DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 02/05/2026. Claim 21 has been canceled. The objection to the claim has been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10, 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uda et al. (US 4,942,739 A, hereinafter “Uda”) and further in view of Himmelmann (US 20190009203 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Uda teaches an airflow mix manifold [Fig. 1] comprising:
a can [11; bottom portion] including an interior sidewall that defines a main mixing chamber, wherein the can defines at least one inlet aperture [12] through the interior sidewall to receive airflow into the main mixing chamber [Col. 3, 11 – Col. 3, 18; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], wherein the can is cylindrical [Figs. 1-3; apparent from inspection]; wherein the can includes a moisture collection gutter [20] that is open to the main mixing chamber and is configured to collect moisture from the airflow that coalesces onto the interior sidewall, wherein the moisture collection gutter extends circumferentially along the can [Col. 3, 28 – Col. 3, 52; moisture capturing ring 20 extends around the inner wall surface of the vessel 11, wherein water is separated from air within the vessel as air spirals along the inner surface of the vessel],
a tower [11; upper portion] extending from the can [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], wherein the tower defines a secondary mixing chamber and includes one or more outlets [17], wherein the secondary mixing chamber is configured to receive the airflow downstream of the can and to direct the airflow to the one or more outlets [Col. 3, 16 – Col. 31; the outlet ports are formed in the upper portion and receive airflow from the lower portion before providing to a plurality of outlet 17].
While Uda teaches a water capturing configuration [11a and 20], Uda does not explicitly teach wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a curved gutter wall that defines an annular bulge along the can, wherein the moisture collection gutter has a convex curvature that bulges away in an axial downstream direction from the main mixing chamber, wherein the moisture collection gutter includes an annular bulge forming an annular exposed outer surface of a top end of the can along a shoulder section, and wherein the curved gutter wall defines an arched ceiling of the main mixing chamber.
However, Himmelmann teaches an air module for an aircraft [Fig. 9] wherein the module includes a water extraction vessel [Fig. 8] comprising a first section (can) [middle portion of Fig. 8; combination of at least 94, 96, 98, 102, 104, 106] and a second section (tower) [right portion of Fig. 8; at least 92], wherein the first section comprises an air inlet [90] and a plurality of curved moisture collecting gutters [at least walls 98, 94 and scupper 106] extending radially outwards, wherein it is apparent from inspection that at least wall 98 or 94 radially curves to form a bulge around the exterior of the can section [¶ 0045-0047; also see Annotated Fig. 8]. Himmelman further teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter has a convex curvature that bulges away in an axial downstream direction from the main mixing chamber [¶ 0047-0049; Fig. 8; at least walls 98 and 94 bulge away from the main central chamber containing A2, such that downstream air is redirected through said gutters], wherein the moisture collection gutter includes an annular bulge forming an annular exposed outer surface of a top end of the can along a shoulder section [Annotated Fig. 8; apparent from inspection; see at least the section of 98 inducing the first 180 degree turn of airflow A1, as being a shoulder; the wall surfaces forming the moisture collection gutter necessarily have an inside and outside surface, therefore the bulging wall portion has an outer surface exposed to the airflow flowing through air guide 102 [see annotated Fig. 8], whereas the inside surface is exposed to airflow from the inlet 90 and scupper 106], and wherein the curved gutter wall defines an arched ceiling of the main mixing chamber [Fig. 8; the curvatures of walls 98 and 94 create bulging, winding pathways for air stream A to diverge into A1 and A2; therefore, curved gutter walls may be considered curved ceilings]. Himmelmann further teaches that this configuration provides a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path [¶ 0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the relative dimensions as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the relative dimensions would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path, thus improving the system [¶ 0049].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Uda, to have wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a curved gutter wall that defines an annular bulge along the can, in view of the teachings of Himmelmann, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path, thus improving the system [¶ 0049].
Regarding Claim 2, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 1 above and Uda teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter [20] is located at an end of the can according to a downstream direction [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection capturing ring 20 is disposed below the flanges separating the upper and lower portions, thus at a downstream end of the can] [Also see Col. 3, 28-51; capturing ring 20 is formed between the inlet (in the lower portion) and the outlet (in the upper portion)].
