DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new and newly amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5-7,10-14, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reichenbacher et al. (WO 2015/007603- translation referenced) and Rosen et al. (-).
Regarding claim 1, Reichenbacher (R) discloses a system, comprising: a battery energy storage system (10, Abstract) including one or more rechargeable batteries (15) and a control system configured to monitor the one or more rechargeable batteries (Paragraphs 12 and 19. Because the battery temperature is controlled is obvious that there must be some sort of control means), and determine a desired location for heat generated (Paragraph 13); and an energy recovery system (46,20,30,40) for providing heat to at least one building (42, i.e., heat consumer), the energy recovery system coupled to the battery energy storage system (10), the energy recovery system including an energy storage (40, Figure 1), a plurality of fluid conduits (The fluid medium flows through the system 46) , and a heat exchanger (30) in communication with the plurality of fluid conduits, the heat exchanger including a heat exchange medium (20) for receiving heat transferred from the battery energy storage system, wherein the energy recovery system is configured to: capture, via the heat exchange medium, heat generated by one or more of charging and discharging the one or more rechargeable batteries (10); transfer the captured heat to a fluid in the plurality of fluid conduits; store the captured heat within the energy storage; and transfer energy associated with the captured heat (Paragraph 10).
Reichenbacher (R) does not disclose a heat pump and using the heat pump based on the desired location of the heat generated and that the thermal storage is a geothermal energy storage.
However, Rosen (Ro) discloses a district energy distributing system (Abstract) with a heat pump (201, Figures 1-2) and using the heat pump based on the desired location of the heat generated ([0058]) and that the thermal storage is a geothermal energy storage ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to use a heat pump within the circuit to allow for heating and cooling as well as utilizing geothermal heat storage in order to store large amount of heat with a minimal surface footprint.
Regarding claim 3, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger ([0063], via coolers) is configured to capture heat from ambient air surrounding the one or more rechargeable batteries. As a clarification, the Office does not think that the use of an air heat exchanger teaches away from the base art because both, air and fluid based heat exchangers are well known in the art and can be interchangeable in this circumstance.
Regarding claim 5, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer the energy associated with the captured heat to at least one flow of fluid in one of the plurality of fluid conduits (22,23,25,26, Figure 1, [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the at least one flow of fluid is configured to transfer the energy associated with the captured heat to the at least one building (R-50, Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 6, further comprising a heat pump (201, [0053]) or configured to transfer the energy from the at least one flow of fluid to the at least one building (40).
Regarding claim 10, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the at least one flow of fluid is further configured to transfer the energy associated with heat stored in the one or more geothermal energy storages (10, [0010], [0047]) to a heating and cooling system for the at least one building (40).
Regarding claim 11, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more geothermal energy storages are configured to independently generate energy ([0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the energy recovery system further comprises one or more of a first flow of warm fluid in a first fluid conduit (22) of the plurality of fluid conduits and a second flow of cool fluid in a second fluid conduit (23) of the plurality of one or more fluid conduits, wherein the first flow of warm fluid is at a higher temperature than the second flow of cool fluid, and wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer the energy associated with the captured heat to the first flow of warm fluid, the second flow of cool fluid, or a combination thereof ([0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 13, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the
system of claim 12, wherein: the first fluid conduit comprises at least one first pipe forming a first loop (22-25-26, Figure 1); and the second fluid conduit comprises at least one second pipe forming a second loop (22-25-26, Figure 1, three loops show in the figure).
Regarding claim 14, Reichenbacher (R) discloses a method, comprising: charging or discharging one or more rechargeable batteries (15, Paragraph 19) of a battery energy storage system, the battery energy storage system including a control system (Paragraphs 12 and 19. Because the battery temperature is controlled is obvious that there must be some sort of control means) and coupled to an energy recovery system (46,20,30,40), a plurality of fluid conduits (The fluid medium flows through the system 46), and a heat exchanger (30) ;capturing, via a heat exchange medium (20) of the heat exchanger, heat generated by the charging or discharging of the one or more rechargeable batteries (Paragraph 19).
