DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pub No.: 20070188059(“Davis et al.”) in view of EP 2843329 (“Ding et al.”).
Regarding Claim 1, Davis et al. discloses refrigerator comprising:
a main body (4) having a storage compartment (8);
a door body (10) a configured to open and close the storage compartment and comprising an upper frame (along the upper portion) and a lower frame (along the lower portion);
a door panel (65) detachably coupled to a front surface of the door body (1) and comprising:
a panel body (114) ,
an upper trim (140) provided at an upper portion of a rear surface of the panel body to be coupled to the upper cap, the upper trim comprising a fixing groove (along 140), see and
a lower trim (143) provided at a lower portion of the rear surface of the panel body to be coupled to the lower end of the door; and
a fixer (90, 91; [0027-0029]) is attached upper frame (along the upper portion), the fixer including a fixing protrusion (out turned section 167, see e.g. Fig. 3) configured to be rotatable about a fixer rotation axis (via the respective fastener extending in to the base section 164) between a locked position (attached) in which an attachment of the upper trim (140) to the upper frame (along the top) is locked by the fixing protrusion (167) being inserted into the fixing groove( similar to the manner shown in Fig. 3) and an unlocked position (unattached) in which the locked attachment of the upper trim (140) to the upper frame is unlocked.
Davis et al. discloses the door body have an upper lower door frame but does not expressly disclose an upper cap and lower cap.
Ding et al. discloses a similar refrigerator door with a door body (2) a configured to open and close the storage compartment and comprising an upper cap (23) and a lower frame (24); a door panel (3) detachably coupled to a front surface of the door body (2, by way of a fixer attached to the edge portions of the door body).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that refrigerator door taught by could be improved where the door is configured with an upper and lower door cap and to provide the fixer to the door cap, in the same manner as taught by Ding et al., to improve the strength to the door body, the insulating efficiency of the door body, while providing the door with a seamless floating glass panel. As modified, the door body has an open and close the storage compartment and comprising an upper cap and a lower cap, and the fixing protrusion is configured to be rotatable about a fixer rotation axis between a locked position in which an attachment of the upper trim to the upper frame is locked by the fixing protrusion and an unlocked position in which the locked attachment of the upper trim to the upper frame is unlocked.
Regarding Claims 2 and 4, the combination discloses (Davis et al.) CLAIM 2-wherein the fixer (90, 91) is attached to the upper cap about a fixer rotation axis (via the respective fasteners); CLAIM 4- wherein the fixer (90, 91 )comprises a first rotation coupling part (base part and the fastener), and the upper cap comprises a second rotation coupling part (aperture supporting shaft of the fastener) rotatably coupled to the first rotation coupling part (base part and the fastener).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 3, the closest art does not teach alone or in combination, the upper cap with a fixer that rotated about the fixer rotation that extends along the left and right direction. As to claim 6, the closest art does not teach alone or in combination, the closest art does not teach providing the upper cap with and an upper cap protrusion protruding forward and configured to insert into the upper trim groove in a manner to couple the upper cap to the upper trim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637