DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 6/17/2026 in which claims 1-3, 18, and 20 were amended, claim 6 was cancelled, and no new claims were added. The USC 112 rejection has been overcome. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 7-20 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art (Pan) fails to teach or suggest that (item i) "the support member comprises a bottom plate and side plates that are respectively connected with and bent relative to opposite ends of the bottom plate, the bottom plate and the side plates cooperate to define a sliding space, and the slider is received in the sliding space” and that the Pan reference does not disclose (item ii) “the side plate defines a first through hole, and the lead screw extends through the first through hole and the slider”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language the examiner believes that the Pan reference (fig 11) reasonably reads on the limitations of items i and ii. Figure 11 of Pan discloses a shaft coupling 158 which has “side plates” and a “bottom plate” that are connected and the “sides are bent relative to the bottom”. The area around and within the shaft coupling define a “sliding space”, where the “sliding space” is interpreted as being any area within the overall body of the device that components can slide/move within, to include the inside of shaft coupling 158 where the screw 156e moves and the outside where the sliding slot 1561 moves. As such the “slider” or sliding slot 1561 is within the “sliding space”. It is also noted the side wall of shaft coupling 158 and sliding slot 1561 each have a through hole which the screw 156e extends through. Applicant further argues that the Chen reference does not disclose “the motor assembly include a support member comprising a bottom plate and side plates, where the bottom plate and side plates cooperate to define a sliding space, and where the slide is received in the sliding space” and “the side plate defines a first through hole, and the lead screw extends through the first through hole and the slider”, but it is the Pan reference that teaches those limitations. The Chen reference discloses the claimed guide rod and second and third through holes which the applicant appears to not argue. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. CN 208579101 in view of Chen et al. CN 208690975.
With regards to claim 1 Pan discloses, a charging device, wherein the charging device has a horizontal state and a vertical state [figs 1-6 and 9-15] and comprises:
a first housing [pedestal 12] defining a first receiving space [accommodating space 101];
a second housing rotatably connected with the first housing and configured to hold an electronic device [support plate 14, baffle 13, both rotatably connected to the first housing];
a charging assembly received in the second housing and configured to charge the electronic device [fig 3 charging coil 141 which is within the support plate 14 “second housing”]; and
a motor assembly received in the first receiving space [driving mechanism 15a] and configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing [fig 2/11 vs fig 4/12 discloses the rotation],
wherein the second housing has a first end and a second end opposite the first end [support plate 14 has two ends], the second end is farther away from the first housing than the first end when the charging device is in the vertical state [fig 4/12],
wherein in the horizontal state, the second housing is parallel to the first housing, and in the vertical state, the second housing is angled relative to the first housing [fig 2/11 horizontal/parallel positioning and fig 4/12 vertical/angled positioning];
wherein the motor assembly [figs 11-12] comprises a motor [motor 152] and a slider [¶62 “a sliding part (not shown in the figure)”], wherein the motor is connected with the slider and configured to drive the slider to slide [figs 11-12 show the motor 152 causing the sliding slot 1561 to slide];
wherein the motor assembly further comprises a lead screw [fig 11 lead screw 156e],
wherein the lead screw has one end rotatably connected with the motor [lead screw 156e connected to motor 152 through shaft coupling 158], and
the slider is sleeved on the lead screw [sliding slot 1561 is sleeved on the lead screw 156e];
wherein the motor assembly further comprises a support member [fig 11 motor 152 includes a support member], wherein the support member comprises a bottom plate and side plates that are respectively connected with and bent relative to opposite ends of the bottom plate [fig 11 discloses plates encompassing the motor/sliding components which reads on the bottom and side plates being connected with the first housing bottom plate], the bottom plate and the side plates cooperate to define a sliding space [shaft coupling 158 along with the screw 156e, sliding slot 1561, and rod 155 disclose the sliding space], and the slider is received in the sliding space, wherein the side plate defines a first through hole, and the lead screw extends through the first through hole and the slider [fig 11 the screw 156e is moving through a hole].
