Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Scouarnec et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0254533) in view of Guetz et al. (US Patent no. 6091777), and further in view of Ryu et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2006/0233235).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Scouarnec discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more processors (See Scouarnec [0013]); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by the one or more processors, are to cause a content provider in a network (See Scouarnec [0001], [0029]-[0030]) to: identify a request by a client over the network for content (See Scouarnec [0020], [0043]), identify a network bandwidth (See Scouarnec [0044]); and transmit, based on the network bandwidth, (1) a base layer of the content without an enhanced layer of the content, or (2) the base layer of the content and the enhanced layer of the content (See Scouarnec [0009], [0013] and [0091]).
It is noted that Scouarnec is silent about wherein the base layer renditions are continuously pulled as claimed in the newly amended claim.
However, Guetz et al. teaches wherein the base layer renditions are continuously pulled (See Guetz col. 5, lines 37-57, and col. 18, lines 28-45).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Scouarnec to incorporate Guetz’s teachings wherein the base layer renditions are continuously pulled. The motivation for performing such a modification in Scouarnec is to allow each client to use the base layer to receive a coarse version of the image and more details can be fetched by using more details available in successive subbands as taught by Guetz (See Guetz col. 9, lines 18-25).
It is also noted that the combination of Le Scouarnec and Guetz is silent about wherein the base layer is encoded with anchor frames inserted at equal intervals to segment a Group of Pictures (GOP) into sub-GOPs to enable switching between the base layer and the enhanced layer.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the base layer is encoded with anchor frames inserted at equal intervals to segment a Group of Pictures (GOP) into sub-GOPs to enable switching between the base layer and the enhanced layer (See Ryu [0036] “intra refresh operation is performed every 3 frames”, [0037] “A total number of bits in a GOP is 28. Therefore, in the present invention, the size in bits of an I frame, which is a first frame of a GOP, is about 5.5, while, in the prior art, the size in bits of an I frame is 8.” , [0046] and channel switching in [0003]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Le Scouarnec and Guetz to incorporate Ryu’s teachings wherein the base layer is encoded with anchor frames inserted at equal intervals to segment a Group of Pictures (GOP) into sub-GOPs to enable switching between the base layer and the enhanced layer. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Le Scouarnec and Guetz is to minimize the random access delay and to regulate the bit rate as taught by Ryu (See Ryu [0018]).
As per claim 17, Scouarnec discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors, are to cause a content provider in a network (See Scouarnec [0137] and [0029]) to:identify a request by a client over the network for content (See Scouarnec [0020], [0043]); identify a network bandwidth (See Scouarnec [0044]); and transmit, based on the network bandwidth, (1) a base layer of the content without an enhanced layer of the content, or (2) the base layer of the content and the enhanced layer of the content (See Scouarnec [0009], [0013] and [0091]).
It is noted that Scouarnec is silent about wherein the base layer renditions are continuously pulled as claimed in the newly amended claim.
However, Guetz et al. teaches wherein the base layer renditions are continuously pulled (See Guetz col. 5, lines 37-57, and col. 18, lines 28-45).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Scouarnec to incorporate Guetz’s teachings wherein the base layer renditions are continuously pulled. The motivation for performing such a modification in Scouarnec is to allow each client to use the base layer to receive a coarse version of the image and more details can be fetched by using more details available in successive subbands as taught by Guetz (See Guetz col. 9, lines 18-25).
It is also noted that the combination of Le Scouarnec and Guetz is silent about wherein the base layer is encoded with anchor frames inserted at equal intervals to segment a Group of Pictures (GOP) into sub-GOPs to enable switching between the base layer and the enhanced layer.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the base layer is encoded with anchor frames inserted at equal intervals to segment a Group of Pictures (GOP) into sub-GOPs to enable switching between the base layer and the enhanced layer (See Ryu [0036] “intra refresh operation is performed every 3 frames”, [0037] “A total number of bits in a GOP is 28. Therefore, in the present invention, the size in bits of an I frame, which is a first frame of a GOP, is about 5.5, while, in the prior art, the size in bits of an I frame is 8.” , [0046] and channel switching in [0003]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Le Scouarnec and Guetz to incorporate Ryu’s teachings wherein the base layer is encoded with anchor frames inserted at equal intervals to segment a Group of Pictures (GOP) into sub-GOPs to enable switching between the base layer and the enhanced layer. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Le Scouarnec and Guetz is to minimize the random access delay and to regulate the bit rate as taught by Ryu (See Ryu [0018]).
As per claims 2 and 10, Scouarnec discloses wherein the content is encoded in accordance with scalable video coding (SVC) (See Scouarnec [0039]).
As per claims 3 and 11, providing anchor frame in the SVC is considered as an inherent feature of the bitstream which is constructed with a sequence of IBBPBB, IBBPBB, IBBPBB where the I is the intraframe or the anchor frame as disclosed in Scouarnec [0136] or [0133].
As per claims 4-5 and 12-13, Scouarnec discloses wherein the content is transmitted based on hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) adaptive bitrate (ABR) streaming, and wherein the HTTP ABR protocol includes support for one or both of layered renditions and layered representation. (See Scouarnec [0034]).
As per claims 7, 15 and 19, Scouarnec discloses wherein if the base layer and the enhanced layer are transmitted, the base layer and enhanced layer are transmitted in concurrent communication channels (See Scouarnec [0056]).
5. Claims 6, 8, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Scouarnec et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0254533) in view of Guetz et al. (US Patent no. 6091777) and Ryu et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2006/0233235) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (US Patent no. 9,306,708).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 14, 16, 18 and 20, it is noted that although the combination of Scouarnec, Guetz and Ryu provides bitrates to the layers (See Scouarnec [0091]), it is silent about specifically indicating wherein the enhanced layer of the content has a bit rate that is higher than that of the base layer of content, and wherein the enhanced layer is one of a plurality of enhanced layers that have respective bit rates that are higher than a bit rate of the base layer.
However, Lu teaches wherein the enhanced layer of the content has a bit rate that is higher than that of the base layer of content, and wherein the enhanced layer is one of a plurality of enhanced layers that have respective bit rates that are higher than a bit rate of the base layer (See Lu col. 10, lines 37-67 and col. 11, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Scouarnec, Guetz and Ryu to incorporate Lu’s teachings wherein the enhanced layer of the content has a bit rate that is higher than that of the base layer of content, and wherein the enhanced layer is one of a plurality of enhanced layers that have respective bit rates that are higher than a bit rate of the base layer. The motivation for performing such a modification in the proposed combination of Scouarnec, Guetz and Ryu is to perform the proper assignment of the layers based on the priority level at the receiving end.
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424