DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/5/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierhuizen et al. (US20180239146) in view of Tohara et al. (US20200192079) and Toyama (JP2018054818A, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Bierhuizen teaches an observation apparatus (Bierhuizen, paragraph [0004] “a system is described that includes a head-mounted display assembly. The head-mounted display assembly may include an image projecting device operable to display image content to at least one eye-piece in the head-mounted display assembly and an optical assembly”) configured to enable an observer to observe an image displayed on an image display surface (Bierhuizen, fig. 9, paragraph [0140] the display 916 may be an image projecting device operable to display image content to at least one eye-piece in a head-mounted display assembly housing assembly 900), the observation apparatus comprising:
an observation optical system (fig. 9, paragraph [0026] FIG. 9 is optical assembly configured to provide eye tracking functionality) that includes a half-transmissive reflective surface (Bierhuizen, paragraph [0139] “The lens 904 uses polarization optics and at least one 50/50 transflective (e.g., partially transmissive and partially reflective) filter stack 906”), and a reflective polarizer configured to transmit linearly polarized light (paragraph [0142] linear polarizer 510 is coated with the reflective element 412 that faces the at least one lens 904) in a first direction (fig. 5, x-axis) and to reflect linearly polarized light (Bierhuizen, paragraph [0139] with a folded optical path 902) in a second direction (Bierhuizen, fig. 5, y-axis) orthogonal to the first direction (Bierhuizen, fig. 5, x-axis); and
an imaging optical system configured to guide light that has transmitted through the reflective polarizer to an image pickup apparatus configured to image an observation side (Bierhuizen, fig. 9, paragraph [0143] The camera 908 be configured to capture images of an infrared reflection of light through the at least one lens. In some implementations, the camera is placed beneath the at least one lens and aimed toward the image projecting device to capture an image of an eye of a user accessing the head-mounted display assembly. In such an example, the image of the eye may be reflected from the reflective element),
a light source (paragraph [0150] “one or more light emitting diodes) configured to illuminate the observation side (the eye’s side; see Bierhuizen, paragraph [0150], “In some implementations, one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) are placed in a perimeter surrounding each lens/filter assembly”; “the one or more light emitting diodes may be configured to direct light to an eye”),
wherein a transmittance at a wavelength of 850 nm of linearly polarized light in the second direction of the reflective polarizer is 30% or higher (see Bierhuizen, fig. 10, paragraph [0147], FIG. 10 is an illustration 1000 of transmission performance for an optical assembly having a plurality of the multi-layered polarization films described herein in combination with the 50/50 coating described throughout this disclosure. The 50/50 coating may transmit 50 percent of light and may reflect 50 percent of the light; see fig.10 shows the transmittance at a wavelength of 850 nm of linearly polarized light in the second direction y of the reflective polarizer is higher than 30%),
wherein the observation optical system includes a cemented lens (Bierhuizen, fig. 9, paragraph [0139], one or more transparent lenses 904 coatings),
wherein the light source is arranged in a circle around the observation optical system (see fig. 11, the light LEDs is arranged in a circle around the observation optical system in fig. 11; see paragraph [0150] “In some implementations, one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) are placed in a perimeter surrounding each lens).
But Bierhuizen does not explicitly teach wherein the cemented lens consisting of a negative lens and a positive lens disposed on the observation side of the negative lens.
However, Tohara teaches the analogous image display (Tohara, abstract, provided is an image display device that can reduce deterioration in image quality in a peripheral portion of an eyepiece optical system, includes an eyepiece optical system having a polarization element and guiding light from an image display element toward eyeballs of an observer), and further teaches wherein the cemented lens (Tohara, figs. 1-7, a first exemplary embodiment, lens 104+Lens 105) consisting of a negative lens (lens 105, see paragraph [0039], data of table 1, and fig. 4, the lens 105 is negative lens) and a positive lens (lens 104, see paragraph [0039], data of table 1, and fig. 4, the lens 104 is positive lens) disposed on the observation side (fig. 4, eye 102) of the negative lens (lens 105).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Bierhuizen to have the cemented lens consisting of a negative lens and a positive lens disposed on the observation side of the negative lens as taught by Tohara for the purpose to reduce the birefringence, since the birefringence of a glass lens is very small, high-quality image observation is enabled (Tohara, paragraph [0058]).
