DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated May 15, 2023, claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the quality is such that it cannot be determined from the provided figures which feature is being referenced. By way of example, in FIG. 4, it is uncertain which feature is being referenced by element 40 or 22, further the difference between elements 30 and 300 is indistinguishable. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “drive the transmission member to connect to the holder” from claim 14 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 and 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first sub-housing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “drives the holder to drive” in line 5. It is unclear what the holder is being driven to do. Appropriate amendment or clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “drive the transmission member to connect to the holder”. It is uncertain how the transmission member 70 is driven to connect to the holder 40 as from FIG. 29 the holder 40 is already connected to the transmission member 70.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 and 9-10, 12, 15-16 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 12-13, 16 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18317487 (reference application).
Reference Application (18317487)
Present Application
1. A charging device, comprising: a first housing; a second housing rotatably connected to the first housing and configured to hold an electronic device; a charging assembly received in the second housing and configured to charge the electronic device; and a holder rotatable relative to the first housing and rotatable along with rotation of the second housing, and the holder being configured to switch between an extending-out state where a portion of the holder extends out of the first housing and a receiving state where the portion of the holder is received in the first housing.
1. A charging device, comprising: a first housing; a second housing connected to the first housing and rotatable relative to the first housing, the second housing being configured to hold an electronic device; a charging assembly received in the second housing, the charging assembly being configured to charge the electronic device; and a holder connected to the first housing and rotatable along with rotation of the second housing, the holder being configured to switch between a protruding state, in which the holder extends out of the first housing, and a receiving state, in which the holder is received in the first housing.
3. The charging device of claim 2, wherein: the first housing comprises a first sub-housing and a second sub-housing connected to the first sub-housing, wherein the first sub-housing and the second sub-housing cooperate to define a first receiving space; the first housing further comprises a protruding portion provided at a side of the second sub-housing away from the first sub-housing, wherein the protruding portion has two opposite first side walls and a second side wall connected between the two first side walls, wherein the first side walls and the second side wall cooperate to define a second receiving space connected to the first receiving space; and the second housing is rotatably connected to the first side walls.
7. The charging device of claim 6, wherein when the holder is in the receiving state, a side surface of the holder away from the first sub-housing is flush with a side surface of the top wall away from the first sub-housing.
3. The charging device according to claim 1, wherein the first housing comprises a first sub-housing and a second sub-housing, wherein a protruding portion is arranged on a side of the second sub-housing, distal from the first sub-housing; and wherein when the holder is in the receiving state, a surface of the holder is flush with a surface of the protruding portion.
12. The charging device of claim 3, further comprising a motor assembly, wherein the motor assembly is received in the first receiving space, connected to the second housing, and configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
9. The charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device further comprises a motor assembly, the motor assembly being rotatably connected to the second housing, and the motor assembly being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
1. A charging device, comprising… the holder being configured to switch between an extending-out state where a portion of the holder extends out of the first housing and a receiving state where the portion of the holder is received in the first housing.
20. The charging device of claim 1, wherein: the first housing has a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and a third surface connecting the first surface and the second surface, wherein the second surface is configured to partially abut against the second housing, and when the holder is in the extending- out state, the holder extends out of the first housing from the second surface; and the charging device has a horizontal state and a vertical state, wherein in the horizontal state, the second housing is parallel to the first housing, in the vertical state, the second housing is angled relative to the first housing, and when the charging device is in the vertical state, the holder is perpendicular to the second housing.
10. The charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging device has a horizontal state and a vertical state; and wherein when the holder is in the receiving state, the charging device is in the horizontal state, where the second housing is parallel to the first housing state; and wherein when the holder is the protruding state, the charging device is in the vertical state, where the angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing.
19. The charging device of claim 13, … and the charging assembly is received in the third receiving space and comprises a charging coil and a heat dissipation support, wherein the charging coil is disposed on the heat dissipation support …
12. The charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charging assembly comprises a charging coil and a heat dissipation bracket, the charging coil being arranged on the heat dissipation bracket.
