Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claim 1.
STEP 1: Yes. The claim is directed to a “method” which is a process.
STEP 2A PRONE ONE:
The claim recites multiple mathematical abstractions.
generating a two-dimensional shape of a second pattern of the 3D padded garment, the second pattern to be combined with the first pattern with an intermediate pattern sandwiched between the first pattern and the second pattern to form at least a portion of the 3D padded garment;
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case this is a set of mathematical calculations to generate the respective patterns and shapes.
simulating an appearance of the 3D padded garment by:
simulating applying of internal pressure by the intermediate pattern as defined by a pressure value to an internal surface of the first pattern facing the second pattern and an internal surface of the second pattern facing the first pattern, and
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case a set of mathematical relationships and calculations.
performing collision processing of the intermediate pattern, the first pattern and the second pattern by applying a collision value of the intermediate pattern representing a collision processing range of the intermediate pattern; and
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case a set of mathematical relationships and calculations.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO: The claim does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
receiving a two-dimensional shape of a first pattern of the 3D padded garment;
MPEP 2106.05(g) – This is pre solution data gathering activity.
displaying a result of the simulating of the appearance of the 3D padded garment.
MPEP 2106.05(g) – This is post-solution data output/display.
STEP 2B: The claim does not recite an inventive concept or significantly more than the exception.
Conclusion: Claim 1 is directed to mental processes, not integrated into a practical application and lacks an inventive concept. Therefore, it is ineligible under 35 U.S.C 101.
Regarding Claims 2-3, 5-7, and 15-17:
These claims merely add insignificant extra solution activity. Additional model setup, data definition, and output steps: automatically generating the intermediate pattern (claim 2), excluding the intermediate pattern from the display (claim 3), generating a sewing line configuration at a defined interval (claim 5), defining padded sections by the sewing line (claim 6), generating a parallel second sewing line (claim 7), adjusting mesh size/resolution (claim 15), specifying filing information content as material, mass, or weight (claim 16), and setting filing weight per unit area (claim 17). These steps are pre/post solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), and the claims remain confined to the filled of 3D padded garment simulation under MPEP 2106.05(h). This does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims do not resolve the issues from the claims they depend upon.
Regarding Claims 4 and 8-14:
These claims merely narrow the abstract idea by specifying additional parameters and computations of the garment simulation. A 3D space transform driven by physical properties (claim 4), wrinkle generation (claim 8), an elastic value applied to a sewing line (claim 9), padded section as height as a function of the pressure value (claim 10), directional fist/second pressure values (claim 11), padded surface curvature derived from the collision value (claim 12), derivation of the pressure and collision values from sewing line interval and filing information (claim 13), and filing information from pattern area (claim 14). Thus, the claims remain a mathematical concept. MPEP 2106.05(a). This does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims do not resolve the issues from the claims they depend upon.
Claim 18.
STEP 1: Yes. The claim is directed to a “non-transitory computer readable storage medium” which is a manufacture.
STEP 2A PRONE ONE:
The claim recites multiple mathematical abstractions.
generating a two-dimensional shape of a second pattern of the 3D padded garment, the second pattern to be combined with the first pattern with an intermediate pattern sandwiched between the first pattern and the second pattern to form at least a portion of the 3D padded garment;
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case this is a set of mathematical calculations to generate the respective patterns and shapes.
simulating an appearance of the 3D padded garment by:
simulating applying of internal pressure by the intermediate pattern as defined by a pressure value to an internal surface of the first pattern facing the second pattern and an internal surface of the second pattern facing the first pattern, and
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case a set of mathematical relationships and calculations.
performing collision processing of the intermediate pattern, the first pattern and the second pattern by applying a collision value of the intermediate pattern representing a collision processing range of the intermediate pattern; and
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case a set of mathematical relationships and calculations.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO: The claim does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
receiving a two-dimensional shape of a first pattern of the 3D padded garment;
MPEP 2106.05(g) – This is pre solution data gathering activity.
displaying a result of the simulating of the appearance of the 3D padded garment.
MPEP 2106.05(g) – This is post-solution data output/display.
