Detailed office Action
The communication dated 10/14/2025 has been entered and fully considered. New claims 23-30 are added. Withdrawn claims 13-22 are cancelled. Claims 1-12 and 23-30 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged. Withdrawn claims 13-22 as related to Invention II are cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 8, 12, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2: replace “a mounting location optimization protocol” with “the mounting location optimization protocol”. This limitation is already recited in claim 1.
Claim 3, line 2: replace “a housing” with “the housing”. This limitation is already recited in claim 1.
Claim 8, line 1/2: replace “an infrared-absorbent spray” with “the infrared-absorbent spray”. This limitation is already recited in claim 7.
Claim 8, line 2: replace “mounting surfaces of the dental appliance” with “the mounting surface of the dental appliance”, to be consistent with the same limitation in claim 1.
Claim 12, line 5: add “comprising” after “protocol”.
Claim 12, line 15: replace “a housing” with “the housing”. This limitation is already recited in line 13 of claim 12.
Claim 27, line 1: replace “an infrared-absorbent spray” with “the infrared-absorbent spray”. This limitation is already recited in claim 26.
Claim 27, line 2: replace “mounting surfaces of the dental appliance” with “the mounting surface of the dental appliance”, to be consistent with the same limitation in claim 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the monitoring electronics unit housing" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “housing” is already recited prior to this limitation and it is the housing for this unit. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner replaces "the monitoring electronics unit housing" with "the monitoring electronics unit". Claims 2-11 and 23 are dependent on claim 1 and rejected as well.
Claim 2 recites the limitations "the digital model" in line 5 and “the patient’s dentition” in line 5/6. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim. Claim 23 is dependent on claim 2 and rejected as well.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein preparing the mounting surfaces" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner replaces the dependency of claim 7 from claim 1 to claim 4 where this limitation is already recited.
Claim 12 recites the limitations "the digital model" in line 8 and “the patient’s dentition” in line 8. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim. Claims 24-30 are dependent on claim 12 and rejected as well.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the monitoring electronics unit housing" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “housing” is already recited prior to this limitation and it is the housing for this unit. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner replaces "the monitoring electronics unit housing" with "the monitoring electronics unit". Claims 24-30 are dependent on claim 12 and rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (CN-205359667-U, of record, the English translation provided by Examiner), hereinafter CHEN, in view of KNOPP (US-2008/0109198), hereinafter KNOPP. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1-2, CHEN discloses A method for attaching a monitoring electronics unit to a dental appliance {[abstract] tooth socket is the dental appliance (note highlighted text on page 1) and the sensor is the monitoring unit}, the method comprising:
fabricating the dental appliance, wherein the dental appliance includes a mounting surface {[P4] note the highlighted text on 3D printing that is the method of fabrication of the dental appliance, [FIG. 2A] note the mounting surface on the dental appliance 100b};
positioning a housing at least partially enclosing the monitoring electronics unit on the mounting surface {[FIG. 2B] note 103b is the housing that houses the monitoring electronics unit 200b; and
welding the housing to the mounting surface {[P4] note the highlighted text regarding welding}.
CHEN, however, is silent on limitation of claim 1 reciting that the mounting location is determined by a mounting location optimization protocol and the details of this protocol as recited in claim 2.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to attachment device for dental appliances, KNOPP discloses mounting surface at a mounting location determined by a mounting location optimization protocol (claim 1), further comprising determining the mounting surface at the mounting location by the mounting location optimization protocol comprising: optimizing a location of the mounting surface in a digital model of the dental appliance by: iteratively adjusting one or more of a position, an angulation and an orientation of the mounting surface relative to a patient's dental arch corresponding to the digital model of the patient's dentition, until each of the position, the angulation and the orientation of the mounting surface in the digital model of the dental appliance are within a constrained range relative to a digital model of a patient's dentition and the mounting surface does not collide with the patient's teeth or with a treatment feature of the dental appliance (claim 2) {[abstract] note providing digital model of the attachment and the tooth or patient’s dentition, [0010] note teachings regarding specific positional relationship, [0016] note the attachment device or housing can be connected to a dental feature or dental appliance, [0017] note determining the appropriate location that meets the constraints and thus not colliding, note that the attachment device or housing can be designed to work with a removable dental appliance thus attached to it, [0082]-[0083] note the optimization protocol regarding the position and orientation of the attachment, note adjusting requires iteration}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KNOPP in the method of CHEN and have used the optimization protocol of KNOPP using digital models of the appliance and patient’s dentition to determine an optimum location and orientation of the housing or attachment. As disclosed by KNOPP, the advantage of this method is greater accuracy and less operator training {[0014], [0075]}.
