DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This office action substitutes the previously mailed final office action. The previously mailed office action has been vacated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2.Claim(s) 51, 53-75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seethaler et al. (US 11049511) in view of GIRISH et al. (US 20080218583).
Regarding claim 51, Seethaler discloses a visual system, comprising: a visual device peripheral to a computer, the visual device comprising: one or more visual indicators (Col.8 lines 44-49 and fig.3, 315: Seethaler discusses how a visual notification presented on the display as shown so that the notification is presented over top of other visual portions of the video conference); a microcontroller (Col.5 lines 30-38 and Col.11 lines 16-17: controller control its display); and a button or a touch sensor having a configurable control to change a setting of the microphone or the webcam in response to an event (Col.2 lines 1-7, fig.2 and fig.3, 304, 313: Seethaler discusses how a switch or button that is manipulable to mute and unmute the at least one microphone; and how a mute selector presented on a touch enabled display of the device may also be selected and deselected with touch input to respectively mute and unmute the microphone); and an operating system operably coupled to a microphone controller or a webcam controller (Col.6 lines 49-67 and fig.1, 100, 122: a digital camera such as a webcam, integrated into the system and controllable by the processor to gather pictures/images and/or video), and communicating with the microphone controller, the webcam controller, or a video conferencing software platform (Col.6 lines 49-67, Col.7 lines 20-51 and Col.8 lines 8-14: Seethaler discusses a system communicating with a video conferencing application; and how the system facilitate the video conference by executing a video conferencing application locally at the device, and with other devices of other remote participants).
Seethaler discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “one or more LED lights configured to indicate whether a microphone or a webcam of the computer is on or off or whether a user is participating in a conference call, wherein the one or more visual indicators are visible to the user and those nearby; the operating system having an event handling logic for receiving a signal from the visual device of the event”
GIRISH however discloses one or more LED lights configured to indicate whether a microphone or a webcam of the computer is on or off or whether a user is participating in a conference call, wherein the one or more visual indicators are visible to the user and those nearby (Paragraphs: 0032-0033 and 0059-0060: GIRISH discusses how the LED is configured to illuminate when the camera and microphone are on and stop illuminating when the camera and microphone are off); the operating system having an event handling logic for receiving a signal from the visual device of the event (Paragraphs: 0052, 0059-0060: GIRISH discusses how the device includes an indicator unit which includes a light emitting diode (LED) operatively coupled to the CPU; and how the indicator unit includes one or more "on air" indicators and a controller for controlling the indicators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Seethaler, and modify a system wherein one or more LED lights configured to indicate whether a microphone or a webcam of the computer is on or off or whether a user is participating in a conference call, wherein the one or more visual indicators are visible to the user and those nearby, as taught by GIRISH, thus provides true indication of when the system components are on and off, enables the system to be integrated into single unit, as discussed by GIRISH.
Regarding claim 64, Seethaler discloses a method for communicating to a user and those nearby a status and a change in the status of a microphone or a webcam of computer in response to an event (Col.13 lines 57-67: Seethaler discusses a microphone status notification on the laptop display, i.e. a change in the status of a microphone), comprising: receiving the event on the computer (Col.7 lines 54-57, Col.15 lines 51-54 and fig.3, 304: a device with build-in microphone for receiving audible input from the user; and determining whether the user is currently speaking); processing the event using an operating system operably coupled to a microphone controller or a webcam controller and having an event handling logic for communicating with a microphone controller, a webcam controller, or a video conference program (Col.6 lines 49-67, Col.7 lines 20-51 and Col.8 lines 8-14: Seethaler discusses a system communicating with a video conferencing application; and how the system facilitate the video conference by executing a video conferencing application locally at the device, and with other devices of other remote participants); communicating the event to a visual device peripheral to the computer (Col.8 lines 44-49 and fig.3, 315: Seethaler discusses how a visual notification presented on the display as shown so that the notification is presented over top of other visual portions of the video conference ) comprising a microcontroller (Col.5 lines 30-38 and Col.11 lines 16-17: controller control its display) and a button or a touch sensor (Col.2 lines 6-7 and Col.8 lines 8-12: Seethaler discusses a button that is manipulable to mute and unmute the at least one microphone);
Seethaler discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “one or more LED lights configured to indicate whether a microphone or a webcam of the computer is on or off or whether a user is participating in a conference call, wherein the one or more visual indicators are visible to the user and those nearby; and changing a setting on the visual device to indicate whether the microphone or the webcam of the computer is on or off and whether the user is participating in a conference call”
GIRISH however discloses one or more LED lights configured to indicate whether a microphone or a webcam of the computer is on or off or whether a user is participating in a conference call, wherein the one or more visual indicators are visible to the user and those nearby (Paragraphs: 0032-0033 and 0059-0060: GIRISH discusses how the LED is configured to illuminate when the camera and microphone are on and stop illuminating when the camera and microphone are off); and changing a setting on the visual device to indicate whether the microphone or the webcam of the computer is on or off and whether the user is participating in a conference call (Paragraphs: 0032, 0052 and 0059-0060: GIRISH discusses how a single light indicator for visually indicating whether or not the camera and microphone are active (e.g., on-air); GIRISH also discusses a conferencing system where the status of a switch incorporated with an audio/video capture device is determined).
