DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated June 10, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 10 and 20 are amended.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on June 10, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18317446 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Yan does not teach or suggest at adaptor plate 3 cooperates with transmitting plate 2 to define a positioning recess for positioning the electronic device.
However, the transmitting plate 2 and the adapter plate 3 cooperate to form the recess 13 in that the adapter plate 3 raises the transmitting plate 2 in order to form the recess thus providing a cooperation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan US20170222680A1.
Regarding claim 1. Yan discloses a charging device (FIG. 1-4), comprising:
a first housing (1);
a second housing (2) rotatably connected to the first housing (FIG. 2) and configured to hold an electronic device (5);
a charging assembly (¶24 – transmitting coil) received in the second housing (2) and configured to charge the electronic device (¶26 - wireless charging receiving coil in the electronic equipment 5 is aligned with the coil in the transmitting plate 2); and
a holder (3) rotatable relative to the first housing (1) and rotatable along with rotation of the second housing (2) (FIG. 2-3), and the holder being configured to switch between an extending-out state where a portion of the holder extends out of the first housing (FIG. 2-3; ¶24) and a receiving state where the portion of the holder is received in the first housing (FIG. 4; ¶24 - box body 1 is provided with a groove 11 for accommodating the adapter plate 3; ¶26 - adapter plate 3 is pressed by the transmitting plate 2 in the groove 11).
wherein the charging device is configured to switch between a horizontal state (FIG. 1) and a vertical state (FIG. 2);
when the charging device is in the vertical state (FIG. 3), the holder (3) and the second housing (2) cooperate to define a positioning recess (13) to position the electronic device (Fig. 3 – the transmitting plate 2 and the adapter plate 3 cooperate to form the recess 13 in that the adapter plate 3 raises the transmitting plate 2 in order to form the recess thus providing a cooperation).
Regarding claim 2. Yan discloses a transmission member (¶25 – recessed portion 4) connected to the holder (3) and the second housing (2) (FIG. 2), wherein when the second housing rotates relative to the first housing, the second housing drives the holder to rotate through indirect cooperation between the transmission member and the holder (¶24 – adapter plate is hinged through recessed portion 4 such that when rotated, the transmitting plate 2 rotates with respect to the box body 1, thus being in cooperation).
Regarding claim 3. Yan discloses the first housing (1) comprises a first sub-housing (top/12) and a second sub-housing (bottom of box body 1) connected to the first sub-housing, wherein the first sub-housing and the second sub-housing cooperate to define a first receiving space (FIG. 3 – the portions of the body 1 form the placing groove 12); ¶26);
the first housing (1) further comprises a protruding portion (Side of 1) provided at a side of the second sub-housing away from the first sub-housing (sides of 1 are extending from the top/12), wherein the protruding portion has two opposite first side walls (two sides are opposite each other as indicated in annotated and reproduced FIG. 2 below) and a second side wall connected between the two first side walls (two sides are opposite each other as indicated in annotated and reproduced FIG. 2 below), wherein the first side walls and the second side wall cooperate to define a second receiving space connected to the first receiving space (FIGS. 1-2).
Yan discloses the second housing (1) is rotatably connected to the first side walls (as illustrated above, the holder 3 is connected to the sidewall of 2 in a rotatable manner).
Regarding claim 4. Yan discloses that the first side wall defines a first rotation recess (positioning groove 13 cut into first sidewall) at a side close to the second receiving space (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 2 below);
the second housing (2) comprises a third sub-housing (bottom of 2) and a fourth sub-housing (top of 2) connected to the third sub-housing (the top and bottom of 2 define the boundaries of the housing), wherein the third sub-housing is closer to the first sub-housing than the fourth sub-housing (FIGS. 1-3 – the bottom of 2 is closer to the top of 1 than the top of 2), the third sub-housing and the fourth sub-housing cooperate to define a third receiving space (See annotated and reproduced FIG. 2 above), and the third sub-housing has a bottom wall and a sidewall that is connected to and bent relative to at least a portion of a periphery of the bottom wall (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 3 below), wherein the sidewall defines a first through hole (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 3 below); and
the charging device further comprises a first rotation shaft (see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 5 below), wherein the first rotation shaft has one end received in the third receiving space (FIG. 5 end of shaft is arranged in the opening – see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 5 below) and connected to the third sub-housing (bottom of 2), and another end of the first rotation shaft penetrates the first through hole (other end of shaft extends through the hole), and the another end of the first rotation shaft is disposed outside of the third receiving space and received in the first rotation recess (FIG. 2-3, 5 illustrates the “another” end, inserted into the throughhole and thus is outside of the third receiving space – when closed, the “another’ end is arranged in the recess).
