DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action, mailed on August 12, 2025, is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn. Please find the corrected Non-Final Rejection that follows below. The examiner apologizes for any inconvenience this action may have caused.
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 7, 2025. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liptak et al (Pub Num 2014/0262424, herein referred to as Liptak) in view of Grant et al (Pub Num 2011/0315419, herein referred to as Grant) and Matsuda et al (Pub Num 2016/0155540, herein referred to as Matsuda). Liptak discloses a duplex twisted shielded cable (Figs 1-6) that transmits digital electrical signals having a data transfer rate of 5 GB or higher (Paragraph 1). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Liptak discloses a duplex twisted shielded cable (100, Fig 1a-2) comprising two insulated wires (102, 104) that are twisted together (Paragraph 22), wherein each has a conductor (106) and an insulator (108) covering the conductor (106), a belt layer (112) surrounding the two insulated wires (102, 104), a metal foil shield (116) wound longitudinally on the belt layer (112), such that parts of the metal foil shield (116) overlap each other (Paragraph 27), a metal braid (124) provided on an outer periphery of the metal foil shield (116) and a sheath (126) provided on an outer periphery of the metal braid (116). With respect to claim 3, Liptak discloses a wire harness (Fig 1) comprising the duplex twisted shielded cable (100) comprising two insulated wires (102, 104) that are twisted together (Paragraph 22), wherein each has a conductor (106) and an insulator (108) covering the conductor (106), a belt layer (112) surrounding the two insulated wires (102, 104), a metal foil shield (116) wound longitudinally on the belt layer (112), such that parts of the metal foil shield (116) overlap each other (Paragraph 27), a metal braid (124) provided on an outer periphery of the metal foil shield (116) and a sheath (126) provided on an outer periphery of the metal braid (116) and another member (120) adjacent to the duplex twisted shielded cable (100, Fig 3).
While Liptak discloses a layer (112) surrounding the twisted pair of conductors (102, 104) and a metal foil shield (116) surrounding the layer (112), Liptak doesn’t necessarily disclose the layer being a film layer wound spirally on the two insulated wires such that parts of the film overlap each other, nor the metallic foil shield being spirally wrapped around the film layer, wherein the film and the metal foil shield are provided as a separate members (claim 1).
Grant teaches a twisted shielded cable (Figs 1-7) that reduces electromagnetic interference leakage both into and out from the cable (Paragraph 5), while also sealing the twisted pairs (Paragraph 20). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Grant teaches a twisted shielded cable (Figs 1-7) comprising two insulated wires (110, 112) that are twisted together (Paragraph 18), wherein each has a conductor (110, 112) and an insulator (114) covering the conductor (110, 112), a film layer (116) wound spirally on the two insulated wires (110, 112) such that parts of the film overlap each other (Paragraph 20, Fig 1), a metal foil shield (120) wound spirally on the film (116) such that parts of the metal foil shield (120) overlap each other (Paragraph 25, Fig 1), and a sheath (126) provided on an outer periphery of the metal foil shield (120), wherein the film (116) and the metal foil shield (120) are provided as a separate member (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the duplex twisted shielded cable of Liptak to comprise the film layer configuration as taught by Grant because Grant teaches that such a configuration provides a duplex twisted shielded cable that reduces electromagnetic interference leakage both into and out from the cable (Paragraph 5), while also sealing the twisted pairs (Paragraph 20).
Modified Liptak also doesn’t necessarily disclose the film layer having a thickness of 6-20 μm (claim 1).
Matsuda teaches a twisted shielded cable (Figs 1A-1B) that prevents sharp signal attenuation, easy to bend and handle, and is flexible (abstract), while also improving transmission characteristics (Paragraph 73). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Matsuda teaches a twisted shielded cable (Figs 1A & 1B) comprising two insulated wires (3, 3), which may be twisted together (Paragraph 263), wherein each has a conductor (1, 1) and an insulator (2, 2) covering the conductor (1, 1), a film layer (resin layer of 5) is wound spirally on the two insulated wires (3, 3), a metal foil shield (metallic layer of 6) is wound spirally on the film (resin layer of 5) such that parts of the metal foil shield (metallic layer of 6) overlap each other (Paragraph 28), and a sheath (7) provided on an outer periphery of the metal foil shield (metallic layer of 6), wherein the film (resin layer of 5) may have a thickness of 6-20 μm (i.e. PET layer of 5 may be 3 μm or more, Paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the duplex twisted shielded cable of Liptak to comprise the film layer having a thickness of 6-20 μm, as taught by Matsuda because Matsuda teaches that a resin film layer thickness configuration provides a twisted shielded cable (Figs 1A-1B) that prevents sharp signal attenuation, easy to bend and handle, and is flexible (abstract), while also improving transmission characteristics (Paragraph 73) and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Based on the newly submitted and corrected rejection, this is a Non-Final Rejection.
.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
November 11, 2025