DETAILED ACTION
The present application, 18317772, PG-Publication US20230398192, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-20 and 25 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20, 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/2025.
Claims 1-13 are examined herein.
Priority
The filing receipt, mailed , states that this application, filed , claims benefit of domestic priority benefit of 63/459,564, filed 04/14/2023 and claims benefit of 63/342,590, filed 05/16/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/1/2023 and 12/8/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hordeaux, WO2020227166, (US 20220228170, Serial No. 17608493); Davidson, WO2021102234A1, (of record, IDS) and Fogh, WO200298455.
Hordeaux, WO2020227166 discloses Reference SEQ. ID. No. 2 (507 aa) being 100% identical to Instant SEQ. ID. No. 1 (507 aa);
Reference SEQ. ID. No. 3 (1527 na) being 92.6% identical to Instant SEQ. ID. No. 2 (1530 na);
Reference SEQ. ID. No. 10 (736 aa) being 100% identical to instant SEQ. ID. No: 9 (736 aa);
Hordeaux, WO2020227166 teaches MLD is due to a deficiency in ARSA (p. 1, 1st §). Hordeaux teaches an recombinant AAV comprising an AAV9 capsid, here AAVhu68 and ARSA (p. 4, 5th §, p. 24, last §), VP3 (p. 26, 2ⁿᵈ §, p. 27, 2ⁿᵈ §), ARSA is identical to SEQ. ID. No. 1 of the application (p. 4, penultimate §-p.4, 1st §), the promoter is CB7 (p. 5, 2ⁿᵈ §, p. 6, 5th §, p. 75, last §-p. 76, 2ⁿᵈ §, example 1), WPRE (p. 22, last §, p. 23, 1st §, p. 37, last §, p. 38, 1st §), poly A (p. 22, last §, p. 37, last §), AAV2 ITRs (p. 39, 1st §, p. 76, last §), a vector (p. 5, 4th §), composition (p. 5, 4th §-last §).
Hordeaux, teaches a method of treating a disease such as MDL (p. 6, 2ⁿᵈ §, p. 10, 2ⁿᵈ §, p. 16, last §, p. 17, penultimate §, p.34, last §-p. 35, 1st §), the administration is via direct injection in the cisterna magma (p. 10, penultimate §, p. 36, last §, p. 47, 1st §, p. 56, penultimate §) or intracerebroventricular (p. 48, 1st §-2ⁿᵈ §, p. 50, 2ⁿᵈ §, p. 56, 4th §).
Hordeaux does not teach SEQ ID NO: 10 into the rAAV particles a targeting expression comprised within the expression cassette for arylsulfatase A (ARSA).
Davidson, WO2021102234A1, (of record, IDS), throughout the publication and abstract, and at para [00115], teach “gene replacement therapy” for a condition amenable to gene replacement therapy, such as genetic diseases. Davidson, at para [0042]-[0069], recombinant AAV, or rAAV; at Tables 3, 6, disclose AAV9 targeting peptides for particular brain structures, including reference SEQ ID NO: 110, which has the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 10, (“KGGGFHG”), as in claim 1, and which targets the brain and central nervous system, e.g., cerebral and cerebellar cortex.
Davidson, WO2021102234 teaches SEQ. ID. No. 110 (7 aa) being 100% identical to SEQ. ID. No. 10 (7 aa); SEQ. ID. No. 143 (748 aa) being 99.1% identical to SEQ. ID. No. 12 (748 aa); 98.9% identical to SEQ. ID. No. 13 (611 aa) and 98.7% identical to SEQ. ID. No. 14 (546 aa) of the application. Davidson further discloses a recombinant AAV comprising such capsid (Tables 3, 6, [0005]- [0006], [0011]-[0012], [00168]), AAV2 ITR ([0056], [0063]), VP3 ([0060]), CB7 ([00138], [00144]), a polyA ([0069]), linker sequences ([0007], [0009]), codon optimization ([0098]), a pharmaceutical composition ([0017], [00123]-[00124]), a method of deliver a nucleic acid ([0018]-[0019], [0070]), and method to treat a genetic disease ([00114], [00118]) using gene replacement therapy. Davidson, at reference SEQ ID NO: 143, teach a mutant capsid protein that is a 98.8% query match to instant SEQ ID NO: 12, as in instant claim 5.
Fogh, WO200298455, throughout the publication and abstract, teaches metachromatic leukodystrophy as caused by an autosomal recessive genetic defect in the lysosomal enzyme Arylsulfatase A, and at reference SEQ ID NO: 1, teaches the recombinant human Arylsulfatase A having the identical sequence to instant SEQ ID NO: 1, as in claim 2. Fogh teaches the preparation and introduction of recombinant Arylsulfatase A into a suitable vector to transform host cells for treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined an nucleic acid having the sequence of SEQ ID NO:10, as taught by Davidson, into the expression cassette comprised within a vector with a targeting capsid, for expressing arylsulfatase A, as taught by Hordeaux and Fogh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined a nucleic acid having the sequence of SEQ ID NO:10, into a expression cassette comprised within a rAAV vector for expressing arylsulfatase A, in order to express a peptide in the rAAV capsid for targeting cells of brain and central nervous, thereby treating inborn metachromatic leukodystrophy.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 8-19, 28 and 31 of copending Application No. 18949540 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because references claims 1-4 claim rAAV particles comprising an expression cassette for expressing a disorder-related polypeptide capable of transducing cells of the CNS (ref claim 1); encoding an ARSA polypeptide (ref claim 2); a modified AAV9 capsid comprising a targeting peptide of SEQ ID NO: 10, (ref claim 3); which is flanked by linker sequences, (ref claim 4). Thus, at least reference claims 1-4 recite limitations of instant independent claim 1. The claims of the reference application recite various SEQ ID NOs that are also recited in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
1. Claims 2-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Instant SEQ ID NO: 11, as claimed in instant claim 4, is not found in the examined prior art. Instant SEQ ID NO: 12, as claimed in instant claim 6, is not found in the examined prior art. Instant SEQ ID NO: 2, as claimed in instant claim 7, is not found in the examined prior art. Instant SEQ ID NO: 8, as claimed in instant claim 12, is not found in the examined prior art.
2. The prior art made of record and not relied upon, but which is considered pertinent to the disclosure of the instant application:
Wright, US 12,076,420, throughout the reference and abstract, and at reference SEQ ID NO 75, teach instant SEQ ID NO: 4, as in instant claim 8; at reference SEQ ID NO 76, teach instant SEQ ID NO: 5, as in instant claim 8; and at reference SEQ ID NO 36, teach instant SEQ ID NO: 7, as in instant claim 10.
Schmidt, US 11,236,360, throughout the reference and abstract, and at reference SEQ ID NO 65, teach instant SEQ ID NO: 6, as in instant claim 9.
Passini, US 10,821,154, throughout the reference and abstract, and at reference SEQ ID NO 7, teach instant SEQ ID NO: 15, as in instant claim 9.
MARK L. SHIBUYA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/MARK L SHIBUYA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631