DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated July 31, 2026, claims 1-15, 17-18 and 20 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 10, 13-15 and 17 are amended and claims 16 and 19 are presently cancelled. It is noted that claim 19 was indicated as allowable subject matter in the action dated May 7, 2026. This claim has been incorporated verbatim into independent claim 15.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on August 13, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18317487 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 31, 2026. These drawings are accepted and entered.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Yan does not teach or suggest that adaptor plate 3 cooperates with transmitting plate 2 to device a positioning groove for positioning the electronic device (see page 11 of the applicant remarks).
However, the transmitting plate 2 and the adapter plate 3 cooperate to form the recess 13 in that the adapter plate 3 raises the transmitting plate 2 in order to form the groove thus providing a cooperation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan US20170222680A1.
Regarding claim 1. Yan discloses a charging device (FIG. 1-4), comprising:
a first housing (1);
a second housing (2) connected to the first housing (FIG. 2) and rotatable relative to the first housing (see FIG. 2), the second housing being configured to hold an electronic device (5);
a charging assembly (¶24 – transmitting coil) received in the second housing (2), the charging assembly being configured to charge the electronic device (¶26 – wireless charging receiving coil in the electronic equipment 5 is aligned with the coil in the transmitting plate); and
a holder (3) connected to the first housing (1) and rotatable along with rotation of the second housing (2) (FIGS. 2-3), the holder being configured to switch between a protruding state, in which the holder extends out of the first housing (FIGS. 2-3; ¶24), and a receiving state, in which the holder is received in the first housing (FIG. 4; ¶24 – box body 1 is provided with a groove 11 for accommodating the adapter plate 3; ¶26 – adapter plate 3 is pressed by the transmitting plate 2 in the groove 11).
wherein the charging device is configured to switch between a horizontal state (FIG. 1) and a vertical state (FIG. 2/3/7);
when the charging device is in the vertical state(FIG. 3), the holder (3) and the second housing (2) cooperate to define a positioning groove (13) to position the electronic device (FIG. 3 – the transmitting plate 2 and the adapter plate 3 cooperate to form the recess 13 in that the adapter plate 3 raises the transmitting plate 2 in order to form the groove thus providing a cooperation).
Regarding claim 3. Yin discloses that the first housing (1) comprises a first sub-housing (bottom of 1) and a second sub-housing (top/12),
wherein a protruding portion (side of 1) (illustrated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 3 below) is arranged on a side of the second sub-housing (top/12 of 1), distal from the first sub-housing (arranged opposite); and
wherein when the holder (3) is in the receiving state, a surface of the holder (3) is flush with a surface of the protruding portion (FIG. 2 illustrates that when the holder 3 is in the closed position, a portion of the holder will be flush with a side of the protruding portion).
Regarding claim 4. Yan discloses a clearance space is defined between the second housing (2) and the holder (3), the clearance space being configured to allow the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing (FIG. 3 illustrates sufficient space to allow the second housing 2 to rotate relative to the first housing 1).
Regarding claim 10. Yan discloses wherein when the holder is in the receiving state, the charging device is in the horizontal state, where the second housing is parallel to the first housing state (FIG. 1 – the device is folded); and
wherein when the holder is the protruding state, the charging device is in the vertical state, where the angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing (FIGS. 2/7).
Regarding claim 13. Yan discloses that the charging device further comprises a transmission member (FIG. 6 at 31); and
wherein when the second housing (2) is rotating relative to the first housing (1), the second housing (2) is configured to drive the transmission member (31) to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to rotate (Fig. 3 – holder drives the second housing to rotated when the arc 31 is rotated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Loo US9823631B1.
Regarding claim 2. Yan discloses an angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing when the second housing is rotating relative to the first housing (FIG. 3 illustrates that the second housing 2 is rotated at an angle from housing 1).
Yan does not explicitly teach that when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder; and wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle, the second housing is configured to drive the holder to rotate.
Loo teaches that when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder (column 7, lines 1-9 – maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance, thus, the angle is at least equal to a preset angle); and
wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle, the second housing is configured to drive the holder to rotate (column 7, lines 1-9 – maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance).
Loo is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the angle settings of Loo to the device of Yan in order to provide acceptable visual performance (Loo; column 7, lines 1-9).
Claims 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Rohmer et al. US20170025886A1
Regarding claim 5. Yan discloses that the second housing (2) comprises a third sub-housing (bottom of 2) and a fourth sub-housing (top of 2), the third sub-housing being closer to the first sub-housing (bottom of 1) than the fourth sub-housing (FIG. 1),
Yan does not explicitly disclose a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder near the fourth sub-housing, and wherein a second rotation portion and a third rotation portion are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder, the second rotation portion being further away from the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion, and the third rotation portion being closer to the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion.
