DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-22 and 24-26 are currently pending, claims 22 and 24 are currently amended and claim 23 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, Regarding claim 1:
BARROWCLIFT and SOHN do not disclose the fans are waterproof. LI does not disclose whether the fan itself is waterproof, but the need for a waterproof cover suggests that it is not waterproof (See remark, page 11).
Examiner’s response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that the fan assembly [9] plus the waterproof cover [10] are interpreted to be the complete fan structure corresponding to the applicant’s claimed waterproof fan. LI discloses how the waterproof cover uses a combination of partitions and drainage outlets to prevent water from entering the fan (See pars.7 and 23), LI further discloses “the device isolates the heatsink from the outside world through the waterproof cover effectively preventing external water from entering the device through the heat sink and ensuring that the battery pack is not affected” (See Par.14). The examiner is relying on clear language used by LI explaining that the cover is “Waterproof” and it isolates the heatsink from the outside world and prevents external water from entering in the device through the heat sink in determining that the fan is indeed waterproof.
Applicant argues, Regarding claim 1:
That the term “waterproof” is defined in the specification (Page 7, line 19-28) as follows: As used herein, the term "waterproof' can mean the power supply complies with a recognized industry standard, such as an ingress protection (IP) code defined by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) under international standard IEC 60529. Compliance with an IP code indicates how well an apparatus is protected by its mechanical casings and/or electrical enclosures against intrusion, dust, accidental contact, and water. ... More specifically, for an IP67- compliant enclosure, "ingress of water in harmful quantity shall not be possible when the enclosure is immersed in water under defined conditions of pressure and time" ... In contrast, an apparatus rated IP47 has the same submersion tolerance but is less dust resistant.”
Based on this definition the applicant argues that the fan or electronics module is waterproof when the component itself may be immersed in water under defined conditions without sustaining damage. The fan is not waterproof since water enters the box 8 without the waterproof cover and the cover is not waterproof since it has various dissipation holes (See remarks, Pages 11-12).
Examiner’s response:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner explains that BARROWCLIFT discloses a portable power supply with a plurality of sealed subsystems in order to inhibit outdoor elements from entering and moving between the subsystems and to improve ingress protection (Par.109). Also discloses that the subsystems are each may be fully rated to have a solid IP Code of 6 and a liquid IP Code of 9k. (See Par.110). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any modification of BARROWCLIFT with additional components need to follow the standards set by BARROWVLIFT “i.e. IP rating” in order to achieve the desired effective operation in the intended environment.
The examiner also explains that the highlighted portion of the specification clearly states that "waterproof' can mean the power supply complies with a recognized industry standard. The term does not require waterproof to mean that it complies with the IP67 or IP47 standards. The examiner further explains that assuming arguendo that the applicant is correct that the fans as claimed require compliance with the IP47 or IP67 ratings and the fans disclosed by LI are not waterproof according to those standards, one of ordinary skill in the art would look at the environment their device is intended to work in and see that their application requires a fan that is IP47 or IP67 compliant and substitute the fan disclosed by BARROWCLIFT and SOHN in view of LI with a proper rated fan that is able to perform the intended environment without sustaining damage.
The examiner further explains that even though LI discloses that the cover comprise dissipation holes, LI also discloses “The downwardly angled heat dissipation holes 101 on the waterproof cover 10 and the partition 11 with vent holes 111 installed inside the waterproof cover 10 work together to further prevent liquid from entering the device, ensuring the normal operation of the battery pack 5 and increasing the service life of the battery pack 5” (See Par.29). This clearly indicates that the dissipation holes are placed far from the water entry point and are angled to prevent water from entering therefore providing waterproofing function. Please see argument above regarding the definition of waterproof.
Applicant argues, Regarding claims 2-6:
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI do not disclose one or more DC/DC converters configured to accept DC power at the first DC voltage and output DC power at a respective one or more second D voltages. The examiner relied on PAUKEN (Par.29) to address the missing limitation. PAUKEN discloses battery-operated power stations having a DC-DC converter that convert DC voltage from the battery system into another DC voltage. However, PULKEN is completely silent about the DC/DC converters that are waterproof and a reasonable assumption is that the DC/DC converter is not waterproof.
