DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimers filed on 12/31/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,262,892, 11,650,721 and 12,131,010 have been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimers have been recorded.
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/02/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 11, and 21 have been amended. No Claim has been cancelled. No Claim has been added. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
The double patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 11,262,892, 11,650,721 and 12,131,010 are withdrawn in view of the approved Terminal Disclaimers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claims 1, 11, and 21, and dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that “Papakipos is limited to non-analogous art . . . Papakipos scroll bars and side or back-mounted touchpads are specifically described therein and NOWHERE does Papakipos teach or suggest these limitations are compatible for use with and will not work applicant's claimed touchscreen.” (Remarks, p. 13-14).
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Papakipos teaches manipulating interface elements by assigning a listener to the selected element to detect an engaging touch event. Papakipos and Capela are considered analogous art because both pertain to interface element manipulations. Scroll bars and side or back mounted touchpads can indeed be used with touchscreen.
In response to applicant's argument that Applicant's disclosure addresses different problems that those recited by Cape la, Davidson, Papakipos, Kutaragi, and the other references of record, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that Capela teaches static function that cannot change, and concludes “When Capela is considered as a whole, these sweeping M-finger gestures teach away from Applicant's claimed features and innovations that enable any manner of functionality to be applied to a selected object upon execution of the clutch module." (Remarks, p. 23).
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion.
Capela teaches “electronic devices with touch-sensitive surfaces configured to precisely move and place user interface objects.” (¶2). Although Capela does not explicitly disclose a clutch user interface element for multiple function capability, Capela does not teaches that such an improvement is not allowed. In other words, Capela does not teach away from a multiple function improvement.
Applicant submits that “When viewed as a whole, Capela instead TEACHES AWAY from applicant's claims and recites irrelevant features: a touchpad (not shown or technically enabled) is unlike the touch screen, because it does not display visual output." (Remarks, p. 25).
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion.
As Applicant quoted in page 25, Capela at ¶47 teaches "a separate touchpad for activating or deactivating particular functions." It is well known in the art to have a designated touch pad area in a touch screen.
Applicant submits that “the Office Action falsely asserts with reference to ¶173 and Fig. 5B, that Capela teaches contact 508 reads on the selection touch event that is the sole event for the selection operation." No where does Capela disclose this feature,” (Remarks, p. 26).
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Capela recites “FIG. 5A depicts a contact 508 that is detected at a location within the boundary of user interface object 506.” (¶172); and further “UI 500B (FIG. 5B) depicts contact 508 that continues to be detected within the boundary of user interface object 506. In some embodiments, a bounding box 510 is displayed in response to detection of contact 508, indicating that user interface object 506 has been selected for manipulation.” (¶173). In other words, Capela teaches, a touch event is detected at the contact point 508 and the user interface object 506 has been selected for manipulation
Regarding claims 4-5, 14-15, and 24-25, Applicant submits that “As best as can be discerned by skilled persons, Kutaragi's sequential stores in memory the identification information of objects on the screen, and that scrolling speed controls are limited to single dimension actuation about a predetermined scroll bar using either keys/buttons or a "flick" of a finger on the screen. See, e.g., Kutaragi at !]{!JI 0030 - 0031, 0033 - 0048, Figs. 3, 5 - 7.” (¶42). However, the Examiner notes that claims 4-5, 14-15, and 24-25 merely disclose storing, in memory, a target element identifier and retrieving the identifier from memory. Speed controls are not disclosed. Kutaragi teaches “The identification information of the thus selected image objects 52 is sequentially stored in the memory of the home-use computer 18, and later used for collective display in the TV receiver in response to the auxiliary button 34R pressed.” (¶71)
The arguments regarding dependent claims for the virtue of their dependency are moot because the independent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-13, 16-23, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capela et al. (US 20110185321 A1), in view of Davidson (US 20130069991 A1), and further in view of Papakipos et al. (US 20130093690 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Capela discloses An apparatus configured to manipulate user interface elements presented on a display screen (¶2 reciting “electronic devices with touch-sensitive surfaces”), comprising:
