Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on March 31st, 2026. Claims 1 and 10-11 have been amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 USC 103 rejections previously set forth in the office action mailed April 7th, 2026, however, new rejections have been issued, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remaining arguments regarding the prior § 103 rejection are moot in view of the amendments, and the Examiner has introduced new grounds of rejections based on new references to address amended limitations.
Regarding arguments to independent claims 10 and 11, they have been amended in an analogous manner to claim 1, and, for the reasons discussed above, the prior §103 rejections of claims 10 and 11 are not maintained and new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the dependent claims being in condition for allowance due to the reasons related to the corresponding independent claims are not persuasive because the independent claims are not allowed, therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0387645), hereinafter “Kim”, Kosaka et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2017/0146796 A1), hereinafter “Kosaka”, “Relative Velocity”: (https://www.webassign.net/ebooks/cj6demo/pc/c03/read/main/c03x3_4.htm) (2003), pages 1-5.), and Oguri (US11351997B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (Kim; ¶0039, describes a hardware device that includes a memory and a processor), wherein the processor is configured to: acquire actual positional information related to a position of a target based on detection information of the target detected in surroundings of a vehicle (Kim; ¶0006, describes a second sensor part configured to acquire target object traveling information including position information of a target object and surrounding road information of the vehicle. This teaches detecting surrounding information and obtaining actual positional information of a target.) acquire velocity information related to a velocity of the vehicle (Kim; ¶0006, describes a first sensor part configured to acquire vehicle traveling information including velocity information of the vehicle. This teaches acquiring velocity information of the vehicle.) acquire an actual relative approach direction along which the target approaches the vehicle (Kim; ¶0006, describes acquisition of heading value information of a target object. This teaches acquiring the actual relative approach direction of the target with respect to the vehicle.) determine if the actual relative approach direction is a direction of progress of the vehicle, or a direction oblique to a direction of progress of the vehicle (Kim; ¶0009, describes determining a longitudinal moving direction of the target object and, Kim; ¶0010, describes calculating a reference value based on a lateral absolute velocity of the target object and a heading direction of the target object and, when the reference value is greater than or equal to a predetermine third value, determining that the target object performs traverse movement. A target object determined to move longitudinally approaches alond the longitudinal direction of the vehicle (direction of progress) and a target object determined to perform traverse movement approaches along a direction at an angle with respect to the progression direction of the vehicle. This teaches determining if the actual relative approach direction is a direction of progress of the vehicle or a direction oblique to a direction of progress of the vehicle.) offset the actual positional information in the actual relative approach direction by an actual offset distance (Kim; ¶0015, describes predicting an offset between the target object and the expected traveling path of the vehicle based on the expected traveling path of the vehicle and the position information of the target object. This teaches offsetting the actual positional information in the approach direction by an actual offset distance.)
Kim further teaches setting a parameter to different values according to whether the target object is in front of or lateral to the vehicle (Kim; ¶0056, describes the specific threshold value is set to be higher for a target object in front of the vehicle.)
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the device is a display control device, generating a mark urging caution for overlay display on a display area provided in a cabin of the vehicle offset in a virtual relative approach direction on the display area corresponding to the actual relative approach direction by a virtual offset distance corresponding to the actual offset distance, or that the actual offset distance is calculated based on the velocity information that is an absolute velocity of the vehicle when the actual relative approach direction is the direction of progress of the vehicle and is a relative velocity between the target and the vehicle when the actual relative approach direction is a direction oblique to the direction of the vehicle and an estimated processing time from when the target is detected until the mark is generated, wherein the estimated processing time is set to be smaller when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be in the direction of progress of the vehicle and set to be larger when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be oblique to the direction of progress of the vehicle.