Examiner’s response:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner explains that BARROWCLIFT discloses a portable power supply with a plurality of sealed subsystems in order to inhibit outdoor elements from entering and moving between the subsystems and to improve ingress protection (Par.109). Also discloses that the subsystems are each may be fully rated to have a solid IP Code of 6 and a liquid IP Code of 9k (See Par.110), also a liquid IP code of 5 in some embodiments (See Par.124).
The examiner relied on PAULKEN to address the missing limitation that one of the sealed subsystems disclosed by BARROWCLIFT is a DC-DC converter. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any modification of BARROWCLIFT with additional components need to follow the standards set by BARROWCLIFT “i.e. IP rating” in order to achieve the desired effective operation in the intended environment.
Applicant argues, Regarding claim 4:
BARROWCLIFT is silent as to whether the user interface is sealed or waterproof and applicant assumes that it is not waterproof.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that following the teachings of BARROCLIFT one would interpret that the user interface is also waterproof in order for the device to be able to operate in the environment that requires sealed modules with IP liquid rating of 5 and 9K as stated by BARROWCLIFT.
Applicant argues, Regarding claims 10-12 and 23(now cancelled):
Contrary to the Examiner's stated rationale, Wyatt does "explicitly disclose the plurality of protrusions are outward", which is explicitly shown in Figs. 7-9 cited by the Examiner. Moreover, Wyatt [0156]-[0157] cited by the Examiner explains the following:
The illustrated external heat fins 252 [in Fig. 8] are disposed vertically along the outer side 254 of the heat sink side plate 60 and are configured to radiate heat from the power assembly 84 of the battery module 22 to the ambient environment outside the battery module 22. For example, as set forth in detail below, the internal heat fins 112 of the power assembly 114 may be positioned to be in thermal contact (e.g., thermal communication) with an inner side 256 of the heat sink side plate 60.
Wyatt's heat sink side plate has "external heat fins" and an "inner side," which is flat as shown in Fig. 10. This flat inner side is "in thermal contact with" heat fins of internal components. However, Wyatt is completely silent about any "inward protrusions" (or fins) on a "waterproof and heat-conductive" shell surrounding an electronics module.
Examiner’s response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that WYATT discloses fins on the power assembly to radiate heat away from the power assembly. The direction of the fins as inward vs outward depends on the point of view. The fins can be viewed as extending outward from the power assembly or inward toward the power assembly. Applicant seems to be arguing that the claimed fins are installed on the case and protruding towards the modules instead of being installed on the modules and extending towards the case. The examiner explains assuming arguendo that applicant is correct in their assertion, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and WYATT/BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT t by selecting from a finite set of choices comprising installing the fins on the module to extend outward toward the shell or to install the fins on the shell to extend inward towards the module for the benefit of allowing the removal of the dissipation fins by simply removing the external shell.
Applicant argues, Regarding claims 14-17:
Applicant argues that First, to the extent that Barrowclift "teaches an inclined drainage for draining water", it is on the outer housing of the power supply, rather than on a shell of an electronics module within the power supply.
Second, even if one were to apply Barrowclift's "inclined drainage for draining water" to
the shells of the "waterproof electronics modules" that are "inside of the outer housing," it does not have the specific shapes recited in claims 14-15. In particular, the upper surface of
Barrowclift's outer housing does not "slope downward from center to edges, such that moisture will drain off the outer upper surface" as recited in claim 14. Similarly, Barrowclift's outer housing does not have "an inner bottom surface" that "slopes downward from edges to a lowest point or area, such that moisture inside collects at the lowest point or area" as recited in claim 15.
Examiner’s response:
The examiner explains that BARROWCRAFT discloses using inclines surface to drain water and prevent it from being standing water inside the structure. The examiner further explains that the sloping structure from the center towards the edges is a common design to prevent water from becoming standing water on surfaces. In fact, the same design is implemented in majority of homes across the United States with roofs sloped from the center towards the edges such that rain water does not sit on the roof, instead the water runs off and drains away from the roof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOGN, LI and GOLDMAN by adopting the sloped roof shape for the benefit of preventing water from remaining standing on the roof of the modules and to allow the water to run off and drain away from the waterproof modules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWCLIFT et al. (US 2023/0163382 A1, hereinafter BARROWCLIFT) in view of SOHN et al. (US 2015/0357614) and in further view of LI et al (CN 110739418A, hereinafter LI).