Bierhuizen does not explicitly disclose wherein at least part of the light emitted from the light source passes through the reflective polarizer and illuminates an eye of an observer.
However, Toyama teaches the analogous light source (Toyama, paragraph [0075] “the detection light emitted by the LED light source 42 is near-infrared light.”), and further teaches wherein
at least part of the light emitted from the light source passes through the reflective polarizer (paragraph [0076], “The polarizer 10 is positioned so that its polarization axis is in the direction indicated by the arrows in Figures 1, 2, and 20, and it polarizes the detection light emitted from the LED light source 42.”; paragraph [0045] “Polarizer 10 is a wire grid type polarizer, and is a so-called reflective polarizer”) and illuminates an eye of an observer (see Toyama, fig. 20, “eye E” has been referred to as an eye of an observer; paragraph [0075] “Detection light is projected from the LED light source 42 towards the user's eye position”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Bierhuizen to have the specific function as taught by Toyama for the purpose to provide a polarizer allowing easy installation of the polarizer onto a light irradiation device or a visual line tracker, and also to provide a visual line tracker capable of detecting a visual line with glasses (Toyama, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Bierhuizen further teaches wherein the reflective polarizer has a planar shape (see Bierhuizen, fig. 9, stack 906 is planar).
Regarding claim 3, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Bierhuizen of fig. 9 does not explicitly teaches wherein the half-transmissive reflective surface has a concave surface on the observation side.
However, Bierhuizen of fig. 19B teaches wherein the half-transmissive reflective surface (Bierhuizen, fig. 19B, stack assembly 1932) has a concave surface on the observation side (see Bierhuizen, fig. 19B, stack assembly 1932 has a concave surface on the eye 1910).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Bierhuizen of fig. 9 with the specific shape as taught by Bierhuizen of fig. 19B for the purpose to achieve improved optical performance of the optical assembly, increase image contrast and/or resolution for the HMD device that houses both assemblies (Bierhuizen, paragraph [0198]).
Regarding claim 5, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Bierhuizen further teaches wherein a cemented surface of the cemented lens (fig. 9, the lens 904) is the half-transmissive reflective surface (Bierhuizen, fig. 9, paragraph [0139] the lens 904 uses polarization optics and at least one 50/50 translative, e.g., partially transmissive and partially reflective).
Regarding claim 6, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Bierhuizen further teaches wherein the observation optical system includes a transmissive linear polarizer (Bierhuizen, fig. 9, a transmissive linear polarizer has been referred as the stack 914, paragraph [0142], the second filter stack 914 can include elements similar to those in FIG. 5. the first filter stack includes a first linear polarizer 502) disposed on an image display surface side (Bierhuizen, fig. 9, display panel 916) of the half-transmissive reflective surface (the 904).
Regarding claim 7, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 6 and Bierhuizen further teaches wherein a transmittance at the wavelength of 850 nm of the linearly polarized light in the second direction of the transmissive linear polarizer is 30% or higher (see Bierhuizen, fig. 10, paragraph [0147], FIG. 10 is an illustration 1000 of transmission performance for an optical assembly having a plurality of the multi-layered polarization films described herein in combination with the 50/50 coating described throughout this disclosure. The 50/50 coating may transmit 50 percent of light and may reflect 50 percent of the light; see fig.10 shows the transmittance at a wavelength of 850 nm of linearly polarized light in the second direction y of the reflective polarizer is higher than 30%).
Regarding claim 12, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Bierhuizen further teaches wherein the light emitted from the light source is near-infrared light having an emission peak at a wavelength of 700 nm to 1200 nm (Bierhuizen, paragraph [0150], the LEDS may provide IR light, or near IR light to the eye of a use; and see fig. 10, the peak at a wavelength of 1006 nm).
Regarding claim 14, combination Bierhuizen-Tohara-Toyama discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Bierhuizen further teaches wherein at least part of the light emitted by the light source illuminates the eye of the observer without passing through the reflective polarizer (Bierhuizen, paragraph [0150], IR light is directed through the 50/50 polarizer/lens/filter stack combination).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872