1. A charging device, comprising: a first housing; a second housing rotatably connected to the first housing and configured to hold an electronic device; a charging assembly received in the second housing and configured to charge the electronic device; . . .
12. The charging device of claim 3, further comprising a motor assembly, wherein the motor assembly is received in the first receiving space, connected to the second housing, and configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
13. The charging device of claim 12, further comprising a processor received in the first receiving space, wherein the processor is electrically connected to the motor assembly, configured to send a first control signal to the motor assembly to start the motor assembly, and further configured to send a second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly.
15. A charging device, comprising: a first housing; a second housing connected to the first housing and rotatable relative to the first housing, the second housing being configured to hold an electronic device; a charging assembly received in the second housing, the charging assembly being configured to charge the electronic device; and a motor assembly being configured to receive a first control signal and a second control signal, the first control signal being configured to cause the motor assembly to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing, and the second control signal being configured to cause the motor assembly to stop.
13. The charging device of claim 12, further comprising a processor received in the first receiving space, wherein the processor is electrically connected to the motor assembly, configured to send a first control signal to the motor assembly to start the motor assembly, and further configured to send a second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly.
16. The charging device according to claim 15, wherein the charging device further comprises a processor, the processor being electrically connected to the motor assembly, and the processor being configured to transmit the first control signal and the second control signal.
16. The charging device of claim 13, further comprising a first switch and a second switch received in the first receiving space, wherein both the first switch and the second switch are electrically connected to the processor, and wherein the first switch is configured to send a vertical signal to the processor in response to pressing of the first switch, and the processor is further configured to send the first control signal to the motor assembly according to the vertical signal, and the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate in a first direction according to the first control signal; and the second switch is configured to send a horizontal signal to the processor in response to pressing of the second switch, and the processor is further configured to send a third control signal to the motor assembly according to the horizontal signal, and the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate in a second direction according to the third control signal, wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction.
19. The charging device according to claim 16, wherein the charging device further comprises a first switch and a second switch, each of the first switch and the second switch being electrically connected to the processor; wherein when the first switch is pressed, the first switch is configured to transmit a vertical signal to the processor, and the processor is configured to transmit the first control signal to the motor assembly according to the vertical signal, and the first control signal being configured to drive the motor assembly to rotate in the first direction; wherein when the second switch is pressed, the second switch is configured to transmit a horizontal signal to the processor, the processor being configured to transmit a third control signal to the motor assembly according to the horizontal signal, and the third control signal is configured to drive the motor assembly to rotate in a second direction, opposite the first direction.
Regarding claim 1, although the reference claim does not explicitly state “a protruding state”, but rather a “extending out state”, the claim goes on to define the states as being the same, thus, claim 1 of the present application is patentably indistinct from claim 1 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 9, although the reference claim does not explicitly recite the motor assembly being rotatably connected to the second housing, because the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate, it is understood that the motor assembly is rotatably connected to the second housing.
Regarding claim 10, although the reference claim does not explicitly state “a protruding state”, but rather a “extending out state”, the claim goes on to define the states as being the same, thus, claim 10 of the present application is patentably indistinct from claim 20 of the reference application.
Regarding claim 12, although the reference claim does not explicitly state a “bracket”, but rather a “support”, a person of ordinary skill would understand that a bracket and a support are equivalents.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Loo US9823631B1.
Reference Application (18317487)
Present Application
2. The charging device of claim 1, further comprising a transmission member connected to the holder and the second housing, wherein when the second housing rotates relative to the first housing, the second housing drives the holder to rotate through indirection cooperation between the transmission member and the holder.
2. The charging device according to claim 1, wherein an angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing when the second housing is rotating relative to the first housing; wherein when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder; and wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle, the second housing is configured to drive the holder to rotate.
