DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I, FIGs. 1A-1D and claims 1-8 and 11-23 in the reply filed on 05/19/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner’s proposed materially different process “pre-cut cores enclosing stamped and bent conductor lines” to replace first package device and second package device is improper. This is not found persuasive because the first body, the second body and the respective conductive lines as claimed could be made by “pre-cut cores enclosing stamped and bent conductor lines” instead of mold compound and curing the mold compound as claimed. Nonetheless, in the spirit of compact prosecution, the examiner agrees to withdraw method claims restriction. The species restriction requirement is also traversed because applicant alleges that the examiner’s stated “mutually exclusive characteristics” are not mutually exclusive. Accordingly, the species restriction requirements is improper. The argument is not found persuasive, respectfully, because at least the withdrawn claims 9, 10, and 24-30 have mutually exclusive characteristics from the elected species, and these withdrawn claims require further search and or consideration, which is a serious burden on the examiner. Accordingly, the species restriction requirement is maintained. In addition, at least claims 12-14 do not read on the elected species, and therefore, these claims are further withdrawn. In this Office action, claims 1-8, 11, and 14-23 are fully examined, and claims 9, 10, 12-14 and 24-30 are withdrawn from full consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first body comprises: a second face opposite the face of the first body exposing the first set of external electrical connectors; and one or more sides between the face and the second face, and wherein ends of the first set of conductive lines extend past the one or more sides to form a set of external leads” as recited in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it’s not clear what’s intended by “a first external connector coupled to a first conductive line of the first set of conductive lines is coupled to a first external connector that is coupled to a first conductive line of the second set of conductive lines, and a second external connector coupled to the first conductive line of the first set of conductive lines is coupled to a second external connector that is coupled to a second conductive line of the second set of conductive lines, and wherein the second conductive line of the second set of conductive lines is adjacent to the first conductive line of the second set of conductive lines in the second conductor layer. Specifically, applicant should clarify if “a first external connector” in line 1 and “a first external connector” in lines 2 and 3 refer to the same element or different elements. Similar clarification is needed for “a second external connector” as claimed. For examination purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as “a first external connector [of the first set of external connectors] coupled to a first conductive line of the first set of conductive lines is coupled to a first external connector [of the second set of external connectors] that is coupled to a first conductive line of the second set of conductive lines, and a second external connector [of the first set of external connectors] coupled to the first conductive line of the first set of conductive lines is coupled to a second external connector [of the second set of external connectors] that is coupled to a second conductive line of the second set of conductive lines, and wherein the second conductive line of the second set of conductive lines is adjacent to the first conductive line of the second set of conductive lines in the second conductor layer.”
Similar rejection and interpretation is applied in claim 23.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the set of external leads” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s not also clear what’s intended by “at least one external lead of the set of external leads” as recited. Specifically, it’s not clear if “the set of external leads” refers to the first set of external connectors or the second set of external connectors or else.
Claim 18 also recites the limitation "the circuit board" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0385959 A1, hereinafter “Xu”).
With respect to claim 1, Xu teaches an inductive device 101 (any one of FIGs. 1A-1C) comprising:
a first packaged device 112 comprising:
a first body 112a (annotated FIG. 1C);
a first conductor layer (layer of lower conductive lines 103) at least partially enclosed within (“embedded within” para. [0012]) the first body and comprising a first set of conductive lines 103 extending along a first direction (y axis direction) and offset from one another in a second direction (x axis direction); and
a first set of external connectors 105a electrically connected to the first conductor layer and extending along a third direction (z axis direction), through openings (through holes) in the first body, to a face (upper surface) of the first body; and
a second packaged device 111 comprising:
a second body 111a;
a second conductor layer (layer of upper conductive lines 103) at least partially enclosed within the second body and comprising a second set of conductive lines 103 offset from one another in the second direction and extending along a fourth direction (y1 axis direction) that is angularly offset from the first direction; and
a second set of external connectors 105 electrically connected to the second conductor layer and extending along the third direction, through openings (through holes) in the second body, to a face (lower surface) of the second body; and
wherein the first set of external connectors is coupled to the second set of external connectors to electrically connect the first set of conductive lines to the second set of conductive lines to define a coil having multiple turns, each turn including a conductive line (any one of lower conductive line 103) of the first set of conductive lines and a conductive line (any one of upper conductive line 103) of the second set of conductive lines (para. [0012]).
With respect to claim 3, Xu teaches the inductive device of claim 1, wherein the first packaged device is a first surface mountable device and the second packaged device is a second surface mountable device (para. [0012]).
With respect to claims 8 and 23, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Xu teaches the inductive device of claim 1 and the method of claim 16, respectively, wherein a first external connector (first connector 105a from left) [of the first set of external connectors] coupled to a first conductive line (first conductive line 103 from left) of the first set of conductive lines is coupled to a first external connector (first front left connector 105) [of the second set of external connectors] that is coupled to a first conductive line (first conductive line 103 from left) of the second set of conductive lines, and a second external connector (second back connector 105a from left) [of the first set of external connectors] coupled to the first conductive line of the first set of conductive lines is coupled to a second external connector (second back connector 105 from left) [of the second set of external connectors] that is coupled to a second conductive line (middle conductive line 103) of the second set of conductive lines, and wherein the second conductive line of the second set of conductive lines is adjacent to the first conductive line of the second set of conductive lines in the second conductor layer (para. [0012]).