Regarding claim 5. Yan discloses that the first side wall defines a second rotation recess (42) at a side close to the second receiving space (FIG. 3; ¶27 – lug 14);
the charging device further comprises a second rotation shaft (where the adapter plate 3 connects to the box body 1 – see annotated and partially reproduced FIG. 7 below), wherein the second rotation shaft has one end connected to the holder (3), and another end of the second rotation shaft is received in the second rotation recess (42); and
the holder (3) defines a slot at a side close to the first sub-housing (the slot being the portion that the shaft goes through to connect to device 1), and the end of the second rotation shaft is received in the slot (shaft is received into slot of the holder 3).
Regarding claim 6. Yan discloses that the protruding portion further has a top wall connected to the two first side walls and the second side wall, wherein the first side walls, the second side wall, and the top wall cooperate to define the second receiving space (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 2 below), the top wall defines a second through hole that is connected to the second receiving space (where the indicated second rotation shaft connects to the device 1), and the top wall defines a second rotation recess (42) at a wall of the second through hole (the insertion hole is below the top wall, thus, defining the rotation recess); and
the charging device further comprises a second rotation shaft (as illustrated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 7 below), wherein the holder (3) is partially received in the second through hole (connecting holder 3 with device 1), and the second rotation shaft (42) has an end connected to the holder (connecting holder 3 with device 1), and another end of the second rotation shaft is received in the second rotation recess (42).
Regarding claim 7. Yan discloses that when the holder (3) is in the receiving state, a side surface of the holder away from the first sub-housing is flush with a side surface of the top wall away from the first sub-housing (when in the closed position, the holder 3 is arranged flat such that the first sub-housing and the holder 3 are approximately level, thus, being flush).
Regarding claim 9. Yan discloses that the transmission member is partially received in the second receiving space, and the transmission member is connected to the holder and defines a third rotation recess (when rotated in a closed position, the transmission member is received in the indicated second receiving space -see partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 2 below);
the charging device further comprises a rotation frame and a third rotation shaft, wherein the rotation frame is connected to the second housing (2) at a side of the second housing close to the holder (attached to the inside surface of the transmitting plate which the holder connects to – see partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 5 below), and
the third rotation shaft has an end connected to the rotation frame (one side of the “third” rotation shaft is inserted into the rotation frame), and another opposite end of the third rotation shaft is received in the third rotation recess (the other side of the shaft is arranged in the opening between each side of the frame).
Regarding claim 10. Yan discloses that the third rotation recess is in a shape of an arc (as illustrated in FIG. 5 above, the third rotation space is arc shaped to allow for rotation) and extends towards the first sub-housing (in the closed position, the third rotation recess faces the bottom plate 1), and the third rotation recess extends in a direction parallel to a rotation direction of the third rotation shaft (as illustrated in FIG. 3 where the rotation occurs parallel to the recess).
Regarding claim 11. Yan discloses that the transmission member defines an installation groove at a side close to the second housing (the groove within the transmission member is arranged on the side of the charging plate 2), wherein the installation groove is connected to the third rotation recess (the groove forms the boundaries of the third rotation recess; FIG. 5);
the transmission member (4) defines the third rotation recess at a side away from the first side wall (the third rotation recess is interior to the transmission member, thus facing away from the first sidewall indicated in claim 3), and the third rotation shaft has an end connected to the rotation frame at a side of the rotation frame close to the first side wall (as indicated in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 5 - because the transmission member is symmetrical, the same configuration appears in the relation to the indicated third rotation shaft; and
the holder (3) defines a fixing hole at one end close to the first sub-housing (FIG. 6 – indicates a hole on the side attached to the indicated first sub-housing), and
the transmission member is provided with a connecting rod shaft received in the fixing hole (FIG. 5 – the transmission member includes a protruding potion that includes the fixing hole).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Chen US20200361355A1
Regarding claim 8. Yan does not explicitly disclose an anti-slip member that is disposed at a side of the holder away from the first sub-housing.