Regarding claim 3, modified CHEN discloses further comprising placing the monitoring electronics unit into a housing {[FIG. 2B] note 200b is placed into 103b}.
Regarding claim 5, modified CHEN discloses wherein the dental appliance comprises an aligner {[FIG. 2A] note 100b is an aligner}.
Regarding claim 9, KNOPP discloses where positioning the housing includes applying clamping force to the housing {[0019] note the attachment body or housing is clamped by force of a flexible band to stay in location}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KNOPP in the method of CHEN and have used the clamping force of the flexible band. As shown above, this method keeps the housing secure.
Regarding claim 23 limitation of “wherein iteratively adjusting the position comprises iteratively adjusting a distance from the mounting surface to a gingiva surface, further wherein the constraint range of the distance from the mounting surface to the gingiva surface is between 0.5 and 1.0 mm”, KNOPP discloses that a desired location for the attachment needs to be found based on the above disclosed optimization protocol and this desired location is dependent on a set goal {[0020]}. As such, KNOPP recognizes the desired location or the constraint distance as a result-effective variable that depends on the goal of this appliance and attachment.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case, the distance of the mounting surface in relation to gingiva surface) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized this location which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the desired location that in certain circumstances could reach the claimed distances.
Claims 4, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN and KNOPP as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KUGELMAN (US-2014/0127668), hereinafter KUGELMANN.
Regarding claims 4, 7-8, and 10-11, combination of CHEN and KNOPP discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the preparation of the mounting surfaces of the housing for the detailed welding of the housing to the dental appliance using an infrared laser.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to the laser welding of polymeric material, KUGELMAN discloses further comprising preparing mounting surfaces of the housing (claim 4), wherein preparing the mounting surfaces include applying an infrared-absorbent spray to the mounting surfaces of the housing (claim 7), further comprising applying an infrared- absorbent spray to mounting surfaces of the dental appliance (claim 8), wherein welding includes heating the housing and the dental appliance via a laser (claim 10), wherein the laser is a Yttrium-Aluminum Garnet laser (claim 11) {[abstract], [0005] note laser in infrared range, [0007] note infrared dye or absorber, [0008] note preparation of surface by functional coating of an absorber; note that it is known that coating can be done by spraying, [0066] note Yttrium-Aluminum Garnet laser}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KUGELMANN in the combination method of CHEN and KNOPP and have performed the welding of the parts by the infrared laser welding and application of an infrared absorber of KUGELMANN. As disclosed by KUGELMANN, the advantage of this welding method is that complex geometries of the joint surfaces can be welded quickly and efficiently {[0004]}.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN and KNOPP as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KOPELMAN (US-2019/0192259), hereinafter KOPELMAN.
Regarding claim 6, combination of CHEN and KNOPP discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the monitoring electronics unit comprising an ECI.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to dental appliances with attachment, KOPELMAN discloses wherein the monitoring electronics unit comprises an electronics compliance indicator (ECI) {[0034]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the sensor of CHEN with the ECI of KOPELMAN, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. Moreover, as disclosed by KOPELMAN, the advantage of this sensor is to monitor the compliance of the patient in wearing the dental appliance {[0005], [0034]}.
Claims 12, 24, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN, in view of KNOPP, and KUGELMANN.
Regarding claims 12, 26-27, and 29, CHEN discloses A method for attaching a monitoring electronics unit to a dental appliance {[abstract] tooth socket is the dental appliance (note highlighted text on page 1) and the sensor is the monitoring unit}, the method comprising:
fabricating the dental appliance, wherein the dental appliance includes a mounting surface {[P4] note the highlighted text on 3D printing that is the method of fabrication of the dental appliance, [FIG. 2A] note the mounting surface on the dental appliance 100b},
placing the monitoring electronics unit into a housing {[FIG. 2B] note 200b is placed into 103b}:
positioning the housing at least partially enclosing the monitoring electronics unit on the mounting surface {[FIG. 2B] note 103b is the housing that houses the monitoring electronics unit 200b}; and
welding the housing to the mounting surface {[P4] note the highlighted text regarding welding}.