Regarding claim 1, BARROWCLIFT discloses a power supply comprising:
a non-waterproof outer housing (See Fig.1, and Par.82 disclose a portable power supply 5 comprising a housing 25 with a plurality of air inlets 45 at the bottom and air outlets at the top 50. The air inlet and outlets can also allow for entry of water. Therefore, the housing 25 is interpreted to be non-waterproof);
a plurality of waterproof electronics modules (WEMs) disposed inside of the outer housing, wherein one of the WEMs is a battery pack (See Pars.109-110 and 124, disclose a plurality of sealed subsystems that are rated against water ingress);
a first fan affixed in a first opening of the outer housing and configured to draw air from outside to inside of the outer housing (See Figs.10-11 and Par.97, discloses a fan for pulling air from the outside and passing it through the housing to reduce the temperature).
However, BARROWCLIFT does not disclose the first fan is waterproof and a second waterproof fan affixed in a second opening of the outer housing and configured to draw air from inside to outside of the outer housing.
SOHN discloses a battery case comprising a housing, a first fan affixed in a first opening of the outer housing and configured to draw air from outside to inside of the outer housing (See Fig.1, Item#40 and Par.9, discloses a cooling fan for introducing air to the space inside the inner housing 10); and
a second fan affixed in a second opening of the outer housing and configured to draw air from inside to outside of the outer housing (See Fig.1, second fan 40 and Par.9, disclose another cooling fan for discharging cooling air to the outside).
BARROWCLIFT and SOHN are analogous art since they both deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT with the teachings of SOHN installing a first cooling fan for air intake into the housing and a second fan for discharging the air from inside the housing to the outside for the benefit of reducing the heat generated inside the housing by creating air flow through the power supply housing.
However, BARROWCLIFT and SOHN do not disclose the fans are waterproof.
LI discloses a waterproof power supply comprising a first waterproof fan affixed in a first opening of the outer housing (See Fig.1, Item#8-10, and Pars.7 and 29, discloses a fan 9 , placed inside a heat dissipation box 8 and located on the inner wall of the heat sink near the inner cavity of the outer shell, and the fan is located at the inner end of the second baffle [Fig.2]. Waterproof covers 10 are provided on both the left and right outer walls of the heat sink, and the heat sink is located within the inner cavity of the waterproof cover); and
a second waterproof fan affixed in a second opening of the outer housing (See Fig.1, discloses a second waterproof fan 8-10 on the outside of the housing comprising a fan 9 place din heat dissipation box 8 and a waterproof cover 10. The heat dissipation box comprising baffles 83-84 [Fig.2).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI are analogous art since they all deal with cooled water supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT and SOHN with the teachings of LI by adopting the waterproof structure of the fans for the benefit of protecting the power supply by further reducing the ingress of water inside the housing.
Regarding claim 7, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI disclose the power supply of claim 1, wherein the first and second openings are on opposing sides of the outer housing (See SOHN, Fig.1, Item#40 and Par.9, discloses a cooling fan for introducing air to the space inside the inner housing 10 and a second fan 40 on the opposite side for expelling/discharging air from inside the housing to the outside).
Regarding claim 20, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI disclose the power supply of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein a bottom side of the outer housing includes a plurality of holes arranged to drain moisture from inside of the outer housing (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig,1 and Par.89, disclose a plurality of air inlets 45 which may also be configured as liquid drain openings of the portable power supply 5).
Regarding claim 21, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI disclose the power supply of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the power supply is portable (See BARROWCLIFT, Par.82, discloses a portable power supply).
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWCLIFT in view of SOHN and LI and in further view of PAUKEN et al. (US 2024/01210749 A1, hereinafter PAUKEN).
Regarding claim 2, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI disclose the power supply of claim 1 as discussed above, the power supply is an AC power supply and the plurality of WEMs include:
the battery pack, configured to output DC power at a first DC voltage (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig.1, discloses a battery pack 10), and
a DC/AC converter configured to accept DC power at the first DC voltage and to output AC power at one or more AC voltages (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig.1 and Par.83 disclose an inverter 20 for receiving power from battery pack 10 and converting to AC. Par.94, discloses interfaces for transmitting the generated AC).
However, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI do not disclose one or more DC/DC converters configured to accept DC power at the first DC voltage and to output DC power at respective one or more second DC voltages.
PAUKEN discloses a power station comprising a battery pack, configured to output DC power at a first DC voltage (See Fig.6 and Par.47, disclose a power station 20 comprising an onboard battery 34), and
one or more DC/DC converters configured to accept DC power at the first DC voltage and to output DC power at respective one or more second DC voltages (See Pars.29 and 47, discloses a DC/DC converter connected to the onboard battery to receive the DC voltage from the onboard battery and convert it to a second DC voltage. Par.32 and 39 also discloses DC output receptacles 50).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and PAUKEN are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI with the teachings of PAUKEN by adding a DC/DC converter to accept DC power at the first DC voltage and to output DC power at respective second DC voltage for the benefit of allowing the station to distribute DC power to an external device.
Regarding claim 3, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and PAUKEN disclose the power supply of claim 2, further comprising:
a first waterproof cable assembly that couples the battery module to a first one of the DC/DC converters (See Claim 2 rejection above, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and PAUKEN disclose a power supply with waterproof modules [BARROWCLIFT] comprising a battery and a DC/DC converter receiving power from the battery [PAUKEN]. The examiner explains that is it inherent that the wiring assembly will be waterproof by using seals between the battery pack and the DC/DC converter in order to prevent water from entering the DC/DC converter. Otherwise, the waterproof nature of the subsystems as intended by BARROWCLIFT is not achieved. This is evidenced by FAN CN 112770570A, which discloses a waterproof inverter comprising waterproof joints [Figs.1-2, Item#9] to connect the inverter to other components while maintaining the waterproof nature of the inverter); and
a second waterproof cable assembly that couples the battery module to the DC/AC converter (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig.1 and Par.83 disclose an inverter 20 for receiving power from battery pack 10 and converting to AC. Par.94, discloses interfaces for transmitting the generated AC. The inverter as disclosed by BARROWCLIFT is waterproof [ Pars.109-110 and 124, disclose a plurality of sealed subsystems that are rated against water ingress], The examiner explains that is it inherent that the wiring assembly will be waterproof by using seals between the battery pack connection and the DC/DC converter connection in order to prevent water from entering the DC/AC converter. Otherwise, the waterproof nature of the subsystems as intended by BARROWCLIFT is not achieved).
Regarding claim 4, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and PAUKEN disclose the power supply of claim 2 as discussed above, wherein the plurality of WEMs also includes a user interface module affixed to an inner surface of the outer housing (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig.2 and Par.92, disclose a user operations screen for providing information to the user and to allow the user to switch the power supply on and off).
Regarding claims 5-6, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and PAUKEN disclose the power supply of claim 4, further comprising one or more of the following:
a third waterproof cable assembly that couples a first one of the DC/DC converters to the user interface module; and
a fourth waterproof cable assembly that couples the DC/AC converter to the user interface module (See BARROWCLIFT, discloses an inverter [Fig.10, Item#20] and a user operations screen/interface for providing information to the user and to allow the user to switch the power supply on and off [Fig.2, Item#55 and Par.92]. The examiner explains that even though BARROWCLIFT us silent regarding where the interface receives its power from, that the interface 55 requires power in order to operate, the power can be provided directly from the battery pack if the power requirements, through the DC/DC converter [as modified by PAUKEN] if the interface required another level of DC power different than that provided by the battery or through the inverter [BARROWCLIFT, Fig.10, Item#20] if the interface required AC power. The examiner further explains as evidenced by FAN CN 112770570A, that it is implicit to provide waterproof joints for connecting cables from any of the power supply subsystems [inverter, converter, battery pack, …etc] which discloses a waterproof inverter comprising waterproof joints [Figs.1-2, Item#9] to other components while maintaining the waterproof requirement of the subsystems as stated by BARROWCLIFT. The examiner explains that LCDs for example require both DC for its internal components and AC for driving the liquid crystal pixels/molecules. This would require connection to both the DC/DC converter and the inverter to receive both types of power. This is achieved using waterproof joints/connectors to maintain the waterproof rating of the subsystems as disclosed by BARROWCLIFT).
