DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 2023/0378620 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks and amendments filed on 02 April 2026 in response to the Non-Final Rejection dated 07 January 2026 (hereinafter "NFOA") have been fully considered. Claims 5-6 and 15 have been canceled and claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-14, 16-18, and 20 have been amended. As such, claims 1-4, 7-14, and 16-20 remain pending and under consideration on the merits.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objection over FIG. 5 previously set forth in the NFOA.
The objection over FIG. 5 is withdrawn due to the amendments to the drawings filed on 02 April 2026.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) previously set forth in the NFOA.
The rejections under 35 USC 112(b) previously set forth in the NFOA are withdrawn due to the present claim amendments, and the Examiner thanks Applicant for correction of the issues.
Applicant argues on Pages 12-16 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Min, that Min fails to disclose or teach all the features of newly amended claim 1.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min has been withdrawn, and new grounds of rejection are set forth below as necessitated by the present claim amendments.
Additionally, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145(IV). Min is no longer solely relied upon to anticipate claim 1. Min is combined with the teachings of Otsuka to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over newly amended claim 1. Otsuka teaches that it is well known and well within the abilities of those skilled in the art to have at least a portion of corners of the quadrangle in a chamfer fashion, including inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts, where the positive electrode lead and negative electrode leads are connected through inclined portions and have a shape extending in a direction perpendicular to the inclined portions, and a second sealing portion including a long side sealing portion corresponding to the long side part and a short side sealing portion corresponding to the short side part, with the long side sealing portion folded at least once, in order to prevent a mutual positional deviation and damage between the secondary battery and the board disposed in a cutout portion due to a vibration or the like, sufficiently reduce impedance, prevent heat generation, and achieve miniaturization [Otsuka, 0012-0013, 0015, 0079].
Applicant argues on Pages 16-20 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Min in view of Otsuka, that Otsuka has a configuration where a cutout portion is formed in only one corner in a secondary battery to install one substrate, and therefore, fails to disclose or teach the features of newly amended claim 1 including inclined portions disposed on both sides of one of a long side part.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123(II). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123(I). Although Otsuka depicts embodiments having one cutout portion in one corner, Otsuka provides a broader disclosure that cutout portions removed from a quadrangular shape are not particularly limited and may be appropriately selected according to desired disposition of battery board components, where cutout portions can be disposed to share one or more sides to balance miniaturization and increased battery capacity, and are positioned to correspond with the positions of electrode terminals (electrode leads) [Otsuka, 0055-0059, 0079].
Moreover, while Otsuka does not disclose all the features of the presently claimed invention, Otsuka is used as a teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, see MPEP 2145(IV). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, and in combination with the other applied prior art establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the presently claimed invention. Min discloses the overall pouch-type battery cell of claim 1 and discloses the electrode lead dispositions on opposite sides of each electrode plate, where Otsuka is then applied to address the limitations pertaining to the claimed inclined portions.
In view of the foregoing and for the reasons set forth in the rejections below, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have applied Otsuka’s inclined cutout portions to correspond with Min’s electrode lead placements with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143).
Applicant argues on Page 20 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claims 3, 4, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Min in view of Park, that Park fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the features of newly amended claim 1.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. New grounds of rejection are established below, where Park is no longer relied upon. Therefore, all arguments that pertain to Park are considered moot.
Applicant argues on Pages 20-22 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claims 5-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Min/Otsuka in further view of Furusaki, that Furusaki fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the features of newly amended claim 1.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. New grounds of rejection are established below, where Furusaki is no longer relied upon. Therefore, all arguments that pertain to Furusaki are considered moot.
Applicant argues on Page 22 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Shin in view of Min and Park, that Shin fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the features of newly amended claim 20 and newly amended claim 1 including inclined portions disposed on both sides of one of a long side parts and each of the electrode leads disposed on respective inclined portions.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The rejection of claim 20 under 35 USC 103 over Shin in view of Min and Park in the previous office action has been withdrawn, and a new ground of rejection is set forth below as necessitated by the present claim amendments.
Additionally, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145(IV). Shin is combined with the teachings of Otsuka to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over newly amended claim 20. Otsuka teaches that it is well known and well within the abilities of those skilled in the art to have at least a portion of corners of the quadrangle in a chamfer fashion, including inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts, where the positive electrode lead and negative electrode leads are connected through inclined portions and have a shape extending in a direction perpendicular to the inclined portions, and a second sealing portion including a long side sealing portion corresponding to the long side part and a short side sealing portion corresponding to the short side part, with the long side sealing portion folded at least once, in order to prevent a mutual positional deviation and damage between the secondary battery and the board disposed in a cutout portion due to a vibration or the like, sufficiently reduce impedance, prevent heat generation, and achieve miniaturization [Otsuka, 0012-0013, 0015, 0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have applied Otsuka’s inclined cutout portions to correspond with Shin’s electrode lead placements for the reasons set forth in the rejections below with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143).