With respect to claim 11, Xu teaches a device 100 (any one of FIGs. 1A-1C) comprising:
an inductive device 101 comprising:
a first packaged device 112 comprising:
a first body 112a (annotated FIG. 1C);
a first conductor layer (layer of lower conductive lines 103) at least partially enclosed within (“embedded within” para. [0012]) the first body and comprising a first set of conductive lines 103 arranged substantially parallel to one another; and
a first set of external connectors 105a coupled to the first set of conductive lines, wherein ends (upper ends) of the first set of external connectors are exposed on a face (upper surface) of the first body through openings (through holes) in the first body; and
a second packaged device 111 comprising:
a second body 111a;
a second conductor layer (layer of upper conductive lines 103) at least partially enclosed within the second body and comprising a second set of conductive lines 103 arranged substantially parallel to one another and at an angle (angle between y and y1 as seen in annotated FIG. 1C) relative to the first set of conductive lines; and
a second set of external connectors 105 coupled to the second conductor layer, wherein ends (lower ends) of the second set of external connectors are exposed on a face (lower surface) of the second body through openings (through holes) in the second body; and
wherein the first set of external connectors are coupled to the second set of external connectors to electrically connect the first set of conductive lines to the second set of conductive lines to define a coil having multiple turns, each turn including a conductive line (any one of lower conductive line 103) of the first set of conductive lines and a conductive line (any one of upper conductive line 103) of the second set of conductive lines (para. [0012]).
With respect to claim 16, Xu teaches a method (method of providing any one of FIGs. 1A-1C) comprising:
providing a first packaged device 112 comprising:
a first body 112a (annotated FIG. 1C);
a first conductor layer (layer of lower conductive lines 103) at least partially enclosed within the first body and comprising a first set of conductive lines 103 extending along a first direction (y axis direction) and offset from one another in a second direction (x axis direction); and
a first set of external connectors 105a electrically connected to the first conductor layer and extending along a third direction (z axis direction), through openings (through holes) in the first body, to a face of the first body;
providing a second packaged device 111 comprising:
a second body 111a;
a second conductor layer (layer of upper conductive lines 103) at least partially enclosed within the second body and comprising a second set of conductive lines 103 offset from one another in the second direction and extending along a fourth direction (y1 axis direction) that is angularly offset from the first direction; and
a second set of external connectors 105 electrically connected to the second conductor layer and extending along the third direction, through openings (through holes) in the second body, to a face of the second body; and
coupling the first set of external connectors and the second set of external connectors to electrically connect the first set of conductive lines to the second set of conductive lines to define a coil having multiple turns, each turn including a conductive line (any one of lower conductive line 103) of the first set of conductive lines and a conductive line (any one of upper conductive line 103) of the second set of conductive lines (para. [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in view of Hoeglauer et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2008/0290992 A1, hereinafter “Hoeglauer”).
With respect to claims 2 and 17, Xu teaches the inductive device of claim 1. Xu does not expressly teach a first end of each of the first set of conductive lines extends past a first side of the first body, and a second end of each of the first set of conductive lines extends past a second side of the first body, and wherein the first side is opposite the second side.
Hoeglauer teaches an inductor device (FIGs. 3A-3C), wherein a first end (left or right end of conductive lines 11) of each of the first set of conductive lines 11 extends past a first side (left or right side) of the first body 7, and a second end (end of conductive lines 9) of each of the first set of conductive lines (combination of conductive lines 9 and 12) extends past a second side (the other of left or right side) of the first body, and wherein the first side is opposite the second side (para. [0043]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the conductive lines extension as taught by Hoeglauer to the inductive device of Xu to provide the required connectivity between the first and second conductive lines to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 17, Xu teaches the method of claim 16. Xu does not expressly teach ends of the first set of conductive lines extend along the first direction past one or more sides of the first body to define a set of external leads, and further comprising electrically connecting the coil to one or more circuit components of a circuit board via at least two external leads of the set of external leads.
Hoeglauer teaches a method (FIGs. 3A-3C), ends (end of conductive lines 11) of the first set of conductive lines 11 extend along the first direction past one or more sides of the first body 7 to define a set of external leads 10, and further comprising electrically connecting the coil to one or more circuit components 5 of a circuit board (not expressly shown) via at least two external leads of the set of external leads (paras. [0041] and [0043]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the conductive lines extension as taught by Hoeglauer to the inductive device of Xu to provide the required connectivity between the first and second conductive lines to meet design requirements.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wei et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2008/0297298 A1, hereinafter “Wei”).
With respect to claim 4, Xu teaches the inductive device of claim 1, wherein each turn of the coil further includes two external connectors (front and back connectors 105a) of the first set of external connectors, two external connectors (front and back connectors 105) of the second set of external connectors (para. [0012]). Xu does not expressly teach a first electrical interconnect between a first external connector of the first set of external connectors and a first external connector of the second set of external connectors, and a second electrical interconnect between a second external connector of the second set of external connectors and a second external connector of the first set of external connectors.
