Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/15/2023, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 102(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gil et al (US 20220355929) in view of Jiang et al (CN 106314798) and Gwin (US 20190047696).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, lines 2-4 should read "in a longitudinal direction of the upper connecting portion of the respective one of the leg portions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gil et al (US 20220355929) in view of Jiang et al (CN 106314798) and Gwin (US 20190047696).
Regarding claim 1, Gil et al teaches a package supporting device comprising (Abstract):
a base (62), an upper portion of the base (62) being configured to be attached to an unmanned aerial vehicle (12) (Paragraph 0028, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0032, lines 1-5; Fig. 3, elements 12, 62);
a plurality of first supporting portions (66) fixed to the underside of the base (62) and extending in a direction orthogonal to the vertical direction, with parcel carriers (34) being supported by a respective first supporting portion (66) of among the plurality of first supporting portions to be moveable along a longitudinal direction of the respective first supporting position toward the package (60) and away from the package (60) (Paragraph 0032, lines 1-20; Fig. 3, elements 34, 60, 62, 66); and
a drive portion (32A) that is operable to cause each of the parcel carriers (34) to move toward the package (60) or away from the package (60) along the respective first supporting position (Paragraph 0033, lines 1-6; Paragraph 0034, lines 1-8).
Gil et al does not teach a plurality of leg portions. Jiang et al teaches a package supporting device with a plurality of leg portions provided at an underside of the base, each of the leg portions including two abutting portions (3, 4) that are arranged at intervals in a horizontal direction orthogonal to a vertical direction and that correspondingly abut two adjacent side surfaces of a package, the two adjacent surfaces connecting an upper and a lower surface of the package, and each of the leg portions supporting a corner portion of the package in a state in which the two abutting portions (3, 4) correspondingly abut the two adjacent side surfaces of the package (Page 2, paragraph 15; Page 3, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, elements 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Jiang et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of leg portions that can lift and support an item as taught by Jiang et al (Page 3, paragraph 2).
Gil et al does not teach second supporting portions. Gwin et al teaches an apparatus lifting device with a plurality of second supporting portions (136), each of which is provided between the base (116) and a respective one of the leg portions (120), and supports the respective one of the leg portions (120) so that the respective one of the leg portions (120) is rotatable with the vertical direction as an axial direction (Paragraph 0023, lines 10-16; Fig. 1, elements 120, 132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Gwin et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of a leg portion that has multiple degrees of freedom as taught by Gwin et al (Paragraph 0023, lines 19-23).
Regarding claim 4, Gil et al teaches a package supporting device comprising (Abstract):
a base (62), an upper portion of the base (62) being configured to be attached to an unmanned aerial vehicle (12) (Paragraph 0028, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0032, lines 1-5; Fig. 3, elements 12, 62);
a plurality of first supporting portions (66) fixed to the underside of the base (62) and extending in a direction orthogonal to the vertical direction, with parcel carriers (34) being supported by a respective first supporting portion (66) of among the plurality of first supporting portions to be moveable along a longitudinal direction of the respective first supporting position toward the package (60) and away from the package (60) (Paragraph 0032, lines 1-20; Fig. 3, elements 34, 60, 62, 66); and
a drive portion (32A) that is operable to cause each of the parcel carriers (34) to move toward the package (60) or away from the package (60) along the respective first supporting position (Paragraph 0033, lines 1-6; Paragraph 0034, lines 1-8).
Gil et al does not teach a plurality of leg portions. Jiang et al teaches a package supporting device with a plurality of leg portions provided at an underside of the base, each of the leg portions including two abutting portions (3, 4) that are arranged at intervals in a horizontal direction orthogonal to a vertical direction and that correspondingly abut two adjacent side surfaces of a package, the two adjacent surfaces connecting an upper and a lower surface of the package, and each of the leg portions supporting a corner portion of the package in a state in which the two abutting portions (3, 4) correspondingly abut the two adjacent side surfaces of the package (Page 2, paragraph 15; Page 3, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, elements 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Jiang et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of leg portions that can lift and support an item as taught by Jiang et al (Page 3, paragraph 2).