Rohmer discloses a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder (30-144) near the fourth sub-housing (20-2) (FIGS. 5A-5E), and
wherein a second rotation portion (end portion of hinge slot 20-26) and a third rotation portion (sidewall of hinge slot 20-26) are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder (30-144) (as illustrated in reproduced and annotated FIG. 5E below), the second rotation portion (end portion of hinge slot 20-26) being further away from the first sub-housing (wall plate 30-14) than the first rotation portion (the end portion of the hinge slot is further away from the top of 30-14 than the first rotation portion when in the open position), and the third rotation portion (sidewall of hinge slot 20-26) being closer to the first sub-housing (30-14) than the first rotation portion (the sidewall of hinge slot 20-26 is closer to 30-14 when in the open position) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 6. Yan does not explicitly teach that the holder, the first rotation portion, the fourth sub-housing, and the second rotation portion surround an area to define the clearance space.
Rohmer discloses that the holder (30-144), the first rotation portion, the fourth sub-housing, and the second rotation portion (as illustrated in annotated and reproduced FIG. 5E above in claim 5) surround an area to define the clearance space (the area of that defined by the rotation portions and the holder define a space that allows for rotation, thus having a clearance space).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 7. Yan does not explicitly disclose that a surface of the holder distal from the first sub-housing, a surface of the second rotation portion distal from the first sub-housing, and a surface of the fourth sub-housing distal from the first sub-housing are flush with each other.
Rohmer discloses a surface of the holder distal from the first sub-housing (wall plate 30-14), a surface of the second rotation portion distal from the first sub-housing, and a surface of the fourth sub-housing distal from the first sub-housing are flush with each other (FIG. 5E- the ends of the rotation portions furthest away from the surface of wall plate 30-14 each meet and are flush with each other; Further illustrated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 5B below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 11. Yan does not explicitly disclose that the horizontal state comprises an initial state and a rearward state; and wherein in the initial state, the second housing abuts the holder, and in the rearward state, the clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder.
Rohmer discloses that the horizontal state comprises an initial state (¶160 – inclination angle has a closed or “stowed position) and a rearward state (¶160 – open “in use” position inclined at an angle of 0-20 degrees from the wall); and
wherein in the initial state, the second housing abuts the holder (¶160 – inclination angle has a closed or “stowed position), and in the rearward state, the clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder (¶160 – open “in use” position inclined at an angle of 0-20 degrees from the wall).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Zheng CN209948763U.
Regarding claim 8. Yan does not explicitly disclose that the second housing is further configured to be translational relative to the first housing to define the clearance space.
Zheng discloses that the second housing (2) is further configured to be translational relative to the first housing (3) to define the clearance space (page 4, ¶3 – drive screw 7 rotates causing displacement and thus the base mechanism 2 is translated relative to the containing shell 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provide improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 14. Yan does not explicitly teach that the second housing is separated from the first housing by a distance when the second housing is translating relative to the second housing wherein when the distance is greater than the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive.
Zheng discloses that the second housing (1/2) is separated from the first housing (3) by a distance when the second housing is translating relative to the second housing (FIG. 2 –the base mechanism rotates at an angle to the shell 3 as the screw is rotated and displacing the displacement block 8)
wherein when the distance is greater than the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive (page 3, last paragraph - when the angle needs to adjust, the screw 7 is actuated such that the displacement member is moved along the screw length, thus charging the distance).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provide improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1.
Regarding claim 9. Yan does not explicitly teach that a motor assembly, the motor assembly being rotatably connected to the second housing, and the motor assembly being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
Dunkley discloses a motor assembly (20), the motor assembly being rotatably connected to the second housing (FIG. 3 – the motor is connected to the lid portion of the laptop at the lateral edge 32), and the motor assembly being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing (¶12 – gears are rotatably coupled to the laptop computer 12).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Leem WO2019190091A1
Regarding claim 12. Yan discloses that the charging assembly comprises a charging coil (¶24 – transmitting plate provided with a transmitting coil).
Yan does not explicitly teach a heat dissipation bracket, the charging coil being arranged on the heat dissipation bracket.
Leem discloses a heat dissipation bracket (heat dissipation sheet 300), the charging coil being arranged on the heat dissipation bracket (page 10, ¶3 – heat dissipation sheet 300 may support the wireless charging coil module).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the heat dissipation support of Leem to the charging device of Yan in order to prevent overheating and damage to the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 17-18 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 15, although the prior art discloses a charging device having a first and second housing where the second housing is connected to the first housing and rotatable relative to the first housing, a charging assembly, and a motor assembly where a processor of the charging device is connected to the motor assembly and transmits control signals, the prior art does not disclose “the charging device further comprises a first switch and a second switch, each of the first switch and the second switch being electrically connected to the processor; wherein when the first switch is pressed, the first switch is configured to transmit a vertical signal to the processor, and the processor is configured to transmit the first control signal to the motor assembly according to the vertical signal, and the first control signal being configured to drive the motor assembly to rotate in the first direction; wherein when the second switch is pressed, the second switch is configured to transmit a horizontal signal to the processor, the processor being configured to transmit a third control signal to the motor assembly according to the horizontal signal, and the third control signal is configured to drive the motor assembly to rotate in a second direction, opposite the first direction”.
Claims 17-18 and 20 are allowable at least by virtue of their dependency from an allowed claim.
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheu et al. US20160064987A1 (cited in the IDS filed on 6/3/2026) discloses a groove 40 to position the electronic device.
Yu et al. CN203466598U (cited in the IDS filed on 6/3/2026) discloses a groove formed for positioning the electronic device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859