Pan fails to disclose, wherein the motor assembly is connected with the second end; a guide rod; and wherein the side plate defines a second through hole, the slider defines a third through hole, the guide rod is connected with the side plate and extends through the second through hole and the third through hole, and the slider is slidable on the guide rod through the third through hole.
However, Chen discloses, wherein the motor assembly is connected with the second end [fig 1 where the connecting block 11 connected to the charger 1 is connected to the second end and to the motor assembly]; a guide rod [fig 2 sliding rod 7], and wherein the side plate defines a second through hole, the slider defines a third through hole, the guide rod is connected with the side plate and extends through the second through hole and the third through hole, and the slider is slidable on the guide rod through the third through hole [the sliding rods 7 which are positioned between respective side plates which have holes in order to secure the rods, and the slider 9 which has a hole for the sliding rods 7 to slide through].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging devices of Pan with Chen to connect the second end of the housing to the motor assembly in order to provide more structural support to the device being charged and for user convenience to be able to position the angle of the device for optimal use/browsing, and, to include a guide rod to maintain proper alignment of the screw/sliding mechanism in order to avoid damaging the functionality of the device.
With regards to claim 2 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 1, wherein the motor assembly further comprises a first connecting rod [Pan rod 155], and a second connecting rod [transmission part 131 connected to support plate 14 (shows a rod angled at the one end connected to the first and second rods 155)],
wherein the first connecting rod has one end rotatably connected with the slider [figs 11-12 rod 155 connected with the slider] and
another end rotatably connected with one end of the second connecting rod [rod 155 connected with one end of the angled rod (transmission part 131 of fig 2) of support plate 14 where there are rotatable components which allow horizontal/vertical movement of the support plate 14], and
another end of the second connecting rod is connected with the second housing [the other end of the angled rod (transmission part 131 of fig 2) of support plate 14 is connected to the support plate 14 itself].
With regards to claim 3 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 2, wherein the slider is provided with a first sliding portion [Pan sliding slot 1561 ¶62 “The sliding part is movably provided in the sliding groove 1561”]; and
the charging device further comprises a second sliding portion connected with the first housing [¶62 “The other end of the first connecting rod 155 is provided with a sliding part (not shown in the figure)”],
wherein the first sliding portion cooperates with the second sliding portion to enable the slider to slide under rotation of the lead screw driven by the motor [figs 11-12 show the rotation of the screw 156e which causes the sliding groove 1561 “first sliding portion” to cooperate with a sliding part (not shown) “second sliding portion” to enable the slider to slide when it is driven by the motor 152].
With regards to claim 4 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 3, wherein the first housing comprises a bottom wall and a side wall that is connected with and bent relative to a periphery of the bottom wall [Pan fig 2 top plate 121 and bottom plate 122 which correspond to figs 11-12 which disclose both bottom and side walls which are bent and connected as claimed],
wherein the bottom wall and the side wall cooperate to define the first receiving space [accommodating space 101 is enclosed within the bottom and side walls];
the charging device further comprises a support member connected with the bottom wall [support 157, also another support to the left], and
the second sliding portion is disposed on a side surface of the support member away from the bottom wall [¶62 “The support 157 is fixed to the base 12, and the middle part of the two transmission parts 131 is rotatably connected to the support 157” which reasonably reads that the support members include the second sliding portion].
With regards to claim 5 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 4, wherein the slider comprises a connecting portion and sliding blocks respectively protruding from opposite ends of the connecting portion [Pan ¶62 “a sliding part (not shown in the figure)” and “The sliding part is movably provided in the sliding groove 1561” where the usage of the term “groove” reasonably reads on the claimed “sliding blocks”, as the groove would have “blocks” protruding in order to maintain proper alignment of the sliding part],
wherein the connecting portion is sleeved on the lead screw, the support member defines sliding grooves on the side surface of the support member away from the bottom wall, and the sliding blocks cooperate with the sliding grooves to slide the slider [fig 11 where the support members 157 (positioned away from the bottom wall) are connected and allow movement of the rod 155 which is connected with the sliding groove 1561 which is connected to the screw 156 and where the support members 157 allow the sliding of the entire assembly which reads on the claimed sliding grooves, and where each of the components mentioned above cooperate with each other in order to allow sliding of the slider].
