DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 2, 5 and 6 were canceled and claims 7-8 were added new. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 8 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hagihara (U.S. Patent No. 8,575,512) and Shimohata (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2005/0109818).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagihara (U.S. Patent No. 8,575,512).
As per claim 1, Hagihara discloses a laser welding joint comprising: a first bead formed along a first path (304; figure 6); and a second bead formed along a second path (303), wherein the second bead extends in a direction at an angle of 90°±10 relative to a longitudinal direction of the first bead (as shown; figure 6), wherein a starting end portion of the second bead is formed so as to overlap with a finishing end region of the first bead, and wherein a starting point of the second path is at a position different from the a finishing point of the first path (see annotated figure 6 below). It should be noted that claim 1 is a device or apparatus claim and not a method claim. Therefore, the order or the sequence of the bead does not limit the claim scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagihara (U.S. Patent No. 8,575,512) in view of Umeyama (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0077544).
As per claim 7, Hagihara discloses a method of manufacturing the laser welding joint of claim 1, the method comprising: a first irradiation process in which a laser is irradiated along the second path to form the second bead; and a second irradiation process in which a laser is irradiated along the second path to form the second bead (overlapping second welding section 304 perpendicularly on first welding section 303 irradiated with the laser in advance, i.e., inherently moving the laser sight without irradiation; column 6, lines 2-8). However, this process is different in sequence because the claimed invention forms the first bead in the first irradiation process and the second bead is formed in the second irradiation process. However, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04). Reversing the temporal order of these two irradiation process does not produce any new, unobvious, or unexpected results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hagihara’s sequence of the irradiation process in reverse such that it forms welding section 304 first and then form welding section 303 thereafter, as such a modification is merely a change in the sequence of process absence of new or unexpected results.
Hagihara also does not explicitly teach a movement process in which a laser sight is moved from the finishing point of the first path to the starting point of the second path without laser irradiation.
Umeyama is related prior art in that it also deals with a welding method. Umeyama teaches a movement process in which a laser sight is moved from the finishing point of the first path to the starting point of the second path without laser irradiation (when irradiation position is changed, emission of the laser beam is stopped; paragraph [00128]). Umeyama teaches this minimizes any downtime because it requires almost no time for changing the irradiated position because the movement speed is faster this way and thereby improving the welding speed (paragraph [0128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hagihara’s method to incorporate Umeyama’s method of moving the laser sight without laser irradiation because as Umeyama teaches, this can improve the welding speed.
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimohata (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2005/0109818).
A laser welding joint comprising: a first bead formed along a first path (12-2; figure 1); and a second bead formed along a second path (12-3), wherein: the second bead extends in a direction at an angle of 0°±10° relative to a longitudinal direction of the first bead (as shown; figure 1); a side portion of the second bead is formed so as to overlap with a finishing end region of the first bead, a starting point of the second path is at a position different from a finishing point of the first path (as shown; figure 1). Shimohata does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the second path is 2 to 3 mm. Shimohata however does teach that the build-up layer has 2 mm in diameter (paragraph [0047]). Shimohata’s welding joint it intended for making a repair for defects (paragraph [0004], [0005]). Therefore, the length of the defect determines the required length of the weld bead. In order to make a repair for a small crack less than 3mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Shimohata’s length of the welding joint including the second bead to be between 2 to 3mm.
As per claim 4, Shimohata discloses the laser welding joint of claim 3, and further discloses wherein a scanning direction of the second path is a direction toward a side of the finishing point of the first path (as shown; figure 1).
As per claim 8, Shimohata discloses a method of manufacturing the laser welding joint of claim 3, the method comprising: a first irradiation process in which a laser is irradiated along the first path to form the first bead; a movement process in which a laser sight is moved from the finishing point of the first path to the starting point of the second path without laser irradiation; and a second irradiation process in which a laser is irradiated along the second path to form the second bead (build-up portions maintain a predetermined gap, i.e., moving the laser sight without laser irradiation; figure 1; paragraph [0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745