STEP 2B: The claim does not recite an inventive concept or significantly more than the exception.
Conclusion: Claim 18 is directed to mental processes, not integrated into a practical application and lacks an inventive concept. Therefore, it is ineligible under 35 U.S.C 101.
Regarding Claim 19:
Claim 19 merely adds storing instructions to automatically generate the intermediate pattern. A pre solution data gathering / model setup step. MPEP 2106.05(g) performed automatically on a processor used as a tool to apply the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05(f). This does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims do not resolve the issues from the claims they depend upon.
Claim 20.
STEP 1: Yes. The claim is directed to a “electronic device” which is a manufacture.
STEP 2A PRONE ONE:
The claim recites multiple mathematical abstractions.
generating a two-dimensional shape of a second pattern of the 3D padded garment, the second pattern to be combined with the first pattern with an intermediate pattern sandwiched between the first pattern and the second pattern to form at least a portion of the 3D padded garment;
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case this is a set of mathematical calculations to generate the respective patterns and shapes.
simulating an appearance of the 3D padded garment by:
simulating applying of internal pressure by the intermediate pattern as defined by a pressure value to an internal surface of the first pattern facing the second pattern and an internal surface of the second pattern facing the first pattern, and
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case a set of mathematical relationships and calculations.
performing collision processing of the intermediate pattern, the first pattern and the second pattern by applying a collision value of the intermediate pattern representing a collision processing range of the intermediate pattern; and
This is a mathematical abstraction that can be a calculation, relationship, or equation/formula. In this case a set of mathematical relationships and calculations.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO: The claim does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
a processor; and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, the instructions cause the processor to:
MPEP 2106.05(f) – This is generic computer components to apply the abstract idea.
receiving a two-dimensional shape of a first pattern of the 3D padded garment;
MPEP 2106.05(g) – This is pre solution data gathering activity.
displaying a result of the simulating of the appearance of the 3D padded garment.
MPEP 2106.05(g) – This is post-solution data output/display.
STEP 2B: The claim does not recite an inventive concept or significantly more than the exception.
Conclusion: Claim 20 is directed to mental processes, not integrated into a practical application and lacks an inventive concept. Therefore, it is ineligible under 35 U.S.C 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “How to Create a Puffer Jacket w/ the Pressure Function” [herein “CLO3D”] (2019) and CN-104809287-A LIN et al [herein “LIN”] (2015).
Regarding Claim 1, CLO3D teaches
A method of simulating a three-dimensional (3D) padded garment, the method comprising:
receiving a two-dimensional shape of a first pattern of the 3D padded garment;
“Select all the patterns that make up the shell of your garment. In this example, it's my entire jacket. Right click and choose Layer Clone (Under).”. (Pg. 3).
“Place this new copy of your patterns under your original layer in the 2D Window.”. (Pg. 3).
This shows taking the garment’s shell in 2D pattern pieces in the 2D window, which teaches receiving a two-dimensional shape of a first (shell) pattern of the padded garment.
generating a two-dimensional shape of a second pattern of the 3D padded garment, the second pattern to be combined with the first pattern
“Right click and choose Layer Clone (Under). Place this new copy of your patterns under your original layer in the 2D Window. When you turn on Simulation, this new layer will automatically be sewn underneath your top layer.”. (Pg. 3 and please refer to the figures shown in Pg. 4).
This shows generating a second pattern based on the first layer to be combined with the first.
to form at least a portion of the 3D padded garment;
“When you use Pressure, you are applying a force against the backside of the fabric. This usually makes the fabric fly up, but when you have a closed shape like a jacket shell & lining or a beach ball, the pressure will fill the shape and create a down effect.”. (Pg. 2).
This shows the combined patterns forming the 3D padded garment.
simulating an appearance of the 3D padded garment by:
simulating applying of internal pressure
“When you use Pressure, you are applying a force against the backside of the fabric. This usually makes the fabric fly up, but when you have a closed shape like a jacket shell & lining or a beach ball, the pressure will fill the shape and create a down effect.”. (Pg. 2).
“I like to start off at +20 and then adjust after I turn Simulation on and can check how filled my garment looks.”. (Pg. 5).