With regards to claim 8 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 2, wherein the motor assembly further comprises a gear assembly and a rack [Pan figs 9-10 gear 1521 and rack 1562],
wherein the gear assembly has one end rotatably connected with the motor and the other end meshed with the rack [figs 9-10],
the rack is connected with the slider [sliding slot 1561 connected to rack 1562], and
the motor is configured to drive the gear assembly to rotate [fig 9 vs fig 10 which discloses the motor rotating to drive the assembly],
the rack is configured to move with rotation of the gear assembly, and the slider is configured to slide with movement of the rack [figs 9-10 discloses the motor 152 with gear 1521 which moves connecting rod 156 (with rack 1562) with the slider 1561].
With regards to claim 9 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 2, wherein the slider is provided with a first rotating portion, the first connecting rod is provided with a second rotating portion at one end of the first connecting rod, and the first rotating portion cooperates with the second rotating portion to enable the slider to be rotatably connected with the one end of the first connecting rod [Pan figs 9-12 which discloses both the first and second rotating portions, as the first rotating portion appears to be a hole, and the second rotating portion appears to be a pin as disclosed by the connection between the rod 155 and right side transmission part 131, see fig 9 below].
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 2, wherein the first connecting rod is provided with a third rotating portion at the other end [Pan figs 9-12 transmission part 131], the second connecting rod is provided with a fourth rotating portion at one end, and the third rotating portion cooperates with the fourth rotating portion to enable the other end of the first connecting rod to be rotatably connected with the one end of the second connecting rod [figs 9-12 transmission part 131, disclosing the third and fourth rotating portions, see fig 9 below].
With regards to claim 11 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 2, wherein the another end of the second connecting rod is rotatably connected with the second housing [Pan figs 9-12 where the rod 155 is connected to the support plate 14 or “second housing”], the second connecting rod is provided with a fifth rotating portion at the other end, the second housing is provided with a protruding portion on a side surface of the second housing close to the first housing, the protruding portion is provided with a sixth rotating portion, wherein the fifth rotating portion cooperates with the sixth rotating portion to enable the other end of the second connecting rod to be rotatably connected with the second housing [figs 9-12 discloses the right side transmission part 131 “second connecting rod” being connected to the support plate 14 “second housing” and where the transmission part 131 is inclusive of claimed “protruding portion” as it appears that the “protruding portion” is merely a part of the second housing that sticks out and includes a rotating portion, see fig 9 below].
With regards to claim 12 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 1, wherein the first housing comprises a bottom wall and a side wall that is connected with and bent relative to a periphery of the bottom wall, wherein a holder [figs 1, 2, 4-6, and 9-15 baffle 13] is disposed on a side surface of at least part of the side wall away from the bottom wall, wherein the at least part of the side wall is close to the first end [the baffle 13 “holder” appears to be on a “side surface of at least part of the side wall” away from the bottom wall, where “side surface” appears to be a surface that is not the bottom wall]; and
wherein the holder and a side surface of the second housing away from the bottom wall cooperate to define a positioning recess when the charging device is in the vertical state, wherein the positioning recess is configured to position the electronic device [figs 1, 2, 4-6, and 9-15 baffle 13 “holder” and support plate 14 “second housing” are away from the bottom wall and both appear to cooperate to define a positioning recess for a device in the vertical state].
With regards to claim 14 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 1, further comprising a processor received in the first receiving space and electrically connected with the motor assembly [Pan figs 2-6 and 9-14 control board 17],
wherein the processor is configured to send a first control signal to the motor assembly to start the motor assembly, and configured to send a second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly [¶43 “When the trigger device 16 is triggered, it sends a signal to the main control circuit board 17. The active circuit board 17 supplies power to or stops supplying power to the drive motor 152 according to the signal, thereby controlling the drive motor 152 to start or stop”].