Claim(s) 8, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWCLIFT in view of SOHN and LI and in further view of GOLDMAN et al. (US 2023/0083678 A1, hereinafter GOLDMAN).
Regarding claim 8, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI disclose the power supply of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein each WEM includes the following:
a shell made from material that is waterproof (See BARROWCLIFT Pars.109-110 and 124, disclose a plurality of sealed subsystems that are rated against water ingress); and
one or more electronic components or an electronic assembly, encased within the shell (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig.10, Item#20, discloses an inverter. The inverter inherently includes electronic components).
However, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI do not explicitly disclose that the shell for each WEM includes a heat conductive shell.
GOLDMAN discloses a battery module comprising a shell that is waterproof and heat conductive (See Fig.7 and Par.60, discloses the battery shell is IP67 sealed and made of thermally conductive material).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN are analogous art since they all deal with power sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI with the further teachings of GOLDMAN by adopting a shell made from a thermally conductive material for the benefit of facilitating thermal management of the waterproof electronic modules (See GOLDMAN, Par.60).
Regarding claims 14-16, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN disclose the power supply of claim 8 as discussed above, However BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN do not explicitly disclose wherein for at least one of the WEMs, the shell is formed such that, when the power supply is in an upright orientation, an outer upper surface of the shell slopes downward from center to edges, such that moisture will drain off the outer upper surface.
BARROWCLIFT further teaches an inclined drainage for draining water (See Fig.4, and Pars.90-91, disclose a sloped portion 125 and a drainage trough).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN as applied to claim 8 with the further teachings of BARROWCLIFT such that the outer upper surface of the shell slopes downward from center to edges for the benefit of draining water that falls through the outer housing on top of the shells of the WEMs.
Regarding claim 19, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI disclose the power supply of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein each of the WEMs is IP 6 and 9k compliant (See BARROWCLIFT, Pars.110).
However, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the WEMs is compliant with IP67.
GOLDMAN discloses a battery module each of the WEMs is compliant with IP67 (See Fig.7 and Par.60, discloses the battery shell is IP67 sealed and made of thermally conductive material).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN are analogous art since they all deal with power sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN and LI with the further teachings of GOLDMAN by a battery shell that is IP67 compliant for the benefit of providing WEMs that are dust proof and protected against water immersion.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWBARROWCLIFT in view of SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN and in further view of WYATT et al. (US 2015/0037646 A1, hereinafter WYATT).
Regarding claims 9-10, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN disclose the power supply of claim 8 as discussed above, wherein for at least one of the WEMs, the shell includes a plurality of outward or inward protrusions of the material, arranged to improve conduction of heat from inside to outside of the waterproof electronics module.
WYATT discloses a battery pack comprising a shell, the shell includes a plurality of protrusions arranged to improve conduction of heat from inside to outside of the waterproof electronics module (See Figs.7-9, Items#60 and 62, Pars.156-157 disclose fins on the outside of the casing to dissipate heat).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and WYATT are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN with the teachings of WYATT by adding the fins to the WEM module walls for the benefit of dissipating heat away from the WEMs.
Even though WYATT does not explicitly disclose the plurality of protrusions are inward or outward, the examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try different configurations of the protrusions from a finite set of solutions (vertical, sloped inward, sloped outward) to arrive at the configuration with the best thermal dissipation properties.
Regarding claim 11, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and WYATT disclose the power supply of claim 10 as discussed above, wherein for at least one of the WEMs, the plurality of inward protrusions of the material are arranged to be in contact with one or more of the following that generate heat inside the waterproof electronics module:
one or more electronic components, and one or more portions of an electronic assembly (See WYATT, Par.130, discloses a plurality of layers in conjunction with the heat sink side plates 60 comprising the fins to dissipate heat from the battery module. Pars.136-137 discloses a thermal gap pad 108 which is coupled between internal fins 112 of the power assembly 84 and heat sink plate 60-62. Fig.7 discloses a PCB 72 mounted to the top plate 100. The thermal gap pad 108 provides a connection between the top plate 100 and the heat sink side plates 60 and 62).
Regarding claim 12, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and WYATT disclose the power supply of claim 11, wherein the plurality of inward protrusions of the material are arranged to be in contact via an intermediate material that is heat conductive (See the rejection of claim 11 above, WYATT discloses the thermal gap pad provides thermal connection between the top plate 100 [on which PCB 72 is mounted] and the heat sink plates 60 and 62).
