DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to search and examine all claims. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not the only consideration when making a restriction requirement. In this case, the separation membrane complex can be used, for example, to separate a substance with low permeability or using the separation membrane complex as a support rather than a separation membrane complex. Upon allowance of a generic claim, restriction will be reconsidered.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yajima et al. (JP2009214075A).
Claim 1: Yajima et al. teach a separation membrane complex (Fig. 1) comprising: a support (1) including a porous portion (page 2, 2 paragraphs up from the bottom) and a dense portion (12) that are arranged continuously (Fig. 1); a separation membrane (11) provided on said porous portion of said support and having an end portion that is in contact with said dense portion (See Fig. 1); and a coating membrane (21) composed by a layered inorganic compound (the coating 21 is layered on the membrane) and coating a boundary portion between said dense portion and said separation membrane (Page 2, 2nd paragraph up from bottom).
Claim 2: the coating (21) is a zeolite wherein zeolite is aluminum oxide and aluminum is a metal.
Claim 5: the coating membrane has an average thickness of greater than or equal to 0.002um (page 4, 1st paragraph).
Claim 6: the separation membrane is a zeolite membrane (Page 2, last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ichikawa et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0206025).
Claim 7: Yajima et al. teach the membrane of Claim 1. The functional limitations of the membrane recited in Claim 7 do not further limit the structure of the membrane. The membrane claimed is the same as is taught by Yajima et al. and properties and function thereof are, therefore, the same.
Yajima et al. do not teach a supplier provided with the membrane.
Yajima et al. clearly intend for their membrane to be used for fluid separation as they discuss gas separation in their disclosure. Ichikawa et al. teach a system and housing for a similar type membrane wherein a gas supply unit and a pump for supplying a liquid are provided [0047] in order to make the membrane and system functional in practice.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a housing and supply unit for Yajima et al.’s membrane to put the membrane into practice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are allowable over the prior art.
While Yajima et al. teach the composite material of Claim 1 above, they do not teach wherein the membrane coating is made of either clay or smectite.
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773