DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 were rejected in the Office Action from 03/12/2026.
Applicant filed a response, and amended claim 1-7.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the application, of claims 8-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-7 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0233540) and further in view of Kwak et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0136004).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a secondary battery (paragraph [0003]) comprising:
a case (5) (paragraph [0038]) (see figure 1);
an electrode assembly (i.e., electrode body) (10) that is wound and accommodated in the case (paragraph [0038]) (see figure 1); and
a support plate (paragraph [0051]-[0052]) (see figure 5) including a plate-shaped base plate disposed at one end of the electrode assembly (see figures 5-6) and supporting the one end of the electrode assembly (see figures 5-6) (paragraph [0051]-[0052]), and
a first rib (121) vertically protruding from the plate-shaped base plate (see figure 6) to be inserted into a wound inner portion of the electrode assembly or to be in contact with an outer surface of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0051]-[0053]), and
at least one second rib (122a, 122b) vertically protruding from the plate-shaped base plate to be in contact with an outer surface of the electrode assembly (see figures 5 and 6) (paragraph [0052]-[0053]).
Kato does not teach the first rib and the at least one second rib are electrically insulated from the electrode assembly.
Kwak, also directed to a secondary battery (abstract), teaches a battery having ribs (i.e., support plates) located between the electrode assembly and outside of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0037]-[0038]). Kwak teaches the ribs are electrically insulated which results in improved safety and reliability of the battery (paragraph [0037]-[0038], [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato plate and ribs to be electrically insulated, as suggested by Kwak, in order to improve safety and reliability of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, Kato teaches wherein the first rib rib extends vertically from the center of the plate-shaped base plate (see figure 6) and along a length direction of the base plate (see figure 5) and is inserted into the wound inner portion of the electrode assembly (see figure 6) (paragraph [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Kato teaches the at least one second rib extends vertically from at least one of a first edge and a second edge of the plate-shaped base plate (122a, 122b) and along a length direction of the plate-shaped base plate (see figure 5) (paragraph [0053]) and contacts the outer surface of the electrode assembly (see figure 5 below), the length direction being substantially parallel with the at least one of the first edge and the second edge (see figures 5-6 below) (paragraph [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 7, kato teaches the plate-shaped base plate has a surface having a plurality of trenches (i.e., openings) (123a, 123b) (paragraph [0053]) formed in a length direction of the base plate (see fig. 5).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0233540) and Kwak et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0136004), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0073380).
Regarding claims 4-5, Kato teaches the battery including the plate-shaped base plate and at least one of the first rib and the at least one second rib as described above in claim 1.
Kato does not teach the at least one rib made or coated with an insulated material.
Kim, also directed to a battery with an electrode assembly (paragraph [0002]) teaches a rib (900) comprising an insulative material (paragraph [0060]-[0061]) which prevents deformation and supports the entire area of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0061]-[0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rib of Kato to be made or coated with an insulated material as suggested by kim, with a reasonable expectation of success in which deformation is prevented and increased support is provided in the electrode assembly.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0233540) and Kwak et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0136004), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0287429).
Regarding claim 6, kato teaches the battery including the electrode assembly and the plate-shaped base plate as described above in claim 1.
Kato does not teach the plate-shaped base plate has a plurality of holes.
Cho, also directed to a battery (paragraph [0003]), teaches a base plate (20) (paragraph [0030]) (see figure 2) having a plurality of holes (24) (paragraph [0038]). Cho teaches the plurality of holes allow electrolyte to flow and impregnate uncoated regions of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0039]).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base plate of Kato to include a plurality of holes as taught by Cho in order to allow electrolyte to flow and impregnate uncoated regions of the electrode assembly.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendments in the claims, the previous claim objections are withdrawn from the record.
Applicant’s argument filed on 05/29/2026 are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims which significantly affected the scope thereof (i.e., by incorporating new limitations into the independent claims, which require further search and consideration). The new limitations have been fully addressed above in view of Kwak.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723