DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites: “executing an optimization algorithm configured to determine a mitigated maximum power exchange value in the timeseries using data defining one or more peak shaving capabilities at the facility as variables”. The “optimization algorithm” falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas. This limitation also falls into the “mental process” group of abstract ideas, because the recited mathematical calculation can be practically performed in the human mind.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim recites the additional element of “receiving a timeseries…” and “outputting the… value”. These additional elements represent mere data gathering and data outputting that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and is recited at a high level of generality. These additional elements in the claim are thus insignificant extra-solution activity. The claim recites: “a computer-implemented method”. The computer is recited so generically that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer.
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim 1 is not eligible.
Claims 2 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the 101 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sheehan et al. US 2019/0115753 (hereinafter Sheehan).
Regarding claim 1, Sheehan teaches: a computer-implemented method for determining a mitigated peak power exchange value for power exchange between a supplier and a facility, the method comprising:
receiving a timeseries comprising power exchange values for power exchange between the supplier and the facility over a predetermined time period ([0013] - - time series data includes energy consumption values);
executing an optimization algorithm configured to determine a mitigated maximum power exchange value in the timeseries using data defining one or more peak shaving capabilities at the facility as variables ([0014] - - determine an optimized power cap using an optimization algorithm); and
outputting the determined mitigated maximum power exchange value ([0014] - - control an energy storage device based on the optimized power cap; thus the optimized power cap is outputted).
Regarding claim 2, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: the received timeseries is one of a plurality of timeseries defining a distribution of power exchange scenarios at the facility ([0068] - - a number of scenarios are constructed by sampling the load forecast error distribution), and wherein executing the optimization algorithm comprises performing robust optimization using the plurality of timeseries as input ([0064] - - stochastic optimization algorithm is a robust optimization).
Regarding claim 3, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: performing robust optimization comprises performing worst case robust optimization to mitigate the maximum power exchange value among all of the power exchange scenarios ([0051] - - not enforce power cap in the off-peak and part-peak regimes; only enforcing power cap at the peak regime; the peak regime is worst case).
Regarding claim 4, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: performing robust optimization comprises mitigating the maximum power exchange value among a predetermined proportion of the power exchange scenarios ([0051] - - not enforce power cap in the off-peak and part-peak regimes; only enforcing power cap at the peak regime; the peak regime has the maximum power exchange; [0040], [0041] - - using optimization algorithm to determine an optimized power cap a TOU period).
Regarding claim 7, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: performing robust optimization comprises performing scenario tree online optimization using the plurality of timeseries as input ([0068] - - utilizing multiple simulations to find a policy that accounts for this highly variable behavior; using multiple simulations (e.g. either 0 or 50kW) is performing scenario tree).
Regarding claim 8, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: the received timeseries comprises at least first and second subsets of power exchange values within the predetermined time period, and wherein executing the optimization algorithm comprises determining a said mitigated maximum power exchange value in each of the subsets ([0068] - - utilizing multiple simulations to find a policy that accounts for this highly variable behavior; the wind farm generation is either 0 or 50kW are two different subsets).
Regarding claim 10, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: the power exchange relates to power intake or to power infeed, wherein the maximum power exchange value is a maximum power intake value or a maximum power infeed value, respectively, and wherein the optimization algorithm is configured to determine a mitigated maximum power intake value or a mitigated maximum power infeed value, respectively (Fig. 1 - - peak demand of utility power draw is a maximum power intake value).
Regarding claim 11, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sheehan further teaches: obtaining from the optimization algorithm data defining a power management solution for operating the peak shaving capabilities of the facility so as to maintain power exchange values for power exchange between the supplier and the facility at or below the mitigated maximum power exchange value; and operating the one or more peak shaving capabilities of the facility according to the power management solution ([0014] - - control the energy storage device based on the optimized power cap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheehan et al. US 2019/0115753 (hereinafter Sheehan) in view of Hooshmand et al. US 2014/0058571 (hereinafter Hooshmand).
Regarding claim 9, Sheehan teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Sheehan does not explicitly teach: using a cost function in relation to the one or more capabilities of the peak shaving system to determine a tradeoff between mitigation of the maximum power exchange value and capability cost.
However, Hooshmand teaches: using a cost function in relation to the one or more capabilities of the peak shaving system to determine a tradeoff between mitigation of the maximum power exchange value and capability cost ([0022] - - objective function relates to the grid power cost and battery usage cost; grid power cost mitigation of max power exchange value; battery usage cost is capability cost).
Sheehan and Hooshmand are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to power management system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Sheehan, and incorporating a cost function, as taught by Turney.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide multi-objective energy management, as suggested by Hooshmand ([0008]).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116