Applicant argues on Pages 22-23 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Min/Park/Otsuka/Furusaki in further view of Jo, that Jo fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the features of newly amended claim 1 including inclined portions disposed on both sides of one of a long side parts and each of the electrode leads disposed on respective inclined portions.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145(IV). While Jo does not disclose all the features of the presently claimed invention, Jo is used as a teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention. Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, and in combination with the other applied prior art establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the presently claimed invention. Jo is applied in combination with Min in view of Otsuka, where Min discloses the overall pouch-type battery cell of claim 1 and the electrode lead dispositions on opposite sides of each electrode plate, Otsuka is applied to address the limitations pertaining to the claimed inclined portions of claim 1, and Jo is then applied to address the limitations pertaining to the claimed bus bar defined in claim 19.
For these reasons above, Applicant's arguments identified above have not been found persuasive.
Moreover, the grounds of rejection below have been updated to reflect the present claim amendments and made in view of new combinations of previously-cited prior art based on alternative interpretations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,7-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min (KR 20210094394 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Min”), in view of Otsuka et al. (US 20190181505 A1; “Otsuka”).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses a pouch case battery cell (pouch-type battery cell) [element 100, 0001, 0064, FIG. 4] comprising an electrode assembly (electrode assembly) [element 110, 0055-0056, FIG. 5] provided by alternately stacking a plurality of electrode bodies (electrode plates) [elements 111 and 112, 0056-0057]. Additionally included is a pouch case (pouch) [element 121, 0064] having an accommodation part (electrode accommodating portion) [element 122, 0064-0065, FIG. 8] accommodating the electrode assembly therein [0064-0065] and a sealing portion (sealing portion) [element 123, 0066] disposed along a portion of the outer periphery of the accommodation part (sealing at least a portion of a circumference of the electrode accommodating portion) [0066, 0069].
Furthermore, the electrode assembly includes long side parts corresponding to long sides of the plurality of electrode bodies and short side parts corresponding to short sides of the plurality of electrode bodies [FIG. 4]. Moreover, a positive electrode lead and a negative electrode lead (electrode leads, including a first and second electrode lead) [element 115, 0061] on opposite sides of the long side parts [FIG. 4] are electrically connected to their respective electrode tab (to the electrode assembly) [0061] and extend from the inside to the outside of a cell housing through a sealing potion (exposed to an outside of the pouch through the sealing portion/exposed to the outside of the pouch through a first sealing portion, respectively, the first sealing portion being provided in the sealing potion and being disposed at both sides of one of the long side parts) [0061, 0064, 0067, 0069-0070, FIG. 4].
Min remains silent regarding each of the plurality of electrode plates has a shape in which at least a portion of corners of a quadrangle having a long side and a short side is chamfered,
inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts,
the inclined portions includes a first inclined portion and a second inclined portion disposed on both sides of one of the long side parts, respectively,
the electrode leads includes a first electrode connected to the electrode assembly through the first inclined portion and a second electrode connected to the electrode assembly through the second inclined portion.
Otsuka is directed to the configuration of a secondary battery [0053], including a main body cutout portion [0056-0059, FIGs. 2A and 2B]. Otsuka teaches at least a portion of corners of a main body quadrangle having long sides perpendicular to short sides is chamfered [FIGs. 2A and 2B], with inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts [FIGs. 2A and 2B]. Further, Otsuka teaches first and second external terminals [element 5] connected to the inclined portion in a perpendicular direction [FIGs. 2A and 2B].
Min and Otsuka each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------electrode assembly and plate shape. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the plurality of electrode bodies of Min, so that at each opposite sides of the long side parts of Min, at least a portion of corners of the quadrangle is in a chamfer fashion, including inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts, like that of Otsuka, where the positive electrode lead and negative electrode lead on their respective opposite ends, as disclosed by Min, are connected in a perpendicular direction to their respective modified inclined portion (see below for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 4 of Min with teachings of Otsuka), in order to prevent a mutual positional deviation and damage between the secondary battery and the board disposed in a cutout portion due to a vibration or the like, sufficiently reduce impedance, prevent heat generation, and achieve miniaturization [Otsuka, 0012-0013, 0015, 0079].