Kosaka teaches a display control device and generate a mark urging caution with respect to the target for overlay display on a display area provided in a cabin of the vehicle that is offset from an actual position of the target at the time acquiring the actual positional information, in a virtual relative approach direction on the display area corresponding to the actual relative approach direction, by a virtual offset distance on the display area corresponding to the actual offset distance (Kosaka; ABST describes “A vehicular display apparatus” that generates an attention mark on a windshield in superimposed manner close to the attention target and, ¶0023, describes a coordinate transformer that transforms 3D coordinate data of the attention target into 2D windshield coordinates. ¶0024 describes setting a base point at the 2D windshield position of the attention target and setting the attention mark display position a predetermined distance away from that base point. A display control device that maps the real-world actual approach direction and offset distance into corresponding virtual direction and offset distance values in display and generates an offset caution mark. This teaches generating a mark urging caution on the display area offset in the virtual relative approach direction corresponding to the actual relative approach direction, by a virtual offset distance corresponding to the actual offset distance.), wherein the actual offset distance is calculated based on the velocity information that is an absolute velocity of the vehicle when the actual relative approach direction is the direction of progress of the vehicle, and an estimated processing time from when the target is detected until the mark is generated (Kosaka; ¶0049, describes the display position of the attention mark is corrected based on the time difference between detection of the attention target and display of the attention mark, with more correction when the vehicle speed is higher. Kosaka; ¶0019, describes the attention detector analyzes an image from the forward camera to detect the attention target, meaning a target ahead of the vehicle whose approach direction is the direction of progress of the vehicle and, Kosaka; ¶0051, describes the image of the attention mark is generated using the calculated display position and output for display, so the corrected display position is calculated before the mark is generated and the time difference the correction is based on is an estimated value of the processing time from target detection until mark generation. The vehicle speed of the vehicle is the absolute velocity of the vehicle. This teaches calculating the offset difference based on the absolute velocity of the vehicle for a target approaching in the direction of progress of the vehicle and an estimated processing time from target detection until the mark is generated.)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the controller of Kim to further include the display control of Kosaka, such that the offset predicted in Kim based on the actual relative approach direction is used as the actual offset distance for positioning the attention mark on the windshield in Kosaka in the corresponding virtual relative approach direction, accounting for processing delay and vehicle speed. The benefit of such a combination would have been to provide a quicker and more intuitive indication of the caution target to improve driver awareness and to avoid collisions.
However, Kim in view of Kosaka does not explicitly teach the velocity information
is a relative velocity between the target and the vehicle when the actual relative approach direction is a direction oblique to the direction of the vehicle. Relative Velocity teaches the velocity information is information related to a relative velocity of the vehicle with respect to the target in a case where the acquired approach direction is an oblique direction at an angel with respect to a progress direction of the vehicle (Relative Velocity; pg. 4, example 11, an example where two vehicles are approaching one another at an oblique direction at an angle, with respect to the progression direction of the vehicles. In this example, relative velocities are used, as the oblique direction needs to be taken into consideration when calculating a possible collision.) Relative Velocity (Relative Velocity; pg. 5, Figure 3.20 discussion) further teaches that to determine whether an obliquely moving object strikes the vehicle, the velocity of the object relative to the vehicle must be considered, not its velocity relative to the ground. In the combination, Kim’s parameter setting sets different values according to whether the target object is in front of or lateral to the vehicle. This teaches calculating the actual offset distance based on velocity information that is the absolute velocity of the vehicle when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be the direction of progress of the vehicle and is the relative velocity between the target and the vehicle when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be oblique.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the display control of Kim in view of Kosaka with the mathematical prediction of Relative Velocity to provide the benefit of better predicting and warning against collisions.
However, Kim in view of Kosaka and Relative Velocity does not explicitly disclose wherein the estimated processing time is set to be smaller when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be in the direction of progress of the vehicle, and set to be larger when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be oblique to the direction of progress of the vehicle.
Oguri teaches a processing time from detection of a moving object until generation of a collision response that is set to different predetermined values according to a determination made about the moving object (Oguri; ¶0049-0050, describes estimating the path of the moving object based on image data having a predetermined normal number of frames (five, given as an example) and based on image data having a predetermined decreased number of frames (three, given as an example) so that the time required for estimating the path of the moving object is shorter in the latter case. Oguri; ¶0016, describes performing the prediction in a shorter time when a delayed response would be dangerous. The frame numbers are set in advance of the estimation, so the corresponding processing times are set values, teaching an estimated processing time from target detection until response generation that is set to a smaller value or a larger value according to a determination for the target. In the combination, this teaches an estimated processing time set to different values according to the approach direction determination, where the processing for an obliquely approaching target performs the additional relative velocity determination of Relative Velocity, while the processing for a target approaching in the direction of progress uses the direct vehicle speed of Kosaka, so that the estimated processing time set to be the smaller value when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be in the direction of progress of the vehicle and the larger value when the actual relative approach direction is determined to be oblique.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify the display control of Kim in view of Kosaka and Relative Velocity with the case-dependent processing time of Oguri. The motivation for such a combination would have been to provide the benefit of more accurately compensating for latency between target detection and mark generation.