With regards to claim 15 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 14, further comprising a distance sensor [Pan figs 1-6 and 9-15 trigger device 16] received in the first receiving space, wherein the distance sensor is electrically connected with the processor and connected with the motor assembly [trigger device 16 connected to the control board 17 and motor152]; and
wherein during operation of the motor assembly, the distance sensor is configured to send a distance signal to the processor, and the processor is further configured to obtain a rotation angle of the second housing according to the distance signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the rotation angle of the second housing is greater than or equal to a preset angle, and the processor is further configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly to stop the motor assembly in response to the rotation angle of the second housing being greater than or equal to the preset angle [¶47 “The rotation control principle of the drive motor 152 in this embodiment is as follows: the trigger device 16 sends a signal, the main control circuit 172 detects the signal sent by the trigger device 16 and sends a command to the motor drive circuit 173. The motor drive circuit 173 provides a positive voltage to the drive motor 152, causing the drive motor 152 to rotate at a certain angle. At this time, after the drive motor 152 rotates at a certain angle, the motor drive circuit 173 is disconnected, and the drive motor 152 relies on its own damping to maintain at that angle, so that the baffle 13 and the support plate 14 stop rotating; or the motor drive circuit 173 continuously supplies power to keep the drive motor 152 in a stationary state, so that the drive motor 152 is kept at that angle, so that the baffle 13 and the support plate 14 stop rotating”].
With regards to claim 17 the combination discloses, the charging device of claim 14, further comprising a first switch and a second switch received in the first receiving space, wherein both the first switch and the second switch are electrically connected with the processor; and wherein the first switch is configured to send a vertical signal to the processor in response to pressing of the first switch, and the processor is further configured to send the first control signal to the motor assembly according to the vertical signal, the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate in a first direction; and the second switch is configured to send a horizontal signal to the processor in response to pressing of the second switch, and the processor is further configured to send a third control signal to the motor assembly according to the horizontal signal, the motor assembly is configured to drive the second housing to rotate in a second direction, wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction [¶43 “the triggering device 16 is one or more buttons or one or more infrared sensors” and “When the trigger device 16 is triggered, it sends a signal to the main control circuit board 17. The active circuit board 17 supplies power to or stops supplying power to the drive motor 152 according to the signal, thereby controlling the drive motor 152 to start or stop” which reasonably reads on a first and second switch which controls the movement of the second housing via the motor to be in either a vertical or horizontal position].
With regards to claim 20 the combination discloses, an electronic device assembly, comprising:
an electronic device [Pan fig 15 mobile terminal/phone 20] and a charging device [figs 1-15 mobile terminal bracket 10];
wherein the charging device has a horizontal state [figs 2, 9, 11, 13] and a vertical state [figs 3, 10, 12, 14] and comprises:
a first housing [pedestal 12] defining a first receiving space [accommodating space 101];
a second housing rotatably connected with the first housing and configured to hold an electronic device [support plate 14, baffle 13, both rotatably connected to the first housing];
a charging assembly received in the second housing and configured to charge the electronic device [fig 3 charging coil 141 which is within the support plate 14 “second housing”]; and
a motor assembly received in the first receiving space [driving mechanism 15a] and configured to drive the second housing to rotate relative to the first housing [fig 2/11 vs fig 4/12 discloses the rotation],
wherein the second housing has a first end and a second end opposite the first end [support plate 14 has two ends], the second end is farther away from the first housing than the first end when the charging device is in the vertical state [fig 4/12], and wherein the motor assembly is connected with the second end [Chen fig 1 where the connecting block 11 connected to the charger 1 is connected to the second end and to the motor assembly];
in the horizontal state, the second housing is parallel to the first housing, and in the vertical state, the second housing is angled relative to the first housing [Pan fig 2/11 horizontal/parallel positioning and fig 4/12 vertical/angled positioning]; and
the electronic device comprises an induction coil and a battery, wherein a charging coil of the charging device and the induction coil cooperate to charge the battery [mobile phone 20 comprises an induction coil and battery];
wherein the motor assembly [figs 11-12] comprises a motor [motor 152] and a slider [¶62 “a sliding part (not shown in the figure)”],