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 4 of Min with teachings of Otsuka
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 above teaches each of the inclined portions defined by claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Min discloses each of the plurality of electrode bodies has at least six sides, including a first long side [FIG. 4], the pouch has a folded shape based on a portion corresponding to the first long side of the electrode assembly [FIG.4], and the sealing portion is formed on the outer periphery of the accommodating portion (the sealing portion is provided on a remaining portion of a circumference of the electrode assembly) [0069-0070, FIG. 4], but it is not necessary to form the sealing portion on the surface on which the pouch case is folded (except for a portion thereof corresponding to the first long side) [0069, FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 4, the rejections of claims 1 and 3 above teach each of the plurality of electrode plates defined by claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Min further discloses that a sealing portion includes a first and second sealing portion (a first sealing portion and a second sealing portion) [elements 123a and 123b respectively, 0070-0072, FIG. 4], wherein the second sealing potion is formed on the upper surface of the pouch case and may also be formed on the lower surface, overlapping with at least a portion of the short side parts (corresponding to at least a portion of the long side parts and the short side parts) [0070, FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 8, in view of the rejection of claim 7 above, Min further discloses that the second sealing portion includes a long side sealing portion corresponding to at least a portion of the long side parts and a short side sealing portion corresponding to at least a portion of the short side parts [0070-0072, FIG. 4], and the long side sealing portion is folded at least once [0070-0072, FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 8 above, Min further discloses that the sealing portion, encompassing the short side parts, may be folded at least once [0071, FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 7 above, Min further discloses that the pouch case has a folded shape based on a portion of the accommodation part, which corresponds to one of the long side parts of the electrode assembly [FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 7 above, the rejection of claim 1 above teaches the electrode leads defined by claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 7 above, Min further discloses that the accommodation part has a shape corresponding to the electrode assembly [FIG. 1], and the sealing portion seals at least a portion of the circumference of the accommodation part in a shape corresponding to the electrode assembly [0070-0072, FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 13, Min discloses a battery module (a battery cell assembly) [element 200, 0104-0105, FIG. 11] comprising a plurality of pouch case battery cells in a stack [element 100, 0001, 0064, 0105-0107, FIG. 11], of which further comprises an electrode assembly [element 110, 0055-0056, FIG. 4] provided by alternately stacking a plurality of electrode bodies [elements 111 and 112, 0056-0057, FIG. 5]. Additionally included is a pouch case [element 121, 0064] having an accommodation part [element 122, 0064-0065, FIG. 8] accommodating the electrode assembly therein [0064-0065] and a sealing portion [element 123, 0066] disposed along a portion of the outer periphery of the accommodation part [0066, 0069].
Furthermore, the electrode assembly includes long side parts corresponding to long sides of the plurality of electrode bodies and short side parts corresponding to short sides of the plurality of electrode bodies [FIG. 4]. Moreover, a positive electrode lead and a negative electrode lead [element 115, 0061] on opposite sides of the long side parts [FIG. 4] are electrically connected to their respective electrode tab [0061] and extend from the inside to the outside of a cell housing through a sealing potion [0061, 0064, 0067, 0069-0070, FIG. 4].
Min additionally discloses the electrode leads passing through an insulating cover [element 230] and electrically connected to a connection terminal [element 232] by way of a bus bar (a bus bar assembly having at least one bus bar electrically connected to the electrode leads) [0120-0121].
Min remains silent regarding each of the plurality of electrode plates has a shape in which at least a portion of corners of a quadrangle having a long side and a short side is chamfered,
inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts,
the inclined portions includes a first inclined portion and a second inclined portion disposed on both sides of one of the long side parts, respectively,
the electrode leads includes a first electrode connected to the electrode assembly through the first inclined portion and a second electrode connected to the electrode assembly through the second inclined portion.
Otsuka is directed to the configuration of a secondary battery [0053], including a main body cutout portion [0056-0059, FIGs. 2A and 2B]. Otsuka teaches at least a portion of corners of a main body quadrangle having long sides perpendicular to short sides is chamfered [FIGs. 2A and 2B], with inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts [FIGs. 2A and 2B]. Further, Otsuka teaches first and second external terminals [element 5] connected to the inclined portion in a perpendicular direction [FIGs. 2A and 2B].
Min and Otsuka each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------electrode assembly and plate shape. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the plurality of electrode bodies of Min, so that at each opposite sides of the long side parts of Min, at least a portion of corners of the quadrangle is in a chamfer fashion, including inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts, like that of Otsuka, where the positive electrode lead and negative electrode lead on their respective opposite ends, as disclosed by Min, are connected in a perpendicular direction to their respective modified inclined portion, in order to prevent a mutual positional deviation and damage between the secondary battery and the board disposed in a cutout portion due to a vibration or the like, sufficiently reduce impedance, prevent heat generation, and achieve miniaturization [Otsuka, 0012-0013, 0015, 0079].
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 above teaches each of the inclined portions defined by claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 13 above teaches the electrode leads defined by claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, in view of the rejection of claim 16 above, Min further discloses bus bars (at least one bus bar) allowing for circuit wiring electrical connection within insulating covers on opposite sides of the electrode assembly [0119-0122, FIG. 11], of which include through holes (coupling holes) [element 233] for electrode leads to be inserted and disposed for electrical connection [0119-0122]. Each of the electrode leads includes a first end coupled to the through hole while passing through the through hole in the first direction, and a second end coupled to the through hole while passing through the through hole in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction [FIG. 11].
