DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the applicant’s response filed 9 October 2025, which is in response to the USPTO office action mailed 23 July 2025. Claims 21, 27-29, 35, 39 and 40 are amended. Claims 21-40 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC §103 rejections of claims 21-40, the applicant’s arguments are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection, as necessitated by the applicant's amendments.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,138,208 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are merely a broader version of the patented claims.
Claims 21-40 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,650,997 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are merely a broader version of the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al., US 2011/0238763 A1 (hereinafter “Shin”) in view of Satalkar et al., US 2014/0136546 A1 (hereinafter “Satalkar”).
Claim 21: Shin teaches a system comprising: a processing unit; and a memory coupled storing instructions that, when executed, perform operations comprising:
receiving, in a conversation interface, a request from a user as part of a conversation between the user and a conversation participant (Shin, [0023] note social help network can also facilitate messaging between its users in real time, such as by providing chatting facilities between users, as well as provide a "robot" that can answer some questions such as by using a natural language question and answer system, [0055] note social help network module 302 may receive a user request, [0079] note the robot may be able to provide chatting and messaging into various conversations started by users);
extracting one or more keywords from the request, the one or more keywords identifying a topic of the request (Shin, [0055] note This user request may be parsed to search the search engine, e.g., using one or more keywords, [0023] note conversation topics and requirements for the messaging/chatting may be in constant mutation as the conversation continues in chatting format, so the social help network may utilize real-time, or near real-time, indexing and responsiveness);
querying, using the one or more keywords as input, one or more first resources to identify: candidate users that are at least one of knowledgeable about the topic or included within the request (Shin, [0094] note search engine 404 uses both the static contents and the real time contents, and performs an analysis of its internal attributes in a dynamically changing real-time database (such as by using incoming data 406 and/or existing data 408 and/or indexes 410) to generate useful geo-location results matching help useful and well-rated potential helpers to help requests);
performing a first ranking of the candidate users based on at least one of: a respective role of each candidate user of the candidate users; or a trending status of each candidate user of the candidate users; selecting a set of candidate users from the candidate users based on the first ranking (Shin, [0099] note Ranking module 310 may use a system of levels for its users, such as a recruit, novice, assistant, etc.. if a search turns out two help candidates with the same locality and other features, but one has a rating of novice whereas the other one has a rating of a pro, the user with the pro rating will be given a higher visibility. Ranking module 310 operates to find the best qualified help providers for each question/help request, and the user rating helps in that aspect; i.e. the examiner interprets the user ratings read on roles and the finding the best qualified help providers based on the rating reads on selecting); and
providing, in the conversation interface and in furtherance of the conversation, the set of candidate users to the user as results to the request (Shin, [0093] note Aggregator 414 may aggregate all of the results from search engine 404 and generate search results 416 (e.g., a list of potential help providers). Search results 416 then may be returned back to the user requesting the help (or posting the question)).
Shin does not explicitly teach in response to identifying the candidate users, querying, based on the one or more keywords and the candidate users, one or more second resources to identify candidate content items that are associated with the topic and with which the candidate users have interacted by at least one of authoring, reviewing, or accessing the candidate content items; performing a second ranking the candidate content items based on at least one of: a trending status of each content item of the candidate content items; or a modification date of each content item of the candidate content items; and selecting a set of content items from the content items based on the second ranking; and providing the set of candidate content items.
However, Satalkar teaches this (Satalkar, [Fig. 1] note search query 191, document database 170, people database 180, social network database 145, [Fig. 3], [0035] note at initial step 310 a search query from the user can be received, [0038] note To identify such experts, step 340 can be performed based on the search query received at step 310, [0039] note Subsequently, at step 345, an identification can be made of the content that was authored by experts, whether they are experts who were determined, such as at step 340, specifically in light of the query received at step 310, or whether they are experts who are well known or influential and, consequently, need not be specific to the search query. At step 350, content authored by those experts that is responsive to the search query can be determined, [Fig. 4], [0051] note the age of the content authored by such individuals that is deemed to be responsive to the user's search query 401. For example, more recent content can be deemed to be more important, or result in a higher ranking, than older content. Similarly, in the presentation of such content, such as, for example, within a user interface element such as the user interface element 450, newer content, such as the content 455, can be presented ahead of older content, such as the content 457; i.e. the examiner interprets ranking content based on recency reads on ranking content items based on a modification date).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the social help network of Shin with the social network aware search results of Satalkar according to known methods (i.e. determining content authored by experts that is response to a search query). Motivation for doing so is that experts can simply be individuals considered to have expertise, or some other advanced knowledge, or knowledge not easily obtained, regarding one or more topics to which the user's search query may be relevant (Satalkar, [0032]).