Claim 3 canceled
Regarding Claim 4, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 1 above and Himmelmann teaches wherein the tower is also cylindrical [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection], and the can has a larger diameter than the tower, and wherein the moisture collection gutter is located along a shoulder section of the can that radially projects beyond the tower [¶ 0045; Figs. 8-9; apparent from inspection that air stream A1 in the first section (can) converges towards a smaller diameter to mix with air stream A2 at portion 92 (tower) to then be output from the system, wherein the water collection sections are disposed within an outer diameter of the first section]
Regarding Claim 5, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 1 above and Himmelman teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a scupper trough [at least 106 and 98] that defines an annular channel [Fig. 8; see at least airflow A1 path], wherein the scupper trough is a bump-out integrally connected to a radial outer end of the curved gutter wall of the moisture collection gutter [¶ 0047-0048; Figs. 8-9; scupper 106 is angled radially outwards so that walls 98 are bumped-out relative to the straight portions of the system, wherein scupper 106 is integrally formed to define portions of flowpath A1] and wherein the annular channel is configured to receive the moisture from the airflow and to drain the moisture outside of the can and the tower [¶ 0049; Himmelmann further discloses a scupper [106] within the first section, to define the start of a fluid stream A1, wherein stream A1 contains moisture laden air and flows through guide duct 104 to eventually fall into the water reservoir 111 for drainage via drain 112] [Also see Uda Col. 3, 28 – Col. 4, 2; Fig. 1; Uda describes the structure of a scupper, wherein an oblique flange, inclined downwardly, towards radially inward, is configured to prevent the flow of water within the air flow due to tendency for water to concentrate in the radially outwards direction. The ring and wall then forces water to travel in the horizontal direction around the ring and then directs the separated water towards a slit 21 and/or port 23 to be discharged via pipe 22].
Regarding Claim 6, Uda, as modified teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 5 above and Himmelmann teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter further includes a scupper blade [106] mounted to the curved gutter wall [Fig. 8; apparent from inspection scupper 106 contacts at least curved wall 94], wherein the scupper blade defines a flange that extends toward the annular channel [Fig. 8; apparent from inspection scupper 106 extends radially outward towards the plurality of channels], and wherein the flange is configured to convey moisture from the airflow that coalesces onto the gutter wall and the scupper blade from an edge of the flange into the annular channel [¶ 0049; scupper 106 separates the droplet filled air stream A1 from the dry air stream A2, wherein the edge of the scupper provides the airflow with a 180 degree turn into the remainder of the annular channel to be coalesced on the walls thereof].
Regarding Claim 8, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 1 above and Uda further teaches comprising at least one mixing supply branch coupled to the at least one inlet aperture [Figs. 1-2; apparent from inspection that aperture 12 comprises branching portions extruded therefrom], wherein a first mixing supply branch of the at least one mixing supply branch includes a first intake conduit that conveys a first airflow, a second intake conduit that conveys a second airflow, and a merged segment that defines a branch mixing chamber [See Fig. 4; Uda discloses the known technique in the prior art wherein a supply branch (6) to a mixing vessel (1) configuration may comprise of at least a first air stream (via 3) and a second air stream (via 5) wherein the streams merge together at a duct (6) within the branch], wherein the merged segment includes a distal end of the first intake conduit disposed within the branch mixing chamber, and wherein the distal end of the first intake conduit is surrounded by a portion of the second intake conduit [Fig. 4; apparent from inspection that that conduit 3 (first intake) feeds directly into conduit 6 (mixing chamber) and that conduit 5 (second intake) merges with conduit 6 at a portion also surrounding the input of conduit 3].
