additional action is required. In some embodiments, the method comprises determining to detach the device from the first data communication system due to the change in capabilities, sending a detach request to the device, and removing the device's stored context. In some embodiments, the method comprises determining that the update request must be rejected due to the change in capabilities, sending a rejection to the device indicating the cause as the change in capabilities, receiving a detach request from the device, and removing the device's stored context; paragraph 0006).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack-Robin combination describes features related to training and testing. Rantala describes a system and method for device management. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards training and testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack-Robin combination with Rantala because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack-Robin combination to include Rantala’s feature for including determination whether to approve or deny requested changes based on information about available devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of increasing capacity (Rantala at paragraph 0005); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 19 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 8, as discussed above.
35. Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driscoll in view of Daniali, in view of McCormack, in further view of Elliott et al., Pub. No.: US 2015/0382208 A1, [hereinafter Elliott].
As per claim 22, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. The Driscoll-Daniali combination does not explicitly teach further comprising communication circuitry configured to communicate with a plurality of mobile devices, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, during the operational execution of exercises and/or training to the plurality of mobile devices information about relation of exercise participants and mobile and static targets within a scenario of the exercises and/or training. However, Elliott in the analogous art of performance measurement systems teaches this concept (paragraph 0013, discussing embodiments of a management portal server that provides operator access to performance statistics by monitoring the wireless quality of service during events at large venues to ensure that a Distributed Antenna System (DAS) is functioning correctly or as desired. In one or more embodiments, the management portal server can monitor and control a BOT remote wireless coverage surveillance system that utilizes one or more of a group of probe devices for collecting test data for communication services at the venue; paragraph 0044, discussing that the probe device agent can have a command handler. The probe device agent can process various commands such as via the command handler (e.g., commands received from the management portal server): stop probe device service—stops the probe device agent from executing any test and the probe device then goes into IDLE state; start probe device service—starts the probe device agent and places the probe device in an ACTIVE state; start monitor—this command instructs the probe device agent to send the test results after each test execution is completed and this command is sent by the management portal server when a user is viewing the dynamic status of the probe device; stop monitor—this command instructs the probe device agent that the probe device's status is no longer being viewed dynamically so the probe device agent should stop sending the test results at end of each test execution; stream software update—updates the application on the Android handset; stream reboot—reboots the Android handset connected to the probe device; stream start application—starts the application on the Android handset; stream stop application—stops the application on the Android handset; stream power cycle—power cycles the Android handset via the probe device agent initiating a GPIO to power cycle the optional handset; status post—posts the current status of the probe device (Active/Idle) to the database server; result post—posts the test results to the database server; and/or log post—posts the debug logs to the database server for troubleshooting; paragraph 0065, discussing that a determination can be made as to whether a connection to a network server exists. For example, each probe device can have a single hardwire interface enabling an Ethernet connection via SIAD to the network server. If the connection does not exist or is otherwise determined to be unavailable for use by the probe device, the probe device can locally store the performance data and continue to perform tests on the various communication services at the venue. Once the connection with the network server is restored, the performance data (or a portion thereof) can be transmitted for storage by the database server; paragraph 0073, discussing that active testing at the manufacturing and acceptance test phase for each production probe device can ensure that the highest quality and latest versions of the probe devices are available in the venues to monitor the DAS. The use of a test server system enables: remotely manage probe devices; since the portal is web based, any user having proper privileges in the portal and access to the network can access the portal from a PC, tablet, cell phone, or other connected mobile device and is not access platform dependent; able to perform automated testing around the clock to keep the new production probe device's quality standards high; analyze the test results in a graphical manner based on which technology is being monitored; create and edit custom test suites for expanded testing of the probe devices before delivery; download the use-case test suites to the probe devices remotely; update the probe device software remotely; probe device tests can be monitored in near real-time).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Elliott relates to performance measurement systems. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Elliott because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Elliott’s feature for including transmitting, during the operational execution of exercises and/or training to the plurality of mobile devices information about relation of exercise participants and mobile and static targets within a scenario of the exercises and/or training, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of facilitating performance of operations (Elliott at paragraph 0021); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 24, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, Elliott in the analogous art of performance measurement systems teaches further comprising communication circuitry configured to communicate with a plurality of devices, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit to one or more of the devices, during the operational execution of exercises and/or training, information about visualization of locations mapped in the scenario for viewing and situation awareness throughout the scenario (paragraph 0025, discussing a method including receiving, by a system including a processor, performance data from a probe device, where the performance data is for first and second groups of communication sessions initiated by the probe device, where the performance data is measured according to testing criteria, where the first group of communication sessions is established via a local area wireless access technology utilizing a distributed antenna system, and where the second group of communication sessions is established via a second radio access technology utilizing the distributed antenna system. The method can include analyzing, by the system, the performance data. The