Claim(s) 34-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 34, Mayrand et al disclose the claimed boat 1 with a hull (Figure 1) including a bow, a transom, port and starboard sides, a seat support structure having at least one hidden compartment therein, a seat supported by the seat support structure (Figure 4), the seat including a seat bottom 212, 512 movable between a first position and a second position (Figures 4, 6, 12), the second position being a position in which the seat bottom allows access (Figures 6, 12) to the compartment and a leg rest 514 extending in a direction away from the seat bottom. With respect to claims 35-40, note Mayrand et al, Figures 1, 4, 6, 12.
Claim(s) 21-24 and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 5795017; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 21, Mayrand et al disclose the claimed boat 1 with a hull (Figure 1) including a bow, a transom, port and starboard sides, a seat support structure having at least one hidden compartment therein, a seat supported by the seat support structure (Figure 4), the seat including a seat bottom 212, 512 movable between a first position and a second position (Figures 4, 6, 12), the second position being a position in which the seat bottom allows access (Figures 6, 12) to the compartment and a leg rest 514 extending in a direction away from the seat bottom. Not disclosed by Mayrand et al is a leg rest with a surface gap such that the distal end is not supported below the leg rest. Zimmerman et al teach a leg rest with a surface gap such that the distal end is not supported below the leg rest (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mayrand et al with the leg rest with a surface gap such that the distal end is not supported below the leg rest as taught by Zimmerman et al with a high likelihood of success for improved comfort, increased reliability and durability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. With respect to claims 22-24 and 26-33, note Mayrand et al, Figures 1, 4, 6, 12.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 5795017; cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Franklin (US 4085473; cited by Applicant). With respect to claim 25, not disclosed by Mayrand et al is the leg rest extending aft of the transom. Franklin teaches an aft boat seat that extends aft of the boat transom (Figures 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Mayrand et al with the boat seat extending aft of the transom as taught by Franklin with a high likelihood of success for improved fishing. Note if the seat is aft of the transom the leg rest would inherently be aft of the transom. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10336411 or claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9650117 or claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10604217 in view of Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant) and Zimmerman et al (US 5795017). Not disclosed by the patents are leg rest having an upper portion and a lower end, with the leg rest being supported at the upper portion and having a length such that gap is present between the lower end of the leg rest and a surface beneath the leg rest. Mayrand et al teach a boat including a seat with a leg rest 514, the leg rest extending in a direction that is at a downward angle relative to the seat bottom. Zimmerman et al teach a boat (column 1, lines 10-15), a seat 54 including a leg rest 60, 62, the leg rest extending in a direction that is at a downward angle relative to the seat bottom, the leg rest having a length such that a gap is present between the leg rest and surface beneath the leg rest. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Gratz et al with a leg rest having an upper portion and a lower end, with the leg rest being supported at the upper portion including sliding for retraction as taught by Mayrand et al for improved user comfort and leg rest storage and having a length such that gap is present between the lower end of the leg rest and a surface beneath the leg rest and with the leg rest at an oblique angle and being pivoted as taught by Zimmerman et al for improved user comfort.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11673626. The claims are encompassed by the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending U.S. Patent No. 12312049. in view of Mayrand et al (US 2010/0319604; cited by Applicant) and Zimmerman et al (US 5795017). Not disclosed by the patents are leg rest having an upper portion and a lower end, with the leg rest being supported at the upper portion and having a length such that gap is present between the lower end of the leg rest and a surface beneath the leg rest. Mayrand et al teach a boat including a seat with a leg rest 514, the leg rest extending in a direction that is at a downward angle relative to the seat bottom. Zimmerman et al teach a boat (column 1, lines 10-15), a seat 54 including a leg rest 60, 62, the leg rest extending in a direction that is at a downward angle relative to the seat bottom, the leg rest having a length such that a gap is present between the leg rest and surface beneath the leg rest. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Gratz et al with a leg rest having an upper portion and a lower end, with the leg rest being supported at the upper portion including sliding for retraction as taught by Mayrand et al for improved user comfort and leg rest storage and having a length such that gap is present between the lower end of the leg rest and a surface beneath the leg rest and with the leg rest at an oblique angle and being pivoted as taught by Zimmerman et al for improved user comfort.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11091230 in view of Zimmerman et al (US 5795017). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the patented device with a leg rest having a length such that gap is present between the lower end of the leg rest and a surface beneath the leg rest and with the leg rest at an oblique angle and being pivoted as taught by Zimmerman et al for improved user comfort. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wainright et al (GB 2379193) shows a boat seat and swim platform.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615