Wei teaches an inductive device 200b (FIGs. 6A and 6B), wherein a first electrical interconnect 232 between a first external connector 203 of the first set of external connectors and a first external connector 204 of the second set of external connectors, and a second electrical interconnect 235 between a second external connector of the second set of external connectors and a second external connector of the first set of external connectors (para. [0034]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical interconnects as taught by Wei to the inductive device of Xu to provide the required current path or current density to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 5, Xu in view of Wei teaches the inductive device of claim 4, wherein the first electrical interconnect and the second electrical interconnect comprise solder balls, conductive posts, an interposer device, or a combination thereof (Xu, para. [0012]).
Claims 6 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in view of Yan et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0268826 A1, hereinafter “Yan”).
With respect to claim 6, Xu teaches the inductive device of claim 1, wherein the first body, the second body, or both, comprise a magnetic filler material (para. [0020]). Xu does not expressly teach the first body, the second body, or both, comprise mold compound including a magnetic filler material. However, “molded” is considered a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
Nonetheless, Yan teaches an inductor device (FIG. 3), wherein the first body 191, the second body, or both, comprise mold compound including a magnetic filler material (paras. [0013]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic molded compound as taught by Yan to the inductive device of Xu to improve inductance.
With respect to claim 19, Xu teaches the method of claim 16, wherein providing the first packaged device comprises:
at least partially encapsulating the first conductor layer and the first set of external connectors in the body (para. [0012]). Xu does not expressly teach
at least partially encapsulating the first conductor layer and the first set of external connectors in a mold compound; and
curing the mold compound to form the first body.
Yan teaches a method, wherein providing the first packaged device comprises:
at least partially encapsulating the first conductor layer 14a2 and the first set of external connectors (not expressly shown) in a mold compound 191; and
curing the mold compound to form the first body (para. [0013]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to encapsulate the first conductor layer in mold compound and curing the mold compound as taught by Yan to the method of Xu to provide the required protection against foreign objects.
With respect to claim 20, Xu in view of Yan teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the first conductor layer comprises a portion of a lead frame structure (“leadframe”), and further comprising separating the first conductor layer from the lead frame structure (Yan, para. [0019]).
With respect to claim 21, Xu teaches the method of claim 16, wherein providing the second packaged device comprises:
at least partially encapsulating the second conductor layer and the second set of external connectors in the second body (para. [0012]). Xu does not expressly teach
at least partially encapsulating the second conductor layer and the second set of external connectors in a mold compound; and
curing the mold compound to form the second body.
Yan teaches a method, wherein providing the second packaged device comprises:
at least partially encapsulating the second conductor layer 14a1 and the second set of external connectors (not expressly shown) in a mold compound 191; and
curing the mold compound to form the second body (para. [0013]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to encapsulate the second conductor layer in mold compound and curing the mold compound as taught by Yan to the method of Xu to provide the required protection against foreign objects.
With respect to claim 22, Xu teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the second conductor layer comprises a portion of a lead frame structure, and further comprising separating the second conductor layer from the lead frame structure (Yan, para. [0019]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of Leipold et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0084379 A1, hereinafter “Leipold”).
With respect to claim 7, Xu teaches the inductive device of claim 1. Xu does not expressly teach each conductive line of the first set of conductive lines and each conductive line of the second set of conductive lines has a thickness, measured along the third direction, of between 50 and 150 micrometers.
Leipold teaches an inductive device (FIG. 3), wherein each conductive line of the first set of conductive lines 68 and each conductive line of the second set of conductive lines 68 has a thickness, measured along the third direction, of between 50 and 150 micrometers (para. [0038]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the conductive line thickness as taught by Leipold to the inductive device of Xu to provide the required current density to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 15, Xu teaches the device of claim 11. Xu does not expressly teach each conductive line of the first set of conductive lines and each conductive line of the second set of conductive lines has a thickness of between 50 and 150 micrometers.
Leipold teaches a device (FIG. 3), wherein each conductive line of the first set of conductive lines 68 and each conductive line of the second set of conductive lines has a thickness of between 50 and 150 micrometers (para. [0038]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the conductive line thickness as taught by Leipold to the device of Xu to provide the required current density to meet design requirements.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Hoeglauer, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Ikriannikov et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,263,177 B1).
With respect to claim 18, Xu in view of Hoeglauer teaches the method of claim 17. Xu in view of Hoeglauer does not expressly teach physically connecting at least one external lead of the set of external leads to the circuit board without forming an electrical connection between the at least one external lead and any circuit component of the circuit board.
Best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Ikriannikov teaches a method (FIG. 2) comprising physically connecting at least one external lead (not expressly shown) of the set of external leads to the circuit board 204 without forming an electrical connection between the at least one external lead and any circuit component of the circuit board (para. [0053]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the external lead connection to the circuit board as taught by Ikriannikov to the method of Xu in view of Hoeglauer to facilitate manufacturing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837