CHEN, however, is silent on that the mounting location is determined by a mounting location optimization protocol and the details of this protocol.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to attachment device for dental appliances, KNOPP discloses mounting surface at a mounting location determined by a mounting location optimization protocol, wherein the mounting location optimization protocol comprising: optimizing a location of the mounting surface in a digital model of the dental appliance by iteratively adjusting one or more of a position, an angulation and an orientation of the mounting surface relative to a patient's dental arch corresponding to the digital model of the patient's dentition, until each of the position, the angulation and the orientation of the mounting surface in the digital model of the dental appliance are within a constrained range relative to the digital model of the patient's dentition and the mounting surface does not collide with the patient's teeth or with a treatment feature of the dental appliance {[abstract] note providing digital model of the attachment and the tooth or patient’s dentition, [0010] note teachings regarding specific positional relationship, [0016] note the attachment device or housing can be connected to a dental feature or dental appliance, [0017] note determining the appropriate location that meets the constraints and thus not colliding, note that the attachment device or housing can be designed to work with a removable dental appliance thus attached to it, [0082]-[0083] note the optimization protocol regarding the position and orientation of the attachment, note adjusting requires iteration}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KNOPP in the method of CHEN and have used the optimization protocol of KNOPP using digital models of the appliance and patient’s dentition to determine an optimum location and orientation of the housing or attachment. As disclosed by KNOPP, the advantage of this method is the greater accuracy and less operator training {[0014], [0075]}.
Combination of CHEN and KNOPP, however, is silent on the preparation of the mounting surfaces of the housing (claim 12) for the detailed welding of the housing to the dental appliance using an infrared laser (claims 26-27 and 29).
In the same field of endeavor that is related to the laser welding of polymeric material, KUGELMAN discloses preparing mounting surfaces of the housing (claim 12), wherein preparing the mounting surfaces include applying an infrared-absorbent spray to the mounting surfaces of the housing (claim 26), further comprising applying an infrared- absorbent spray to mounting surfaces of the dental appliance (claim 27), wherein welding includes heating the housing and the dental appliance via a laser (claim 29) {[abstract], [0005] note laser in infrared range, [0007] note infrared dye or absorber, [0008] note preparation of surface by functional coating of an absorber; note that it is known that coating can be done by spraying, [0066] note laser}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KUGELMANN in the combination method of CHEN and KNOPP and have performed the welding of the parts by the infrared laser welding and application of an infrared absorber of KUGELMANN. As disclosed by KUGELMANN, the advantage of this welding method is that complex geometries of the joint surfaces can be welded quickly and efficiently {[0004]}.
Regarding claim 24, modified CHEN discloses wherein the dental appliance comprises an aligner {[FIG. 2A] note 100b is an aligner}.
Regarding claim 28, KNOPP discloses where positioning the housing includes applying clamping force to the housing {[0019] note the attachment body or housing is clamped by force of a flexible band to stay in location}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of KNOPP in the method of CHEN and have used the clamping force of the flexible band. As shown above, this method keeps the housing secure.
Regarding claim 30 limitation of “wherein iteratively adjusting the position comprises iteratively adjusting a distance from the mounting surface to a gingiva surface, further wherein the constraint range of the distance from the mounting surface to the gingiva surface is between 0.5 and 1.0 mm”, KNOPP discloses that a desired location for the attachment needs to be found based on the above disclosed optimization protocol and this desired location is dependent on a set goal {[0020]}. As such, KNOPP recognizes the desired location or the constraint distance as a result-effective variable that depends on the goal of this appliance and attachment.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case, the distance of the mounting surface in relation to gingiva surface) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized this location which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the desired location that in certain circumstances could reach the claimed distances.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN, KNOPP, and KUGELMANN as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of KOPELMAN.
Regarding claim 25, combination of CHEN, KNOPP, and KUGELMANN discloses all the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on the monitoring electronics unit comprising an ECI.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to dental appliances with attachment, KOPELMAN discloses wherein the monitoring electronics unit comprises an electronics compliance indicator (ECI) {[0034]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the sensor of CHEN with the ECI of KOPELMAN, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. Moreover, as disclosed by KOPELMAN, the advantage of this sensor is to monitor the compliance of the patient in wearing the dental appliance {[0005], [0034]}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748