Claim 10 has similar limitations as claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 11 has similar limitations as claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri, teaches a display device comprising: the display control device of claim 1; but does not explicitly disclose an output section that outputs an image of the mark for overlay display on the display area provided in the vehicle cabin; and the display area on which the image output from the output section is overlay displayed.
However, Kosaka teaches an output section that outputs an image of the mark for overlay display on the display area provided in the vehicle cabin; and the display area on which the image output from the output section is overlay displayed.
(¶0021 “The display controller 7 performs display control for displaying an attention mark on the windshield so that the attention mark may be displayed in a superimposed manner close to a position on the windshield at which the driver sees the attention target.”) the display controller outputting an attention mark superimposed (overlay displayed) on the windshield (display area provided in the vehicle cabin).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in further view of Kosaka, to overlay the generated caution mark inside the vehicle cabin with the motivation to ensure easy and less distracting viewing by the user.
Regarding claim 8, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri teaches a display system comprising: the display device of claim 7; but does not explicitly disclose a target detection section that detects the target in the surroundings of the vehicle.
However, Kosaka teaches a target detection section that detects the target in the surroundings of the vehicle (Fig. 1, ¶0017 “As shown in FIG. 1, a vehicular display apparatus 1 according to one or more embodiments of the present invention includes an attention target detector 3, a vehicle condition detector 5, a display controller 7, and an image generator 9.”) a display system that includes an attention target detector (target detection section) which (¶0019 “The attention target detector 3 analyzes an image acquired from the forward camera 31, and detects an attention target to which attention of a driver of the vehicle needs to be drawn.”) detects an attention target (target in the surroundings of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in further view of Kosaka, to include an attention target detector that detects targets in the surroundings of the vehicle with the motivation to ensure the caution mark is a relevant object to the operator of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri, teaches the display system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose a vehicle comprising: the display system and a windshield configuring the display area.
However, Kosaka further teaches a vehicle comprising: the display system and a windshield configuring the display area ((ABST “A vehicular display apparatus that displays an image on a windshield of a vehicle has an attention target detector configured to detect an attention target to which attention of a driver of the vehicle needs to be drawn...”) a vehicle comprising a display system that displays an image on a windshield (display area)).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in further view of Kosaka, to have a windshield configured as the display area in a vehicle with the motivation to ensure easy and less distracting viewing by the user.
Regarding claim 2, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri teaches the display control device of claim 1 and Kim teaches obtaining vehicle velocity information (¶0006), but does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured such that the velocity information is information related to an absolute velocity of the vehicle in a case in which the acquired approach direction is a progression direction of the vehicle.
However, Relative Velocity illustrates and describes the velocity information is information related to an absolute velocity of the vehicle in a case in which the acquired approach direction is a progression direction of the vehicle (pg. 1, Figure 3.16) an object moving in the same direction (approach direction) of a vehicle moving in the same direction (progression direction) and obtaining the velocity in reference to a non-moving object (absolute velocity).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in view of Kosaka, and in further view of Relative Velocity such that the velocity of the vehicle is related to an absolute velocity in the situation where the approach direction of a target is a progression direction of a vehicle with the motivation to apply known mathematical concepts as they relate to velocity and moving objects to predict and warn against possible collisions.
Regarding claim 3, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri teaches the display control device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured such that the velocity information is information related to a relative velocity of the vehicle with respect to the target in a case in which the acquired approach direction is an oblique direction at an angle with respect to a progression direction of the vehicle. Examiner interprets “oblique direction at an angle” to be an angle between 0 and 180 degrees.
However, Relative Velocity teaches the velocity information is information related to a relative velocity of the vehicle with respect to the target in a case in which the acquired approach direction is an oblique direction at an angle with respect to a progression direction of the vehicle (pg. 4, example 11) an example where two vehicles are approaching one another at an oblique direction at an angle, with respect to the progression direction of the vehicles. In this example, relative velocities are used, as the oblique direction needs to be taken into consideration when calculating a possible collision.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in view of Kosaka, and in further view of Relative Velocity with the motivation to apply known mathematical concepts to predict and warn against possible collisions.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kosaka, “Relative Velocity”: (https://www.webassign.net/ebooks/cj6demo/pc/c03/read/main/c03x3_4.htm) (2003), pages 1-5.), Oguri (US11351997B2), and further in view of Inagaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0057056), hereinafter “Inagaki”.
