Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 500, 510, and 520. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference characters in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: “(MEEG) sensor” should read “(MEG) sensor” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. The term “relative” in claim 30 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relative” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The instant claim states that, “ at least part of the second protrusion extends in a second direction at an angle relative to the first direction .” Because “relative” is not defined by the claim or the specification, it is unclear what angle is formed between the first and second direction. For examination purposes, any angle that was formed between a first and second direction was considered a “relative angle.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 2 1- 3 1 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kidmose et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2012/0209101). Regarding claim 2 1, Kidmose teaches a sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) , comprising: a curved body (Fig. 1-2) configured to contact an ear (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7) of a wearer (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7) , wherein the curved body includes - a first protrusion ( Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1 ) configured to contact a first region (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0083, lines 3-6) of the ear of the wearer, and a second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) configured to contact a second region (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0083, lines 3-6) of the ear of the wearer, wherein the first protrusion and the second protrusion are configured to provide a spring force ( Paragraph 0009, lines 3-5 ) between the first region of the ear and the second region of the ear to at least partially prevent movement of the curved body relative to the ear (Paragraph 0015, lines 10-12) ; a first sensor (Fig. 2 , Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5) operably associated with the first protrusion (Fig. 1-2) ; and a second sensor ( Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5 ) operably associated with the second protrusion (Fig. 1-2) , wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are configured to detect one or more bio-signals (Paragraph 0071, lines 2-4) of the wearer via the ear. Regarding claim 22, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the curved body (Fig. 1-2) includes a central portion and wherein the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) and/or the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) extend radially outward (Fig. 1-2) from the central portion of the curved body. Regarding claim 23, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein, when worn by the wearer (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7) , the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) is configured to be positioned superior (Fig. 1-2) to the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) . Regarding claim 24, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein, when worn by the wearer (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7) , the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) or the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) is configured to extend at least partly into an ear canal (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-5) of the ear of the wearer. Regarding claim 25, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) is configured to contact a section of the ear adjacent to (Fig. 3, Paragraph 0083, lines 3-6) a helix region of the ear (Fig. 3, Paragraph 0082, lines 3-4) , and wherein the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) is configured to contact an ear canal of the ear (Fig. 3, Paragraph 0083, lines 1-3) . Regarding claim 26, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) defines a first end ( Fig. 2, the protrusion where electrode 201 is located forms a first end of the body ) of the curved body (Fig. 1-2) and wherein the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) defines a second end ( Fig. 2, the protrusion where electrodes 204 and 205 are located forms a second end of the body ) of the curved body. Regarding claim 27, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) or the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) define a channel configured to extend at least partially into an ear canal of the ear (Paragraph 0069, lines 8-10 and Paragraph 0071, lines 4-5). Regarding claim 28, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein, when worn by the wearer (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7) , the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) and/or the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) are configured to at least partially prevent sound occlusion (Paragraph 0071, lines 4-7) . Regarding claim 29, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the curved body (Fig. 1-2) includes a central portion ( Fig. 2, the portion where electrode 202 is located ) , and wherein the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) and the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) extend from the central portion of the curved body in different directions ( Fig. 2 ) . Regarding claim 30, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 the curved body (Fig. 1-2) includes a central portion (Fig. 2, the portion where electrode 202 is located) , wherein at least part (Fig. 2) of the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) extends in a first direction (Fig. 2) , and wherein at least part (Fig. 2) of the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) extends in a second direction (Fig. 2) at an angle relative to the first direction ( Fig. 2 ) . Regarding claim 31, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21, further comprising at least one processor (Paragraph 0090, lines 8-9) configured to - receive the detected one or more bio-signals (Paragraph 0071, lines 2-4) from the first sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5) and/or the second sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5), and perform on-board processing (Paragraph 0090, line 9) of the received bio-signals and/or to transmit (Paragraph 0090, line 9) the received bio-signals to a remote processing system (Paragraph 0030, line 6 and Paragraph 0068, lines 2-3). Regarding claim 38, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the first protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) includes (Fig. 2) the first sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5) and wherein the second protrusion (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0072, line 1) includes (Fig. 2) the second sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claims 3 2 , 34, 36-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidmose et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2012/0209101) in view of Hyde et al. (WIPO Pub. No. 2016/160478). Regarding claim 32, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 31 that includes at least one processor (Paragraph 0090, lines 8-9). Kidmose does not teach that the at least one processor is configured to classify, based at least in part on the detected one or more bio-signals, a mental and/or emotional state of the wearer. Hyde, however, teaches an ear stimulation system (Fig. 6) that includes a primary (702) and secondary (752) neural signal sensor (Page 19, lines 3-8) that are used to detect one or more bio-signals (Page 16, lines 19-21). Furthermore, Hyde teaches that the system includes at least one processor (Page 22, lines 12-13) that uses (Page 22, lines 14-15) the detected one or more bio-signals to classify a mental and/or emotional state of the wearer (Page 20, lines 22-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Hyde to include that the at least one processor is configured to classify a mental and/or emotional state of the wearer. Doing so would ensure that the assembly can indicate a worsening mental and/or emotional state of the wearer so that an appropriate intervention can be made by a healthcare provider (Page 20, lines 27-30), as recognized by Hyde. Regarding claim 34, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 that includes the first sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5) and the second sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5). Kidmose does not teach that the first and/or the second sensor include a n electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, a magnetoencephalography (MEEG) sensor, a heart rate sensor, a temperature sensor, an electrodermal activity (EDA) sensor, a glucometer, a location sensor, an inertial measurement unit, an optical sensor, and/or an infrared sensor. Hyde, however, teaches an ear stimulation system (Fig. 6) that includes a primary (702) and secondary (752) neural signal sensor (Page 19, lines 3-8). Hyde specifies that the primary and secondary neural signal sensors can be one of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor (Page 19, line 6), a heart rate sensor (Page 19, line 11) , a temperature sensor (Page 19, line 18) , an electrodermal activity (EDA) sensor (Page 19, line 14) , a location sensor (Page 19, line 21) , an inertial measurement unit (Page 19, line 21) , and/or an optical sensor (Page 19, lines 16-17) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Hyde to include that first and/or the second sensor include an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, a heart rate sensor, a temperature sensor, an electrodermal activity (EDA) sensor, a location sensor, an inertial measurement unit, and/or an optical sensor. Doing so would ensure a plethora of bio-signals can be detected by said assembly, as recognized by Hyde. Although not every listed sensor is disclosed by said reference, it would be well understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art that any such sensors could be used for detecting bio-signals. Regarding claim 36, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 that detects one or more bio-signals (Paragraph 0071, lines 2-4). Kidmose does not disclose that the one or more bio-signals include an EEG signal, an MEG signal, a heart rate, a temperature, an EDA, a blood oxygen level, a blood glucose level, and/or one or more inertial measurements. Hyde, however, teaches an ear stimulation system (Fig. 6) that detects bio-signals (Page 16, lines 19-21) including an EEG signal (Page 14, line 32), heart rate (Page 14, line 28), a temperature (Page 19, line 18), an EDA (Page 45, line 3), a blood oxygen level (Page 59, line 23), and/or one or more inertial measurements ( Page 19, line 21 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Hyde to include that the one or more bio-signals include an EEG signal, a heart rate, a temperature, an EDA, a blood oxygen level, and/or one or more inertial measurements. Doing so would ensure a plethora of bio-signals can be detected by said assembly, as recognized by Hyde. Although not every listed bio-signal is disclosed by said reference, it would be well understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art that any such metrics constitute bio-signals. Regarding claim 37, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the first sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5) and the second sensor (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0073, lines 1-5) are configured to detect one of the same types of bio-signals ( Paragraph 0071, lines 2-4 ). Kidmose does not teach that the first and second sensors are configured to detect one or more of the same types of bio-signals. Hyde, however, teaches an ear stimulation system (Fig. 6) that includes a primary (702) and secondary (752) neural signal sensor (Page 19, lines 3-8). Hyde specifies that the primary and secondary neural sensors can be the same type of sensor (Page 19, lines 7-8), and can be used to detect one or more types of bio-signals (Page 19, lines 6-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Hyde to include that first and second sensors are configured to detect one or more of the same types of bio-signals. Doing so would ensure that the assembly can record multiple readings of the same type of bio-signal to improve bio-signal measurement accuracy, as recognized by Hyde. Regarding claim 40, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 with the curved body (Fig. 1-2) contacting the ear (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7) of the wearer (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0072, line 7). Kidmose does not teach that sensor assembly further comprises a haptic actuator operably coupled to the curved body and configured to provide haptic feedback to the wearer. Hyde, however, teaches an ear stimulation system (Fig. 6) that includes a curved body (Fig. 3) contacting the ear of a wearer (Fig. 3). Furthermore, Hyde teaches that the system includes a haptic actuator (Page 21, line 6) operably coupled to the curved body (Page 31, lines 15-17) and configured to provide haptic feedback (Page 54, lines 24-25) to the wearer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Hyde to include that the sensor assembly further comprises a haptic actuator operably coupled to the curved body and configured to provide haptic feedback to the wearer. Doing so would ensure the assembly has a means to provide haptic feedback to the wearer, as recognized by Hyde. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidmose et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2012/0209101) in view of Lin et al. (WIPO Pub. No. 2021/087121). Regarding claim 33, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 31 that includes at least one processor (Paragraph 0090, lines 8-9). Kidmose does not teach that the at least one processor is configured to compare the detected one or more bio-signals with one or more baseline bio-signals associated with the wearer. Lin, however, teaches an ear-wearable device that includes a plurality of biometric sensors ( Paragraph 0024, lines 2-3 ). Furthermore, Lin teaches that at least one processor (Paragraph 0032, line 12) is used to compare (Paragraph 0032, lines 12-14) the detected one or more bio-signals (Paragraph 0029, line 3) with one or more baseline bio-signals (Paragraph 0029, line 8) associated with the wearer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Lin to include that the at least one processor is configured to compare the detected one or more bio-signals with one or more baseline bio-signals associated with the wearer. Doing so would ensure that the bio-signal measurements are more accurately detected, as recognized by Lin. Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidmose et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2012/0209101) in view of Le Van Quyen et al. (WIPO Pub. No. 2018/134358). Regarding claim 35, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 wherein the one or more bio-signals are brain waves (Paragraph 0071, lines 2-4). Kidmose does not specify that the one or more bio-signals include Alpha waves, Beta waves, Gamma waves, Delta waves, and/or Theta waves. Le Van Quyen, however, teaches a system for bilateral in-ear EEG recording that includes one or more in-ear sensors (Page 3, line 12) that record brain waves including alpha waves (Page 1, line 23), beta waves (Page 1, line 25), gamma waves (Page 1, line 27), delta waves (Page 1, line 19), and/or theta waves (Page 1, line 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Le Van Quyen to specify that the one or more bio-signals include Alpha waves, Beta waves, Gamma waves, Delta waves, and/or Theta waves. Doing so would ensure that all types of brain activity can be recorded by said assembly, as recognized by Le Van Quyen. Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidmose et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2012/0209101) in view of Hyde et al. (WIPO Pub. No. 2016/160478), Kasanmascheff (U.S. PGPub No. 2009/0129615) , and Photochromic and Thermochromic Colorants in Textile Applications, 2014 (herein referred to as Chowdhury) . Regarding claim 39, Kidmose teaches the sensor assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0068, lines 3-6) of claim 21 that comprises a curved body (Fig. 1-2) . Kidmose does not teach that the assembly further compris es a chromogenic material coating at least a portion of the curved body and configured to change color ( i ) in response to changes in ambient lighting, (ii) in response to changes in the wearer's skin temperature, or (iii) based at least in part on the one or more bio-signals. Hyde, however, teaches an ear stimulation system (Fig. 6) that detects bio-signals (Page 16, lines 19-21) including a skin temperature of a wearer (Page 19, line 18). Kasanmascheff , however, teaches a hearing apparatus with a visually active housing that comprises a curved body (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0034, lines 5-6). Furthermore, Kasanmascheff teaches that the apparatus comprises a chromogenic material coating (Paragraph 0035, line 3, electrochrome polymer) on at least a portion of the curved body (Paragraph 0035, lines 2-7) that is configured to change color ( Paragraph 0035, lines 11-13 ) based on one the one or more bio-signals (Paragraph 0035, lines 16-17). Chowdhury discusses the use of two other types of chromogenic materials in medical applications ( Abstract, lines 6-8 ): photochromic materials (Introduction, line 11) and thermochromic materials (Introduction, line 11). Chowdhury further explains that photochromic materials change color in response to changes in ambient lighting (Photochromism, lines 4-8). Chowdhury also explains that thermochromic materials change color in response to changes in temperature (Thermochromism, lines 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kidmose to incorporate the teachings of Hyde, Kasanmascheff , and Chowdhury to include that the assembly further comprises a chromogenic material coating at least a portion of the curved body and is configured to change color ( i ) in response to changes in ambient lighting, (ii) in response to changes in the wearer's skin temperature, or (iii) based at least in part on the one or more bio-signals. Doing so would ensure that the curved body can change its visual appearance in response to a variety of stimulus types, as recognized by Hyde, Kasanmascheff , and Chowdhury . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : U.S. PGPub No. 2019/0380597, U.S. PGPub No. 2017 / 0 1 88947, WIPO Pub. No. 2016/176668, U.S. PGPub No. 2019/0223747, and CN 110337314 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Heidi Hilsmier whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2984 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Fridays from 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Carl Layno can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-4949 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /H.A.H./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796 /CARL H LAYNO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796