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWCLIFT in view of SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN and in further view of FAN (CN 112770570A, hereinafter FAN).
Regarding claim 13, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN disclose the power supply of claim 8 as discussed above, wherein each shell includes:
a material that is waterproof and heat conductive (See Claim 8 rejection above, the combination of BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN, discloses a housing that is both waterproof and heat conductive).
However, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN do not disclose each shell includes a first and second pieces; and
a waterproof seal or gasket disposed between the first and second pieces.
FAN discloses a waterproof inverter module comprising a shell which includes:
a first and second pieces (See Fig.2 and Par.21, a cover 10 and bottom shell 4); and
a waterproof seal or gasket disposed between the first and second pieces (See Fig.2, and Pars.6 and 21 discloses a waterproof gasket between the cover and the bottom shell).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and FAN are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN with the teachings of FAN by forming each WEM shell from a first piece and a second piece with a waterproof gasket between the first and second pieces for the benefit of providing a WEM which can be opened in need of maintenance to allow the replacement of defective components.
Regarding claim 18, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN disclose the power supply of claim 8 as discussed above, However, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN do not explicitly disclose wherein the shell is fabricated from one of the following heat-conductive materials: aluminum, aluminum alloy, magnesium, and magnesium alloy.
FAN discloses a waterproof inverter module comprising a shell fabricated from aluminum alloy (See Par.29).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and FAN are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN with the teachings of FAN by fabricating the shell using aluminum alloy for the benefit of providing a shell with high strength, light weight and great heat dissipation properties.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWCLIFT in view of SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN and in further view of MALACKOWSKI (US 2007/0244471 A1, hereinafter MALACKOWSKI).
Regarding claim 17, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN disclose the power supply of claim 15 as discussed above, However, BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN do not disclose where the at least one WEM includes a water detection device disposed at the lowest point or area of the inner bottom surface of the shell.
MALACKOWSKI discloses a battery pack (one of the WEM units disclosed by BARROWCLIFT comprises a battery pack) a water detection device (See Par.238 discloses an internal humidity sensor).
BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and MALACKOWSKI are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI and GOLDMAN with the teachings of MALACKOWSKI by adding an internal humidity sensor for the benefit of detecting when water has entered the WEM.
Even though BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and MALACKOWSKI do not disclose the sensor is placed at the lowest point, the examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOHN, LI, GOLDMAN and MALACKOWSKI by placing the humidity sensor at the lowest point since the surfaces are sloped such that the water drains to the lowest point.
Claim(s) 22 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARROWCLIFT in view of FAN and in further view of WYATT.
Regarding claim 22, BARROWCLIFT discloses a waterproof electronics module (WEM) (See Pars.109-110 and 124, disclose a plurality of sealed subsystems that are rated against water ingress) configured for use inside of a non-waterproof power supply (See Fig.1, and Par.82 disclose a portable power supply 5 comprising a housing 25 with a plurality of air inlets 45 at the bottom and air outlets at the top 50. The air inlet and outlets can also allow for entry of water. Therefore, the housing 25 is interpreted to be non-waterproof);
Wherein the WEM comprises
a waterproof shell (See Pars.109-110 and 124, disclose a plurality of sealed subsystems that are rated against water ingress); and
one or more electronic components or an electronic assembly, encased within the shell (See Fig.1, discloses an inverter 20, the inverter inherently includes electronic components inside the inverter shell).
However, BARROWCLIFT does not disclose wherein the WEM shell comprises:
first and second pieces of a material that is waterproof and heat-conductive, a waterproof seal or gasket disposed between the first and second pieces; and one or more electronic components or an electronic assembly, encased within the shell and a plurality of inward protrusions of the material arranged to improve conduction of heat from inside to outside of the waterproof electronic module.
FAN discloses a waterproof inverter module comprising a shell which includes:
a first and second pieces of a material that is waterproof and heat-conductive (See Fig.2 and Par.21, a cover 10 and bottom shell 4. Par.29, disclose the cover 10 of Fig.2 is made of aluminum alloy and Par.30 discloses the inverter is waterproof); and
a waterproof seal or gasket disposed between the first and second pieces (See Fig.2, and Pars.6 and 21 discloses a waterproof gasket between the cover and the bottom shell).
