DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is currently pending
Claim 1 is currently amended
Claim 1 is currently rejected
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 5 states “regulate an emission of water and aluminum into” and instead should state “regulate an emission of the aluminum and the water into” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. FURTHERMORE, line 10 states “A condenser within at least a first of the two HT/HP” and instead should state “a condenser within at least a first of the at least two HT/HP” for further clarity. ADDITIONALLY, line 11 states “coupled to the first of the HT/HP” and instead should state “coupled to the first of the at least two HT/HP” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,752,518 B2, and unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,319,217 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 1 is broad enough and further disclosed by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,752,518 B2 and by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,319,217 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRICK (U.S. 2017/0065904 A9) (hereinafter “Frick”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Frick teaches a system (see FIG. 1, a fluid heating system 100) (see FIGS. 2-3, systems 200 and 300, respectively) (see paragraphs 9, 18, 52 and 56-60) comprising:
a boiler comprising a boiler combustion chamber (see FIG. 6B, boiler 604) (see FIG. 10, combustion engine 1060) (see FIG. 12B, boiler 1204) (see paragraphs 18 and 55 further discussing boilers) in which a hydrothermal oxidation reaction takes place to provide heat to superheat steam and hydrogen gas (Examiner’s note: this claim limitation is a product-by-process limitation of a boiler comprising a boiler combustion chamber);
an injector module configured to receive material and inject into the boiler combustion chamber (Examiner’s note: Examiner is broadly interpreting ‘an injector module’ to include a container/tank along with a feed pump capable of pressurizing and pumping a fluid containing material into a chamber/boiler/heating device) (see FIG. 3, preheater 326 and pump 330) (see paragraph 79);
a heater coupled to the boiler such that the heater heats contents of the boiler to a desired operational temperature (see FIG. 1, a rotary heating device 1) (see FIG. 2, a rotary heating device 204) (see FIG. 3, a rotary heating device 304) (see paragraphs 56-59 and 69) (see paragraphs 18 and 67-68 further discussing heating to a desired operational temperature);
at least two high temperature, high pressure (HT/HP) heat exchangers coupled to the boiler (see FIG. 1, heat exchangers 114 and 116) (see FIG. 2, heat exchangers 206, 214 and 216) (see FIG. 3, heat exchangers 306 and 316) (see paragraphs 58-59, 64, 69 and 73); and
a condenser within at least a first of the at least two HT/HP heat exchangers (see FIG. 12B, condensers 1278 and/or 1270) (see FIG. 12C, condenser 1279) (see FIG. 13A, condenser 1316); and
a low temperature, low pressure heat exchanger coupled to the first of the at least two HT/HP heat exchangers (see FIG. 1, heat exchangers 114 and 116) (see FIG. 2, heat exchangers 206, 214 and 216) (see FIG. 3, heat exchangers 306 and 316) (see paragraphs 58-59, 64, 69 and 73).
Although Frick teaches multiple boilers, heating devices/systems, heat exchangers, and modules capable of injecting/flowing fluid from one structural device to another, one may broadly interpret that Frick does not explicitly teach ‘an injector module configured to receive material comprising aluminum and water and to regulate an emission of the aluminum and the water’, as recited in amended, independent claim 1. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the injector module of Frick to be capable of receiving an unfiltered fluid source containing aluminum and water, and to further regulate an emission of the aluminum and the water as the unfiltered fluid source passes through various and multiple fluid treatment devices and systems for optimization purposes (see FIG. 1, heat exchangers 114 and 116) (see FIG. 2, heat exchangers 206, 214 and 216) (see FIG. 3, heat exchangers 306 and 316) (see paragraph 18 further discussing control systems) (see paragraphs 58-59, 64, 69 and 73).
Other References Considered
FRICK (U.S. 2014/0021032 A1) (hereinafter “Frick2”) teaches a system and method for heating fluids.
Smith (U.S. 2008/0110417 A1) (hereinafter “Smith”) teaches a combustion disposal system of produced water.
Archibald et al. (U.S. 6,596,178 B1) (hereinafter “Arch”) teaches a fluid purification system.
Pronske et al. (U.S. 2014/0137779 A1) (hereinafter “Pronske”) teaches a high pressure steam system.
Younes et al. (U.S. 2014/0014492 A1) (hereinafter “Younes”) teaches a produced water treatment system and method.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but focus on amended claim limitations, which have been addressed above in the updated rejection (see above).
The previous claim objection regarding claim 1 has been considered and is now updated (see above).
The previous 112(f) claim interpretation/analysis has been considered and is now withdrawn.
The previous 112(b) claim rejection regarding claim 1 has been considered and is now withdrawn as a result of the current claim amendments.
The previous double patenting rejection has been considered; however, is currently still maintained and held in abeyance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773