Regarding claim 2, the reference claims do not explicitly teach an angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing and wherein when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder; and wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when the second housing rotates relative to the first housing and angle will be formed due to the rotation.
Loo teaches that when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder (column 7, lines 1-9 – maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance, thus, the angle is at least equal to a preset angle); and
wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle, the second housing is configured to drive the holder to rotate (column 7, lines 1-9 – maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance).
Loo is analogous to the reference claims as both relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the angle settings of Loo to the device of the reference claims in order to provide acceptable visual performance (Loo; column 7, lines 1-9).
Claims 4 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Yan US20170222680A1.
Regarding claim 4. The reference claims do not explicitly teach a clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder, the clearance space being configured to allow the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
Yan discloses a clearance space is defined between the second housing (2) and the holder (3), the clearance space being configured to allow the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing (FIG. 3 illustrates sufficient space to allow the second housing 2 to rotate relative to the first housing 1).
Yan is analogous to the reference claims as both are related to adjusting a wireless charger for viewing the electronics. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Yan to the reference claims in order to conveniently adjust the position of the transmitting plate (Yan; ¶5).
Regarding claim 13. The reference claims do not explicitly teach the charging device further comprises a transmission member; and wherein when the second housing is rotating relative to the first housing, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive.
Yan discloses that the charging device further comprises a transmission member (FIG. 6 at 31); and
wherein when the second housing (2) is rotating relative to the first housing (1), the second housing (2) is configured to drive the transmission member (31) to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive (Fig. 3 – holder drives the second housing to rotated when the arc 31 is rotated).
Yan is analogous to the reference claims as both are related to adjusting a wireless charger for viewing the electronics. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Yan to the reference claims in order to conveniently adjust the position of the transmitting plate (Yan; ¶5).
Claims 5-7 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 20 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Rohmer et al. US20170025886A1.
Reference Application (18317487)
Present Application
4. The charging device of claim 3, wherein: the first side wall defines a first rotation recess at a side close to the second receiving space; the second housing comprises a third sub-housing and a fourth sub-housing connected to the third sub-housing, wherein the third sub-housing is closer to the first sub-housing than the fourth sub-housing, …
5. The charging device according to claim 4, wherein the second housing comprises a third sub-housing and a fourth sub-housing, the third sub-housing being closer to the first sub-housing than the fourth sub-housing, and a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder near the fourth sub-housing, and wherein a second rotation portion and a third rotation portion are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder, the second rotation portion being further away from the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion, and the third rotation portion being closer to the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion.
Regarding claim 5, the reference claims do not explicitly teach a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder near the fourth sub-housing, and wherein a second rotation portion and a third rotation portion are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder, the second rotation portion being further away from the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion, and the third rotation portion being closer to the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion.
Rohmer discloses a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder (30-144) near the fourth sub-housing (20-2) (FIGS. 5A-5E), and
wherein a second rotation portion (end portion of hinge slot 20-26) and a third rotation portion (sidewall of hinge slot 20-26) are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder (30-144) (as illustrated in reproduced and annotated FIG. 5E below), the second rotation portion (end portion of hinge slot 20-26) being further away from the first sub-housing (wall plate 30-14) than the first rotation portion (the end portion of the hinge slot is further away from the top of 30-14 than the first rotation portion when in the open position), and the third rotation portion (sidewall of hinge slot 20-26) being closer to the first sub-housing (30-14) than the first rotation portion (the sidewall of hinge slot 20-26 is closer to 30-14 when in the open position) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of the reference claims in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 6. The reference claims do not explicitly teach that the holder, the first rotation portion, the fourth sub-housing, and the second rotation portion surround an area to define the clearance space.
