DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 05/15/2023. Claim(s) 1–20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–2, 5–6, 8–9, 12, 15–16, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,135,589 to Stokes.
With regard to claims 1, 8, & 15, Stokes discloses an apparatus comprising: a freeze dry shelf having a body comprising a planar geometry (Col. 1, lines 9–11; Col. 2, lines 43–51); a treatment applied to at least a first portion of the body (Col. 2, lines 43–51); and a surface layer applied to at least a second portion of the body (Col. 2, lines 43–51).
With regard to claims 2, 9, & 16, Stokes further discloses the first portion of the body and the second portion of the body overlap (Col. 2, lines 43–51).
With regard to claims 5, 12, & 19, Stokes further discloses the surface layer comprises a wear layer (Col. 2, lines 43–51).
With regard to claims 6 & 13, Stokes further discloses the surface layer comprises a conductive layer (Col. 2, lines 43–51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3–4, 10–11, & 17–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stokes in view of US 6,644,136 to Carney et al.
With regard to claims 3, 10, & 17, Stokes fails to disclose the treatment comprises an anodization applied to the body. Carney teaches an anodization applied to the body of a tray (1300) (Col. 20, lines 49–50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the freeze dryer tray of Stokes with the anodization treatment of Carney because such a combination would have had the added benefit of increased corrosion resistance.
With regard to claims 4, 11, & 18, Stokes as previously combined with Carney further discloses the anodization is a black anodization (Carney: Col. 20, lines 49–50).
Claims 7, 14, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stokes in view of US 2023/0329255 to Rease.
Stokes fails to disclose the surface layer comprises an anti-stick layer. Rease teaches the surface layer comprises an anti-stick layer (¶ 0101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the freeze dryer tray of Stokes with the anti-stick layer of Rease because such a combination would have had the added benefit of preventing items from sticking to the tray.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
February 5, 2026