Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 , 3 -6, 8-10, 1 2 -14 , 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. Research on Hybrid Modulation Strategy of Bidirectional LLC Resonant Converter in Distributed Energy Storage System . With respect to claim 1 Luo teaches a hybrid mode control method, configured for a charging control or a discharging control of an LLC resonant converter (see Fig. 1) , the method comprising steps of: controlling the LLC resonant converter to operate in a burst mode (table 1 page 3) when determining that an output of the LLC resonant converter is in a light load (page 2 col. 1 paragraph 2) , controlling the LLC resonant converter to operate in a PWM mode (page 3 col. 2 paragraph 2) as a load of the LLC resonant converter increases or an output voltage of the LLC resonant converter increases in the charging control; or controlling the LLC resonant converter to operate in a PFM mode (page 3 col. 2 paragraph 3 above PWM limit or overload ) as the load of the LLC resonant converter increases or an input voltage of the LLC resonant converter decreases in the discharging control; and controlling the LLC resonant converter to operate in the PFM mode as the load of the LLC resonant converter further increases (see rated load conditions page 3 col. 2 paragraph 3). or the output voltage of the LLC resonant converter further increases in the charging control; or controlling the LLC resonant converter to operate in a PSM mode as the load of the LLC resonant converter further increases or the input voltage of the LLC resonant converter further decreases in the discharging control. With respect to claim 3 and 13 Luo teaches an input side of the LLC resonant converter is a DC bus side for providing the input voltage (page 1 col. 1 paragraph 1) ; an output side of the LLC resonant converter is a battery load side (page 3 col. 1 paragraph 2) for providing the output voltage, and the output voltage is a wide-range voltage (page 3 col. 1 paragraph 2) ; wherein when the output voltage is less than the input voltage, the LLC resonant converter operates in a step-down charging control (page 4 col. 2 paragraph 2) ; when the output /input (in forward or reverse operation ) voltage is greater than the input voltage, the LLC resonant converter operates in a step-up charging control (see reverse operation) . With respect to claim 4 Luo teaches the LLC resonant converter is controlled to operate in the burst mode with a fixed duty cycle and a fixed frequency (page 3 col. 1 paragraph 4) . With respect to claim s 5 and 12 Luo teaches the LLC resonant converter is controlled to operate in the PWM mode with a variable duty cycle (17-50%) and a fixed frequency in the charging control; wherein the duty cycle when operating in the PWM mode is greater than the duty cycle when operating in the burst mode (17%) . With respect to claim 6 Luo teaches the LLC resonant converter is controlled to operate in the PFM mode with a fixed duty cycle (value between 50kHz-120kHz) and a variable frequency (50kHz-120kHz) in the charging control; wherein the frequency when operating in the PFM mode is less (see table 1 page 3) than the frequency when operating in the PWM mode. With respect to claim 8 Luo teaches the duty cycle is fixed at a minimum duty cycle and the frequency is fixed at a maximum frequency when operating in the burst mode (see 17% duty cycle) . With respect to claim 9 Luo teaches the duty cycle varies between 50% and a minimum duty cycle and the frequency is fixed at a maximum frequency when operating in the PWM mode (see table 1 PWM row) . With respect to claim 10 Luo teaches the duty cycle is fixed at 50% and the frequency varies between a maximum frequency and a minimum frequency when operating in the PFM mode (see table 1 P FM row) . With respect to claim 1 4 Luo teaches the LLC resonant converter is controlled to operate in the PFM mode with a fixed duty cycle and a variable frequency in the discharging control; wherein the duty cycle when operating in the PFM mode is greater than the duty cycle when operating in the burst mode (see table 1 page 3) , and the frequency when operating in the PFM mode is less than the frequency when operating in the burst mode (see table 1 page 3 row 3) . With respect to claim 1 6 Luo teaches the LLC resonant converter is controlled to operate in the PWM mode with a variable duty cycle and a fixed frequency in the discharging control; wherein the duty cycle when operating in the PWM mode is greater than the duty cycle when operating in the burst mode (during reverse operation page 3 col. 2 table 2) . With respect to claim 17 Luo teaches the duty cycle is fixed at 50% and the frequency varies between a maximum frequency and a minimum frequency when operating in the PFM mode (see 50-120kHz) . With respect to claim 19 Luo teaches the duty cycle varies between 50% and a minimum duty cycle and the frequency is fixed at a maximum frequency when operating in the PWM mode (17-50%) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 2, 7 , 11 , 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of ASKARIANABAYANEH et al. (US 20220014106) With respect to claim 2 Luo teaches controlling the LLC resonant converter to operate the LLC resonant converter further increases (overload conditions) under the PFM mode or the output voltage of the LLC resonant converter further increases under the PFM mode in the charging control. ASKARIANABAYANEH teaches the known use of PSM under heavy load (paragraph 0006). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try the known use of PSM mode of operation for the predictable result of simplicity of control. With respect to claim s 7 and 15 Luo teaches the LLC resonant converter is controlled to operate in the in the charging control; however, does not teach wherein the frequency when operating in the PSM mode is less than the frequency when operating in the PFM mode. ASKARIANABAYANEH teaches the known use of PSM mode . PSM with a fixed duty cycle, a fixed frequency, and a variable phase shift is a well known manner of modulation the power of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try a fixed duty cycle, a fixed frequency, and a variable phase shift for the benefit of increased efficient power transfer. Luo does not compare a PSM mode and PFM mode frequency. It is well known to operate a PSM mode is a low frequency for the benefit of increased efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try lower PSM frequency for the benefit of increased efficiency. With respect to claim s 11 and 18 ASKARIANABAYANEH teaches the frequency is fixed at a minimum frequency, and the phase shift varies between 0% and a maximum shift when operating in the PSM mode , however does not teach the duty cycle is fixed at 50 %. 50% is a well known PSM modulations duty of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try a 50% duty cycle, for the benefit of increased efficiency . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ye et al. (US 20160294294) teaches the use of LLC resonant converter with different operations Fig. 6-9 relevant to the claim ed arrangement . Chiu (US 20220289056) teaches converter with two modulation modes (paragraph 4) relevant to the claimed arrangement. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Fin whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5921 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9am-5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Rexford Barnie can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-7429 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL FIN Primary Examiner Art Unit 2836 /MICHAEL R. FIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836