Claim 22: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 21, wherein the conversation participant is an electronic agent of a communication application (Shin, [0054] note Social help network module 302 may also couple to Q&A module 322 that may facilitate chatting/communication with users and/or with a robot).
Claim 23: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 21, wherein the system monitors the conversation to identify:
static context data associated with the user; and dynamic context data related to one or more topics, the one or more topics including the topic of the request (Shin, [0094] note search engine 404 uses both the static contents and the real time contents, and performs an analysis of its internal attributes in a dynamically changing real-time database (such as by using incoming data 406 and/or existing data 408 and/or indexes 410) to generate useful geo-location results matching help useful and well-rated potential helpers to help requests).
Claim 24: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 23, wherein the static context data includes data about the user that does not change during the conversation (Shin, [0094] note static content, which doesn't change over time).
Claim 25: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 23, wherein the dynamic context data:
includes data about subject matter of the conversation that changes during the conversation; and is monitored for a timeframe during the conversation (Shin, [0023] note conversation topics and requirements for the messaging/chatting may be in constant mutation as the conversation continues in chatting format, so the social help network may utilize real-time, or near real-time, indexing and responsiveness).
Claim 26: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 25, wherein the timeframe corresponds to an amount of most recent messages in the conversation or a subset of time in a total time for the conversation (Shin, [0023] note conversation topics and requirements for the messaging/chatting may be in constant mutation as the conversation continues in chatting format, so the social help network may utilize real-time, or near real-time, indexing and responsiveness).
Claim 27: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 21, the operations further comprising:
wherein providing the set of candidate users and the set of candidate content items to the user as the results to the request comprises providing ranked results of the set of candidate users and the set of candidate content items based on the first ranking of the candidate users and the second ranking the candidate content items (Satalkar, [Fig. 4], [0042] note portion 400 of the exemplary user interface can comprise a presentation of friends 410 that can be provided in response to a user search query 401, a presentation of experts 440 also provided in response to the user search query 401, and activity 460 representing recently authored content by those individuals identified as the responsive friends 410).
Claim 28: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 27, wherein the ranked results are ranked based on a role of the user ranking (Shin, [0099] note Ranking module 310 may use a system of levels for its users, such as a recruit, novice, assistant, etc.. if a search turns out two help candidates with the same locality and other features, but one has a rating of novice whereas the other one has a rating of a pro, the user with the pro rating will be given a higher visibility. Ranking module 310 operates to find the best qualified help providers for each question/help request, and the user rating helps in that aspect).
Claim 29: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 21, wherein providing the set of candidate users and the set of candidate content items comprises providing a top number of highest ranking results from a combination of the candidate users and the candidate content items, the top number of highest ranking results being a subset of a total number of the candidate users and the candidate content items (Shin, [0091] note This search will include accounting for the location of the user, the topic of the help request/question, and help providers, as well as the rankings of all parties involved, [0093] note aggregate all of the results from search engine 404 and generate search results 416 (e.g., a list of potential help providers)).
Claim 30: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 21, wherein the results further comprises additional information for each candidate user of the set of candidate users, the additional information including at least one of:
a role of the candidate user; contact information for the candidate user; or a selectable user interface for engaging in a discussion with the candidate user (Shin, [0048] note ranking module 310 may evaluate both the credibility of potential help providers and the relationship of the potential help providers to the help requestor to rank the potential help providers (i.e., potential second users) to answer a question/help request (help item), [0070] note social help network module 502 may allow users of the social help network to create, modify, and use various groups 514. Groups 514 may be used to create communities of helpers for each user).
Claim 31: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 21, wherein the one or more resources are associated with an enterprise of which the user is a member, the one or more resources including:
a document resource storing content items of the enterprise; and a people resource storing users that are members of the enterprise (Satalkar, [0022] note The social network domain computing device 140 can comprise hosted content 141 that can be dynamically generated based upon information retrieved by the social network domain computing device 140 from the social network database 145 to which it is communicationally coupled. In one embodiment, the social network domain computing device 140 can be a computing device hosting a Web-based social network website through which users exchange textual messages, images, establish business connections, and perform other like social network functionality).