a touch-sensitive display screen (¶7 reciting “the device has a touch-sensitive display (also known as a "touch screen" or "touch screen display")”) configured to:
display a target user interface element; (Figs. 5A-5J showing a target user interface element 506)
detect a selection touch event (¶173 reciting “UI 500B (FIG. 5B) depicts contact 508 that continues to be detected within the boundary of user interface object 506. In some embodiments, a bounding box 510 is displayed in response to detection of contact 508, indicating that user interface object 506 has been selected for manipulation.”); and
a processor (¶7 reciting “the device has a graphical user interface (GUI), one or more processors”) configured to:
determine the selection touch event has occurred in proximity to the target user interface element while there is an absence of the engaging touch event in proximity to the clutch user interface element;
select the target user interface element for manipulation in response to determining the selection touch event has occurred;
(¶172 reciting “FIG. 5A depicts a contact 508 that is detected at a location within the boundary of user interface object 506.” ¶173 reciting “UI 500B (FIG. 5B) depicts contact 508 that continues to be detected within the boundary of user interface object 506. In some embodiments, a bounding box 510 is displayed in response to detection of contact 508, indicating that user interface object 506 has been selected for manipulation.” In other words, Capela teaches, a touch event is detected at the contact point 508 and the user interface object 506 has been selected for manipulation. The contact 508 reads on the selection touch event that is the sole event for the selection operation absent of any other event.)
Capela teaches a separate touchpad for activating or deactivating particular functions that reads on a clutch user interface element, and recites “device 100 may include a touchpad (not shown) for activating or deactivating particular functions.” (¶47). However, Capela does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
the touch-sensitive display screen configured to:
display a clutch user interface element;
detect an engaging touch event; and
the processor configured to:
determine the selection touch event has occurred while there is an absence of the engaging touch event in proximity to the clutch user interface element;
Davidson teaches “A process for enabling objects displayed on a multi-input display device to be grouped together” (ABS), and “organizational tools on a multi-touch display device” (¶2).
As shown in Figs. 12B, the display screen is configured to display an organizational tool 1216 (corresponding to a clutch user interface element). In addition, ¶187 recites “The multi-touch display device displays an organizational tool and one or more objects (1252) . . . The multi-touch touch display device may make the attachment determination in a manner similar to those discussed above with regard to FIGS. 4A-4G”.
Fig. 4A-4G teaches an example of a process for attaching an object to an organizational tool, which correspond to detecting an engaging touch event. ¶92 recites “Referring to FIG. 4B(b), a user engages the surface of multi-touch display device 400 at a point corresponding to object 402, drags finger 403 over the surface, and disengages the surface at a point where object 402 overlaps organizational tool 410.” In other words, attaching an object to an organizational tool by dragging the object to a point where object 402 overlaps organizational tool 410 reads on an engaging touch event. In absent of the engaging event occurs, the object 402 is selected and moved with user’s finger.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adapt Davidson’s displayed clutch user interface element (the organizational tool) in the apparatus (taught by Capela) to have a displayed clutch user interface element, detect an engaging touch event; and determine the selection touch event has occurred while there is an absence of the engaging touch event in proximity to the clutch user interface element (taught by Davidson). The suggestions/motivations would have been to “provide a less cluttered workspace for users”, to “more prominently display those objects most pertinent to users 102 and 104, while maintaining easy access to those objects attached to organizational tools” (¶68), and Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Davidson, in ¶187, teaches “The multi-touch display device continuously determines whether the one or more objects being displayed should be attached to the organizational tool (1256).”
However, Capela in view of Davidson does not explicitly disclose
the processor configured to:
assigning at least one event listener to the selected element; and
when the engaging touch event is occurring, activate manipulation functionality of the event listener while preventing unintended manipulation of unselected elements.
