DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/317,778 filed on 05/15/2023 in which claims 1-10 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 05/15/2023 and 04/01/2026 have been considered and placed of record. Initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,8,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakuff et al., (Rakuff) US 2021/0086639 in view of Flechl USPAT 11,279,253 B2 (both also cited by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1: Rakuff at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1,4 and 11: A charging station(100)(see Fig. 1 and [0023]) for an electric vehicle(4), the charging station(100) comprising: a horizontal boom(construed as extension mechanism 120 since a boom can be an extension unit, arm, legs etc…)(see [0034]) with a charging cable conduit(130) situated at a front side of the charging station at the base of the charging station(see Figs. 10-11), wherein the boom(130) is connected(via charging station housing 104) to the charging station(100)(note- The extension mechanism 120 can be an elongated, flexible structure that is configured to fold upon itself when retracted into the station housing 104 and to unfold and linearly reposition itself horizontally adjacent to the ground surface 6 when extended. The extension mechanism 120 can extend between a proximal end 122 that may be fixed or secured inside the station housing 104 and a distal end 124 that is detached and free to move with respect to the station housing; see [0034] and [0052]) and can swivel to either side and be locked in a desired position(see labels 26 and 27 in Fig. 11).
However, Rakuff does not expressly teach the limitations of:
wherein the boom is connected by a swivel mechanism to the charging station wherein the boom is connected by a swivel mechanism to the charging station and can swivel using the swivel mechanism horizontally to either side and be locked in a desired position.
Flechl discloses factual evidence of the use of a swivel mechanism (construed as arm 6 in combination with mechanism 14 with spindle 15 )(col. 13, lines 1-23; col. 14, lines 33-42)(note-the arm 6 can have both pivot and linear movements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Flechl’s actuation arm with the boom of Rakuff so as to provide a flexibility and displacement in a multi-direction fashion so as to enable contact between the contacting element and the coupling element, as per the teachings of Flechl (col. 13, lines 34-45).
Accordingly claims 1 and 10 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Rakuff in view of Flechl discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Rakuff further discloses, wherein the charging cable conduit(134) runs along a longitudinal axis of the boom(130)(see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Rakuff in view of Flechl discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Modified Rakuff further discloses, wherein the swivel mechanism(combination of 6,14 and 15) is adapted to lift the boom up from the ground when the swivel mechanism is unlocked, and to lower the boom to the ground when the swivel mechanism is locked(see [0045] and Figs. 7-8)(noted- the limitation of “the swivel mechanism is adapted to lift the boom up from the ground when the swivel mechanism is unlocked, and to lower the boom to the ground when the swivel mechanism is locked” is a functional limitation and the lift mechanism of Rakuff in its normal operating conditions would meet these limitations). Flechl also discloses, wherein the swivel mechanism(combination of 6,14 and 15) is adapted to lift the boom up from the ground when the swivel mechanism is unlocked, and to lower the boom to the ground when the swivel mechanism is locked(see col. 14, lines 6-14).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakuff et al., (Rakuff) US 2021/0086639 in view of Flechl USPAT 11,279,253 B2 (both also cited by Applicants) and in further view of CH 715173B1 to Köhler.
Regarding claim 9, Rakuff in view of Flechl discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. However, the combination of Rakuff and Flechl does not disclose the charging station having at least one charging receptacle on the front side of the charging station.
In the same filed of endeavor, namely in electric vehicle charging station, Köhler discloses factual evidence of, a charging station 1 has a stationary charging station 2, a control panel 3 mounted in the charging station 2 for the charging station 1, a charging cable 4 mounted in the charging station 2 and a plug receptacle 5(see Köhler; Figs. 1 and 14) mounted in the charging station 2 for a connector connected to the charging cable 4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to avail of the teachings of Köhler by having the charging station of Rakuff in view of Flechl dispose of at least one charging receptacle on the front side of it in order to enable an extra charging spot for an additional vehicle equipped with a matching male plug.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakuff et al., (Rakuff) US 2021/0086639 in view of Flechl USPAT 11,279,253 B2 (both also cited by Applicants) in further view of Machida et al., (Machida) JP 2022039185 A.
Regarding claim 6, Rakuff in view of Flechl does not expressly teach the limitations of, “wherein the boom is provided with a warning marking”.
Machida discloses that operation of the boom 30 is restricted, a warning device for warning the operator OP to confirm the locked state of the safety belt 90 may be provided on the traveling body 10 or the workbench 40. This warning device may emit a warning sound by a speaker or the like, may emit light by a warning light, or may emit a warning by a color or a character by a panel or the like.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the boom of Rakuff as modified by Flechl a warning marking in order to provide safety and protection to both the charging station and the vehicle operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
.
The prior art filed on 05/15/2023 and 04/01/2026 together with art made of record fail to disclose or suggest a charging station and method for operating the same comprising, among other claimed allowable features,
As in claim 3: wherein the boom has a movable cover, which is adapted to opening or closing the charging cable conduit.
Claims 4-5 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 3 and thus are also allowed for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, wherein the swivel mechanism is configured to be locked and unlocked by a foot switch.
Citation of Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPATs 9,352,652 ; 9,227,519; 8,487,584; 8,262,,402; 7,804,274; 5,711,558; 5,306,999 and 4,158,802 discloses rechargeable batteries powered electric vehicle and charging station for electric vehicles.
KR 102279220 B1 to Kim discloses an electric car charging station.
JP 2014033577 A to Sugiura discloses the general state of the art regarding a charging stand.
GB 2609408 to Olivier discloses electric vehicle charging station and interface device therefor.
GB 2438979 to Calvey et al., (Calvey) discloses the general state of the art regarding a charging station having: an interface for connecting the charging station to a data network, a socket for receiving a plug and a key-operated locking mechanism for locking the plug in said socket.
FR 2742250 A1 to Kazdaghli discloses the general state of the art regarding management of electrical supply to electric vehicle recharging stations.
US 2010/0013433 A1 to Baxter et al., (Baxter) discloses a vehicle charging station having a dual position locking door.
DE 102019109727 A1 to Leidig et al., (Leidig) discloses a charging system for electrical charging of electric vehicles or plug-in hybrid vehicles.
CN 102790413 A discloses an electric vehicle charging station.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 April 13, 2026