This shows simulating the appearance of the 3D padded garment by applying internal pressure.
as defined by a pressure value to an internal surface of the first pattern facing the second pattern and an internal surface of the second pattern facing the first pattern, and
“Select the top layer and add set a positive value for the Pressure in the Property Editor. I like to start off at +20 and then adjust after I turn Simulation on and can check how filled my garment looks. Select the bottom layer and set the Pressure to the opposite value of the top layer. This should be a negative number. For example, if you use +20 for the top layer, the bottom layer should be -20. You can change the pressure values of different pattern pieces in one garment, but each top & bottom pair must have matching Pressure values”. (Pg. 5).
This shows applying internal pressure to a first pattern and second pattern that are facing one another. This is further shown in the accompanying pictures of the software.
performing collision processing
“
”. (Pg. 5).
This shows collision processing being performed i.e. a collision thickness property is among simulation properties applied when the simulation runs.
by applying a collision value
“On my garment, the Additional Thickness - Collision of the pattern pieces is high, so the buttons are still spaced a bit far from the garment naturally. Once you get your garment to a point where you want to render, you should lower the collision thickness of the placket patterns to a lower number. I think I left mine at a collision thickness of 1.0 for the render, so that's the weirdness you're seeing. Maybe you could try 0.5 or 0.2 (but don't go down to zero). Normally, the default collision thickness is 2.5mm. If there is still a space, you can use the Select Button tool to select the buttons and turn off Collision in the Property Editor. Now, if you move the buttons closer to the garment w/ the Gizmo or manipulate them to get the look you want, they won't collide with the fabric.”. (Pg. 5).
. (Pg. 5).
“
”. (Pg. 7).
This shows a numeric collision value applied in the simulation.
representing a collision processing range
“
”. (Pg. 5).
This shows the collision value representing a collision processing range in the UI editor to adjust collision ranges.
displaying a result of the simulating of the appearance of the 3D padded garment.
“Select the top layer and add set a positive value for the Pressure in the Property Editor. I like to start off at +20 and then adjust after I turn Simulation on and can check how filled my garment looks.”. (Pg. 5).
“The process is much easier than it sounds, because in CLO you can quickly create a lining layer while you're working to see how your puffer garments will look when filled up.”. (Pg. 2).
This shows the result simulated 3D padded garment. This can also be seen in the UI.
CLO3D does not explicitly teach but LIN TEACHES
with an intermediate pattern sandwiched between the first pattern and the second pattern
“The invention claims a method for wearing, a fragmentation: establishing several grid garment piece model;”. (Abstract).
“b, layering the Actor relation of several sewed by the garment piece model wearing and grid model, the multiple garment piece model into several levels from inside to outside;”. (Pg. 2-3).
“… the collision between garment pieces, if collision occurs according to the layering, in setting layer collision point does not move, because at this time, this point is corresponding to the human body and outer layer clamped in the middle.”. (Pg. 14).
This shows modeling each cloth layer of a simulated garment as its own triangular mesh pattern model.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate LIN’s teaching of modeling each garment layer as its own mesh pattern, layered from the inside to the outside with layer-by-layer collision processing, with CLO3D’s method of simulating a puffer garment using a pressure value and collision thickness applied to a shell and lining pair. i.e. to model the filing between CLO3D’s two patterns as an intermediate pattern per LIN. The reason for doing so would have been to simulate the actual construction of a padded garment, in which filing lies between the shell and lining, while preventing the layers from passing through one another in the simulation. As expressed by LIN, “… collision processing is ensured in the outer layer of the garment and garment, garment and body are not inserted, realize fast and real-time simulation of the cladding effect.”. (Pg. 8).
by the intermediate pattern
“b, layering the Actor relation of several sewed by the garment piece model wearing and grid model, the multiple garment piece model into several levels from inside to outside;”. (Pg. 2-3).
This shows the intermediate layer existing as its own pattern model positioned between outer layers.
of the intermediate pattern, the first pattern and the second pattern
“… the collision between garment pieces, if collision occurs according to the layering, in setting layer collision point does not move, because at this time, this point is corresponding to the human body and outer layer clamped in the middle. the outer layer of the three points p01, p02, p03, …”. (Pg. 14).