wherein the motor is connected with the slider and configured to drive the slider to slide [figs 11-12 show the motor 152 causing the sliding slot 1561 to slide];
wherein the motor assembly further comprises a lead screw [fig 11 lead screw 156e],
wherein the lead screw has one end rotatably connected with the motor [lead screw 156e connected to motor 152 through shaft coupling 158], and
the slider is sleeved on the lead screw [sliding slot 1561 is sleeved on the lead screw 156e],
wherein the motor assembly further comprises a support member [fig 11 motor 152 includes a support member] and
a guide rod [Chen fig 2 sliding rod 7],
wherein the support member comprises a bottom plate and side plates that are respectively connected with and bent relative to opposite ends of the bottom plate [Pan fig 11 discloses plates encompassing the motor/sliding components which reads on the bottom and side plates being connected with the first housing bottom plate],
the bottom plate and the side plates cooperate to define a sliding space [shaft coupling 158 along with the screw 156e, sliding slot 1561, and rod 155 disclose the sliding space], and
the slider is received in the sliding space, wherein the side plate defines a first through hole, and the lead screw extends through the first through hole and the slider [fig 11 the screw 156e is moving through a hole], and
wherein the side plate defines a second through hole, the slider defines a third through hole, the guide rod is connected with the side plate and extends through the second through hole and the third through hole, and the slider is slidable on the guide rod through the third through hole [Chen the sliding rods 7 which are positioned between respective side plates which have holes in order to secure the rods, and the slider 9 which has a hole for the sliding rods 7 to slide through].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. CN 208579101 in view of Chen et al. CN 208690975 further in view of Lin et al. US 20090038815.
With regards to claim 7 Pan in view of Chen fail to disclose, the charging device of claim 6, wherein the motor assembly further comprises an elastic member received in the sliding space and sleeved on the guide rod, wherein the elastic member is disposed between the side plate and the slider, and the elastic member abuts against the side plate and the slider and is in a compressed state when the charging device is in the horizontal state.
However, Lin disclose, wherein the motor assembly further comprises an elastic member received in the sliding space and sleeved on the guide rod, wherein the elastic member is disposed between the side plate and the slider, and the elastic member abuts against the side plate and the slider and is in a compressed state when the charging device is in the horizontal state [fig 2 guide rod 72 and spring 73, where the spring sleeved on the guide rod of Lin and being implemented within the motor assembly of Pan/Chen would be within the sliding space and would be positioned between the side plate and slider in order to create a compressive/elastic force which would aid the movement of the device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Pan in view of Chen with Lin to include a spring/elastic member on the guide rod in order to better effect movement for when the user wants to change the orientation of the device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. CN 208579101 in view of Chen et al. CN 208690975 further in view of Moon CN 104053079.
With regards to claim 13 Pan in view of Chen fail to disclose, the charging device of claim 1, further comprising a first magnetic member connected with the first housing and a second magnetic member connected with the second housing, wherein the first magnetic member cooperates with the second magnetic member to generate repulsive force when the charging device is switched to the vertical state from the horizontal state.
However, Moon discloses, further comprising a first magnetic member connected with the first housing [fig 2c second magnet 118 within main body 110] and a second magnetic member connected with the second housing [fig 2b first magnet 128 within support portion 120], wherein the first magnetic member cooperates with the second magnetic member to generate repulsive force when the charging device is switched to the vertical state from the horizontal state [¶54 “under normal conditions, the support portion 120 can be releasably fixed due to the repulsion between the first magnet 128 and the second magnet 118”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Pan in view of Chen with Moon to include the magnets within the first and second parts in order to further support the ease of movement between the two parts/housings due to the repulsive force of the magnets.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. CN 208579101 in view of Chen et al. CN 208690975 further in view of Ferrone et al. US 20050275519.
With regards to claim 16 Pan in view of Chen fail to disclose, the charging device of claim 14, wherein the charging device further comprises a speaker received in the first receiving space and electrically connected with the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to send an audio signal to the speaker to make the speaker sound when the processor sends the first control signal to the motor assembly, and wherein the processor is further configured to stop sending the audio signal to the speaker when the processor sends the second control signal to the motor assembly.