Regarding Claim 10, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 8 above and Uda teaches wherein the airflow mix manifold includes a second mixing supply branch of the at least one mixing supply branch [Figs. 1-2; apparent from inspection that a plurality of apertures 12 and branches exist], wherein the first mixing supply branch is coupled to a first inlet aperture of the at least one inlet aperture [Figs. 1-2 apparent from inspection that apertures also comprise branches], and the second mixing supply branch is coupled to a second inlet aperture of the at least one inlet aperture [Fig. 2; apparent from inspection], and wherein the first and second inlet apertures are circumferentially spaced apart along the can [Col. 3, 11-27; Fig. 2; apparent from inspection and inlet parts are arranged substantially tangentially with respect to the cylindrical vessel] and the first and second mixing supply branches have different orientations relative to the can to cause circumferential circulation of the airflow within the main mixing chamber in a common rotational direction [Col. 3, 40-45; air introduced through the ports 12 forms a spiral upward flow, therefore inducing centrifugal force].
Regarding claim 12, Uda teaches a method for conditioning airflow, the method comprising:
mixing a first airflow with a second airflow within a mixing supply branch of an airflow mix manifold to form a mixed airflow [Fig. 4; Col. 1, 12-28; Uda discloses a known device wherein a first flow path 3 mixes with a second flow path 5in a mixing portion 6], wherein the mixing supply branch is coupled to a can [11; lower portion] of the airflow mix manifold [Fig. 4; Col. 1, 12-28; mixing portion 6 flows into the mixing chamber 1 via port 2];
supplying the mixed airflow into a main mixing chamber of the can [Fig. 4; Col. 1, 12-28; the mixture of air is introduced into mixing chamber 1];
collecting moisture from the mixed airflow that coalesces on an interior sidewall of the can within a moisture collection gutter of the can, wherein the moisture collection gutter extends circumferentially along the can [Fig. 1; Col. 3, 40 – Col. 4, 2; Uda further discloses that air in the vessel spirals upwards, pushing moisture concentration outwards to separate from the air, wherein the moisture is trapped between wall 11a and ring 20, wherein the ring forms around the inside of the cylindrical vessel]; and
directing the mixed airflow downstream of the main mixing chamber and the moisture collection gutter toward one or more outlets of the airflow mix manifold for distribution to one or more climate-controlled spaces [Fig. 1; Col. 3, 11-39; airflow from cylindrical vessel 11 is directed towards the outlet ports 17, downstream from the lower portion of vessel 11 and ring 20].
While Uda teaches a water capturing configuration [11a and 20], Uda does not explicitly teach wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a curved gutter wall that defines an annular bulge along the can, wherein the moisture collection gutter has a convex curvature that bulges away in an axial downstream direction from the main mixing chamber, wherein the moisture collection gutter includes an annular bulge forming an annular exposed outer surface of a top end of the can along a shoulder section, and wherein the curved gutter wall defines an arched ceiling of the main mixing chamber.
However, Himmelmann teaches an air module for an aircraft [Fig. 9] wherein the module includes a water extraction vessel [Fig. 8] comprising a first section (can) [middle portion of Fig. 8; combination of at least 94, 96, 98, 102, 104, 106] and a second section (tower) [right portion of Fig. 8; at least 92], wherein the first section comprises an air inlet [90] and a plurality of curved moisture collecting gutters [at least walls 98, 94 and scupper 106] extending radially outwards, wherein it is apparent from inspection that at least wall 98 or 94 radially curves to form a bulge around the exterior of the can section [¶ 0045-0047]. Himmelman further teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter has a convex curvature that bulges away in an axial downstream direction from the main mixing chamber [¶ 0047-0049; Fig. 8; at least walls 98 and 94 bulge away from the main central chamber containing A2, such that downstream air is redirected through said gutters], wherein the moisture collection gutter includes an annular bulge forming an annular exposed outer surface of a top end of the can along a shoulder section [Annotated Fig. 8; apparent from inspection; see at least the section of 98 inducing the first 180 degree turn of airflow A1, as being a shoulder; the wall surfaces forming the moisture collection gutter necessarily have an inside and outside surface, therefore the bulging wall portion has an outer surface exposed to the airflow flowing through air guide 102 [see annotated Fig. 8], whereas the inside surface is exposed to airflow from the inlet 90 and scupper 106], and wherein the curved gutter wall defines an arched ceiling of the main mixing chamber [Fig. 8; the curvatures of walls 98 and 94 create bulging, winding pathways for air stream A to diverge into A1 and A2; therefore, curved gutter walls may be considered curved ceilings]. Himmelmann further teaches that this configuration provides a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path [¶ 0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the relative dimensions as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the relative dimensions would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path, thus improving the system [¶ 0049].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Uda, to have wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a curved gutter wall that defines an annular bulge along the can, in view of the teachings of Himmelmann, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path, thus improving the system [¶ 0049].
