DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2023 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The present abstract contains 213 words, exceeding the 150-word limit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20220366770 A) in view of Kim et al. hereinafter Kim (US 20220149449 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Wang discloses a system for early detection of fire in an ESS battery module (an aspirating fire detection system, para. [0001]),
the early fire detection system for an ESS module (Fig. 1) comprising:
an air suction-type detector (pipeline 5 and monitoring module 10, see Fig. 4) that is fitted to the exterior of the ESS (The air intake structure 1 is communicated with an input port of the charger 2, para. [0128]) and detects fire by introducing gas inside the ESS module (The airflow assembly includes an air pump, an airflow velocity detection assembly, and a clean air backflushing device. The air pump is connected to one end of the air intake pipe, and a gas flow rate detection component is installed between the air pump and one end of the air intake pipe. The clean air backflushing device is connected to the air intake pipe, para. [0013]- [0015]);
a suction line (pipeline 5), of which one end is connected to the ESS module (charger 2), sucks gas inside the ESS module in real time (negative pressure source for air path detection 9, para. [0128]) and introducing the gas into the air suction-type fire detector (An air pump is connected to one end of the suction pipe, and a gas flow rate detection component is installed between the air pump and one end of the suction pipe, para. [0047]);
a suction pump (suction pump 1212) that is fitted to one side of the suction line and supplies power for drawing air from inside the ESS battery module into the suction line (An air pump is connected to one end of the suction pipe, and a gas flow rate detection component is installed between the air pump and one end of the suction pipe, para. [0047]); and
a multiple sensing unit (gas flow rate detection, para. [0015]; high-sensitivity smoke detector, para. [0018]) that is fitted to one side of the suction line (a gas flow rate detection component is installed between the air pump and one end of the air intake pipe, para. [0015]; Each detection component detects the concentration of smoke particles in the gas flowing out of each sampling hole in real time, para. [0057]).
Wang discloses an aspirating fire detection system based on an open-loop gas path but silent about detection of fire in an ESS battery module; and the multiple sensing unit senses a temperature of the gas introduced through the suction line, as well as any generated gas.
Kim invention related to the field of battery fire detection device discloses detection of fire in an ESS battery module (battery fire detection device, para. [0008]); and the multiple sensing unit (first and second sensor 110 and 120, see Fig. 1) senses a temperature of the gas introduced through the suction line (The second sensor 120 may detect a temperature of the battery cell 10, para. [0049]), as well as any generated gas (the first sensor 110 may include a gas sensor, para. [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Kim’s ESS-battery-module fire detection sensing to the aspirated detection architecture of Wang, because Wang provides a known and reliable suction-based gas sampling pathway while Kim provides sensors specifically suited for detecting battery fire precursors. A skilled artesian would have recognized that integrating Kim’s battery specific sensing into Wang’s aspirated flow path would predictably improve early detection sensitivity without altering the basic operation of either system. The combination simply uses each reference for its established function-Wang for gas transport and sampling, and Kim for battery fire condition sensing to achieve a more comprehensive fire detection capability.
With respect to claim 2, Wang and Kim disclose the early fire detection system for an ESS battery module of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses the generated gas is one generated during thermal runaway (gas generated by a chemical reaction of the battery cell, para. [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine Wang and Kim because Wang already teaches a system that draws in and analyzes gas to detect early fire conditions, and Kim explains that the gas produced during thermal runaway in a battery cell is a key indicator of a developing fire. A skilled person would naturally use Kim’s information about the type of gas generated in a battery within Wang’s gas sampling setup to better identify early signs of battery failure. Doing so would simply improve the system’s ability to detect problems sooner, and the result would be predictable based on what each reference already teaches.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Kim as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Peng et al. hereinafter Peng (CN 110667435 A).
With respect to claim 3, Wang and Kim disclose the early fire detection system for an ESS battery module of claim 2 above. Wang further discloses the multiple sensing unit comprising gas flow rate detection, para. [0015] and high-sensitivity smoke detector, para. [0018]. However, Wang is silent about the multiple sensing unit comprising: a temperature sensor that measures a temperature of gas introduced through a suction line, in real time; a humidity sensor that measures a humidity in real time; and a gas sensor that measures a concentration of the generated gas.
Kim further discloses the multiple sensing unit comprising: a temperature sensor that measures a temperature of gas introduced through a suction line, in real time (The second sensor 120 may detect a temperature of the battery cell 10, para. [0049]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Wang with Kim by adding Kim’s temperature sensing features, since Kim teaches measuring a temperature of a gas introduced through a suction line in a real time to detect abnormal thermal conditions. Applying this known sensing feature to Wang’s multiple sensing unit would be a predictable improvement using a well-understood technique.
Wang as modified by Kim is silent about the multi sensing unit comprising a humidity sensor that measures a humidity in real time.
Peng invention related to the field of automobile power battery monitoring technology discloses the multi sensing unit comprising a humidity sensor that measures a humidity in real time (automobile power battery fire monitoring early warning system comprises humidity sensor along with temperature, fire, pressure, flame, and smoke detectors, para. [0012]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang, as further modified by Kim, to include Peng’s humidity-sensing feature. Peng already teaches a humidity sensor that measures humidity in real time for detecting abnormal battery conditions, which aligns with Wang’s goal of early hazard detection. Adding Peng’s known humidity sensor to Wang’s multi-sensing unit would simply combine familiar elements used for the same purpose and provide a predictable improvement in monitoring performance.
With respect to claim 4, Wang, Kim, and Peng disclose the early fire detection system for an ESS battery module of claim 3 above. Kim further discloses the first sensor 110 may include a gas sensor, para. [0048]. However, Wang as modified by Kim does not explicitly disclose the first gas sensor is either a CO sensor, a CO2 sensor and a VOCs sensor, other than broadly claiming a gas sensor. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a CO sensor, a CO2 sensor, or a VOCs sensor in WANG as modified by Kim. These types of gas sensors were well known, interchangeable options for detecting early signs of battery thermal events and substituting one known gas sensor for another represents the use of a known element performing the same function to achieve predictable result. Choosing among familiar sensor types to implement the disclosed gas sensing feature in Wang as modified by Kim would therefore have been a routine design choice well within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The references separately or in combination is silent about a monitoring unit that receives measurements of concentration, temperature and humidity of the generated gas from the multiple sensing unit, primarily monitoring battery thermal runaway and secondary monitoring based on a smoke concentration measured in the air suction-type detector.
Claims 6-13 are also objected as these claims directly or indirectly depends on claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2020019578 A1 discloses a battery fire early warning system, comprising a battery module housing, at least one first detection device, at least one second detection device, at least one third detection device, a plurality of fourth detection devices, and a battery management system. A plurality of battery cells is provided in the battery module housing, and each of the battery cells is provided with a safety valve. The first detection device is disposed on the inner wall of the battery module housing, and the first detection device is arranged opposite a plurality of safety valves. The second detection device is disposed on the inner wall of the battery module housing, and the second detection device is arranged opposite the plurality of safety valves. The third detection device is disposed on the inner wall of the battery module housing, and the third detection device is arranged opposite the plurality of safety valves. Each of the fourth detection devices is disposed on the surface of each of the battery cells. The battery fire early-warning system can implement early warning of a fire of batteries from multiple perspectives such as images, gas, sound, and temperature, thereby avoiding false alarm or missing alarm of the fire.
/GEDEON M KIDANU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 12/3/25