It is well known in the art that listeners are assigned to interface element such that the interface element can be continuously determined if it should be processed by handler functions.
In addition, Papakipos teaches select a user interface element (e.g. a selected weapon) for manipulation, and recites “In many computer games, there are various in-game actions that a character can make with a game. . . For example, a character in a first person shooting game can select or change a weapon” (¶19). Further, Papakipos teaches assigning a listener to the selected weapon to detect an engaging touch event, and recites “the first-person shooter game can implement an interface for controlling a weapon of the character by registering a handler function as a listener to touch gestures associated with side-mounted touchpad 302. For example, in response to a tap gesture associated with touchpad 302 (as illustrated in FIG. 5B), the handler function can cause the first-person shooter game to execute an action of shooting a single shot.” (¶32). Thus Papakipos teaches manipulating selected elements while unselected elements won’t be manipulated.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus (taught by Capela in view of Davidson) to assign an event listener to the selected element (e.g. the selected weapon); and activate manipulating functionality of the target user interface element when the tag gesture (i.e. the engaging touch event) is occurring (taught by Papakipos). The suggestions/motivations would have been to include a touchpad to facilitate user interactions with application programs running on a mobile device (¶2).
Regarding Claim 12, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine when the engaging touch event ceases to occur; and
deactivate the manipulating functionality associated with the target user interface.
(Papakipos, ¶32 reciting “For example, in response to a tap gesture associated with touchpad 302 (as illustrated in FIG. 5B), the handler function can cause the first-person shooter game to execute an action of shooting a single shot, press and hold his thumb on touchpad 302 to cause the first-person shooter game to execute an action of shooting a three-round burst” (¶32). In other words, when a tap gesture is detected the finger has left the touch area and the touch event ceased to occur, and only a single shot is executed. The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 11 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 13, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to activate selection functionality that enables a user interface element to be selected while there is an absence of the engaging touch event. (Davidson, Fig. 4A-4G showing an example of a process for attaching an object to an organizational tool, which correspond to detecting an engaging touch event. ¶92 reciting “Referring to FIG. 4B(b), a user engages the surface of multi-touch display device 400 at a point corresponding to object 402, drags finger 403 over the surface, and disengages the surface at a point where object 402 overlaps organizational tool 410.” In other words, attaching an object to an organizational tool by dragging the object to a point where object 402 overlaps organizational tool 410 reads on an engaging touch event. In absent of the engaging event, the object 402 is selected and moved with user’s finger. The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 1 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 16, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein in response to determining the target user interface element has been selected for manipulation, the processor is further configured to cause the display of a visual indicator identifying the target user interface as selected. (Capela, Fig. 5B showing an indication 510. ¶173 reciting “a bounding box 510 is displayed in response to detection of contact 508, indicating that user interface object 506 has been selected for manipulation.”)
Regarding Claim 17, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to enable a user to manipulate the target user interface element in a manner that is permitted only when the engaging touch event is being detected. (Papakipos, ¶32 reciting “he first-person shooter game can implement an interface for controlling a weapon of the character by registering a handler function as a listener to touch gestures associated with side-mounted touchpad 302. For example, in response to a tap gesture associated with touchpad 302 (as illustrated in FIG. 5B), the handler function can cause the first-person shooter game to execute an action of shooting a single shot, press and hold his thumb on touchpad 302 to cause the first-person shooter game to execute an action of shooting a three-round burst” (¶32).)