Regarding Claim 13, Uda, as modified, teaches the method of claim 12 above and Uda further teaches comprising:
directing the first airflow from the one or more climate-controlled spaces to the first intake conduit of the mixing supply branch; and
directing the second airflow from an air conditioning system to the second intake conduit of the mixing supply branch [Col. 1, 12-28; Uda discloses that duct 6 receives air circulated from the passenger compartments via duct 5 as well as conditioned air from an air conditioning system via duct 3].
Regarding Claim 14, Uda teaches the method of claim 12 above and Himmelman teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a scupper trough [at least 106 and 98] that defines an annular channel [Fig. 8; see at least airflow A1 path], wherein the scupper trough is a bump-out integrally connected to a radial outer end of the curved gutter wall of the moisture collection gutter [¶ 0047-0048; Figs. 8-9; scupper 106 is angled radially outwards so that walls 98 are bumped-out relative to the straight portions of the system, wherein scupper 106 is integrally formed to define portions of flowpath A1], and the method further comprises draining the moisture from the airflow mix manifold via one or more drainage ports of the scupper trough [¶ 0049; Himmelmann further discloses a scupper [106] within the first section, to define the start of a fluid stream A1, wherein stream A1 contains moisture laden air and flows through guide duct 104 to eventually fall into the water reservoir 111 for drainage via drain 112] [Also see Uda Col. 3, 28 – Col. 4, 2; Fig. 1; Uda describes the structure of a scupper, wherein an oblique flange, inclined downwardly, towards radially inward, is configured to prevent the flow of water within the air flow due to tendency for water to concentrate in the radially outwards direction. The ring and wall then forces water to travel in the horizontal direction around the ring and then directs the separated water towards a slit 21 and/or port 23 to be discharged via pipe 22].
Regarding Claim 16, Uda teaches the method of claim 12 above and Uda further teaches comprising installing the airflow mix manifold within an aircraft [Col. 1, 13-28; Uda discloses that known method is capable of being implemented within an aircraft].
Regarding Claim 17, Uda teaches an airflow mix manifold comprising:
a can [11; bottom portion] including an interior sidewall that defines a main mixing chamber, wherein the can defines an inlet aperture [12] through the interior sidewall to receive airflow into the main mixing chamber [Col. 3, 11 – Col. 3, 18; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], wherein the can includes a moisture collection gutter [20] that is open to the main mixing chamber and is configured to collect moisture from the airflow that coalesces onto the interior sidewall, wherein the moisture collection gutter extends circumferentially along the can [Col. 3, 28 – Col. 3, 52; moisture capturing ring 20 extends around the inner wall surface of the vessel 11, wherein water is separated from air within the vessel as air spirals along the inner surface of the vessel], and
a mixing supply branch coupled to the inlet aperture [Figs. 1-2; apparent from inspection that aperture 12 comprises branching portions extruded therefrom] and configured to supply the airflow into the main mixing chamber [Col. 3, 11-27; inlets supply air to mixing chamber], wherein the mixing supply branch includes a first intake conduit that conveys a first airflow stream, a second intake conduit that conveys a second airflow stream, and a merged segment that defines a branch mixing chamber [See Fig. 4; Uda discloses the known technique in the prior art wherein a supply branch (6) to a mixing vessel (1) configuration may comprise of at least a first air stream (via 3) and a second air stream (via 5) wherein the streams merge together at a duct (6) within the branch], and wherein the branch mixing chamber is configured to permit the first airflow stream to mix with the second airflow stream to form the airflow prior to the airflow entering the can [Col. 3, 11-27; Fig. 4; air stream from conduits 3 and 5 merge before input into the mixing vessel].