Claim 32: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 31, wherein the document resource is a document database or an information management index (Satalkar, [Fig. 1] note search query 191, document database 170, people database 180, social network database 145).
Claim 33: Shin and Satalkar teach the system of claim 31, wherein the people resource is an enterprise directory or a social network data store (Shin, [Fig. 5] note 510, 512, 514, [0069] note User profiles 510 may be user profile data for the social help network and/or other social networks, as described in more detail below. Similarly, user relationships 512 may be indicative of various social relationships of each user in the social help network and/or other social networks. Groups 514 may indicate various groups, such as networks, in the social help network and/or other social networks).
Claim 35: Shin teaches a method comprising:
receiving, in a conversation interface of a computing device, a dialogue entry from a user as part of a conversation between the user and a conversation participant (Shin, [0023] note social help network can also facilitate messaging between its users in real time, such as by providing chatting facilities between users, as well as provide a "robot" that can answer some questions such as by using a natural language question and answer system, [0055] note social help network module 302 may receive a user request, [0079] note the robot may be able to provide chatting and messaging into various conversations started by users);
extracting one or more keywords from the dialogue entry, the one or more keywords identifying a topic of the dialogue entry (Shin, [0055] note This user request may be parsed to search the search engine, e.g., using one or more keywords, [0023] note conversation topics and requirements for the messaging/chatting may be in constant mutation as the conversation continues in chatting format, so the social help network may utilize real-time, or near real-time, indexing and responsiveness);
querying, using the one or more keywords as input, one or more first resources to identify: candidate users that are at least one of knowledgeable about the topic or included within the dialogue entry (Shin, [0094] note search engine 404 uses both the static contents and the real time contents, and performs an analysis of its internal attributes in a dynamically changing real-time database (such as by using incoming data 406 and/or existing data 408 and/or indexes 410) to generate useful geo-location results matching help useful and well-rated potential helpers to help requests);
performing a first ranking of the candidate users based on at least one of: a respective role of each candidate user of the candidate users; or a trending status of each candidate user of the candidate users; selecting a set of candidate users from the candidate users based on the first ranking (Shin, [0099] note Ranking module 310 may use a system of levels for its users, such as a recruit, novice, assistant, etc.. if a search turns out two help candidates with the same locality and other features, but one has a rating of novice whereas the other one has a rating of a pro, the user with the pro rating will be given a higher visibility. Ranking module 310 operates to find the best qualified help providers for each question/help request, and the user rating helps in that aspect; i.e. the examiner interprets the user ratings read on roles and the finding the best qualified help providers based on the rating reads on selecting); and
providing, in the conversation interface and in furtherance of the conversation, the set of candidate users to the user as results to the request (Shin, [0093] note Aggregator 414 may aggregate all of the results from search engine 404 and generate search results 416 (e.g., a list of potential help providers). Search results 416 then may be returned back to the user requesting the help (or posting the question)).
Shin does not explicitly teach in response to identifying the candidate users, querying, based on the one or more keywords and the candidate users, one or more second resources to identify candidate content items that are associated with the topic and with which the candidate users have interacted by at least one of authoring, reviewing, or accessing the candidate content items; performing a second ranking the candidate content items based on at least one of: a trending status of each content item of the candidate content items; or a modification date of each content item of the candidate content items; and selecting a set of content items from the content items based on the second ranking; and providing the set of candidate content items.
However, Satalkar teaches this (Satalkar, [Fig. 1] note search query 191, document database 170, people database 180, social network database 145, [Fig. 3], [0035] note at initial step 310 a search query from the user can be received, [0038] note To identify such experts, step 340 can be performed based on the search query received at step 310, [0039] note Subsequently, at step 345, an identification can be made of the content that was authored by experts, whether they are experts who were determined, such as at step 340, specifically in light of the query received at step 310, or whether they are experts who are well known or influential and, consequently, need not be specific to the search query. At step 350, content authored by those experts that is responsive to the search query can be determined, [Fig. 4], [0051] note the age of the content authored by such individuals that is deemed to be responsive to the user's search query 401. For example, more recent content can be deemed to be more important, or result in a higher ranking, than older content. Similarly, in the presentation of such content, such as, for example, within a user interface element such as the user interface element 450, newer content, such as the content 455, can be presented ahead of older content, such as the content 457; i.e. the examiner interprets ranking content based on recency reads on ranking content items based on a modification date).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the social help network of Shin with the social network aware search results of Satalkar according to known methods (i.e. determining content authored by experts that is response to a search query). Motivation for doing so is that experts can simply be individuals considered to have expertise, or some other advanced knowledge, or knowledge not easily obtained, regarding one or more topics to which the user's search query may be relevant (Satalkar, [0032]).