Rohmer discloses that the holder (30-144), the first rotation portion, the fourth sub-housing, and the second rotation portion (as illustrated in annotated and reproduced FIG. 5E above in claim 5) surround an area to define the clearance space (the area of that defined by the rotation portions and the holder define a space that allows for rotation, thus having a clearance space).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of the reference claims in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 7. The reference claims do not explicitly disclose that a surface of the holder distal from the first sub-housing, a surface of the second rotation portion distal from the first sub-housing, and a surface of the fourth sub-housing distal from the first sub-housing are flush with each other.
Rohmer discloses a surface of the holder distal from the first sub-housing (wall plate 30-14), a surface of the second rotation portion distal from the first sub-housing, and a surface of the fourth sub-housing distal from the first sub-housing are flush with each other (FIG. 5E- the ends of the rotation portions furthest away from the surface of wall plate 30-14 each meet and are flush with each other; Further illustrated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 5B below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of the reference claims in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 11. The reference claims do not explicitly disclose that the horizontal state comprises an initial state and a rearward state; and wherein in the initial state, the second housing abuts the holder, and in the rearward state, the clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder.
Rohmer discloses that the horizontal state comprises an initial state (¶160 – inclination angle has a closed or “stowed position) and a rearward state (¶160 – open “in use” position inclined at an angle of 0-20 degrees from the wall); and
wherein in the initial state, the second housing abuts the holder (¶160 – inclination angle has a closed or “stowed position), and in the rearward state, the clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder (¶160 – open “in use” position inclined at an angle of 0-20 degrees from the wall).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of the reference claims in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Claims 8 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Zheng CN209948763U.
Regarding claim 8. The reference claims do not explicitly disclose that the second housing is further configured to be translational relative to the first housing to define the clearance space.
Zhang discloses that the second housing (2) is further configured to be translational relative to the first housing (3) to define the clearance space (page 4, ¶3 – drive screw 7 rotates causing displacement and thus the base mechanism 2 is translated relative to the containing shell 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 17. The reference claims do not explicitly disclose that the motor assembly comprises a motor and a slider, the motor being configured to drive the slider to slide, and the slide of the slider being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
Zheng discloses that the motor assembly comprises a motor (6) and a slider (8), the motor (6) being configured to drive the slider to slide (FIG. 2; page 3, last paragraph – as the motor causes the drive screw to rotate, the displacement block slides along the screw length) , and the slide of the slider being configured to drive the second housing (1/2) to rotate relative to the first housing (3) (FIG. 2 – the base mechanism rotates at an angle to the shell 3 as the screw is rotated and displacing the displacement block 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Yan US20170222680A1 and Zheng CN209948763U.
Regarding claim 14. The reference claims do not explicitly disclose that the second housing is separated from the first housing by a distance when the second housing is translating relative to the second housing; wherein when the distance is less than a preset value, there is a gap between the transmission member and the holder; wherein when the distance is the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to connect to the holder; and wherein when the distance is greater than the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive.
Zheng discloses that the second housing (1/2) is separated from the first housing (3) by a distance when the second housing is translating relative to the second housing (FIG. 2 –the base mechanism rotates at an angle to the shell 3 as the screw is rotated and displacing the displacement block 8)
wherein when the distance is less than a preset value, there is a gap between the transmission member (7) and the holder (10) (see FIG. 3);
wherein when the distance is the preset value, the second housing (1/2) is configured to drive the transmission member (7) to connect to the holder (10) (When the distance is at a maximum the holder will be arranged such that it is closer to the screw 7); and
wherein when the distance is greater than the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive (page 3, 2nd paragraph from end - when the angle needs to adjust, the screw 7 is actuated such that the displacement member is moved along the screw length, thus charging the distance).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Zheng CN209948763U and in further view of Loo US9823631B1.
14. The charging device of claim 13, further comprising a distance sensor received in the first receiving space, wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor and connected to the motor assembly, and wherein during operation of the motor assembly, the distance sensor is configured to send a distance signal to the processor . . .