While Uda teaches a water capturing configuration [11a and 20], Uda does not explicitly teach wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a curved gutter wall that defines an annular bulge along the can, wherein the moisture collection gutter has a convex curvature that bulges away in an axial downstream direction from the main mixing chamber, wherein the moisture collection gutter includes an annular bulge forming an annular exposed outer surface of a top end of the can along a shoulder section, and wherein the curved gutter wall defines an arched ceiling of the main mixing chamber.
However, Himmelmann teaches an air module for an aircraft [Fig. 9] wherein the module includes a water extraction vessel [Fig. 8] comprising a first section (can) [middle portion of Fig. 8; combination of at least 94, 96, 98, 102, 104, 106] and a second section (tower) [right portion of Fig. 8; at least 92], wherein the first section comprises an air inlet [90] and a plurality of curved moisture collecting gutters [at least walls 98, 94 and scupper 106] extending radially outwards, wherein it is apparent from inspection that at least wall 98 or 94 radially curves to form a bulge around the exterior of the can section [¶ 0045-0047]. Himmelman further teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter has a convex curvature that bulges away in an axial downstream direction from the main mixing chamber [¶ 0047-0049; Fig. 8; at least walls 98 and 94 bulge away from the main central chamber containing A2, such that downstream air is redirected through said gutters], wherein the moisture collection gutter includes an annular bulge forming an annular exposed outer surface of a top end of the can along a shoulder section [Annotated Fig. 8; apparent from inspection; see at least the section of 98 inducing the first 180 degree turn of airflow A1, as being a shoulder; the wall surfaces forming the moisture collection gutter necessarily have an inside and outside surface, therefore the bulging wall portion has an outer surface exposed to the airflow flowing through air guide 102 [see annotated Fig. 8], whereas the inside surface is exposed to airflow from the inlet 90 and scupper 106], and wherein the curved gutter wall defines an arched ceiling of the main mixing chamber [Fig. 8; the curvatures of walls 98 and 94 create bulging, winding pathways for air stream A to diverge into A1 and A2; therefore, curved gutter walls may be considered curved ceilings]. Himmelmann further teaches that this configuration provides a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path [¶ 0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the relative dimensions as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the relative dimensions would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path, thus improving the system [¶ 0049].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Uda, to have wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a curved gutter wall that defines an annular bulge along the can, in view of the teachings of Himmelmann, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means for the moisture to be separated from the air due to the expanding volume along the flow path, slowing the air and allowing the water to coalesce on the walls of the flow path, thus improving the system [¶ 0049].
Regarding Claim 18, Uda teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 17 above and Uda further teaches comprising a tower a tower [11; upper portion] extending from the can [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], wherein the tower defines a secondary mixing chamber and includes one or more outlets [17], and wherein the secondary mixing chamber is configured to receive the airflow downstream of the can and to direct the airflow to the one or more outlets [Col. 3, 16 – Col. 31; the outlet ports are formed in the upper portion and receive airflow from the lower portion before providing to a plurality of outlet 17].
Regarding Claim 19, Uda teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 17 above and Uda teaches wherein the merged segment includes a distal end of the first intake conduit disposed within the branch mixing chamber, wherein the distal end of the first intake conduit is surrounded by a portion of the second intake conduit, and wherein the mixing supply branch includes a flow interleaver nozzle mounted to the distal end of the first intake conduit [Fig. 4; apparent from inspection that that conduit 3 (first intake) feeds directly into conduit 6 (mixing chamber) and that conduit 5 (second intake) merges with conduit 6 at a portion also surrounding the input of conduit 3].
Regarding Claim 20, Uda teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 17 above and Himmelman teaches wherein the moisture collection gutter includes a scupper trough [at least 106 and 98] that defines an annular channel [Fig. 8; see at least airflow A1 path], wherein the scupper trough is a bump-out integrally connected to a radial outer end of the curved gutter wall of the moisture collection gutter [¶ 0047-0048; Figs. 8-9; scupper 106 is angled radially outwards so that walls 98 are bumped-out relative to the straight portions of the system, wherein scupper 106 is integrally formed to define portions of flowpath A1], and wherein the annular channel is configured to receive the moisture from the airflow and to drain the moisture outside of the can [¶ 0049; Himmelmann further discloses a scupper [106] within the first section, to define the start of a fluid stream A1, wherein stream A1 contains moisture laden air and flows through guide duct 104 to eventually fall into the water reservoir 111 for drainage via drain 112] [Also see Uda Col. 3, 28 – Col. 4, 2; Fig. 1; Uda describes the structure of a scupper, wherein an oblique flange, inclined downwardly, towards radially inward, is configured to prevent the flow of water within the air flow due to tendency for water to concentrate in the radially outwards direction. The ring and wall then forces water to travel in the horizontal direction around the ring and then directs the separated water towards a slit 21 and/or port 23 to be discharged via pipe 22].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uda and Himmelmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishimoto et al. (US 20180080667 A1, hereinafter “Nishimoto”).