Considering claim 53, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, wherein the visual device is wirelessly connected to the operating system (Col.6 lines 23-36 and fig.3, 315).
Considering claim 54, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, further comprising a toggle operably coupled to the operating system for inputting a command to change a setting of the microphone or the webcam controller (Col.2 lines 3-7, Col.7 lines 57-67 and Col.11 lines 20-26: Seethaler discusses at least one microphone is currently muted via an operating system executing at the first device and/or hardware accessible to the first device; and how the hardware include a switch or button that is manipulable mute and unmute the at least one microphone).
Considering claim 55, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 54, wherein the toggle comprises a volume control for muting or unmuting the microphone controller, or a component with control handling logic for receiving commands from the visual device, or a combination thereof (Col.2 lines 3-7 and Col.11 lines 20-26).
Considering claim 56, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, wherein the visual system is configured to control the webcam (Col.6 lines 60-67 and fig.3, 306: Seethaler discusses how a webcam integrated into the system with display and controllable by the processor to gather pictures/images and/or video).
Considering claim 57, GIRISH further discloses the visual system of claim 57, wherein the visual device is configured to control a setting of the webcam in response to an event, the visual device operably coupled to the webcam controller, the webcam comprising an event handling logic for receiving a signal from the visual device of the event and communicating with the webcam controller (Col.10 lines 9-25 and fig.6, 602: GIRISH discusses a camera in communication with the device, such as its built-in webcam; and how the device may determine whether a user is currently speaking as indicated in the input).
Considering claim 58, GIRISH discloses the visual system of claim 57, wherein the visual device is coupled to the webcam controller and is configured to execute a detecting script to enable or disable the webcam, the visual device coupled to the webcam controller comprising a webcam screen status detection and configured to control a virtual webcam or the webcam (Paragraphs: 0036 and 0041: GIRISH discusses how the system turns on/off portions of the video/audio capture device).
Considering claim 59, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, further comprising a toggle operably coupled to the webcam controller and configured to receive a command to change a setting of the webcam controller, wherein the toggle comprises a component configured to receive commands from the visual device (Col.6 lines 60-67, fig.1, 191 and fig.3, 306, 315).
Considering claim 60, GIRISH discloses the visual system of claim 51, wherein the visual device is further coupled to a virtual webcam, the virtual webcam configured to receive the signal from the visual device of an event and communicate with the virtual webcam through human interface device commands; the visual device is further coupled to the webcam controller configured to execute a plug and play detecting script for the webcam and to perform a status detection of the webcam (Col.10 lines 9-25, fig.3, 313 and fig.6, 602).
Considering claim 61, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, further comprising a virtual microphone, wherein the virtual microphone receives a command from a human interface device command (fig.3, 313 and fig.6 ).
Considering claim 62, Seethaler discloses the visual system of Claim 61, wherein the visual system is configured to control the virtual microphone and the virtual microphone is configured to control or receive input from the computer microphone (Col.2 lines 9-34 and fig.6, 614, Seethaler discusses receiving user input to unmute microphone; and how a display accessible to the first device as part of a graphical user interface (GUI), where the GUI may include a selector that is selectable to unmute the at least one microphone).
Considering claim 63, Seethaler discloses the visual system of Claim 62, wherein the visual system is configured to receive a selection from a user to select the virtual microphone as a default microphone and wherein the visual system further comprises a fast control program configured to pass along commands from the visual device (Col.2 lines 9-34, Col.13 lines 60-67, fig.3, 313, 315 and fig.6, 614).