Claim 36: Shin and Satalkar teach the method of claim 35, wherein the conversation is monitored by an insight system that provides contextual and event driven insights, the insight system being associated with a communication application facilitating the conversation (Shin, [0094] note search engine 404 uses both the static contents and the real time contents, and performs an analysis of its internal attributes in a dynamically changing real-time database (such as by using incoming data 406 and/or existing data 408 and/or indexes 410) to generate useful geo-location results matching help useful and well-rated potential helpers to help requests, [0117] note monitor the communication between the users).
Claim 37: Shin and Satalkar teach the method of claim 36, wherein:
the user is a first user and the conversation participant is a second user; and the communication application provides a graphical user interface for the first user and the second user to communicate during the conversation (Shin, [Fig. 7A]-[Fig. 7D] note GUI 700, [0023] note social help network can also facilitate messaging between its users in real time, such as by providing chatting facilities between users, as well as provide a "robot" that can answer some questions such as by using a natural language question and answer system, [0055] note social help network module 302 may receive a user request, [0079] note the robot may be able to provide chatting and messaging into various conversations started by users);
Claim 38: Shin and Satalkar teach the method of claim 36, wherein the insight system stores:
static context data collected during the conversation in a first data store of the insight system; and dynamic context data during the conversation in a first data store of the insight system (Shin, [0094] note search engine 404 uses both the static contents and the real time contents, and performs an analysis of its internal attributes in a dynamically changing real-time database (such as by using incoming data 406 and/or existing data 408 and/or indexes 410) to generate useful geo-location results matching help useful and well-rated potential helpers to help requests).
Claim 39: Shin and Satalkar teach the method of claim 36, wherein the insight system ranks the results based on first relevance scores associated with the first ranking and second relevance scores associated with the second ranking (Satalkar, [0042] note portion 400 of the exemplary user interface can comprise a presentation of friends 410 that can be provided in response to a user search query 401, a presentation of experts 440 also provided in response to the user search query 401, and activity 460 representing recently authored content by those individuals identified as the responsive friends 410, [0051] note more recent content can be deemed to be more important, or result in a higher ranking, than older content. Similarly, in the presentation of such content, such as, for example, within a user interface element such as the user interface element 450, newer content, such as the content 455, can be presented ahead of older content, such as the content 457).
Claim 40: Shin teaches a device comprising :a processing unit; and a memory coupled storing instructions that, when executed, perform operations comprising:
receiving, in a conversation interface of a contextual insight system, a communication from a user during a conversation between the user and a conversation participant, wherein the contextual insight system monitors the conversation (Shin, [0023] note social help network can also facilitate messaging between its users in real time, such as by providing chatting facilities between users, as well as provide a "robot" that can answer some questions such as by using a natural language question and answer system, [0055] note social help network module 302 may receive a user request, [0079] note the robot may be able to provide chatting and messaging into various conversations started by users);
extracting, by the contextual insight system, one or more keywords from the communication, the one or more keywords identifying a topic of the communication (Shin, [0055] note This user request may be parsed to search the search engine, e.g., using one or more keywords, [0023] note conversation topics and requirements for the messaging/chatting may be in constant mutation as the conversation continues in chatting format, so the social help network may utilize real-time, or near real-time, indexing and responsiveness);
querying, using the one or more keywords as input, one or more first resources accessible to the contextual insight system to identify: candidate users that are at least one of knowledgeable about the topic or included within the communication (Shin, [0094] note search engine 404 uses both the static contents and the real time contents, and performs an analysis of its internal attributes in a dynamically changing real-time database (such as by using incoming data 406 and/or existing data 408 and/or indexes 410) to generate useful geo-location results matching help useful and well-rated potential helpers to help requests);
performing a first ranking of the candidate users based on at least one of: a respective role of each candidate user of the candidate users; or a trending status of each candidate user of the candidate users; selecting a set of candidate users from the candidate users based on the first ranking (Shin, [0099] note Ranking module 310 may use a system of levels for its users, such as a recruit, novice, assistant, etc.. if a search turns out two help candidates with the same locality and other features, but one has a rating of novice whereas the other one has a rating of a pro, the user with the pro rating will be given a higher visibility. Ranking module 310 operates to find the best qualified help providers for each question/help request, and the user rating helps in that aspect; i.e. the examiner interprets the user ratings read on roles and the finding the best qualified help providers based on the rating reads on selecting); and
providing, in the conversation interface and in furtherance of the conversation, the set of candidate users to the user as results to the request (Shin, [0093] note Aggregator 414 may aggregate all of the results from search engine 404 and generate search results 416 (e.g., a list of potential help providers). Search results 416 then may be returned back to the user requesting the help (or posting the question)).
