99Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species of homopolymer in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged, however, on consideration of the art the species requirement is fully withdrawn. Claims 1-12 are pending for first action on the merits.
Once a restriction (species) requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanba (WO2019168183; reference made to US20200392266 English language equivalent).
Nanba teaches fluoropolymers of polymer (1) (see abstract) and 70 mol% or less (¶[0160]) of a copolymerizable monomer. ¶[0165] This monomer may be a fluoroalkyl vinyl ether monomer represented by general formula 150.¶[0177-0178] This monomer 150 meets the limitations of general formula 1, specifically when Z151 = F or -COZ151 and Z151 = -OR151 and R151 is alkali metal, ammonium or H (the combination equivalent to -COOM of Claim 1 and Claim 6).
The number average molecular weight of this polymer is preferably 1.0 to 20 x 104 and the weight average molecular weight is preferably 1.0 to 40x104 (¶[0161-0162]) which makes the PDI roughly 1 to 2 (40/20). This reads over the weight average molecular weight of Claim 1, Claim 2 as overlapping ranges and the PDI of Claim 3.
Nanba does not exemplify a polymer with polymer 1 and 70 mol% or less of monomer 150 as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Nanba such that the fluoropolymer produced comprises 70 mol % or less of the above monomer 150 because Nanba suggests this as discussed above.
This molar amount overlaps that of Claim 1 and each X = F of Claim 4 and the Rf of Claim 5 as the m and n of Nanba in monomer 150 combines to overlap the number of carbon atoms of Claim 5.
With respect to Claims 7-9, Nanba teaches in ¶[0650-0653] the polymerization of a separate electrolyte polymer precursor comprising monomer 150 and TFE in a molar ratio of TFE to 150 of 50 to 99 : 50 to 1. This molar ratio overlaps the range of Claim 1, Claim 7, Claim 8 and Claim 9.
However, Nanba is silent on the weight average molecular weight of the above electrolyte polymer precursor and such a precursor must have a molecular weight associated with it. As this polymer precursor comprises monomer 150, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Nanba to produce said electrolyte polymer precursor with the above weight average molecular weight preferably 1.0 to 40x104 (¶[0161-0162]) as this molecular weight is associated with another polymer using this monomer 150 and also in ¶[0650] Nanba teaches the electrolyte polymer precursor is produced according to the present disclose. This reads over the weight average molecular weight of Claims 7-9 by virtue of their dependency to Claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Nanba (WO2019168183; reference made to US20200392266 English language equivalent) which teaches polymers comprising general formula 1 as claimed but fails to teach homopolymers of general formula 1 (Claim 10) and additionally fails to teach or suggest anything about the amount of low molecular weight species as claimed and dimers and trimers. (Claims 11-12) To arrive at Claim 10 – 12 using Nanba would require the use of hindsight.
With respect to Claim 31, Nanba is limited to 70 mol % of the fluoromonomer (monomer 150 relevant to the claimed invention) and, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the claimed invention without the use of hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks filed September 2, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant does not amend the independent claim and, further, add new claim 31.
Applicant’s arguments filed September 2, 2026 have been fully consider but are not persuasive.
Applicant argue Nanba does not teach or suggest the fluoromonomer is reacted with the polymer 1. This argument is not persuasive.
In ¶[0165] Nanda specifically teaches the fluoromonomer is reacted in the presence of polymer 1 to produce a fluoropolymer. (emphasis added) (150 as detailed in the rejection of record)
In the abstract, Nanba also teaches the creation of a fluoropolymer (singular) of the fluoromonomer (150 as detailed in the rejection of record) and polymer 1. There is no teaching or suggestion there are two independent polymers in the resulting product as Applicant appears to argue.
Nanba examples, see for instance Table 1, reasonably suggest the fluoromonomer is a modifier of polymer 1.
The polymer 1 is taught to have ethylenic unsaturation that the examples, nor any other portion of Nanba, reasonably suggest is deactivated prior to the introduction and polymerization of the fluoromonomer (150 as detailed in the rejection of record) is polymerized. These fluoromonomers all have ethylenic unsaturation. Therefore, this reasonably suggest the fluoromonomer and the polymer 1 have reactive sites with each other.
Therefore, for the above reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the fluoromonomer and the polymer 1 are polymerized together contrary to Applicant’s interpretation of the Nanba.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766