DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/17/2026, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be (fully) persuasive. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objects are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation “is known” in claims 6-7 further renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear who or what is doing the knowing and how they determined that the parameter “is known,” and the claim therefor fails to provide an objective, precise boundary for “is known.” Further regarding claims 6-7, the claims are unclear because they do not recite in what way the concentration is determined “based on the ratio” (claim 6) and “based on the density” (claim 7). Claim 1 recites “the tissue.” As there is no tissue previously enumerated in the claim, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this “the tissue.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that “is known” is commonly used in patent claims to indicate that parameter has been predetermined or established prior to use, applicant has provided no evidence for this statement, nor the assertion that “is known” means that the ratio or density has been determined by or measured beforehand and is available for use in the concentration calculation. Applicant has shown no evidence of above, nor has applicant addressed the rejection, which states that “is known” further renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear who or what is doing the knowing and how they determined that the parameter “is known,” and the claim therefor fails to provide an objective, precise boundary for “is known.” As the application is unclear as to who or what is doing the knowing, and what is known, and how what is known is used in the claim, the artisan would not know the scope of the claim and what systems fall under the scope of applicant’s invention and which systems do not. Regarding applicant’s argument that the claim is clear as to how the concentration is determined as it recites “by converting a concentration of marking additive to the concentration of the chemical substance based on the ratio,” applicant has not addressed the rejection as the basis of the rejection is that the claim nor does the application clarify what property of aspect of the density is used in the determining and how that property or aspect is used to determine the concentration. Applicant’s tatement that it means “the density is used in an in put to derive the concentration,” this is not in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20170301082 to Allmenoinger (IDS filed 10/12/2023). Allmenoinger teaches a system comprising a source comprising a therapeutic chemical substance, such as water (paragraphs 4-5 and 114), and a marking additive, such as iodine (a therapeutic agent; iodine is spectrally visible) (paragraphs 5-6, 60-62, 91, 99, 119-126), wherein the iodine is incorporated into the water (the marking additive is incorporated into the chemical substance) (paragraphs 4-5), a computed tomography (CT) device (an imaging device), and a computer (a computing device) (paragraphs 15-16) configured to analyze an image captured by the imaging device of a tissue after the chemical substance and the marking additive have been delivered to the tissue and determine a concentration of the chemical substance in the tissue (paragraphs 4, 6, 9-10, 13, 58, 60-21, 83-85, 99, 102, 114-115, and 121-123, 190, 211, 230-231). The chemical substance is therapeutic and configured to deliver iodine (a therapeutic chemical) to a target region in the tissue (paragraphs 5-6, 60-62, 91, 99, 119-126). The chemical substance and the marking additive deposit homogeneously in vasculature of tissue (5, 10-11, and 101). The amount of water and iodine are measured, which is deemed to read on “is known,” and Allmenoinger teaches that the concentration of the iodine in water can be determined by converting a concentration of iodine to the concentration of the water based on the ratio, and further teaches that the density of water and iodine can be used to determine the concentration (paragraph 96, 111, 114-115, and 134). This reads on wherein a ratio of the chemical substance to the marking additive is known and the concentration of the chemical substance is determined by converting a concentration of marking additive to the concentration of the chemical substance based on the ratio (claim 6), and wherein a density of a mixture of the chemical substance and the marking additive is known and the concentration of the chemical substance is determined based on the density (claim 7).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that there is no “therapeutic chemical substance” in Allmeninger, the examiner’s response is that water is a therapeutic chemical substance in medical contexts because it is actively used to treat, prevent, or support recovery from health conditions, and its administration is regulated and monitored by healthcare professionals. Water is not the same as iodine. Regarding applicant’s argument that the reference does not teach determining, the examiner’s response is that the amount of water and iodine are measured, which is deemed to read on “is known,” and Allmenoinger teaches that the concentration of the iodine in water can be determined by converting a concentration of iodine to the concentration of the water based on the ratio, and further teaches that the density of water and iodine can be used to determine the concentration (paragraph 96, 111, 114-115, and 134). This reads on wherein a ratio of the chemical substance to the marking additive is known and the concentration of the chemical substance is determined by converting a concentration of marking additive to the concentration of the chemical substance based on the ratio (claim 6), and wherein a density of a mixture of the chemical substance and the marking additive is known and the concentration of the chemical substance is determined based on the density (claim 7).
Conclusion
Applicants amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection. Therefore, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
August 25, 2026