Regarding claim 4, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri teaches the display control device of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is configured such that an offset distance with which to offset the positional information is adjusted based on a processing time from detection of the target until generation of the mark.
However, Inagaki teaches wherein the processor is configured such that an offset distance with which to offset the positional information is adjusted based on a processing time from detection of the target until generation of the mark. (¶0054, “a certain processing time is required from the time when the captured image acquirer 30 captures the captured image until the target position detector 38 detects the target parking position 52 and the display processing unit 40 superimposes the parking frame 54. If the vehicle 1 moves even during this processing time, the target parking position 52 represented by the relative coordinates deviates.”) a processing time from when the detector detects the target parking position(detection of target) and (“Thus, the second moving amount calculator 42e of the moving amount acquirer 42a calculates, as a second moving amount, the distance by which the vehicle 1 has moved during the processing cycle for detecting the target parking position 52 from the time when the captured image was captured.”) adjusting based on an offset of the processing time from detection of the object and the display processing unit superimposes the parking frame (generates mark).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in view of Kosaka, to the teachings of Inagaki to adjust the display information based on processing time with the motivation to ensure the display marks are as accurate as possible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kosaka, “Relative Velocity”: (https://www.webassign.net/ebooks/cj6demo/pc/c03/read/main/c03x3_4.htm) (2003), pages 1-5.), Oguri (US11351997B2), and further in view of Sung Un Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0275796), hereinafter “Sung Un Kim”.
Regarding claim 5, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri teaches the display control device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured such that vehicle progression direction positional information related to a position of the target in a progression direction of the vehicle is acquired based on detection information of a radar.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the processor is configured such that vehicle progression direction positional information related to a position of the target in a progression direction of the vehicle is acquired based on detection information of a radar. (¶0006 “…a second sensor part configured to acquire target object traveling information including position information, velocity information, heading value information of a target object, and surrounding road information of the vehicle;”) a sensor part to detect target object positional information and heading value information (vehicle progression direction positional information) and (¶0007, “The second sensor part may include a camera, a radar…”) the sensor part may include a radar.
Kim also teaches vehicle orthogonal direction positional information related to the position of the target in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the progression direction of the vehicle is acquired (Fig. 7) a scenario wherein the vehicle (1) traveling in a progression direction and a target (52) is in an orthogonal direction relative to the vehicle.
Although Kim teaches using cameras as sensors (¶0007), they do not explicitly disclose that obtaining positional information is based on a camera image of a camera.
However, Sung Un Kim teaches (¶0008 “The image acquisition unit may include a camera that is provided to acquire an image in front of the vehicle, an image behind the vehicle, an image of a left side of the vehicle and an image of a right side of the vehicle.”) a vehicle with a camera to capture images in front, behind, to the left, and to the right.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in view of Kosaka, to the teachings of Sung Un Kim such that the vehicle orthogonal direction positional information is acquired based on a camera as taught by Sung Un Kim with the motivation to have more reliable types of sensors capable of obtaining target information in all directions from the vehicle.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kosaka, “Relative Velocity”: (https://www.webassign.net/ebooks/cj6demo/pc/c03/read/main/c03x3_4.htm) (2003), pages 1-5.), Oguri (US11351997B2), and further in view of Watanabe et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0290823), hereinafter “Watanabe”.
Regarding claim 6, Kim, in view of Kosaka, Relative Velocity, and Oguri, teaches the display control device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured such that a size of the mark is changed based on the acquired positional information.
However, Watanabe teaches wherein the processor is configured such that a size of the mark is changed based on the acquired positional information.
(¶0043, “In this structure, a plurality of marks, each indicating the degree of danger with respect to another vehicle, are displayed at different positions corresponding to different distances in the front-to-back direction of the present vehicle.”) displaying marks indicating danger as well as (¶0044 “With respect to the plurality of the marks, it is possible that the farther from the present vehicle, the smaller the size of the mark in at least one of a front-to-rear direction and a width direction of the present vehicle.”) the farther (position) from the vehicle the smaller the size of the mark, which implies the reverse is true: that the closer the target, the larger the mark.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to further combine and/or modify the teachings of Kim, in view of Kosaka, to the teachings of Watanabe with the motivation to dynamically change the size of caution mark in order to more intuitively convey danger based on the proximity to the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAN F KALHORI/Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618