BARROWCLIFT and FAN are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT with the teachings of FAN by forming each WEM shell from a heat conductive material comprising first piece and a second piece with a waterproof gasket between the first and second pieces for the benefit of providing a WEM which can be opened in need of maintenance to allow the replacement of defective components and also allowing heat removal from WEM by using a heat-conductive shell.
However, BARROWCLIFT and FAN do not disclose one or more electronic components or an electronic assembly, encased within the shell and a plurality of inward protrusions of the material arranged to improve conduction of heat from inside to outside of the waterproof electronic module.
WYATT discloses a battery pack comprising a shell, the shell includes a plurality of protrusions arranged to improve conduction of heat from inside to outside of the waterproof electronics module (See Figs.7-9, Items#60 and 62, Pars.156-157 disclose fins on the outside of the casing to dissipate heat).
BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT are analogous art since they all deal with power supplies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT and FAN with the teachings of WYATT by adding the fins to the WEM module walls for the benefit of dissipating heat away from the WEMs.
Even though WYATT does not explicitly disclose the plurality of protrusions are inward or outward, the examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try different configurations of the protrusions from a finite set of solutions (vertical, sloped inward, sloped outward) or a combination of differently inclined fins (inward +outward) to arrive at the configuration with the best thermal dissipation properties (The fins can be viewed as extending outward from the power assembly or inward toward the power assembly. If applicant intends the claim to mean that fins are installed on the case and protruding towards the modules instead of being installed on the modules and extending towards the case. The examiner explains assuming arguendo that applicant is correct in their assertion, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT by selecting from a finite set of choices comprising installing the fins on the module to extend outward toward the shell or to install the fins on the shell to extend inward towards the module for the benefit of allowing the removal of the dissipation fins by simply removing the external shell).
Regarding claim 24, BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT disclose the WEM of claim 22 as discussed above, wherein the plurality of inward protrusions of the material are arranged to be in contact with one or more of the following that generate heat inside the waterproof electronics module:
one or more electronic components, and one or more portions of the electronic assembly See WYATT, Par.130, discloses a plurality of layers in conjunction with the heat sink side plates 60 comprising the fins to dissipate heat from the battery module. Pars.136-137 discloses a thermal gap pad 108 which is coupled between internal fins 112 of the power assembly 84 and heat sink plate 60-62. Fig.7 discloses a PCB 72 mounted to the top plate 100. The thermal gap pad 108 provides a connection between the top plate 100 and the heat sink side plates 60 and 62).
Regarding claim 25, BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT disclose the power supply of claim 8 as discussed above, However BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT do not explicitly disclose wherein for at least one of the WEMs, the shell is formed such that, when the power supply is in an upright orientation, an outer upper surface of the shell slopes downward from center to edges, such that moisture will drain off the outer upper surface.
BARROWCLIFT further teaches an inclined drainage for draining water (See Fig.4, and Pars.90-91, disclose a sloped portion 125 and a drainage trough).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT as applied to claim 22 with the further teachings of BARROWCLIFT such that the outer upper surface of the shell slopes downward from center to edges for the benefit of draining water that falls through the outer housing of the portable power supply on top of the shells of the WEMs.
The examiner explains that BARROWCRAFT discloses using inclines surface to drain water and prevent it from being standing water inside the structure. The examiner further explains that the sloping structure from the center towards the edges is a common design to prevent water from becoming standing water on surfaces. In fact, the same design is implemented in majority of homes across the United States with roofs sloped from the center towards the edges such that rain water does not sit on the roof, instead the water runs off and drains away from the roof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BARROWCLIFT, SOGN, LI and GOLDMAN by adopting the sloped roof shape for the benefit of preventing water from remaining standing on the roof of the modules and to allow the water to run off and drain away from the waterproof modules.
Regarding claim 26, BARROWCLIFT, FAN and WYATT disclose the WEM of claim 22 as discussed above, wherein the WEM is a DC/AC converter configured to accept DC power at a first DC voltage and to output AC power at one or more AC voltages (See BARROWCLIFT, Fig.1, discloses an inverter 20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859