DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaino et al. (WO 2018221216, for which English language equivalent US 2020/0088920 will be used as the citation copy) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2013/0341590, “Gupta”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaino teaches a color conversion film (e.g., [0012] – [0017]) comprising a support (e.g., layer 10, Figs. 1-4, [0081], [0082]), a first color conversion film ([0014] – [0017]), a second color conversion film ([0014] – [0017]). Sakaino teaches that the first color conversion layer may include an organic light emitting material that emits by excitation light having from 400 to 500 nm wavelength a peak wavelength in the range of from 500 to 580 nm ([0015]) and a second color conversion layer that may include an organic light emitting material that emits by excitation light having from 400 to 500 nm wavelength a peak wavelength in the range of from 580 to 750 nm ([0016]). Sakaino additionally teaches that the color conversion layers may include more than one of either A or B layers (i.e., corresponding to first or second color conversion layers) and that these layers may include a mixture of a plurality of light-emitting materials such that an interposed color conversion layer may be considered to be a mixing layer as presently claimed (see, [0077] – [0084]). While Sakaino teaches an intermediate layer of a color conversion film that may comprise materials of the adjacent layers as described above (and thus describes a structure wherein the intermediate layer comprises a mixture of the adjacent layers), Sakaino does not described specifically that the intermediate layer is a mixture or blend of the adjacent layers. However, such blending layers are known in the art. For example, Gupta teaches that it is known to provide both blended and non-blended layers in an emission stack in order to easily tailor light emission and various properties of the stack for use in a display device (e.g., Gupta, [0077], [0078]) and it therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have included a blended layer between two filter layers of Sakaino in order to permit a user to easily tailor light emission and various properties of the stack for use in a display device (e.g., Gupta, [0077], [0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Sakaino additionally teaches that the thickness of the conversion layers may be from 1 to 1000 micrometers ([0086], [0087]) and thus may read on the range of from 0.1 to 2.0 micrometers. The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Sakaino additionally teaches the inclusion of a protective film or layer on either side of the color conversion layers (see, e.g., Figs. 1 – 4, [0081], [0082], base layers 10).
Regarding claim 4, Sakaino additionally teaches the inclusion of an organic light-emitting material in the first or second color conversion layer that reads on the General Formula (1) (see, e.g., [0024] – [0034] and [0104] – [0140]).
Regarding claim 5, Sakaino teaches a color conversion film (e.g., [0012] – [0017]) comprising a support (e.g., layer 10, Figs. 1-4, [0081], [0082]), a first color conversion film ([0014] – [0017]), a second color conversion film ([0014] – [0017]). Sakaino teaches that the first (or second, depending on the orientation) color conversion layer may include an organic light emitting material that emits by excitation light having from 400 to 500 nm wavelength a peak wavelength in the range of from 500 to 580 nm ([0015]) and a second (or first, depending on the orientation) color conversion layer that may include an organic light emitting material that emits by excitation light having from 400 to 500 nm wavelength a peak wavelength in the range of from 580 to 750 nm ([0016]). Sakaino additionally teaches that the color conversion layers may include more than one of either A or B layers (i.e., corresponding to first or second color conversion layers) and that these layers may include a mixture of a plurality of light-emitting materials such that an interposed color conversion layer may be considered to be a mixing layer as presently claimed (see, [0077] – [0084]). While Sakaino teaches an intermediate layer of a color conversion film that may comprise materials of the adjacent layers as described above (and thus describes a structure wherein the intermediate layer comprises a mixture of the adjacent layers), Sakaino does not described specifically that the intermediate layer is a mixture or blend of the adjacent layers. However, such blending layers are known in the art. For example, Gupta teaches that it is known to provide both blended and non-blended layers in an emission stack in order to easily tailor light emission and various properties of the stack for use in a display device (e.g., Gupta, [0077], [0078]) and it therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have included a blended layer between two filter layers of Sakaino in order to permit a user to easily tailor light emission and various properties of the stack for use in a display device (e.g., Gupta, [0077], [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Sakaino additionally teaches that the thickness of the conversion layers may be from 1 to 1000 micrometers ([0086], [0087]) and thus may read on the range of from 0.1 to 2.0 micrometers. The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Sakaino additionally teaches the inclusion of a protective film or layer on either side of the color conversion layers (see, e.g., Figs. 1 – 4, [0081], [0082], base layers 10).
Regarding claim 8, Sakaino additionally teaches the inclusion of an organic light-emitting material in the first or second color conversion layer that reads on the General Formula (1) (see, e.g., [0024] – [0034] and [0104] – [0140]).
Regarding claim 9, Sakaino additionally teaches that the color conversion layer may be applied in a backlight unit in combination with a light source ([0039], [0262]).
Regarding claim 10, Sakaino additionally teaches that the color conversion layer may be applied in a backlight unit in combination with a light source ([0039], [0262]).
Regarding claim 11, Sakaino additionally teaches that the backlight unit may be applied to a liquid crystal display device comprising a liquid crystal cell (e.g., [0262], liquid crystal display, necessarily requiring a liquid crystal cell).
Regarding claim 12, Sakaino additionally teaches that the backlight unit may be applied to a liquid crystal display device comprising a liquid crystal cell (e.g., [0262], liquid crystal display, necessarily requiring a liquid crystal cell).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782