DETAILED ACTION
Claims 3 and 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/3/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2,4-5, and 10-13 in the reply filed on 11/3/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “stacking a first structural layer…to form a random texture pattern” (cl 1:3-6) is indefinite because it is grammatically confusing.
The phrase “the first structural layer painting layer” (cl 1:3-4) lacks antecedent basis.
The phrase “the layer stacked” (cl 1:5) lacks antecedent basis.
The phrase “after the painting layer washes and squeezes” (cl 1:5) is indefinite because it is confusing since there are previous steps of washing or squeezing.
The phrase “the flowing painting layer” (cl 1:6) lacks antecedent basis in the claim. Also, the phrase is confusing since there is no previous step of flowing the painting layer.
The phrase “the outer surface of the second structural layer” (cl 5:2) lacks antecedent basis.
Corrections are required.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starr et al (USPN 3773886) in view of KR1019970003396.
Regarding claim 1, Starr et al teach:
1. A manufacturing method of a building material/furniture, comprising:
stacking a first structural layer (Starr et al: gel coating; fig 1), a painting layer (Starr et al: colored veining composition and spatter composition; fig 1), and a second structural layer (Starr et al: matrix composition; fig 1), and the first structural layer painting layer is located between the first and the second structural layers, wherein the layer stacked after the painting layer washes and squeezes at least a portion of the flowing painting layer to form a random texture pattern (Starr et al: col 2:29-67; col 5:11-19; col 6:17-26 and 51-68; col 7:37-43 and col 7:61-col 8:22; fig 1; Starr et al teach applying the colored veining composition and colored spatter composition onto the gel composition, then applying the matrix composition onto the colored veining composition and colored spatter composition while the colored veining composition and colored spatter composition are still wet such that the compositions bleed into each other to create a marbled effect).
However, Starr et al do not teach molding a housing structure of electronic device. It should be noted that Starr et al teach molding building material/furniture like a vanity top having a marbled pattern (Starr et al: col 8:28-30; figs 1-2). KR1019970003396 teaches forming a 3D marble pattern on a substrate, wherein the substrate can be a building material, furniture, or an electronic case. Since Starr et al and KR1019970003396 are analogous with respect to marbled pattern articles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the molding process of Starr et al to mold a marble patterned electronic case as suggested by KR1019970003396 in order to efficiently mold a variety of marble patterned articles.
Regarding claim 2, such is taught by Starr et al since the colored veining composition and the spatter composition are in liquid form when applied and remain wet during the subsequent application of the matrix composition (col 7:37-43; col 7:61-col 8:22).
Regarding claim 4, Starr et al (modified) do not teach the intended uses of the structural layers. However, electronic cases having layers of gel coat and a matrix material are well-known in the electronic case art for its strength and protection. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the marbled product of Starr et al (modified) and its layers as indented by the claims in order to form a desirable and recognizable electronic case.
Regarding claim 5, Starr et al (modified) does not teach the outer surface of the second structural layer being wavy or rough. Since electronic cases having wavy or rough outer surfaces are well-known in the electronic case art for its aesthetic appeal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the outer surface of Starr et al (modified) to have a wavy or rough form in order to form an aesthetically pleasing case.
Regarding claim 10, such is taught by Starr et al (Starr et al: col 2:67-col 3:1; col 7:19-24; the matrix material is filled in the mold in the same manner as the gel coat, which is spraying).
Regarding claim 11, Starr et al do not teach a pressurizing and driving the second structural layer with an indenter. Since it is well-known in the decorative and electronic case arts to impart a design into a layer using a stamp or male mold, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to pressurize and drive the matrix material of Starr et al with a stamp or male mold in order to create an aesthetic texture or design into the matrix material of Starr et al.
Regarding claim 12, Starr et al do not teach the outer surface of the second structural layer being wavy or rough. Since electronic cases having wavy or rough outer surfaces are well-known in the electronic case art for its aesthetic appeal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the outer surface of Starr et al (modified) to have a wavy or rough form in order to form an aesthetically pleasing case.
Regarding claim 13, Starr et al do not teach injection molding the first and second structural layers. Since injection molding of composite countertops and electronic cases is well-known in the molding art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to injection mold the gel coating composition and matrix compositions of Starr et al instead of spraying in order to improve efficiency, precision, and production.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach molding variegated patterned articles: USP20030038402; JPH0818345; GB2237238; and USPN5820799.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744