DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20200125884; English translation of record in IDS filed September 4, 2023).
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Lee teaches a fire extinguishing pack for lithium batteries (title), which may be used in a wide variety of fields such as smartphones, drones, and automobiles (par. 2). As seen in Figure 2, the entire system depicted comprises a box having a plurality of chambers separated by walls/partitions. The lithium battery 500 can be seen in one chamber of said box, and sealed box pack 100, containing fire extinguishing agent 200, comprises a distinct chamber of said box. These chambers are configured to communicate with each other when the battery cell is thermal-runaway. Lee teaches that when a fire occurs in the battery 500, flammable sheet 400 melts or burns, thus opening hole 300 so that the fire extinguishing agent 200 is poured into the surrounding area (par. 12 and Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, hole 300 constitutes a communication/injection port allowing the first chamber (housing the battery) to be communicated with the second chamber (housing the extinguishing agent) and for the fire extinguishing agent to be injected into the first chamber.
Regarding claim 12, the flammable sheet 400 melts away to enable communication of the two chambers. This constitutes the instantly claimed hot-melt member.
Regarding claim 17, the flammable sheet 400 is considered to act as a trigger, setting off and enabling the fire extinguishing agent 200 to extinguish the fire when triggered by thermal decomposition/the very fire itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200125884; English translation of record in IDS filed September 4, 2023) as applied to claim 3 above.
Lee teaches a box according to claim 3, as shown above.
Lee does not teach the use of an electric control valve to regulate a communication port between the two chambers.
The communication port of Lee opens in a relatively analog manner when the flammable sheet burns away enough to enable the fire extinguishing agent to flow into the battery compartment.
However, and regarding claim 4, use of an electrically actuated valve and sensors to otherwise detect thermal-runaway and “digitally” open communication between the two compartments as an alternative or redundant means would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling of the claimed invention insomuch as such sensors and valves are conventionally known and this would functionally achieve the same result of opening the communication between chambers upon detection of thermal-runaway.
Claim(s) 2, 6-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200125884; English translation of record in IDS filed September 4, 2023) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 110600638 A; references herein are made with respect to the English translation, submitted herewith).
Lee teaches a box according to claim 1, as shown above.
Zhang, in a similar invention directed toward a battery having a fire-extinguishing system (title and abstract), teaches the use of high pressure carbon dioxide gas as the fire-extinguishing agent/medium. Injection pipe 401 may melt and/or fracture when the temperature within the battery cavity rises above the melting point of said injection pipe, filling the cavity with carbon dioxide (Fig. 4 and page 9/12, 2nd par.).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling of the claimed invention to utilize the fire suppression system of Zhang in place of or in addition to the fire suppression system of Lee in order to effectively prevent further damage and fire. When the two chambers are not in communication, the high pressure CO2 compartment would have a higher internal pressure than the battery-containing compartment.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, injection pipe 401 of Zhang constitutes the claimed conduit.
Regarding claim 7, said conduit is closed during normal operation of the battery.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches pressure valve 7 located within the conduit at the entrance of the CO-2 storage cavity 301 (Fig. 4 and page 9/12, 2nd par.). At least the portions of the conduit abutting the pressure valve are consider to be disposed opposite said pressure valve. Regarding claims 10 and 11, Zhang teaches that the injection pipe will melt and/or fracture during thermal-runaway, as discussed above.
Claim(s) 5, 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200125884; English translation of record in IDS filed September 4, 2023) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cao et al (CN 109585715 A; references herein are made with respect to the English translation, submitted herewith).
Lee teaches a box according to claim 1, as shown above.
Lee does not teach the use of pressure sensitive closure to release the fire-extinguishing agent upon thermal-runaway.
Cao, in a similar invention directed toward fire mitigation in battery boxes (title and abstract), teaches the use of wall which opens when pressure exceeds a set value in the battery compartment, opening and connecting the cavity containing the fire extinguishing agent with the battery cavity to extinguish the fire (abstract).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, it would have been obvious to utilize a pressure release mechanism in the system of Lee in place of or in addition to the flammable sheet in order to effectively introduce fire-extinguishing agent into the battery compartment, as taught by Cao, in order to extinguish the fire.
Cao further teaches that after the extinguishing agent has been released into the battery compartment, if/when the pressure of the chamber continues to increase in the battery case and reaches opening or cracking pressure of the external explosion-proof valve, the external anti-explosion valve is opened, and the pressure of the battery shell is released, preventing the battery case from rupture or explosion (page 9/12, 7th par.).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling of the claimed invention to utilize such a pressure relief valve in the system of Lee in order to prevent rupture and/or explosion of the battery case during thermal-runaway, as taught by Cao. Such a pressure relief value would also constitute an exhaust port allowing any exhaust to pass from the battery compartment.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732