“… the change speed V of the outer garment piece collision point so that outer garment piece collision point at the next one time point move to the outside …”. (Pg. 14).
“… collision processing is ensured in the outer layer of the garment and garment, garment and body are not inserted, realize fast and real-time simulation of the cladding effect.”. (Pg. 8).
This shows collision processing among three parts. The inner pattern, middle layers, and outer pattern. This aligns with the intermediate pattern, first, and second pattern.
of the intermediate pattern
“… this point is corresponding to the human body and outer layer clamped in the middle.”. (Pg. 14).
“… the outer layer of the three points p01, p02, p03, respectively calculating the relative position of the P01, p02, p03 and a collision triangle T4, if collision occurs, the change speed V of the outer garment piece collision point so that outer garment piece collision point at the next one time point move to the outside of the human body.”. (Pg .14).
This shows an intermediate pattern that will be used for collision processing.
of the intermediate pattern; and
“… this point is corresponding to the human body and outer layer clamped in the middle.”. (Pg. 14).
“… the outer layer of the three points p01, p02, p03, respectively calculating the relative position of the P01, p02, p03 and a collision triangle T4, if collision occurs, the change speed V of the outer garment piece collision point so that outer garment piece collision point at the next one time point move to the outside of the human body.”. (Pg .14).
This shows an intermediate pattern that will be used for further processing.
Regarding Claim 3, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the intermediate pattern is not displayed.
“The process is much easier than it sounds, because in CLO you can quickly create a lining layer while you're working to see how your puffer garments will look when filled up.”. (Pg. 2).
“Today, you're going to learn about the Pressure function and how to use it to make down-filled jackets or other "inflatable" objects”. (Pg. 2).
“
”. (Pg. 4).
This shows the displayed result being the garments fabric surfaces only i.e. not showing the fill pattern.
Regarding Claim 4, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein simulating the appearance of the 3D padded garment comprises transforming the first pattern and the second pattern in 3D space based on at least one of physical property of the first pattern, physical property of the second pattern, the pressure value or the collision value.
“… when you have a closed shape like a jacket shell & lining or a beach ball, the pressure will fill the shape and create a down effect. The process is much easier than it sounds, because in CLO you can quickly create a lining layer while you're working to see how your puffer garments will look when filled up.”. (Pg. 2).
“Choose the fabrics & textures you want to use and apply them to your garment. Use the Silk / Satin Material Property to express a shiny nylon.”. (Pg. 6).
This shows transforming the first and second pattern into 3D space on the pressure value.
Regarding Claim 5, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a configuration of the 3D padded garment by generating at least one sewing line that combines the first pattern, the second pattern, and … based on an interval of the sewing line, the simulating of the appearance of the 3D padded garment performed based on the configuration of the 3D padded garment.
“1. Create your cut lines or draw your topstitch designs w/ Internal Lines Draw lines with the Internal Polygon tool or create style lines with the 3D Line tool -- it's up to you to create your own style. Definitely do all of this design work before creating a Layer Clone!”. (Pg. 3).
“When you turn on Simulation, this new layer will automatically be sewn underneath your top layer. All of the Internal Lines and edges will be sewn down (this is why it's best to draw all of your design lines and quilt lines before making the layer clone).”. (Pg. 3).
“When you use Pressure, you are applying a force against the backside of the fabric. This usually makes the fabric fly up, but when you have a closed shape like a jacket shell & lining or a beach ball, the pressure will fill the shape and create a down effect. The process is much easier than it sounds, because in CLO you can quickly create a lining layer while you're working to see how your puffer garments will look when filled up.”. (Pg. 2).
This shows the sewing lines placed at designer chosen spacing on the patterns to be joined that will be rendered and simulated in order to view the 3D garment.
CLO3D does not explicitly teach but LIN teaches
the intermediate pattern“… sewing information: if it is the corresponding two pieces of cloth are sewed together, the sewing information is an index of the two stitching point; if the 3 tablet is correspondingly sewed together, then the index of 3 suture points, by parity of reasoning, 4 coated suture, index of 4 sewing point ... the sewing information is mainly used for calculating the sewing force, so the human model 2 simulating sleeved blouse, skirt, two stitching points corresponding holding overlapped together.”. (Pg. 11).
