Application Status
Claims 150-177 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The incorporation statement of a sequence listing references the sequence size in KB; to be compliant with ST.26 the sequence size must be disclosed in bytes.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term MACSelect™ on pages 104-105, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 160 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 160 depends from itself, which renders the claim indefinite as the limits of the claim are unclear.
For the purpose of compact prosecution the dependencies will be examined as follows:
Claim 160 from claim 157.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 157-159 and 161 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 157 recites the limitation "the vector of claim 158, wherein expression of the first shRNA is regulated by a first promoter and expression of the second shRNA is regulated by a second promoter.” This is not further limiting as claim 158 cites “the first promoter and the second promoter.”
Claim 158 recites the limitation "the vector of claim 159, wherein the first promoter and the second promoter are oriented in different directions from each other,” while claim 159 recites that the promoters are “in a head to head orientation” Therefore, claim 158 is not further limiting to claim 159 as head to head is already oriented in different directions.
Claim 159 recites the limitation "the vector of claim 160, wherein the first promoter and the second promoter are I head to head orientation,” but claim 160 cites that the promoters are in “tail to tail orientation” therefore these claims are contradictory and not further limiting.
For the purpose of compact prosecution the dependency will be examined as follows:
Claim 157 depends from claim 150,
Claim 158 from claim 157,
Claim 159 from claim 157,
Claim 161 depends from claim 159 and is therefore included in this rejection.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 150-151, 155-156, 162-163, 167-170, and 176-177 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beatty (US 2016/0311917 A1; IDS entered 05/16/2023).
Regarding claims 150, 162, and 167-168, Beatty teaches an isolated nucleic acid molecule encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR), wherein the CAR comprises i) an antibody or antibody fragment comprising a human anti-mesothelin binding domain, ii) a transmembrane domain, and iii) an intracellular signaling domain comprising a stimulatory domain (claim 1). Beatty teaches a vector comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding a CAR of any of the preceding claims (claim 76), a cell comprising the vector (claim 84), wherein the cell is a human T cell (claim 85). Beatty further teaches the CAR-expressing cell described herein can further express a molecule that modulates or regulates T cell function is an shRNA; including PD-1 and TIGIT (para 0033).
Regarding claims 151 and 163, Beatty teaches mesothelin was originally identified by Pastan and colleagues as a tumor associated antigen due to its limited expression by normal tissues and overexpression on tumors (para 0003).
Regarding claims 155 and 169, Beatty teaches wherein the encoded intracellular signaling domain comprises a functional signaling domain of 4-1BB and/or a functional signaling domain of CD3 zeta (claim 25).
Regarding claims 156 and 170, Beatty teaches various configurations of a single vector encoding a CAR with a shRNA (Fig 47; para 0105).
Regarding claim 176, Beatty teaches the CAR-modified T cells of the present invention may be administered either alone, or as a pharmaceutical composition in combination with diluents and/or with other components such as IL-2 or other cytokines or cell populations (para 0464).
Regarding claim 177, Beatty teaches a method of treating a mammal having a disease associated with expression of mesothelin comprising administering to the mammal an effective amount of a cell comprising a CAR molecule of any of the preceding claims (claim 93).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 152-154 and 164-166 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beatty (US 2016/0311917 A1; IDS entered 05/16/2023) as applied to claims 150-151, 155-156, 162-163, 167-170, and 176-177 above, and further in view of Loew (WO 2015/142675 A2; IDS entered 05/16/2023).
The teachings of Beatty regarding claims 150-151, 155-156, 162-163, 167-170, and 176-177 are detailed above.
Beatty does not teach wherein the cancer antigen is CD19 or CD22, associated with a B-cell blood cancer or a B-cell lymphoma.
Regarding claims 152 and 164, Loew teaches a method of treating a subject having a disease associated with expression of a tumor antigen, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of an immune effector cell (e.g., a population of immune effector cells) comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) molecule, in combination with an agent that increases the efficacy of the immune cell, wherein: (i) the CAR molecule comprises an antigen binding domain, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular domain comprising a costimulatory domain and/or a primary signaling domain, wherein said antigen binding domain binds to the tumor antigen associated with the disease, and said tumor antigen is CD19 or CD22 and (iv) an inhibitor of an immune inhibitory molecule (claim 2). Loew further teaches that adoptive cell transfer (ACT) therapy with autologous T-cells, especially with T- cells transduced with Chimeric Antigen Receptors (CARs), has shown promise in hematologic cancer trials (para 003). Loew further teaches that In one embodiment, the agent that inhibits the inhibitory molecule is an inhibitory nucleic acid a shRNA; wherein the inhibitory nucleic acid is linked to the nucleic acid that encodes a component of the CAR molecule (para 0087); wherein the inhibitory molecule can be PD-1 and TIGIT (para 0088).
