DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (USPUB 2023/0032370) in view of Schultz et al. (USPUB 2016/0134160).
As to Claim 1, Ono discloses a storage battery control device that controls a power storage system, the system comprising: a storage battery string including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series and a bypass circuit configured to execute a bypass operation of bypassing the storage battery or releasing a bypass state of the storage battery (Figure 1, Element BL); and a string switch provided between the storage battery string and the power converter and configured to connect or disconnect the storage battery string and the power converter (Figure 1, S10 and S20), wherein the string switch is brought into a disconnected state by the storage battery control device before execution of the bypass operation by the bypass circuit, and the string switch is brought into a connected state by the storage battery control device after the execution of the bypass operation by the bypass circuit (Figure 3, S1-S12). Ono does not expressly disclose a power converter connected to both ends of the storage battery string and configured to convert an input and output voltage of the storage battery string. Schultz discloses a power converter connected to both ends of the storage battery string and configured to convert an input and output voltage of the storage battery string (Paragraph 33-34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of add the power converter as taught by Schultz and add it to the device of Ono, in order to control the input and output of the battery strings.
As to Claims 3, Ono discloses a power storage system comprising: a storage battery string including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series and a bypass circuit configured to execute a bypass operation of bypassing the storage battery or releasing a bypass state of the storage battery (Figure 1, Element BL); a string switch provided between the storage battery string and the power converter and configured to connect or disconnect the storage battery string and the power converter (Figure 1, S10 and S20); and a storage battery control device configured to control the string switch and the bypass circuit, wherein the storage battery control device brings the string switch into a disconnected state before execution of the bypass operation by the bypass circuit, and brings the string switch into a connected state after the execution of the bypass operation by the bypass circuit (Figure 3, S1-S12). Ono does not expressly disclose a power converter connected to both ends of the storage battery string and configured to convert an input and output voltage of the storage battery string. Schultz discloses a power converter connected to both ends of the storage battery string and configured to convert an input and output voltage of the storage battery string (Paragraph 33-34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of add the power converter as taught by Schultz and add it to the device of Ono, in order to control the input and output of the battery strings.
As to Claim 5, Ono discloses a storage battery control method implemented by a storage battery control device that controls a power storage system, the power storage system comprising: a storage battery string including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series and a bypass circuit configured to execute a bypass operation of bypassing the storage battery or releasing a bypass state of the storage battery (Figure 1, Element BL); and a string switch provided between the storage battery string and the power converter and configured to connect or disconnect the storage battery string and the power converter (Figure 1, S10 and S20), wherein the string switch is brought into a disconnected state before execution of the bypass operation by the bypass circuit, and the string switch is brought into a connected state after the execution of the bypass operation by the bypass circuit (Figure 3, S1-S12). Ono does not expressly disclose a power converter connected to both ends of the storage battery string and configured to convert an input and output voltage of the storage battery string. Schultz discloses a power converter connected to both ends of the storage battery string and configured to convert an input and output voltage of the storage battery string (Paragraph 33-34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of add the power converter as taught by Schultz and add it to the device of Ono, in order to control the input and output of the battery strings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859