DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two of the plurality of light shielding layers defining an opening having a cross-shaped profile, as in claims 14 and 15, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Both claims require a plurality of light shielding layers in the top view. However, applicant’s disclosure as filed does not support such an arrangement. Rather, in the top view, there is only a single light shielding layer in which the opening having the cross-shaped profile is defined. The limitation of the there being a plurality of light shielding layers per claim 8 as previously examined is understood to be a convention in considering the light-emitting element in the cross-section but only a single light shielding layer is actually disclosed as seen in the top view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US 2005/0179368 A1).
Ryu discloses a light-emitting element (Fig 10), comprising: a substrate (641); light shielding layers (642) disposed over the substrate; a capping layer (644, 646 & 648) disposed over the light shielding layers; a plurality of protrusions (650) arranged over the substrate, an organic light-emitting unit comprising an organic material (650) being disposed between two adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions, wherein an edge of the light shielding layer is misaligned with an edge of one of the plurality of protrusions (per Fig 10, the light blocking layer 642 extends further horizontally than protrusion 650); wherein the organic light-emitting unit includes a first light-emitting unit and a second light-emitting unit, wherein the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit respectively have an organic light-emitting stack layer containing the organic material, and wherein the light shielding layers are electrically insulated from the plurality of protrusions (¶132, layer 642 is a black insulating film, as an insulating film it is electrically insulated from all other elements as it does not conduct electricity).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu discloses that the light shielding layer is electrically insulated from a conductive layer disposed on the capping layer by the capping layer (648 is a conductive layer which is insulated from the light shielding layer 642 by the capping layers).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu discloses that the organic light-emitting stack layer includes: a carrier injection layer; a carrier transport layer; an organic emission layer; and an organic carrier transport layer (¶22).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu discloses that the substrate comprises a transparent material (per Fig 10 light emits from the OLED through the substrate).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu discloses a light-emitting element (Fig 10), comprising: a substrate (641); a plurality of light shielding layers (642, each instance of 642 may be considered its own layer) disposed over the substrate; a capping layer (644, 646 & 648) disposed over the substrate and covering the plurality of light shielding layers; a conductive layer (648) disposed over the capping layer; a plurality of protrusions (650), wherein the plurality of protrusions is arranged over a portion of the conductive layer, and an organic light-emitting unit (651) comprising an organic material is disposed between two adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions; wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has an edge, which is offset from an edge of one of the plurality of light shielding layers in the longitudinal direction (per Fig 10, the light blocking layer 642 extends further horizontally than protrusion 650), and wherein the plurality of light shielding layers are electrically insulated from the plurality of protrusions (¶132, layer 642 is a black insulating film, as an insulating film it is electrically insulated from all other elements as it does not conduct electricity).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu discloses that the light shielding layer was a larger width than the protrusions in a lateral direction (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu discloses that the conductive layer includes a transparent conductive film, and the transparent conductive film includes ITO (indium tin oxide), IZO (indium zinc oxide) or IGZO (indium gallium zinc oxide, ¶123).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu discloses that the conductive layer includes an anode electrode (¶123).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu discloses that a distance between respective edges of the two adjacent protrusions is greater than a distance between two of the plurality of light shielding layers (per Fig 10).
Regarding claim 13, the claimed methods of forming the capping layer do not impose any structural limitations on the capping layer and as such the method of formation of the capping layer has no patentable weight and claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu.
Regarding claim 2, Ryu does not disclose the claimed materials. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed materials in order to implement an OLED, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Note that the materials of claim 2 are conventional OLED materials.
Regarding claim 3, Ryu is silent to the ration of the black area to the bright area when emitting light. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design the OLED such that the total area of the black area is less than 50% of the effective light-emitting area of the first and second light-emitting units since it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Note that it is well-known to minimize the non-light emitting portions of an OLED so as to increase the brightness of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Ryu does not disclose that the plurality of protrusions comprises a photosensitive material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the plurality of protrusions from a photosensitive material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Note that forming pixel defining layers out of photosensitive material is conventional in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the objections to the drawings, the amendments as filed to claims 14 and 15 overcome the prior objections but raise new issues as discussed under Drawings above.
Regarding the 112 rejections, applicant’s amendment has remedied the unclear subject matter of claim 9. However, while the unclear subject matter of claims 14 and 15 have been remedied, questions of new matter have arisen from said amendment, see the 112 Rejections above.
Regarding applicant’s arguments in view of the prior art, the amendment does not overcome the present rejections because an insulating layer, which the light shielding layer is, is by nature insulated from all other elements, please see the 102 Rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yao et al. (US 2021/0328199 A1) discloses a black matrix (50) which may have a variety of differently shaped openings in the top view, including cross-shaped openings (Fig 14).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P SHOOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896