Regarding claims 153-154 and 165-166, Loew teaches wherein the cancer is a hematologic cancer chosen from diffuse large B cell lymphoma (claims 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the CAR targeting CD19 or CD22 as taught by Loew into the composition or method of treatment with immune cells expressing a vector comprising two polynucleotides encoding a mesothelin-CAR and shRNA targeting PD-1 and TIGIT as taught by Beatty. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Loew teaches that ACT therapy with autologous T-cells, especially with T- cells transduced with CARs, has shown promise in hematologic cancer trials. Loew and Beatty are analogous arts teaching treatment of cancer with a tumor antigen targeting CAR and a shRNA to improve T cell function for adoptive cell therapy, therefore the ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to substitute the CAR targeting the CD19 and CD22 into a vector comprising two nucleotides comprising a CAR and shRNA targeting inhibitory molecules.
Claims 157-161 and 171-175 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beatty (US 2016/0311917 A1; IDS entered 05/16/2023) as applied to claims 150-151, 155-156, 162-163, 167-170, and 176-177 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2008/0293142 A1; IDS entered 05/16/2023).
The teachings of Beatty regarding claims 150-151, 155-156, 162-163, 167-170, and 176-177 are detailed above.
Beatty does not teach wherein the first shRNA and second shRNA are regulated by separate promoters; wherein the promoters are organized in different directions; wherein the promoters are head-to-head; wherein the promoters are tail-to-tail; or wherein the promoters are RNA polymerase III promoters.
Regarding claims 157-159 and 171-173, Liu teaches an expression cassette for expressing a plurality of short hairpin (sh) RNAs, comprising a plurality of promoters, at least one of which comprises two promoters in a bidirectional promoter in a back-to-back form; and a plurality of nucleic acid sequences encoding said plurality of shRNAs, wherein each of said plurality of promoters is operationally linked to one of said plurality of nucleic acid sequences encoding said plurality of shRNAs (claim 1).
Regarding claims 160 and 174, Liu teaches promoters in tail to tail orientation in Figure 1.
Regarding claims 161 and 175, Liu teaches wherein said plurality of promoters comprises Pol III RNA promoters (claim 2).
Liu further teaches that the present invention provides shRNA expression cassettes that are straightforward and cost-effective to construct, and that are capable of stably expressing multiple shRNAs within a cell that results in silencing of mRNAs within the cell in a sequence specific manner (para 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the vector construction with multiple promoters and orientation as taught by Liu into the composition or method of treatment with immune cells expressing a vector comprising two polynucleotides encoding a mesothelin-CAR and shRNA targeting PD-1 and TIGIT as taught by Beatty.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Liu teaches a method of construction that provides shRNA expression cassettes that are straightforward and cost-effective to construct, and that are capable of stably expressing multiple shRNAs within a cell that results in silencing of mRNAs within the cell in a sequence specific manner. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to construct the vector comprising multiple shRNA sequences with individual promoters in various orientations as taught by Liu to produce cost effective silencing of inhibitor shRNAs in the composition and method of treatment comprising immune cells comprising a vector comprising polynucleotides encoding a CAR and shRNAs.
The rationale to apply a technique taught by the prior art as improving the therapeutic and production characteristics of a similar construct is to predictably obtain an improvement to the second construct and is consistent with the exemplary rationales provided by the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) and discussed in M.P.E.P. § 2143. For these reasons, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claim 177 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,679,129 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patented claims teach: A method of treating cancer, comprising administering a T cell to a human subject having cancer, said T cell comprising a dual two-in-one vector that comprises (i) a first nucleotide sequence that encodes and expresses in the T cell: (a) a short hairpin RNA (shRNA) that inhibits expression of programmed cell death protein 1 (PD-1 shRNA), wherein the nucleotide sequence encoding the PD-1 shRNA consisting of SEQ ID NO:265 is regulated by a U6 Pol III promoter, and (b) an shRNA that inhibits expression of T cell immunoreceptor with Ig and ITIM domains (TIGIT shRNA), wherein the nucleotide sequence encoding the TIGIT shRNA consisting of SEQ ID NO: 240 is regulated by a U6 Pol III promoter, wherein the two U6 Pol III promoters are oriented in different orientations from each other; and (ii) a second nucleotide sequence that encodes and expresses in the T cell a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR), wherein the CAR comprises an extracellular antigen recognition domain that binds a target antigen associated with the cancer, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signal transduction domain; wherein the first nucleotide sequence and the second nucleotide sequence are present on a single vector (claims 1-6).
Claim 177 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6, 9 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,438 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patented claims teach: A method of treating cancer, comprising administering a human-derived T cell to a human subject having cancer, said human-derived T cell comprising (i) a first nucleotide sequence encoding a first short hairpin RNA (shRNA) that inhibits expression of Programmed Cell Death 1 (PD-1) and a second shRNA that inhibits expression of T cell immunoreceptor with Ig and ITIM domains (TIGIT), and (ii) a second nucleotide sequence encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR), wherein the CAR comprises an extracellular antigen recognition domain that binds a target antigen associated with the cancer, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signal transduction domain comprising a CD3 intracellular domain and a 4-1BB costimulatory molecule, wherein expression of the first shRNA is regulated by a first promoter and expression of the second shRNA is regulated by a second promoter, wherein the target antigen is CD19 and wherein the cancer is a CD19 positive cancer (claims 1-6, 9 and 12).
Conclusion
/AMBER K FAUST/ Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643