DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cover cantilevered from a core, the core including a foam wedge must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39-42, 44-47, 56, 57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Layne (U.S. Patent 4,349,992).
Layne discloses a seal (10) for use at a loading dock (Figure 1, for example). The seal has a cover (15) encasing a compressible core (12a). The seal protrudes in a first direction away from the pit floor (vertically, Figure 5, for example) and a second direction away from the pit floor (horizontally, for example, Figure 5) to seal a gap between the floor and a vehicle (Figure 2, for example). The arrangement is such that if a vertically stored dock leveler, which is not a positively recited component, was positioned on the dock, claim recitations would be met.
Regarding claim 40, the cover is a flexible material and fabric (column 2, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 41, the core is a compressible, resilient foam (column 2, lines 7-8).
Regarding claims 42 and 44, Layne seals in in a third direction (lengthwise, Figure 3, for example).
Layne functions in the manner of claims 45, 53 and 58 (Figure 2).
Regarding claims 46, 47 and 57, the core has a non-cylindrical shape that is deemed to meet the recitations of a “wedge,” since the shape tapers forwardly (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 56, the core is mounted to the pit floor (by brackets 14, 21, 22 and fasteners 18, 27, for example). See Figure 5.
Claims 56, 57 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moody (U.S. Patent 5,125,196).
Moody discloses a seal apparatus including a compressible seal (14, 15) and a cover (11) coupled to the compressible seal (Figures 2 and 4, for example) and is positionable in the manner claimed, since it is for a loading dock (Figure 1, for example). The cover is structured to deflect (from the position in Figure 2) relative to the compressible seal as claimed, since movement of the truck (28) moves the compressible seal (14, 15) relative to the cover (Figure 4, for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layne or Moody, as applied above, and further in view of Hahn et al. (U.S. Patent 5,442,825).
As discussed above, Layne is within the scope of a wedge. Further, Hahn teaches this shape to be useful as a compressible seal configuration (Figure 3, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured Layne in the shape of Hahn since Hahn exemplifies that this is a configuration known to use to seal loading docks.
Claims 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layne, as applied above, and further in view of Miller et al. (U.S. Patent 6,948,285).
Layne does not teach flexible flaps. Miller teaches flexible flaps (fabric straps 58) with a seal for connection between the seal and a dock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured Layne with the flaps of Miller since Miller teaches these to be useful connection features in dock seals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 51-54 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 December 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The manner in which the seal is positionable relative to other, unclaimed devices/structures is not patentably distinguishing because the relied upon references could be positioned as claimed.
The reference relied upon with respect to claim 56 has been withdrawn and replaced. As with the preceding paragraph, the functional recitations are not patentably distinguishing.
As stated in the final Office action, because applicant did not specifically challenge examiner’s assertion of Official notice in the reply to the non-final Office action, this has been taken as admitted prior art.
Claim 51 is allowed; therefore, the argument is not being addressed.
Conclusion
GARY S. HARTMANN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/GARY S HARTMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671