However, Ferrone discloses, wherein the charging device further comprises a speaker received in the first receiving space and electrically connected with the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to send an audio signal to the speaker to make the speaker sound when the processor sends the first control signal to the motor assembly, and wherein the processor is further configured to stop sending the audio signal to the speaker when the processor sends the second control signal to the motor assembly [fig 4 discloses the alarm circuit where the alarm “speaker” is attached to the controller and ¶3 “This invention relates to a vehicle back up alarm system having a first warning signal when a vehicle is shifted into a reverse gear and a second warning signal when the vehicle is moving in a reverse direction” which reasonably reads on the actuation of a speaker which sounds when a signal is sent from a motor and the sound is stopped when the signal from the motor stops].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the charging device of Pan in view of Chen with the alarm system of Ferrone to include an audible alarm/speaker within the device which alerts users of motor movement in order to improve overall user safety while the device is affecting movement.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. CN 208579101 in view of Chen et al. CN 208690975 further in view of Licata et al. US 4476416.
With regards to claim 18 Pan in view of Chen fail to disclose, the charging device of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to obtain a pressing duration of the first switch according to the vertical signal and determine whether the pressing duration is less than a preset duration, and the processor is configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly in response to the pressing duration being less than the preset duration and the rotation angle of the second housing being equal to the preset angle, or the processor is configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly in response to the pressing duration being greater than or equal to the preset duration and removal of a touch force on the first switch.
However, Licata discloses, wherein the processor is further configured to obtain a pressing duration of the first switch according to the vertical signal and determine whether the pressing duration is less than a preset duration, and the processor is configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly in response to the pressing duration being less than the preset duration and the rotation angle of the second housing being equal to the preset angle, or the processor is configured to send the second control signal to the motor assembly in response to the pressing duration being greater than or equal to the preset duration and removal of a touch force on the first switch [Column 1 lines 29-47 “The control apparatus comprises electric motor means effective to drive the window toward a predetermined position, operator controlled actuator means effective to actuate the electric motor while actuated, further actuation means effective to maintain continuing actuation of the electric motor means after deactivation of the operator controlled actuation means only if the duration of actuation of the operator controlled actuation means is intermediate first and second predetermined time periods and automatic deactivation means effective when the window reaches the predetermined position to deactivate the electric motor means. The power window control apparatus can thus be momentarily actuated to move the window a very small distance with a short touch of the actuator button, placed in an automatic power mode with a touch of intermediate duration or moved under operator control for a longer distance if the switch is actuated for a longer time” corresponding to a user pressing a button and depending on the duration of the button press different functions are determined, such as a certain press duration for an automatic motor function which actuates the motor for the entirety of its intended movement path or an extended press duration which allows the user to manually determine the movement of the motor to the users desired position].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the charging device Pan in view of Chen with the motor control functions of Licata to determine the movement of the motor based on the users’ needs in order to improve the user experience and functionality of the device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. CN 208579101 in view of Chen et al. CN 208690975 further in view of Kweon et al. US 20180177075.
With regards to claim 19 the combination disclose, the charging device of claim 14, wherein the second housing defines a second receiving space, and the charging device further comprises the charging assembly received in the second receiving space, wherein the charging assembly comprises a charging coil [Pan fig 3 charging coil 141], the charging coil is electrically connected with the processor, and the processor is further configured to send a charging signal to the charging coil to enable the charging coil to charge the electronic device [Pan ¶45 “When a mobile terminal such as a mobile phone approaches or is placed on the mobile terminal holder 10a, the charging coil inside the mobile terminal receives the electromagnetic signals emitted by the charging coil 141 and generates electromagnetic coupling with the charging coil 141. At this time, the current of the charging coil 141 will change. The wireless charging circuit 171 can determine whether the mobile terminal is approaching or placed on the mobile terminal holder 10a by detecting the change in the current of the charging coil 141”].
Pan in view of Chen fail to disclose a heat dissipation support, the charging coil is disposed on the heat dissipation support.
However, Kweon disclose, a heat dissipation support, the charging coil is disposed on the heat dissipation support [fig 1 heat dissipation plate 120 where the charging coil is disposed on the heat dissipation plate/support].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Pan in view of Chen with Kweon to include a heat dissipation plate/support to improve heat mitigation during charging in order to improve the charging process and reduce potential safety issues related to overheating of the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859