Chen discloses an anti-slip member (skidproof stripes) that is disposed at a side of the holder away from the first sub-housing (¶35 – strips are arranged on a subplate 31).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the skidplate stripes, as taught by Chen, to the charger of Yan in order to provide a grip to prevent the phone/device from slipping and potentially falling.
Claims 12-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1
Regarding claim 12. Yan does not explicitly teach a motor assembly, wherein the motor assembly is received in the first receiving space, connected to the second housing, and configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing.
Dunkley discloses a motor assembly (20), wherein the motor assembly is received in the first receiving space (motor 20 is arranged in a lower portion of the laptop 12), connected to the second housing (FIG. 3 – the motor is connected to the lid portion of the laptop at lateral edge 32), and configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing (¶12 – gears are rotatable coupled to the laptop computer 12).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Regarding claim 13. Yan does not explicitly teach a processor received in the first receiving space, wherein the processor is electrically connected to the motor assembly, configured to send a first control signal to the motor assembly to start the motor assembly, and further configured to send a second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly.
Dunkley teaches a processor (22) received in the first receiving space (¶13 – in the laptop computer) , wherein the processor is electrically connected to the motor assembly (FIG. 5), configured to send a first control signal to the motor assembly to start the motor assembly (¶13 – motor electrically coupled to the processor), and further configured to send a second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly (¶20 – open and close signal in relation to command).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Regarding claim 18. Yan does not explicitly disclose a communication component received in the first receiving space, wherein: the communication component is electrically connected to the processor and configured to receive a fourth control signal from a terminal device; and the communication component is further configured to send the fourth control signal to the processor, and the processor is further configured to start or stop the motor assembly according to the fourth control signal.
Dunkely discloses a communication component received in the first receiving space (FIG. 5; ¶19-20 - processor communicates with a remote control 42), wherein:
the communication component is electrically connected to the processor and configured to receive a fourth control signal from a terminal device (¶20 – remote transceiver communicates with the processor which includes a communication component in order to receive a communication signal from the remote 42); and
the communication component is further configured to send the fourth control signal to the processor, and the processor is further configured to start or stop the motor assembly according to the fourth control signal (¶20 – the motor opens/closes the screen in relation to the issued command).
Dunkley is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a motor assembly to the charger of Yan in order to provide automatic opening for user ease.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1 and further in view of Loo et al. US9823631B1
Regarding claim 14. Yan does not explicitly teach a distance sensor received in the first receiving space, wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor and connected to the motor assembly, and wherein during operation of the motor assembly, the distance sensor is configured to send a distance signal to the processor, and the processor is further configured to obtain a rotation angle of the second housing according to the distance signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the rotation angle of the second housing is greater than or equal to a preset angle, and further configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly in response to the rotation angle of the second housing being greater than or equal to the preset angle.
Loo discloses a distance sensor received in the first receiving space, wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected to the processor and connected to the motor assembly (column 5, lines 51-63 – sensor that detects nearby objects or when a user enters a predetermined threshold distance and executes a procedure to open the lid), and
wherein during operation of the motor assembly, the distance sensor is configured to send a distance signal to the processor (column 5, lines 51-63 –computer executes a procedure or sequence to open the lid thus having received a signal), and the processor is further configured to obtain a rotation angle of the second housing according to the distance signal (column 7, lines 19-28 – angle is determined according to the position of the user), and wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the rotation angle of the second housing is greater than or equal to a preset angle (column 7, lines 1-9 - maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance, thus, the angle is at least equal to a preset angle), and further configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly in response to the rotation angle of the second housing being greater than or equal to the preset angle (column 7, lines 1-9 - maximum angles are set according to acceptable visual performance, thus, the angle is at least equal to a preset angle).
Loo is analogous to Yan as both references relate to opening an electronic device, whether it be a laptop or a charger. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the angle settings of Loo to the device of Yan in order to provide acceptable visual performance (Loo; column 7, lines 1-9).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1 and further in view of Long et al. US20220105008A1
Regarding claim 15. Yan does not explicitly teach a speaker received in the first receiving space and electrically connected to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: send an audio signal to the speaker to make the speaker sound when the processor sends the first control signal to the motor assembly; or stop sending the audio signal to the speaker when the processor sends the second control signal to the motor assembly.