Gil et al does not teach second supporting portions. Gwin et al teaches an apparatus lifting device with a plurality of second supporting portions (136), each of which is provided between the base (116) and a respective one of the leg portions (120), and supports the respective one of the leg portions (120) so that the respective one of the leg portions (120) is rotatable with the vertical direction as an axial direction (Paragraph 0023, lines 10-16; Fig. 1, elements 120, 132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Gwin et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of a leg portion that has multiple degrees of freedom as taught by Gwin et al (Paragraph 0023, lines 19-23).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gil et al, Jiang et al and Gwin, in further view of Namiki (JP H07279989).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gil et al, Jiang et al and Gwin fails to teach restricting portions. Namiki teaches a plurality of rotation restricting portions, each rotation restricting portion (8) restricting rotation of a respective one of the leg portions (120), with the vertical direction as the axial direction, wherein the plurality of rotation restricting portions (8) respectively restrict rotation of the leg portions (120), with the vertical direction as the axial direction, in a state in which each of the leg portions (120) is not supporting the package (Page 9, paragraph 3; Page 10, paragraphs 1, 2; Fig. 1, elements 8, 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Namiki in combination with Gil et al, Jiang et al and Gwin to facilitate the creation of rotation restricting portions that use frictional force to prevent rotational transmission as taught by Namiki (Page 19, paragraph 5; Page 20, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gil et al, Jiang et al and Gwin fails to teach a restricting spring. Namiki teaches each of the rotation restricting portions (8) is a rotation restricting spring (7), a part of each rotation restricting spring (7) being engaged with a respective one of the leg portions (120); and rotation of each of the leg portions (120), with the vertical direction as the axial direction, is allowed by deformation of a respective one of the rotation restricting springs (7) (Page 10, paragraph 1, 2; Page 12, paragraph 4; Page 13, paragraph 1; Page 14, paragraphs 3, 4, 5; Page 15, paragraph 1; Fig. 3, elements 7, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Namiki in combination with Gil et al, Jiang et al and Gwin to facilitate the creation of rotation restricting springs that can create frictional contact with the leg portion as taught by Namiki (Page 9, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 5, Gil et al teaches a plurality of slide portions (68), each of which is engaged with a respective one of the first supporting portions (66), supports a respective one of the parcel carriers (34), and is configured to slide along the longitudinal direction of the respective one of the first supporting portions (66) (Paragraph 0032, lines 1-20; Fig. 3, elements 34, 62, 66, 68),
Wherein the drive portion (32A) is operable to cause each of the plurality of parcel carriers (34) to slide along the longitudinal direction of the respective one of the first supporting portions (66) to move the respective one of the leg portions toward the package (60) or away from the package (60) (Paragraph 0032, lines 10-14; Paragraph 0033, lines 1-6).
Gil et al fails to teach leg portions. Jiang et al teaches a package supporting device with multiple leg portions (Page 1, paragraph 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Jiang et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of leg portions that can be positioned to grab objects as taught by Jiang et al (Page 3, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 6, Gil et al fails to teach leg portions. Jiang et al teaches a package supporting device wherein each of the leg portions includes:
An upper connecting portion (1) connecting upper ends of the two abutting (3, 4) portions in the horizontal direction (Page 3, paragraph 14; Fig. 2, element 1); and
A lower connecting portion (6) connecting lower ends of the two abutting portions (3, 4) in the horizontal direction, the lower connecting portion (6) supporting the package from below (Page 4, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, element 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Jiang et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of leg portions that can properly support an object as taught by Jiang et al (Page 3, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 7, Gil et al fails to teach second supporting portions. Gwin teaches an apparatus lifting device wherein each second supporting portion of the plurality of second supporting portions (136) engages a central position, in a longitudinal direction of the upper connecting portion, of the upper connecting portion of the respective one of the leg portions (120) (Paragraph 0023, lines 10-16; Fig. 1, elements 120, 132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Gwin et al in Gil et al to facilitate the creation of a leg portion that has multiple degrees of freedom as taught by Gwin et al (Paragraph 0023, lines 19-23).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654