DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment on Election/Restrictions
Election was made with traverse.
Any amendments to elected independent claim 1 should be made to withdrawn claim 12 to ensure full and proper rejoinder can be completed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments submitted 9/8/25 have been fully and carefully considered.
The claim rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and arguments (see argument P5).
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102, applicant argues that the amendments of subject matter of claims 5 and 6 into independent claim 1 have overcome the claim rejections (see arguments p 5-6). This is found persuasive. However upon updated search and consideration new grounds of rejections under 35 USC 103 necessitated by amendment are included in this Office action. This action will be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsonov et al (US 6,258,215) taken in combination with Trusch (US 4,316,774).
Regarding claim 1, Samsonov teaches a distillation urine processor assembly comprising: a first collection tank (urinal 1 to tank 2) that is operative to collect urine (Figs 1-3, C10:L9-30, having a series of pretreatments); a heat exchanger (29,61) disposed downstream of the first collection tank and in fluid communication with first collection tank (Figs 1-3, C10:L30-45, C11:L17-31); where the heat exchanger is operative to heat urine with heat generated by phase separation of urine (Figs 1-3, C10:L30-45, C11:L17-31); a first separating apparatus comprising: a first separator (gas-liquid rotary separator 5 in pre-treatment unit I, Figs 1-3, C10:L30-65, C11:L56-C12:L8), where the first separator is operative to separate urine into water vapor and brine; at first pump (urine feed pump 22) in fluid communication with the first separator; a second collection tank (elastic containers 10); wherein the second collection tank is operative to store the brine discharged from the first separator; where the first separating apparatus lies downstream of the heat exchanger (29,61); a second separator (gas-liquid rotary separator 28 in water reclamation unit II, Figs 1-3, C10:L30-65, C11:L56-C12:L8); where the second separator lies downstream of the heat exchanger and in fluid communication with the heat exchanger; where the second separator is operative to separate water from the gas; and a storage tank (elastic containers 110) that is operative to store water discharged from the second separator (Figs 1-3, C10:L4-C13:L19).
However Samsonov only teaches single pump therefore does not teach first and second pump both as claimed.
Trusch teaches a distillation urine processor assembly comprising: a first collection tank (5) that is operative to collect urine; a heat exchanger (6) disposed downstream of the first collection tank and in fluid communication with the first collection tank (5); where the heat exchanger (6) is operative to heat urine with heat generated by phase separation of urine; a first separating apparatus comprising: a first separator (heater 9 and membrane 11 module); where the first separator is operative to separate urine into water vapor and brine; Trusch teaches From the recycle tank the flush is then pumped by recirculation pumps 8 to the hot junction surface 9 of the thermoelectric heat pump where the waste fluid is heated…The slightly cooled…and concentrated urine is returned to the recycle tank 7 after passing through the module 11 passing by a concentration sensor 12 and filtered by an approximately thirty micron conventional fiber-wrapped precipitate filter 13. It is then pumped back to the hot junction surface 9 by recirculation pumps 8 where it is reheated and recycled…The removed condensate is pumped by pump 16” (C3:L18-C4:L11); a second collection tank (7); wherein the second collection tank is operative to store the brine discharged from the first separator; where the first separating apparatus lies downstream of the heat exchanger; a second separator (charcoal and ion exchange bed 18); where the second separator lies downstream of the heat exchanger 6 and in fluid communication with it; where the second separator is operative to separate water from the gas (potable water out) and a storage tank (19) that is operative to store water discharged from the second separator (Fig 1, C3:L10-C4:L14, claim 1).
Therefore Trusch substantially recognizes inclusion of “recirculation pumps 8” to ensure flow of liquid through urine feed system, as well as pumps in product filtering systems, and in view of this one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention substantially knew that plural pumps may be included in liquid lines as needed to ensure proper pressure in feed and product lines of urine distillation processor system and therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add additional pumps as needed in the system of Samsonov with the expected result of pumping liquid in the preferred direction of Samsonov as suggested by Trusch.
Regarding claims 2-3, Samsonov teaches condensate formed by condenser integrated into in rotary distiller 28 is sent via line 39 to condensate purification unit III (Fig 2, C10:L35-53).
Regarding claim 4, Samsonov teaches urine feed pump 22 integrated within pretreatment unit first separating apparatus (Fig 1, C10:L30-34).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, the first separator 5 and second separator 28 in Samsonov as set forth above are rotary separators.
Regarding claim 8, Samsonov teaches closed urine circulation loop 30 connected with distiller 28 (see Fig 1-2, C10:L35-45).
Regarding claim 9, Samsonov further teaches urine filter 24 as well as intermediary storage tanks 9/10 (Fig 1, C10:L20-34).
Regarding claim 11, Samsonov further teaches pump 41 integrated into water reclamation unit II (see Figs 1-2, C10:L35-58).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772