Long discloses a speaker (32) and electrically connected to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to:
send an audio signal to the speaker to make the speaker sound when the processor sends the first control signal to the motor assembly (¶65 – alert broadcast through the speaker if the lid is opened).
Although Long does not explicitly disclose that the speaker is arranged in the first receiving space, because the processor in Dunkley is arranged in the designated first receiving space, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the speaker with the processor/controller. Thus, when combined with Dunkley the speaker would be arranged in the first receiving space.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1 in view of Dunkley et al. US20160048164A1 and further in view of Leem WO2019190091A1.
Regarding claim 19. Yan discloses that the second housing (2) comprises a third sub-housing (bottom of 2) and a fourth sub-housing (top of 2) connected to the third sub-housing (FIG. 3 – the sub-housings form the second housing 2),
wherein the third sub-housing (bottom of 2) is closer to the first sub-housing (top of 1) than the fourth sub-housing (bottom of 1) (FIG. 3 – when the top 2 is closed the bottom of 2 is closer to the top of 1), and
the third sub-housing (bottom of 2) and the fourth sub-housing (top of 2) cooperate to define a third receiving space (the interior of 2 is formed – thus forming the third receiving space); and
the charging assembly is received in the third receiving space and comprises a charging coil (¶24 – transmitting plate provided with a transmitting coil).
Yan does not explicitly disclose a heat dissipation support, wherein the charging coil is disposed on the heat dissipation support and electrically connected to the processor, and the processor is further configured to send a charging signal to the charging coil, and the charging coil is configured to charge the electronic device according to the charging signal.
Leem discloses a heat dissipation support (heat dissipation sheet 300), wherein the charging coil is disposed on the heat dissipation support (page 10, ¶3- heat dissipation sheet 300 may support the wireless charging coil module) and electrically connected to the processor ( page 8 ¶4 - “ coil selector 222 may control the AC power signal to be transmitted to the coil selected by the controller @ 40 according to a predetermined control signal of the controller 240” thus, being connected to a processer), and the processor is further configured to send a charging signal to the charging coil, and the charging coil is configured to charge the electronic device (portable terminal) according to the charging signal (page 8 ¶4 - “coil selector 222 may control the AC power signal to be transmitted to the coil selected by the controller @ 40 according to a predetermined control signal of the controller 240” thus, being connected to a processer).
It would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the heat dissipation support of Leem to the charging device of Yan in order to prevent overheating and damage to the device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan US20170222680A1.
Regarding claim 20. Yan discloses that the first housing (1) has a first surface (bottom), a second surface (top) opposite the first surface (bottom), and a third surface (side) connecting the first surface (bottom) and the second surface (top), wherein the second surface (top) is configured to partially abut against the second housing (the second housing 2 rests on the top surface , and when the holder (3) is in the extending- out state (FIG. 2), the holder extends out of the first housing from the second surface (FIG. 2 – the holder 3 extends from the second side (top) of 1); and
wherein in the horizontal state, the second housing (2) is parallel to the first housing(1) (FIG. 1), in the vertical state (FIGS. 2/7), the second housing (2) is angled relative to the first housing (1) (FIG. 2/7 – the second housing 2 is arranged at an angle from the first housing 1),
Although Yan does not explicitly teach when the charging device is in the vertical state, the holder is perpendicular to the second housing, the angle of the holder 3 would be close to 90 degrees from the housing.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205-206 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°). Because the angle is close to 90 degrees when in the vertical position, a prima facie case exists.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, although the prior art teaches the limitations of the intervening claims, the prior art is silent as to a wireless charger including “a first switch and a second switch received in the first receiving space, wherein both the first switch and the second switch are electrically connected to the processor, and wherein the first switch is configured to send a vertical signal to the processor in response to pressing of the first switch, and the processor is further configured to send the first control signal to the motor assembly according to the vertical signal, and the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate in a first direction according to the first control signal; and the second switch is configured to send a horizontal signal to the processor in response to pressing of the second switch, and the processor is further configured to send a third control signal to the motor assembly according to the horizontal signal, and the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate in a second direction according to the third control signal, wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction”.
Claim 17 is allowable at least due to the dependency from an allowable claim.
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheu et al. US20160064987A1 (cited in the IDS filed 6/3/2026) - discloses a charging device with a rotating portion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859