Regarding Claim 18, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to enable a user to manipulate the target user interface element in a manner that is restricted unless the engaging touch event is detected. (Davidson, ¶136 teaching only attached objects are manipulated with the organizational tool. The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 11 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 19, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to enable boom functionality. (Capela discloses boom functionality, and recites “In the examples described above, user interface object 506 translates 1 pixel per one-finger gesture, 10 pixels per two-finger gesture, and 50 pixels per three-finger gesture.” (¶186))
Regarding Claim 20, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to facilitate the display of an overlay including a plurality of selectable virtual buttons associated with one or more manipulating functionalities that are activated while the engaging touch event is occurring. (Davidson, IGs. 7c(a) and 7C(b) shows an overlay at the top right-hand corner of the organizational tool 701. ¶148-149 reciting “Multi-touch display device 700 may display a button to indicate in which attachment mode organizational tool 701 is operating. Thus, in FIG. 7C(a), multi-touch display device 700 displays a "Messy" button in the top right-hand corner of organizational tool 701. In the event that the user eventually wishes to organize the objects that were attached in the free attachment mode, the organizational tool 701 provides a control to toggle the organizational tool 701 into an organized ("clean") attachment mode. . . . While operating organizational tool 710 in organized mode, multi-touch display device 700 may display a "Clean" button in the top right-hand corner of organizational tool 701.”. The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 11 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 9, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The method of claim 1, wherein activating the manipulating functionality enables boom functionality for precision movement of the target user interface element on the display screen and displaying x and y pixel positions associated with the position of the target user interface element. (Capela discloses boom functionality, and recites “In the examples described above, user interface object 506 translates 1 pixel per one-finger gesture, 10 pixels per two-finger gesture, and 50 pixels per three-finger gesture.” (¶186). Figs. 5G, 5H showing displaying x and y pixel positions of the target user interface element; and ¶185 reciting “UI 500H (FIG. 5H) depicts translation of user interface object 506 in response to detection of gesture 524. In response to detection of gesture 524, user interface object 506 translates 526 downward by another predefined number of pixels (e.g., 20 pixels, 50 pixels (shown in FIG. H), or 100 pixels). The position of user interface object 506 as shown in callout 512 changes to reflect the translation. For example, in FIG. 5H, the y-coordinate in callout 512 is changed from -23 to 27, reflecting the change in the vertical position of user interface object 506 due to the translation.”)
Claim 1, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 11, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 11.
Claim 2, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 12.
Claim 3, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 13, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 13.
Claim 6, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 16, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 16.
Claim 7, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 17, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 17.
Claim 8, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 18, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 18.
Claim 10, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 20, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 20.
Claim 21, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 11 except it is a CRM claim (Capela, ¶7 reciting “Executable instructions for performing these functions may be included in a computer readable storage medium or other computer program product configured for execution by one or more processors.” ¶31 reciting “The various applications that may be executed on the device may use at least one common physical user-interface device, such as the touch-sensitive surface.”), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 11.
Claim 22, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 12.
Claim 23, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 13, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 13.
Claim 26, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 16, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 16.
Claim 27, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 17, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 17.
Claim 28, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 18, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 18.
Claim 29, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 19, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 19.
Claim 30, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 20, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 20.
Claims 4-5, 14-15, and 24-25 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos, and further in view of Kutaragi (US 20070260727 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos discloses The apparatus of claim 11.
However, Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos does not explicitly disclose further comprising memory configured to store a target element identifier associated with the target element in response to determining the selection touch event has occurred.
It is well known in the art to save selected object IDs in memory for future manipulation. In addition, Kutaragi teaches “The identification information of the thus selected image objects 52 is sequentially stored in the memory of the home-use computer 18, and later used for collective display in the TV receiver in response to the auxiliary button 34R pressed.” (¶71).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus (taught by Capela in view of Davidson and Papakipos) to store IDs of selected GUI elements in memory for later manipulation (taught by Kutaragi). The suggestions/motivations would have been use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Regarding Claim 15, Capela in view of Davidson, Papakipos and Kutaragi discloses The apparatus of claim 14, wherein in response to determining the engaging touch event has begun occurring, the processor is further configured to: retrieve the target element identifier from memory; and associate the target user interface element with the manipulating functionality. (See Claim 14 rejections for detailed analysis)
Claim 4, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 14, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 14.
Claim 5, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 15, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 15.
Claim 24, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 14, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 14.
Claim 25, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 15, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619