Claims 1-20 are pending.
The IDSes, filed 5/12/23, 6/5/23, 10/6/23, and 5/7/24 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the transformation" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the delete request" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected for incorporating the deficiency of the parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy et al (US20210374157, “Reddy”).
As to claim 1:
Reddy teaches a method (method; 0004, 0007, 0023) comprising:
receiving a request to transform one or more data regions of a data object (receive operation request to metadata service for an object in storage regions; 0046, 0050, 0064, 0072, 0076) along with a topology map (request to update object replication map which tracks objection locations; 0042, 0043) from an authorized application (request from user, API user, or another application; 0029, 0032, 0064);
fetching object metadata containing an existing data topology map (access/R/W/update/delete metadata in objection replication map; 0042, 0045-0047, 0051);
applying the transformation to one or more data regions of the data object (perform update to data object; 0042, 0045-0047, 0051); and
returning an updated topology map to the authorized application (metadata is updated in object replication map; 0042, 0045, 0047; metadata in replication map accessible by applications connected to object virtual machines; 0032, 0064).
As to claim 2, 10, 17:
Reddy teaches the object is an immutable data object (storage structure 203 stores immutable data files in data structure; 052).
As to claim 3, 11, 18:
Reddy teaches the authorized application maintains an internal topology map corresponding to the topology map stored in a data processing unit of a dispersed storage network (maintain separate database maps in different geographic regions; 0023, 0042).
As to claim 4, 12, 19:
Reddy teaches the data object is the data object written with a multi-part upload scheme (larger objects may use multipart upload scheme; 0073).
As to claim 5, 13, 20:
Reddy teaches the data object is accessible to read applications and non-authorized applications during the transformation of the one or more data regions of the data object (object is accessible as long as replication is pending; 0043).
As to claim 6, 14:
Reddy teaches only the authorized application can issue one request to transform/delete multiple data regions of the data object by individual data regions (system and can modify object storage data and entities across multiple geographic regions; 0023; operation can be delete operation; 0042, 0061, 0097).
As to claim 9:
Reddy teaches a computer program product (computer program product storing code; 0165), the computer program product comprising a non-transitory tangible storage device having program code embodied therewith, the program code executable by a processor of a computer to perform a method, the method comprising:
receiving a request to delete (receive operation request to metadata service for an object in storage regions; 0046, 0050, 0064, 0072, 0076; operation can be delete operation; 0042, 0061, 0097) one or more data regions of a data object with a topology map (request to update object replication map which tracks objection locations; 0042, 0043) from an authorized application (request from user, API user, or another application; 0029, 0032, 0064);
fetching object metadata containing an existing data topology map (access/R/W/update/delete metadata in objection replication map; 0042, 0045-0047, 0051);
deleting one or more data regions of the data object (perform update to data object; 0042, 0045-0047, 0051; operation can be delete operation; 0042, 0061, 0097); and
returning an updated topology map to the authorized application (metadata is updated in object replication map; 0042, 0045, 0047; metadata in replication map accessible by applications connected to object virtual machines; 0032, 0064).
As to claim 16:
Reddy teaches a computer system (computing system 100; 0032), comprising:
one or more processors (processor/CPU; 0005-0007, 0032); a memory coupled to at least one of the processors (memory storage; 0032); a set of computer program instructions(instructions; 0035-0036) stored in the memory and executed by at least one of the processors in order to perform actions of:
receiving a request to delete (receive operation request to metadata service for an object in storage regions; 0046, 0050, 0064, 0072, 0076; operation can be delete operation; 0042, 0061, 0097) one or more data regions of a data object with a topology map (request to update object replication map which tracks objection locations; 0042, 0043) from an authorized application (request from user, API user, or another application; 0029, 0032, 0064);
fetching object metadata containing an existing data topology map (access/R/W/update/delete metadata in objection replication map; 0042, 0045-0047, 0051);
deleting one or more data regions of the data object (perform update to data object; 0042, 0045-0047, 0051; operation can be delete operation; 0042, 0061, 0097); and
returning an updated topology map to the authorized application (metadata is updated in object replication map; 0042, 0045, 0047; metadata in replication map accessible by applications connected to object virtual machines; 0032, 0064).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al (US20210374157, “Reddy”), in view of Kannan (US20200310659).
As to claim 7, 8, 15:
Reddy teaches performing transformation/delete (delete access; 0042, 0061, 0097) access via an API call (0064) for synchronous and asynchronous replication (0022-0023). However Reddy does not specifically teach the API is a RESTful API. It is well-known in the art to use a RESTful API to exchange information securely over the internet. One such art is Kannan, who teaches using a RESTful API for performing transactions over the internet to access shared data (0112), such as updating mapping data structure (0216). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, at the time of the invention, to use Kannan’s teaching of using RESTful API, in the invention of Reddy, for better secure transactions over the internet.
/THAN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138