Claim(s) 34-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 34, Mayrand et al disclose the claimed boat 1 with a hull (Figure 1) including a bow, a transom, port and starboard sides, a seat support structure having at least one hidden compartment 422 therein, a seat supported by the seat support structure (Figure 4), the seat including a seat bottom 212, 512 movable between a first position and a second position (Figures 4, 6, 12), the second position being a position in which the seat bottom allows access (Figures 6, 12) to the compartment and a leg rest 514 extending in a direction away from the seat bottom. With respect to claims 35-40, note Mayrand et al, Figures 1, 4, 6, 12.
Claim(s) 21-24 and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 5795017; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 21, Mayrand et al disclose the claimed boat 1 with a hull (Figure 1) including a bow, a transom, port and starboard sides, a seat support structure having at least one hidden compartment therein, a seat supported by the seat support structure (Figure 4), the seat including a seat bottom 212, 512 movable between a first position and a second position (Figures 4, 6, 12), the second position being a position in which the seat bottom allows access (Figures 6, 12) to the compartment and a leg rest 514 extending in a direction away from the seat bottom. Not disclosed by Mayrand et al is a leg rest with a surface gap such that the distal end is not supported below the leg rest. Zimmerman et al teach a leg rest with a surface gap such that the distal end is not supported below the leg rest (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mayrand et al with the leg rest with a surface gap such that the distal end is not supported below the leg rest as taught by Zimmerman et al with a high likelihood of success for improved comfort, increased reliability and durability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. With respect to claims 22-24 and 26-33, note Mayrand et al, Figures 1, 4, 6, 12.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 5795017; cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Franklin (US 4085473; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 25, not disclosed by Mayrand et al is the leg rest extending aft of the transom. Franklin teaches an aft boat seat that extends aft of the boat transom (Figures 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mayrand et al with the boat seat extending aft of the transom as taught by Franklin with a high likelihood of success for improved fishing. Note if the seat is aft of the transom the leg rest would inherently be aft of the transom. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that Mayrand does not disclose a hidden compartment. However, Mayrand clearly discloses a hidden compartment 422.
Applicant further alleges that the combination of features of Mayrand and Zimmerman to add a leg rest to the seat assembly of Mayrand would not have been obvious because Zimmerman is drawn to a fishing chair. However, to the contrary, fishing from the stern of a watercraft is well known. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been familiar with various watercraft chairs and chairs in general. Such a person would have known that boaters often fish from the stern area of watercraft and would have found the addition of a leg rest as taught by Zimmerman would have been obvious when combined with the seating assembly of Mayrand.
Applicant has not separately argued against the Franklin combination so that rejection is deemed to be proper.
The terminal disclaimer filed by Applicant has overcome the double patenting rejections.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615