“… this point is corresponding to the human body and outer layer clamped in the middle.”. (Pg. 14).
“… the outer layer of the three points p01, p02, p03, respectively calculating the relative position of the P01, p02, p03 and a collision triangle T4, if collision occurs, the change speed V of the outer garment piece collision point so that outer garment piece collision point at the next one time point move to the outside of the human body.”. (Pg .14).
This shows an intermediate pattern that will be used for further processing (stitching).
Regarding Claim 6, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 5, wherein the sewing line defines a plurality of padded sections in the 3D padded garment.
“
”. (This shows puffer jacket with quilted sections).
“1. Create your cut lines or draw your topstitch designs w/ Internal Lines
Draw lines with the Internal Polygon tool or create style lines with the 3D Line tool -- it's up to you to create your own style.
Definitely do all of this design work before creating a Layer Clone!”. (Pg. 3).
This shows sewing lines defining a plurality of padded sections of the garment.
Regarding Claim 7, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 5, further comprising:
generating another sewing line parallel to the sewing line and spaced apart by a predetermined distance from the sewing line, the simulating of the appearance of the 3D padded garment performed based on the sewing line and the other sewing line.
”. (This shows puffer jacket with quilted sections Pg. 2).
“1. Create your cut lines or draw your topstitch designs w/ Internal Lines Draw lines with the Internal Polygon tool or create style lines with the 3D Line tool -- it's up to you to create your own style. Definitely do all of this design work before creating a Layer Clone!”. (Pg. 3).
“
”. (Pg. 4. This shows sewing lines for the garment.).
This shows making additional sewing lines parallels and spaced equal to one another. The tutorial quilted jacket is bult from a parallel series of quilt lines.
Regarding Claim 8, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 7, further comprising:
generating a wrinkle on a padded surface based on the sewing line and the other sewing line.
“6. Apply Puckering to seams and stitch lines Puckering allows you to create the appearance of tiny wrinkles at all of the stitch lines without deforming the mesh (creating a really data heavy file). You can create Puckering in the Object Browser and adjust it to your liking. Then apply it like you would a topstitch, using the Puckering tools.”. (Pg. 6).
This shows generating wrinkles on the padded surface based on the sewing lines and the users preferences (sewing lines).
Regarding Claim 9, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 7, wherein simulating the appearance of the 3D padded garment is performed by applying an elastic value to at least one of the sewing line or the other sewing line.
“4. Set stitch tension / add Elastic Pro tip: To simulate stitch tension, apply Elastic at around 97-99% to all of your quilt lines or style lines.”. (Pg. 5).
This shows applying a stitch value to simulate stitch tension to sewing lines.
Regarding Claim 10, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 3, further comprising determining a height of a padded section including the intermediate pattern based on the pressure value.
“I like to start off at +20 and then adjust after I turn Simulation on and can check how filled my garment looks.”. (Pg. 5).
“… the pressure will fill the shape and create a down effect.”. (Pg. 2).
This shows determining the height of the sections via the applied pressure values.
Regarding Claim 11, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein the pressure value comprises at least one of:
a first pressure value applied to the internal surface of the first pattern in a direction opposite to the second pattern; or
a second pressure value applied to the internal surface of the second pattern in a direction opposite to the first pattern.
“Select the top layer and add set a positive value for the Pressure in the Property Editor. I like to start off at +20 and then adjust after I turn Simulation on and can check how filled my garment looks. Select the bottom layer and set the Pressure to the opposite value of the top layer. This should be a negative number. For example, if you use +20 for the top layer, the bottom layer should be -20. You can change the pressure values of different pattern pieces in one garment, but each top & bottom pair must have matching Pressure values”. (Pg. 5).
This shows applying positive and negative pressure value on two patterns that are in the opposite direction.
Regarding Claim 12, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 5, further comprising determining a curvature of a padded surface by adjusting, based on the collision value, a gap between the first pattern and the second pattern with an increase in distance from the sewing line.