Regarding claim 18, in view of the rejection of claim 17 above, Min further discloses that the bus bars include a first coupling surface to which the first end is coupled and a second coupling surface to which the second end is coupled, and the coupling hole has a shape extending over the first coupling surface and the second coupling surface [FIG. 11].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Otsuka, as applied to claims 13 and 16 above (hereinafter “Min/Otsuka”), in further view of Jo et al. (US 2024/0047840 A1; “Jo”).
Regarding claim 19, Min/Otsuka teaches the pouch-type battery cell of claim 16, as set forth above.
Min/Otsuka remains silent regarding the at least one bus bar includes an inclined coupling surface having a coupling hole through which each of the electrode leads passes and is coupled thereto, wherein the inclined coupling surface forms an inclination with respect to a surface perpendicular to the first direction and a surface perpendicular to the second direction, respectively.
Jo is directed to a secondary battery electrode assembly and bus bar configuration [0047-0057, 0108-0119, FIG. 10]. Jo teaches at least one bus bar includes an inclined coupling surface having a coupling hole through which each electrode lead passes and is coupled thereto, wherein the inclined coupling surface forms an inclination with respect to a surface perpendicular to a first direction and a surface perpendicular to a second direction, respectively [0108-0119, FIG. 10, elements 130, S1, S2, S5, and S6].
Min, Otsuka, and Jo each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------electrode assembly, including plate and bus bar configurations. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Min/Otsuka such that the bus bars include an inclined coupling surface having a coupling hole through which each of the electrode leads passes and is coupled thereto, wherein the inclined coupling surface forms an inclination with respect to a surface perpendicular to the first direction and a surface perpendicular to the second direction, respectively, as taught by Jo. Doing so would prevent a short circuit from occurring due to damage to power connection parts, thereby eliminating risk factors such as occurrence of secondary ignition due to an internal short [Jo, 0024-0025].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2022/0271387 A1, hereinafter Shin), in view of Otsuka.
Regarding claim 20, Shin discloses a battery module (battery pack) [element 200, 0048, FIGS. 1-3] comprising at least one battery cell assembly [element 100, 0048]; and a module housing (pack housing) [element 220, 0048] having an inner space in which the at least one battery cell assembly is accommodated [0060], wherein each battery cell assembly comprising [element 100, 0048] a plurality of pouch-type battery cells [element 110, 0056, FIG. 2] each including an electrode assembly [0049] provided by stacking a plurality of electrode plates [0050], a pouch having an electrode accommodating portion accommodating the electrode assembly [element 115c, 0052] therein and a sealing portion sealing at least a portion of a circumference of the electrode accommodating portion [0052]. Additionally, electrode leads are electrically connected to the electrode assembly on opposite sides of long side parts [0004, 0053-0055, 0059, FIG. 2], and a bus bar assembly having at least one bus bar electrically connected to the electrode leads [0059].
Shin remains silent regarding each of the plurality of electrode plates has a shape in which at least a portion of corners of a quadrangle having a long side and a short side is chamfered,
inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts,
the inclined portions includes a first inclined portion and a second inclined portion disposed on both sides of one of the long side parts, respectively,
the electrode leads includes a first electrode connected to the electrode assembly through the first inclined portion and a second electrode connected to the electrode assembly through the second inclined portion.
Otsuka is directed to the configuration of a secondary battery [0053], including a main body cutout portion [0056-0059, FIGs. 2A and 2B]. Otsuka teaches at least a portion of corners of a main body quadrangle having long sides perpendicular to short sides is chamfered [FIGs. 2A and 2B], with inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts [FIGs. 2A and 2B]. Further, Otsuka teaches first and second external terminals [element 5] connected through the inclined portion [FIGs. 2A and 2B].
Shin and Otsuka each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an electrode assembly. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the plurality of electrode plates of Shin, so that at each opposite sides of the long side parts of Shin, at least a portion of corners of the quadrangle is in a chamfer fashion, including inclined portions connecting the long side parts and the short side parts, like that of Otsuka, where the positive electrode lead and negative electrode lead on their respective opposite ends, as disclosed by Shin, are connected through their respective modified inclined portion (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 2 of Shin with teachings of Otsuka), in order to prevent a mutual positional deviation and damage between the secondary battery and the board disposed in a cutout portion due to a vibration or the like, sufficiently reduce impedance, prevent heat generation, and achieve miniaturization [Otsuka, 0012-0013, 0015, 0079].
Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 2 of Shin with teachings of Otsuka
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR l.136(a).
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782