Regarding Claim 7, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 1 above but Uda does not further teach comprising a heater strip mounted to the moisture collection gutter, wherein the heater strip is configured to heat the moisture collection gutter to prohibit freezing of the moisture along one or more surfaces of the moisture collection gutter.
However, Nishimoto teaches a heat source unit [Fig. 7a-7b] wherein a blower room is configured to receive rain water or defrost water directly on the drain integrated plates [15] and drain gutter [16] [¶ 0041]. Nishimoto further teaches that depending on a cold climate area wherein the device is utilized, the drain plates and drain gutter with water may freeze, and therefore requires an operation for activating a heater [not illustrated] in order to prevent the water from being frozen [¶ 0041]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied a known technique to a known device (i.e. implement a heating element with water drainage channels/gutters) and that in combination, the technique would improve the known device in a similar manner (i.e. prevent freezing), and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means to prevent water from freezing, thereby allowing for the draining of water, thus improving the system [¶ 0041].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Uda to have a heater strip mounted to the moisture collection gutter, wherein the heater strip is configured to heat the moisture collection gutter to prohibit freezing of the moisture along one or more surfaces of the moisture collection gutter, in view of the teachings of Nishimoto, where applying a known technique to a known device with no change in their respective function would improve the known device in a similar manner and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means to prevent water from freezing, thereby allowing for the draining of water, thus improving the system.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uda and Himmelmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Army, Jr. et al. (US 5,133,194 A, hereinafter “Army”).
Regarding claim 9, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 8 above but Uda does not teach wherein the first mixing supply branch includes a flow interleaver nozzle mounted to the distal end of the first intake conduit within the branch mixing chamber, and wherein the flow interleaver nozzle is configured to facilitate mixing of the first airflow and the second airflow prior to the first and second airflows entering the can.
However, Army teaches an air cycle machine with a fan inlet/diffuser apparatus [Figs. 1-4], provided with a lobed mixer [60; Fig. 5] (interleaver nozzle) for intermixing two separate air streams [25, 27], and is disposed at an inlet of the air cycle machine [Abstract]. Army therefore demonstrates that the use of a particularly shaped nozzle [Fig. 5] (interleaver nozzle) is a known technique in the art and is known to enhance the mixing of two separate air flow passages being input into an air cycle/handling machine [Abstract]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the interleaver nozzle as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the interleaver nozzle would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to enhance the mixing of two separate airflow passages, thus improving the system [Abstract].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Uda to have wherein the first mixing supply branch includes a flow interleaver nozzle mounted to the distal end of the first intake conduit within the branch mixing chamber, and wherein the flow interleaver nozzle is configured to facilitate mixing of the first airflow and the second airflow prior to the first and second airflows entering the can, in view of the teachings of Army, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to enhance the mixing of two separate airflow passages, thus improving the system.
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uda and Himmelmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eggebrecht et al. (US 4,517,813 A, hereinafter “Eggebrecht”).
Regarding Claim 11, Uda, as modified, teaches the airflow mix manifold of claim 1 above but Uda does not further teaches comprising a flow straightener located within the secondary mixing chamber of the tower, wherein the flow straightener is configured to redirect the airflow received from the main mixing chamber toward the one or more outlets.