method can include adjusting, by the system, the distributed antenna system, a network providing communication services to a location where the probe device is positioned, or a combination thereof. The adjusting can be based on the analyzing of the performance data; paragraph 0044, discussing that the probe device agent can have a command handler. The probe device agent can process various commands such as via the command handler (e.g., commands received from the management portal server): stop probe device service—stops the probe device agent from executing any test and the probe device then goes into IDLE state; start probe device service—starts the probe device agent and places the probe device in an ACTIVE state; start monitor—this command instructs the probe device agent to send the test results after each test execution is completed and this command is sent by the management portal server when a user is viewing the dynamic status of the probe device; stop monitor—this command instructs the probe device agent that the probe device's status is no longer being viewed dynamically so the probe device agent should stop sending the test results at end of each test execution; stream software update—updates the application on the Android handset; stream reboot—reboots the Android handset connected to the probe device; stream start application—starts the application on the Android handset; stream stop application—stops the application on the Android handset; stream power cycle—power cycles the Android handset via the probe device agent initiating a GPIO to power cycle the optional handset; status post—posts the current status of the probe device (Active/Idle) to the database server; result post—posts the test results to the database server; and/or log post—posts the debug logs to the database server for troubleshooting; paragraph 0065, discussing that a determination can be made as to whether a connection to a network server exists. For example, each probe device can have a single hardwire interface enabling an Ethernet connection via SIAD to the network server. If the connection does not exist or is otherwise determined to be unavailable for use by the probe device, the probe device can locally store the performance data and continue to perform tests on the various communication services at the venue. Once the connection with the network server is restored, the performance data (or a portion thereof) can be transmitted for storage by the database server; paragraph 0050, discussing that other portal functions include generating and rendering a Graphical User Interface (GUI) which is a control panel illustrated in FIG. 7 that enables an operator to search on a wide range of parameters in the database. For example, using the following search criteria in the summary panel on the left side of the screen provides data on the probe devices including: collection—collection represents groups of probe devices or a group of collections to manage the probe devices with respect to their status, locations, and so forth. There can be different types of collections: system collections that are a read-only location based collection that displays the probe devices from all locations. It can automatically bind all the newly added probe devices to the system collection; paragraph 0073, discussing that active testing at the manufacturing and acceptance test phase for each production probe device can ensure that the highest quality and latest versions of the probe devices are available in the venues to monitor the DAS. The use of a test server system enables: remotely manage probe devices; since the portal is web based, any user having proper privileges in the portal and access to the network can access the portal from a PC, tablet, cell phone, or other connected mobile device and is not access platform dependent; able to perform automated testing around the clock to keep the new production probe device's quality standards high; analyze the test results in a graphical manner based on which technology is being monitored; create and edit custom test suites for expanded testing of the probe devices before delivery; download the use-case test suites to the probe devices remotely; update the probe device software remotely; probe device tests can be monitored in near real-time).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Elliott relates to performance measurement systems. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Elliott because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Elliott’s feature for including transmitting to one or more of the devices, during the operational execution of exercises and/or training, information about visualization of locations mapped in the scenario for viewing and situation awareness throughout the scenario, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of facilitating performance of operations (Elliott at paragraph 0021); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
36. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driscoll in view of Clampitt, in view of Daniali, in view of McCormack, in further view of Bedor et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0051460 A1, [hereinafter Bedor].
As per claim 23, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, McCormack in the analogous art of training system teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to: compare the performance of the exercise participants based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and the progress of the simulation of the scenario environment (paragraph 0158, discussing that as one example of the Machine Learning capability, referring to the exemplary embodiment of the Military/Law Enforcement Training use case shown in FIG. 22, one or more of the embodiments of the System 100 may include an Intelligent Tutor (ITutor) component using the ML Module 109. The ITutor component captures and logs data related to each training repetition using the End-user Application Module 101, and sends that data to the ML Module 109, which detects the user's events and scores based on real-time analytics. Using a basic statistics approach, in which key variables are manually identified to serve as performance indicators, the ITutor component detects the user's deficiencies or strengths (such as poor performance with a pistol at night in the rain, or excellent use of cover in all conditions). The ITutor develops and maintains a baseline average for the population (all users) for each key variable. Compared to the baseline, each user's skills will be automatically and ongoingly assessed based on their performance. The simulations are then altered accordingly to challenge the user appropriately by modifying the intensity of the variables correlated with the performance indicator. For example, expanding on the example above, for the user performing poorly with a pistol at night in the rain, after identifying this user's deficiency, the system will autonomously create and deliver more training exercises to the user oriented with a pistol at night in the rain. Or, if the user has been getting shot from the left in close quarter combat more often than other users (compared to the baseline), our system creates and delivers more training exercises for the user oriented around adversaries to the user's left; paragraph 0159, discussing using the performance indicators to populate the User Interface (UI). These UIs allow the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes. When interfaced with the ITutor component, the System allows the user to receive this information in real-time…Furthermore, during the simulations, the type and detail of data provided as guidance to the trainee will be reduced as he/she advances to increase the challenge and similarity to the real world as the user progresses).
