DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/27/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the application, of claims 8-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-7 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-7, it is suggested to amend “the base plate” to - -the plate-shaped base- - to conform to prior recitation.
In claim 2, it is suggested to amend “the center” to - -a center- -.
In claim 3, it is suggested to amend “the first edge and the second edge” to - -the at least one of the first edge and the second edge- - to conform to prior recitation.
In claims 3-5, it is suggested to amend “the rib” to - -the at least one rib- - to conform to prior recitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0233540).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a secondary battery (paragraph [0003]) comprising:
a case (5) (paragraph [0038]) (see figure 1);
an electrode assembly (i.e., electrode body) (10) that is wound and accommodated in the case (paragraph [0038]) (see figure 1); and
a support plate (paragraph [0051]-[0052]) (see figure 5) including a plate-shaped base plate disposed at one end of the electrode assembly (see figures 5-6) and supporting the one end of the electrode assembly (see figures 5-6) (paragraph [0051]-[0052]), and at least one rib (121) vertically protruding from the base plate (see figure 6) to be inserted into a wound inner portion of the electrode assembly or to be in contact with an outer surface of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Kato teaches wherein the at least one rib extends vertically from the center of the base plate (see figure 6) and along a length direction of the base plate (see figure 5) and is inserted into the wound inner portion of the electrode assembly (see figure 6) (paragraph [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Kato teaches the rib extends vertically from at least one of a first edge and a second edge of the base plate (122a, 122b) and along a length direction of the base plate (see figure 5) (paragraph [0053]) and contacts the outer surface of the electrode assembly (see figure 5 below), the length direction being substantially parallel with the first edge and the second edge (see figures 5-6 below) (paragraph [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 7, kato teaches the base plate has a surface having a plurality of trenches (i.e., openings) (123a, 123b) (paragraph [0053]) formed in a length direction of the base plate (see fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0233540) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0073380).
Regarding claims 4-5, Kato teaches the battery including the base plate and at least one rib as described above in claim 1.
Kato does not teach the at least one rib made or coated with an insulated material.
Kim, also directed to a battery with an electrode assembly (paragraph [0002]) teaches a rib (900) comprising an insulative material (paragraph [0060]-[0061]) which prevents deformation and supports the entire area of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0061]-[0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rib of Kato to be made or coated with an insulated material as suggested by kim, with a reasonable expectation of success in which deformation is prevented and increased support is provided in the electrode assembly.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0233540) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0287429).
Regarding claim 6, kato teaches the battery including the electrode assembly and the base plate as described above in claim 1.
Kato does not teach the base plate has a plurality of holes.
Cho, also directed to a battery (paragraph [0003]), teaches a base plate (20) (paragraph [0030]) (see figure 2) having a plurality of holes (24) (paragraph [0038]). Cho teaches the plurality of holes allow electrolyte to flow and impregnate uncoated regions of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0039]).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base plate of Kato to include a plurality of holes as taught by Cho in order to allow electrolyte to flow and impregnate uncoated regions of the electrode assembly.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sugimori et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0203693). Sugimori teaches a base plate (18) made of an insulating material (paragraph [0015]).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723