18. The charging device according to claim 17, wherein the charging device further comprises a distance sensor; wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor, and configured to detect the sliding distance of the slider; wherein when the sliding distance of the slider is greater than or equal to a preset distance, the processor is configured to transmit the second control signal.
Regarding claim 18. The reference claims do not explicitly disclose to detect the sliding distance of the slider; wherein when the sliding distance of the slider is greater than or equal to a preset distance, the processor is configured to transmit the second control signal.
Zheng discloses that when the sliding distance of the slider is greater than or equal to a preset distance, the processor is configured to transmit the second control signal (page 3, 2nd paragraph from end – user can in real time control the driving part to adjust the angle of the mobile phone to ensure comfort of use, thus, when the correct angle is reached the adjustment is stopped).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Zheng does not explicitly disclose configured to detect the sliding distance of the slider;
When applied to Zheng, because the angle is changed by adjusting the sliding distance of the slider, it would be obvious to determine the amount of change needed for the sliding distance in order to provide a comfortable viewing angle of the screen (Loo; column 7, lines 1-9).
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/317,487 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1.
Regarding claim 20. The reference claims do not explicitly teach a transceiver, the transceiver being electrically connected to the motor assembly, the transceiver being configured to receive the first control signal and the second control signal transmitted by the electronic device.
Dunkley discloses a transceiver (44), the transceiver being electrically connected to the motor assembly (¶20 – transceiver 44 communicates with the processor providing a command to the motor), the transceiver being configured to receive the first control signal and the second control signal transmitted by the electronic device (¶19-20 – remote transceiver 44 is coupled to the remote control 42 which provides commands to the motor 20).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a char)ger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan US20170222680A1.
Regarding claim 1. Yan discloses a charging device (FIG. 1-4), comprising:
a first housing (1);
a second housing (2) connected to the first housing (FIG. 2) and rotatable relative to the first housing (see FIG. 2), the second housing being configured to hold an electronic device (5);
a charging assembly (¶24 – transmitting coil) received in the second housing (2), the charging assembly being configured to charge the electronic device (¶26 – wireless charging receiving coil in the electronic equipment 5 is aligned with the coil in the transmitting plate); and
a holder (3) connected to the first housing (1) and rotatable along with rotation of the second housing (2) (FIGS. 2-3), the holder being configured to switch between a protruding state, in which the holder extends out of the first housing (FIGS. 2-3; ¶24), and a receiving state, in which the holder is received in the first housing (FIG. 4; ¶24 – box body 1 is provided with a groove 11 for accommodating the adapter plate 3; ¶26 – adapter plate 3 is pressed by the transmitting plate 2 in the groove 11).
Regarding claim 3. Yin discloses that the first housing (1) comprises a first sub-housing (bottom of 1) and a second sub-housing (top/12),
wherein a protruding portion (side of 1) (illustrated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 3 below) is arranged on a side of the second sub-housing (top/12 of 1), distal from the first sub-housing (arranged opposite); and
wherein when the holder (3) is in the receiving state, a surface of the holder (3) is flush with a surface of the protruding portion (FIG. 2 illustrates that when the holder 3 is in the closed position, a portion of the holder will be flush with a side of the protruding portion).
Regarding claim 4. Yan discloses a clearance space is defined between the second housing (2) and the holder (3), the clearance space being configured to allow the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing (FIG. 3 illustrates sufficient space to allow the second housing 2 to rotate relative to the first housing 1).
Regarding claim 10. Yan discloses that the charging device has a horizontal state (FIG. 1) and a vertical state (FIG. 2/7); and
wherein when the holder is in the receiving state, the charging device is in the horizontal state, where the second housing is parallel to the first housing state (FIG. 1); and
wherein when the holder is the protruding state, the charging device is in the vertical state, where the angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing (FIGS. 2/7).