“
”. (Pg. 2).
“
”. (Pg. 5).
This shows the gap between the patterns being zero at each sewn line and increasing away from it as pressure inflates the section, producing the curved padded surface, with the adjustable collision thickness value enforcing the layer separation. Adjusting that value adjusts the gap, and thus the curvature.
Regarding Claim 15, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
adjusting a size of a mesh in the first pattern and the second pattern; or
adjusting a size of a mesh in the intermediate pattern.
“
”. (Pg. 5).
“
”. (Pg. 7).
“1. Create your cut lines or draw your topstitch designs w/ Internal Lines Draw lines with the Internal Polygon tool or create style lines with the 3D Line tool -- it's up to you to create your own style. Definitely do all of this design work before creating a Layer Clone! 2. Create a Layer Clone (Under) of the pattern pieces you want to fill Select all the patterns that make up the shell of your garment. In this example, it's my entire jacket. Right click and choose Layer Clone (Under). Place this new copy of your patterns under your original layer in the 2D Window. When you turn on Simulation, this new layer will automatically be sewn underneath your top layer. All of the Internal Lines and edges will be sewn down (this is why it's best to draw all of your design lines and quilt lines before making the layer clone).”. (Pg. 3).
This shows adjusting size of meshes that can be the first, second, or intermediate pattern.
Claim 18 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1 except the claim is directed to a “non-transitory computer readable storage medium”. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same rationale as addressed above.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 except the claim is directed to a “non-transitory computer readable storage medium”. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same rationale as addressed above.
Claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1 except the claim is directed to a “device”. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same rationale as addressed above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “How to Create a Puffer Jacket w/ the Pressure Function” [herein “CLO3D”] (2019), CN-104809287-A LIN et al [herein “LIN”] (2015), and “Air meshes for robust collision handling” MULLER et al [herein “MULLER”] (2015).
Regarding Claim 2, CLO3D and LIN do not explicitly teach but MULLER teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising automatically generating the intermediate pattern.
“As a pre-processing step, the air between objects has to be tessellated. In our simple generic examples (Figures 2, 5 and 6) we generated the air elements procedurally. In the general case, a conforming tessellation of the space between objects is needed that respects the surfaces of the simulated meshes. Since this step has to be executed only once before the simulation starts …”. (Pg. 3).
This shows automatically generating intermediate patterns based on the outer meshes i.e. layer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate MULLER’s teaching of generating a mesh in the space between garment layers as an automatic pre-processing step with the CLO3D-LIN’s simulation of a padded garment i.e. to automatically generate the intermediate pattern between the first and second patterns. The reason for doing so would have been to create the intermediate pattern without manual construction by the user and to provide robust collision handling between the layers. As stated by MULLER ”The main idea is to tessellate the air between objects once before the simulation and by considering one unilateral constraint per element that prevents its inversion during the simulation.”. (Abstract).
Claims 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “How to Create a Puffer Jacket w/ the Pressure Function” [herein “CLO3D”] (2019), CN-104809287-A LIN et al [herein “LIN”] (2015), and CN-100488389-C GAO et al [herein “GAO”] (2009).
Regarding Claim 13, LIN does not explicitly teach but CLO3D teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the pressure value based on at least one of an interval between sewing lines and
“Select the top layer and add set a positive value for the Pressure in the Property Editor. I like to start off at +20 and then adjust after I turn Simulation on and can check how filled my garment looks.”. (Pg. 5).
This shows the pressure value being determined by an adjustable value.
wherein the collision value is determined based on at least one of the intervals between sewing lines connecting the first pattern and the second pattern, and
“
”. (Pg. 5).
“When you turn on Simulation, this new layer will automatically be sewn underneath your top layer. All of the Internal Lines and edges will be sewn down (this is why it's best to draw all of your design lines and quilt lines before making the layer clone).”. (Pg. 3).
This shows the collision value being determined set and turned in a garment whose sewn quilt lines connect the first and second patterns at chosen intervals.