The Driscoll-Daniali combination describes features related to training and testing. McCormack describes a virtual reality system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali combination with McCormack because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali combination to include McCormack’s features for including wherein at least one processor is configured to: compare the performance of the exercise participants based on the received role player information, the received exercise participant information, and the progress of the simulation of the scenario environment, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing the users, such as a trainer and trainee, to remain informed of what is happening, why it is happening, and how to improve training outcomes (McCormack at paragraph 0159); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination does not explicitly teach rank the performance of the exercise participants. However, Bedor in the analogous art of training systems teaches this concept. Bedor teaches:
rank the performance of the exercise participant (paragraph 0400, discussing that a user interface of an at risk class report for a class of students is shown. The at risk class report lists names of all students in a class stack ranked based on an at risk score. The at risk score is computed based on the learning profile of the user and usage patterns, as analyzed by the assignment module, the usage modules, the performance modules, the engagement modules and the other modules of the learning management system engine; paragraph 0361, discussing that the search profiles feature also allows the user to stack rank the unlocked profiles).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Bedor describes a learning management system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards testing systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Bedor because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Bedor’s feature for including ranking the performance of the exercise participant, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of facilitating record keeping and notifications (Bedor at paragraph 0003); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
37. Claims 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driscoll in view of Daniali, in view of McCormack, in further view of Turner et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0334637 A1, [hereinafter Turner].
As per claim 25, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, Turner in the analogous art of analysis systems teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate common stop analysis charts based on role player tracking activity within the system (paragraph 0071, discussing a diagram showing how the delivery system can combine overlapping sets of stops from data from the two GPS devices to generate a consensus stop. The diagram shows that, as time passes, GPS stops reported by the first GPS device 805 (top set of lines 502) and GPS stops reported by the second GPS device 810 (middle set of lines 504) can be reconciled (for example, determined to be a common stop or overlapping, if applicable). The bottom set of lines 504 shows a proposed reconciliation for the GPS stops from the first and second GPS devices 805 and 810, respectively. In each case, a common stop is constructed from a maximal set of stops that are connected by overlapping in time. Each common stop is determined by averaging the earliest arrival times from each GPS device 805 and 810, and the latest departure times from each GPS device, and the latitudes and the longitudes of stops used to build each common stop; paragraph 0073).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Turner describes a planning system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards planning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Turner because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Turner’s feature for including generating common stop analysis charts based on role player tracking activity within the system, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of identifying and improving efficiencies (Turner at paragraph 0003); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 27, the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination teaches the system of claim 12. Although not explicitly taught by the Driscoll-Daniali combination, Turner in the analogous art of analysis systems teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate common stop reports in relation to the plurality of role players and their pattern of life movements throughout the scenario (paragraph 0071, discussing a diagram showing how the delivery system can combine overlapping sets of stops from data from the two GPS devices to generate a consensus stop. The diagram shows that, as time passes, GPS stops reported by the first GPS device 805 (top set of lines 502) and GPS stops reported by the second GPS device 810 (middle set of lines 504) can be reconciled (for example, determined to be a common stop or overlapping, if applicable). The bottom set of lines 504 shows a proposed reconciliation for the GPS stops from the first and second GPS devices 805 and 810, respectively. In each case, a common stop is constructed from a maximal set of stops that are connected by overlapping in time. Each common stop is determined by averaging the earliest arrival times from each GPS device 805 and 810, and the latest departure times from each GPS device, and the latitudes and the longitudes of stops used to build each common stop; paragraph 0073).
The Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination describes features related to training and testing. Turner describes a planning system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards planning systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination with Turner because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for training and testing, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system and method for configuring and conducting scenarios for training and testing), and because modifying the Driscoll-Daniali-McCormack combination to include Turner’s feature for including wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate common stop reports in relation to the plurality of role players and their pattern of life movements throughout the scenario, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of identifying and improving efficiencies (Turner at paragraph 0003); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nedivi, Pub. No.: US 2020/0160740 A1 – describes a method and system comprising an adaptive learning platform.
DeCharms, Pub. No.: US 2013/0211238 A1 – describes that using some form of display, the subject views instructions of what the subject is to do, information indicating the physiological activation of the subject's brain in substantially real time, indicators of the subject's success and progress in training, and/or other forms of information such as the number of trials remaining in a training session.
Amos et al., Pub. No.: US 2011/0022330 A1 – describes an experiment controller that is able to adapt the simulation in real time, in dependence on the simulation user's performance and response to events as they unfold in the simulation.
Dahmen, Ulrich, Tobias Osterloh, and Jürgen Roßmann. "Generation of virtual test scenarios for training and validation of AI-based systems." 2021 IEEE International Conference on Progress in Informatics and Computing (PIC). IEEE, 2021 – describes a flexible generation of virtual test scenarios based on a systematic use of digital twins and virtual testbeds, allowing to generate training and validation data for AI-based systems in appropriate quantity, quality, and time.
/Darlene Garcia-Guerra/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625