Considering claim 65, Seethaler discloses the method of claim 64, wherein the receiving the event comprises receiving an event generated by an application or an event generated by a video conference program (fig.6, 600).
Considering claim 66, Seethaler discloses the method of claim 64, wherein the changing a setting on the visual device comprises changing one or more visual indicators of the visual device and muting a default audio output of the microphone during the conference call (Col.2 lines 3-7, Col.7 lines 57-67 and fig.6, 608: Seethaler discusses at least one microphone is currently muted via an operating system executing at the first device and/or hardware accessible to the first device; and how the hardware include a switch or button that is manipulable mute and unmute the at least one microphone ).
Considering claim 67, Seethaler discloses the method of claim 64, further comprising pressing or touching the button or the touch sensor on the visual device thereby activating the visual device, communicating the visual device activation to the computer, and changing a microphone setting on the computer in response to a signal received by the visual device (fig.3, 313 and fig.6 ).
Considering claim 68, GIRISH discloses the method of claim 64, wherein the changing a setting on the visual device comprises turning off a default video output of the webcam during the conference call (Paragraphs: 0032-0033, 0052 and 0059-0060).
Considering claim 69, GIRISH discloses the method of claim 64, further comprising pressing or touching the button or a touch sensor on the visual device thereby activating the visual device, communicating the activation of the visual device to the computer (Paragraphs: 0010-0011: GIRISH discusses an apparatus further includes a switch mechanism for activating and deactivating the data capture device); and changing a webcam setting on the computer as a result of the activation of the visual device (Paragraph: 0036 and fig.1, 22: GIRISH discusses a system adjust an aperture associated with the camera, turn on/off portions of the video/audio capture device).
Considering claim 70, GIRISH discloses the method of claim 69, wherein the changing a webcam setting on the computer results in turning the webcam on or off, wherein the activating the visual device comprises activating the one or more visual indicator on the visual device (Paragraphs: 0010-0011: GIRISH discusses how an indicator may be hard-wired to the video and/or audio components so to provide a true indication of when these components are on and off).
Considering claim 71, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, wherein the one or more visual indicators are visible to the user from 360 degrees around the visual device (Col.6 lines 62-67: a three-dimensional (3D) camera, and/or a camera integrated into the system)
Considering claim 72, GIRISH discloses the visual system of claim 71, wherein the one or more visual indicators illuminate in different colors depending on whether the microphone or the webcam is on or off (Paragraphs: 0031 and 0039: GIRISH discusses how different colors, sounds for representing the different conditions of the camera and microphone).
Considering claim 73, GIRISH discloses the visual system of claim 72, wherein the one or more visual indicators pulsate depending on whether the user is participating in a conference call or not (Paragraphs: 0011 and 0032).
Considering claim 74, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 64, wherein the receiving an event comprises receiving an event generated by the user pressing or touching the button or the touch sensor of the visual device (Col.2 lines 1-7, fig.2 and fig.3, 304, 313: Seethaler discusses how a switch or button that is manipulable to mute and unmute the at least one microphone).
Considering claim 75, Seethaler discloses the visual system of claim 51, further comprising a fast control program configured to turn the microphone or the webcam on or off from the visual device; the fast control program being configured to pass the signal from the visual device to the operating system (Col.3 lines 22-34 and Col.7 lines 61-64: switch or depressible button that may be manipulable between on and off positions to respectively mute and unmute the microphone).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argued, Block et al. does not qualify as prior art under the AIA . Examiner agreed with applicants argument and the previous office action has been vacated. Applicants also argues the prior arts of the record (Seethaler et al.) does not teach a peripheral device with LED indicators; and the previously amended independent claims 51 and 64, wherein only a single-type notification: a GUI alert triggered when the system detects the user speaking while the microphone is muted. As such, Seethaler does not teach webcam status indication, call participation indication, or any persistent multi-status LED system.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art of the record (GIRISH et al.) discusses how the LED is configured to illuminate when the camera and microphone are on and stop illuminating when the camera and microphone are off; and discusses a single light indicator for visually indicating whether or not the camera and microphone are active (e.g., on-air) (GIRISH: Paragraphs: 0032-0033 and 0059-0060:). The prior arts of the record also disclose how the system turns on/off portions of the video/audio capture device (GIRISH: Paragraphs: 0036 and 0041). Therefore, the prior arts of the record disclose the argued claims limitations.
Conclusion
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691