Shin does not explicitly teach in response to identifying the candidate users, querying, based on the one or more keywords and the candidate users, one or more second resources to identify candidate content items that are associated with the topic and with which the candidate users have interacted by at least one of authoring, reviewing, or accessing the candidate content items; performing a second ranking the candidate content items based on at least one of: a trending status of each content item of the candidate content items; or a modification date of each content item of the candidate content items; and selecting a set of content items from the content items based on the second ranking; and providing the set of candidate content items.
However, Satalkar teaches this (Satalkar, [Fig. 1] note search query 191, document database 170, people database 180, social network database 145, [Fig. 3], [0035] note at initial step 310 a search query from the user can be received, [0038] note To identify such experts, step 340 can be performed based on the search query received at step 310, [0039] note Subsequently, at step 345, an identification can be made of the content that was authored by experts, whether they are experts who were determined, such as at step 340, specifically in light of the query received at step 310, or whether they are experts who are well known or influential and, consequently, need not be specific to the search query. At step 350, content authored by those experts that is responsive to the search query can be determined, [Fig. 4], [0051] note the age of the content authored by such individuals that is deemed to be responsive to the user's search query 401. For example, more recent content can be deemed to be more important, or result in a higher ranking, than older content. Similarly, in the presentation of such content, such as, for example, within a user interface element such as the user interface element 450, newer content, such as the content 455, can be presented ahead of older content, such as the content 457; i.e. the examiner interprets ranking content based on recency reads on ranking content items based on a modification date).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the social help network of Shin with the social network aware search results of Satalkar according to known methods (i.e. determining content authored by experts that is response to a search query). Motivation for doing so is that experts can simply be individuals considered to have expertise, or some other advanced knowledge, or knowledge not easily obtained, regarding one or more topics to which the user's search query may be relevant (Satalkar, [0032]).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin and Satalkar in further view of Qian et al., US 2013/0218866 A1 (hereinafter “Qian”).
Claim 34: Shin and Satalkar do not explicitly teach the system of claim 31, wherein the one or more resources are stored in a relational graph of the enterprise, the one or more resources being stored as nodes of the relational graph and relationships between the one or more resources being stored as edges of the relational graph
However, Qian teaches this (Qian, [0016] note The graphs 104 include a click graph that connects queries with links selected by users on a results page, and a web graph that connects documents via links that include hyperlinks, referrer links, and co-visit links. The graphs 104 include a social graph that connects people entities of social networks and a geospatial graph that connects geospatial entities. The graphs 104 include an entity graph that comprises general entities and associated semantic relationships, [0020] note for each entity and web document, a list is generated related to entities and pages, [0025] note social graph connects people entities via friendship, follow, retweet, reply, etc., properties. One main source of the social graph is form social networks such as Facebook™, Twitter™, Linkedin™, etc., as well as authorship extraction from news, Q&A (question and answer) websites, blogs, forums, reviews, content farm sites, and so on, [0046] note Documents written by the same author: Since author entities are extracted from the web document, the authorship information is shown and users are allowed to search for more documents written by the same author, as one way to recommend related documents, [Fig. 3] note 304, 306, [0051] note At 304, computations are performed across the joined graphs to create related entities and related web documents. At 306, a related entity list and a related web document list are output for recommendation processing as part of a search process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the social help network of Shin and Satalkar with the author entities and related documents of Qian according to known methods (i.e. providing search results which include author entities and related documents). Motivation for doing so is that provides improved searching to promote the diversity of search engine results page (SERP) results with a convenient way to navigate and find the most relevant result (Qian, [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dean et al., US 8,856,141 B1 – Identifying an engaging post or message that can be inserted into the content stream of the user. Engaging posts are comments or messages that are likely to engage the user and are about topics or categories of interest to the user, from other users in the social graph of the user and are ranked by quality of the post, trends of post, strength of relationship between the user and the poster, popularity and other factors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIUSEPPI GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153