Regarding claim 13. Yan discloses that the charging device further comprises a transmission member (FIG. 6 at 31); and
wherein when the second housing (2) is rotating relative to the first housing (1), the second housing (2) is configured to drive the transmission member (31) to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive (Fig. 3 – holder drives the second housing to rotated when the arc 31 is rotated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Loo US9823631B1.
Regarding claim 2. Yan discloses an angle is formed between the second housing and the first housing when the second housing is rotating relative to the first housing (FIG. 3 illustrates that the second housing 2 is rotated at an angle from housing 1).
Yan does not explicitly teach that when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder; and wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle, the second housing is configured to drive the holder to rotate.
Loo teaches that when the angle is a preset angle, the second housing is configured to abut the holder (column 7, lines 1-9 – maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance, thus, the angle is at least equal to a preset angle); and
wherein when the angle is larger than the preset angle, the second housing is configured to drive the holder to rotate (column 7, lines 1-9 – maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance).
Loo is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the angle settings of Loo to the device of Yan in order to provide acceptable visual performance (Loo; column 7, lines 1-9).
Claims 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Rohmer et al. US20170025886A1
Regarding claim 5. Yan discloses that the second housing (2) comprises a third sub-housing (bottom of 2) and a fourth sub-housing (top of 2), the third sub-housing being closer to the first sub-housing (bottom of 1) than the fourth sub-housing (FIG. 1),
Yan does not explicitly disclose a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder near the fourth sub-housing, and wherein a second rotation portion and a third rotation portion are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder, the second rotation portion being further away from the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion, and the third rotation portion being closer to the first sub-housing than the first rotation portion.
Rohmer discloses a first rotation portion being formed on a surface of the holder (30-144) near the fourth sub-housing (20-2) (FIGS. 5A-5E), and
wherein a second rotation portion (end portion of hinge slot 20-26) and a third rotation portion (sidewall of hinge slot 20-26) are formed on a surface of the fourth sub-housing near the holder (30-144) (as illustrated in reproduced and annotated FIG. 5E below), the second rotation portion (end portion of hinge slot 20-26) being further away from the first sub-housing (wall plate 30-14) than the first rotation portion (the end portion of the hinge slot is further away from the top of 30-14 than the first rotation portion when in the open position), and the third rotation portion (sidewall of hinge slot 20-26) being closer to the first sub-housing (30-14) than the first rotation portion (the sidewall of hinge slot 20-26 is closer to 30-14 when in the open position) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 6. Yan does not explicitly teach that the holder, the first rotation portion, the fourth sub-housing, and the second rotation portion surround an area to define the clearance space.
Rohmer discloses that the holder (30-144), the first rotation portion, the fourth sub-housing, and the second rotation portion (as illustrated in annotated and reproduced FIG. 5E above in claim 5) surround an area to define the clearance space (the area of that defined by the rotation portions and the holder define a space that allows for rotation, thus having a clearance space).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 7. Yan does not explicitly disclose that a surface of the holder distal from the first sub-housing, a surface of the second rotation portion distal from the first sub-housing, and a surface of the fourth sub-housing distal from the first sub-housing are flush with each other.
Rohmer discloses a surface of the holder distal from the first sub-housing (wall plate 30-14), a surface of the second rotation portion distal from the first sub-housing, and a surface of the fourth sub-housing distal from the first sub-housing are flush with each other (FIG. 5E- the ends of the rotation portions furthest away from the surface of wall plate 30-14 each meet and are flush with each other; Further illustrated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 5B below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Regarding claim 11. Yan does not explicitly disclose that the horizontal state comprises an initial state and a rearward state; and wherein in the initial state, the second housing abuts the holder, and in the rearward state, the clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder.