However, Eggebrecht teaches an air mixing/water separation apparatus [Figs. 1-3] comprising a first section [at least 18b] with inlet conduits [at least 16 and 24] protruding through the sidewalls, as well as a second section [at least 18a] with outlets [at least 26, 28, 30], wherein the airflow from the plurality if inlet conduits is configured to mix and flow through the vessel towards the second section [Col. 3, 38 – Col. 4, 24]. Eggebrecht further discloses that the second section [18a] may include a flow straightener occupying a cross section within the manifold chamber, wherein the flow straightener serves to finalize the mixing of air as well as to create a uniform gradient pressure across the plenum [Col. 4, 25-38]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the flow straightener as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the flow straightener would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to finalize the mixing of air as well as to create a uniform gradient pressure across the plenum, thus improving the system [Col. 4, 25-38].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Uda to have a flow straightener located within the secondary mixing chamber of the tower, wherein the flow straightener is configured to redirect the airflow received from the main mixing chamber toward the one or more outlets, in view of the teachings of Eggebrecht, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to finalize the mixing of air as well as to create a uniform gradient pressure across the plenum, thus improving the system [Col. 4, 25-38].
Regarding Claim 15, Uda, as modified, teaches the method of claim 12 above and Uda teaches wherein the airflow mix manifold includes a tower [11; upper portion] that is mounted to the can [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] and defines a secondary mixing chamber, and wherein the tower includes the one or more outlets [17] of the airflow mix manifold [Col. 3, 16 – Col. 31; the outlet ports are formed in the upper portion and receive airflow from the lower portion before providing to a plurality of outlet 17].
Uda does not teach wherein directing the mixed airflow downstream of the main mixing chamber and the moisture collection gutter comprises directing the mixed airflow through a flow straightener and into the secondary mixing chamber.
However, Eggebrecht teaches an air mixing/water separation apparatus [Figs. 1-3] comprising a first section [at least 18b] with inlet conduits [at least 16 and 24] protruding through the sidewalls, as well as a second section [at least 18a] with outlets [at least 26, 28, 30], wherein the airflow from the plurality if inlet conduits is configured to mix and flow through the vessel towards the second section [Col. 3, 38 – Col. 4, 24]. Eggebrecht further discloses that the second section [18a] may include a flow straightener occupying a cross section within the manifold chamber, wherein the flow straightener serves to finalize the mixing of air as well as to create a uniform gradient pressure across the plenum [Col. 4, 25-38]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method as claimed by known techniques and that in combination, the method would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to finalize the mixing of air as well as to create a uniform gradient pressure across the plenum, thus improving the system [Col. 4, 25-38].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Uda to have wherein directing the mixed airflow downstream of the main mixing chamber and the moisture collection gutter comprises directing the mixed airflow through a flow straightener and into the secondary mixing chamber, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to finalize the mixing of air as well as to create a uniform gradient pressure across the plenum, thus improving the system [Col. 4, 25-38].
Response to Arguments
On pages 7-8 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of prior arts does not teach the claims as amended. Specifically, Applicant argues that the water extraction vessel does not include an annular bulge that forms an annular exposed outer surface of a top end thereof. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not entirely persuasive.
Specifically, the amendments appear to be predominately drawn to canceled claim 21 previously rejected in the last Office action, with the inclusion of additional language specifying an exposed outer surface. Therefore, the portion of the rejection regarding the amendments drawn to previously rejected claim 21 is not necessarily challenged by the Applicant in this response, but rather Applicant believes the additional limitations requiring said exposed outer surface may be sufficient in distinguishing the claims from the previous rejection. Considering the broadest reasonable interpretation, the wall 98 having a bulge for a 180 degree turn of airflow in the collection gutter, around scupper 106, may be considered to have an exposed outside surface, as the outermost side (furthest away from center) of the curved portion of wall 98 is exposed to air flowing through the guide 102 [See Annotated Fig. 8]. Similarly, the inside surface of the gutter bulge is exposed to airflow from the inlet 90 and scupper 106 [See Annotated Fig. 8]. Thus, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the moisture collection gutter bulge necessarily comprises an exposed outer surface as claimed. Therefore, the claims remain rejected.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner may recommend further specifying what the claimed bulged section outside surface is exposed to (i.e. an annular outer surface exposed to ambient environment) in order to further delineate the claims and overcome the currently applied prior art.
Conclusion
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763