CLO3D and LIN do not explicitly teach but GAO teaches
filling information indicating materials that fill the 3D padded garment, and
“… splicing process down clothes is as follows: according to different area temperature selecting cementing process (e.g. 76 grams/square meter), then according to the surface area of the down clothes, calculating the charge amount of the whole clothes, finally, respectively calculating area of ready-made clothes sheet, determining the amount of cementing process corresponding to each single-guide cord, velvet, accurately weighing out each piece of by splicing-process of single person by flannel, into , each ready-made garment liner…”. (Pg. 6).
This shows information for filing materials that will be used in the garment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate GAO’s method of determining a padded garment filing by selecting a fill-weight per unit area and calculating the fill amount of each garment from its area with the CLO3D-LIN simulation of a padded garment. The reason for doing so would have been to simulate a garment having filing information for each pattern and setting the pressure value and collision value accordingly. As expressed by GAO,” … according to the surface area of the down clothes, calculating the charge amount of the whole clothes, finally, respectively calculating area of ready-made clothes sheet, determining the amount of cementing process corresponding to each single-guide cord, velvet, accurately weighing out each piece”. (Pg. 8).
the filling information.
“… according to different area temperature selecting cementing process (e.g. 76 grams/square meter), then according to the surface area of the down clothes, calculating the charge amount of the whole clothes, finally, respectively calculating area of ready-made clothes sheet, determining the amount of cementing process corresponding to each single-guide cord, velvet, accurately weighing out each piece of by splicing-process of single person by flannel, into , each ready-made garment liner…”. (Pg. 6).
This shows filing information for a padded garment, including the filling material (down) and a filling density per unit area to canulate fill for the garment.
Regarding Claim 14, CLO3D and LIN do not explicitly teach but GAO teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining filling information of each of a plurality of patterns of the 3D padded garment based on an area of each of the plurality of patterns, the filling information indicating materials that fill the 3D padded garment.
“… then according to the surface area of the down clothes, calculating the charge amount of the whole clothes, finally, respectively calculating area of ready-made clothes sheet, determining the amount of cementing process corresponding to each single-guide cord, velvet, accurately weighing out each piece of by splicing-process of single person by flannel, into, each ready-made garment liner…”. (Pg. 6).
This shows determining a down fill amount of each garment piece based on that piece’s area.
Regarding Claim 16, CLO3D and LIN do not explicitly teach but GAO teaches
The method of claim 13, wherein the filling information indicates at least one of a filling material, a mass of a filling that fills the 3D padded garment, or a weight of the filling.
“… splicing process down clothes is as follows: according to different area temperature selecting cementing process (e.g. 76 grams/square meter), then according to the surface area of the down clothes, calculating the charge amount of the whole clothes, finally, respectively calculating area of ready-made clothes sheet, determining the amount of cementing process corresponding to each single-guide cord, velvet, accurately weighing out each piece of by splicing-process of single person by flannel, into , each ready-made garment liner…”. (Pg. 6).
This shows filing information for the material (down), weight of the filing (grams / square meter), and the mass in the garment of the piece.
Regarding Claim 17, CLO3D and LIN do not explicitly teach but GAO teaches
The method of claim 16, wherein the weight of the filling is set for each unit area of the intermediate pattern.
“… splicing process down clothes is as follows: according to different area temperature selecting cementing process (e.g. 76 grams/square meter), then according to the surface area of the down clothes, calculating the charge amount of the whole clothes, finally, respectively calculating area of ready-made clothes sheet, determining the amount of cementing process corresponding to each single-guide cord, velvet, accurately weighing out each piece of by splicing-process of single person by flannel, into , each ready-made garment liner…”. (Pg. 6).
This shows setting the weight of the filing per unit area. A down density (intermediate pattern) for the garment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US8355811B2 teaches clothing pressure simulation of clothing that has the effects of improving the exercise functionality, correcting the body shape, and providing a feeling of tension, and is significantly concerned with comfort of the clothing.
US11151786B2 teaches garments in simulation appearing in three dimensions when worn on a person's body, but the garment is formed of two-dimensional (2D) patterns that are adjoined together. Because flexible fabric is often used as the material for the 2D patterns, the garment may take on a different shape depending on who wears it.
/N.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189