Rohmer discloses that the horizontal state comprises an initial state (¶160 – inclination angle has a closed or “stowed position) and a rearward state (¶160 – open “in use” position inclined at an angle of 0-20 degrees from the wall); and
wherein in the initial state, the second housing abuts the holder (¶160 – inclination angle has a closed or “stowed position), and in the rearward state, the clearance space is defined between the second housing and the holder (¶160 – open “in use” position inclined at an angle of 0-20 degrees from the wall).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a rotation portion as taught by Rohmer to the configuration of Yan in order to account for a known placement of the hinge mechanism used to position the charging device from the open and closed position (Rohmer; ¶160).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Zheng CN209948763U.
Regarding claim 8. Yan does not explicitly disclose that the second housing is further configured to be translational relative to the first housing to define the clearance space.
Zheng discloses that the second housing (2) is further configured to be translational relative to the first housing (3) to define the clearance space (page 4, ¶3 – drive screw 7 rotates causing displacement and thus the base mechanism 2 is translated relative to the containing shell 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 14. Yan does not explicitly teach that the second housing is separated from the first housing by a distance when the second housing is translating relative to the second housing; wherein when the distance is less than a preset value, there is a gap between the transmission member and the holder; wherein when the distance is the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to connect to the holder; and wherein when the distance is greater than the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive.
Zheng discloses that the second housing (1/2) is separated from the first housing (3) by a distance when the second housing is translating relative to the second housing (FIG. 2 –the base mechanism rotates at an angle to the shell 3 as the screw is rotated and displacing the displacement block 8)
wherein when the distance is less than a preset value, there is a gap between the transmission member (7) and the holder (10) (see FIG. 3);
wherein when the distance is the preset value, the second housing (1/2) is configured to drive the transmission member (7) to connect to the holder (10) (When the distance is at a maximum the holder will be arranged such that it is closer to the screw 7); and
wherein when the distance is greater than the preset value, the second housing is configured to drive the transmission member to rotate, and rotation of the transmission member drives the holder to drive (page 3, last paragraph - when the angle needs to adjust, the screw 7 is actuated such that the displacement member is moved along the screw length, thus charging the distance).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Claims 9, 15-16 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1.
Regarding claim 9. Yan does not explicitly teach that a motor assembly, the motor assembly being rotatably connected to the second housing, and the motor assembly being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
Dunkley discloses a motor assembly (20), the motor assembly being rotatably connected to the second housing (FIG. 3 – the motor is connected to the lid portion of the laptop at the lateral edge 32), and the motor assembly being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing (¶12 – gears are rotatably coupled to the laptop computer 12).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Regarding claim 15. Yan discloses a charging device (FIG. 1-4), comprising:
a first housing (1);
a second housing (2) connected to the first housing (FIG. 2) and rotatable relative to the first housing (see FIG. 2), the second housing being configured to hold an electronic device (5);
a charging assembly (¶24 – transmitting coil) received in the second housing (2), the charging assembly being configured to charge the electronic device (¶26 – wireless charging receiving coil in the electronic equipment 5 is aligned with the coil in the transmitting plate).
Yan does not explicitly teach a motor assembly being configured to receive a first control signal and a second control signal, the first control signal being configured to cause the motor assembly to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing, and the second control signal being configured to cause the motor assembly to stop.
Dunkley discloses a motor assembly (20) being configured to receive a first control signal (actuate) and a second control signal (de-actuate) (¶18), the first control signal being configured to cause the motor assembly to drive the second housing (14) to rotate relative to the first housing (16) (¶18 – actuate), and the second control signal being configured to cause the motor assembly to stop (¶18 – deactivate).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a char)ger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Regarding claim 16. Yan does not explicitly disclose a processor, the processor being electrically connected to the motor assembly and the processor being configured to transmit the first control signal and the second control signal.
Dunkley discloses a processor (22), the processor (22) being electrically connected to the motor assembly (¶13 – motor 20 electrically coupled to a processor) and the processor being configured to transmit the first control signal and the second control signal (¶18 – actuator 40 coupled to processor 22 and actuator selectively actuates and de-actuates the motor 20).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a char)ger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Regarding claim 20. Yan does not explicitly disclose a transceiver, the transceiver being electrically connected to the motor assembly, the transceiver being configured to receive the first control signal and the second control signal transmitted by the electronic device.
Dunkley discloses a transceiver (44), the transceiver being electrically connected to the motor assembly (¶20 – transceiver 44 communicates with the processor providing a command to the motor), the transceiver being configured to receive the first control signal and the second control signal transmitted by the electronic device (¶19-20 – remote transceiver 44 is coupled to the remote control 42 which provides commands to the motor 20).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a char)ger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Leem WO2019190091A1
Regarding claim 12. Yan discloses that the charging assembly comprises a charging coil (¶24 – transmitting plate provided with a transmitting coil).
Yan does not explicitly teach a heat dissipation bracket, the charging coil being arranged on the heat dissipation bracket.
Leem discloses a heat dissipation bracket (heat dissipation sheet 300), the charging coil being arranged on the heat dissipation bracket (page 10, ¶3 – heat dissipation sheet 300 may support the wireless charging coil module).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the heat dissipation support of Leem to the charging device of Yan in order to prevent overheating and damage to the device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1 and Zheng CN209948763U.
Regarding claim 17. Yan does not explicitly disclose that the motor assembly comprises a motor and a slider, the motor being configured to drive the slider to slide, and the slide of the slider being configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
Zheng discloses that the motor assembly comprises a motor (6) and a slider (8), the motor (6) being configured to drive the slider to slide (FIG. 2; page 3, last paragraph – as the motor causes the drive screw to rotate, the displacement block slides along the screw length) , and the slide of the slider being configured to drive the second housing (1/2) to rotate relative to the first housing (3) (FIG. 2 – the base mechanism rotates at an angle to the shell 3 as the screw is rotated and displacing the displacement block 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1 and Zheng CN209948763U and in further view of Loo US9823631B1.
Regarding claim 18. Yan does not explicitly disclose that the charging device further comprises a distance sensor; wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor, and configured to detect the sliding distance of the slider; wherein when the sliding distance of the slider is greater than or equal to a preset distance, the processor is configured to transmit the second control signal.
Zheng discloses that when the sliding distance of the slider is greater than or equal to a preset distance, the processor is configured to transmit the second control signal (page 3, 2nd paragraph from end – user can in real time control the driving part to adjust the angle of the mobile phone to ensure comfort of use, thus, when the correct angle is reached the adjustment is stopped).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a translation as taught by Zheng in order to provide a mechanism to change the angle of the holder that will provided improved experience to the user (Zhang; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Zheng does not explicitly disclose a distance sensor; wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor, and configured to detect the sliding distance of the slider;
Loo discloses that a distance sensor (camera 235) (FIG. 6A-6B) ;
wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor, and configured to detect the adjustment of the lid (column 7, lines 19-28).
When applied to Zheng, because the angle is changed by adjusting the sliding distance of the slider, it would be obvious to determine the amount of change needed for the sliding distance in order to provide a comfortable viewing angle of the screen (column 7, lines 1-9).
Loo is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the angle settings of Loo to the device of Yan in order to provide acceptable visual performance (Loo; column 7, lines 1-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, although the prior art discloses the intervening claims, the prior art does not disclose “the charging device further comprises a first switch and a second switch, each of the first switch and the second switch being electrically connected to the processor; wherein when the first switch is pressed, the first switch is configured to transmit a vertical signal to the processor, and the processor is configured to transmit the first control signal to the motor assembly according to the vertical signal, and the first control signal being configured to drive the motor assembly to rotate in the first direction; wherein when the second switch is pressed, the second switch is configured to transmit a horizontal signal to the processor, the processor being configured to transmit a third control signal to the motor assembly according to the horizontal signal, and the third control signal is configured to drive the motor assembly to rotate in a second direction, opposite the first direction”.
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fang et al. US20090051319A1 – hinge connection is arranged on the outside surface of 104.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859