Reichenbacher (R) does not disclose measuring, via the control system, the captured heat; determining, based on the measured captured heat, a desired location for the captured heat, selected emitter’s demand); transferring the captured heat to a fluid in the plurality of fluid conduits; storing the captured heat within the geothermal energy storage; and transferring energy associated with the captured heat to a heat pump (201, Figures 1-2) to provide heat to at least one building.
However, Rosen (Ro) discloses a district energy distributing system (Abstract) with the steps of measuring ([0035], in order to control the temperature needs to be measured), via the control system, the captured heat; determining, based on the measured captured heat, a desired location for the captured heat ([0058], selected emitter’s demand); transferring the captured heat to a fluid in the plurality of fluid conduits; storing the captured heat within the geothermal energy storage ([0010]); and transferring energy associated with the captured heat to a heat pump (201, Figures 1-2) to provide heat to at least one building (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to use a heat pump within the circuit to allow for temperature controlled heating and cooling as well as utilizing geothermal heat storage in order to store large amount of heat with a minimal surface footprint.
Regarding claim 16, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the capturing the heat generated by the charging or discharging the one or more rechargeable batteries (R-15) comprises: capturing heat from ambient air surrounding the one or more rechargeable batteries ([0063], via coolers); and transferring, via the heat pump (201) or a heat exchanger, the energy associated with heat captured from the ambient air to a heating and cooling system of one or more buildings (40, [0058]), one or more geothermal energy storages ([0010]), one or more fluid conduits (22,23), or a combination thereof . As a clarification, the Office does not think that the use of an air heat exchanger teaches away from the base art because both, air and fluid based heat exchangers are well known in the art and can be interchangeable in this circumstance.
Regarding claim 17, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the transferring the energy associated with the captured heat is via a first flow of warm fluid in a first fluid conduit (22) of the one or more fluid conduits and a second flow of cool fluid in a second fluid conduit (23) of the one or more fluid conduits, and wherein the first flow of warm fluid is at a higher temperature than the second flow of cool fluid ([0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the method of claim 17, wherein: the first fluid conduit comprises at least one first pipe forming a first loop (22-25-26, Figure 1); and the second fluid conduit comprises at least one second pipe forming a second loop (22-25-26, Figure 1, three loops show in the figure).
Regarding claim 19, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: transferring, via at least one flow of fluid (via 22-23, Figure 1), the energy associated with heat stored in one or more geothermal energy storages and energy independently generated by the one or more geothermal energy storages ([0008]) to a heating and cooling system for one or more buildings (40, [0058])).
Regarding claim 20, Reichenbacher (R) discloses a system, comprising: a battery energy storage system (10, Abstract) including one or more rechargeable batteries (15), and a control system configured to monitor the one or more rechargeable batteries and determine a desired location for heat generated, the control system in communication with a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature of the one or more rechargeable batteries (Paragraphs 12 and 19. Because the battery temperature is controlled is obvious that there must be some sort of temperature sensor and control means), wherein the battery energy storage system is connected to an energy grid (Paragraph 7, the building’s electrical needs); and an energy recovery system (46,20,30,40) coupled to the battery energy storage system, wherein the energy recovery system comprises, a plurality of fluid conduits (The fluid medium flows through the system 46), energy storage (40) and a heat exchanger (30) including a heat exchange medium (20), the heat exchanger in communication with the plurality of fluid conduits and the energy storage and configured to: capture via a heat exchange medium (20), the heat generated heated by one or more of charging and discharging the one or more rechargeable batteries; and transfer energy associated with the captured heat to at least one flow of fluid in at least one fluid conduit of the plurality of conduits, wherein the plurality of conduits is configured to transfer the at least one flow of fluid to one or more of the energy storage at least one building, or a combination thereof based on the desired location determined by the control system (Paragraph 10), but does not disclose that the energy storage is geothermal or that heating/ cooling device is a heat pump.
However, Rosen (Ro) discloses a district energy distributing system (Abstract) with a heat pump (201, Figures 1-2) and using the heat pump based on the desired location of the heat generated ([0058]) and that the thermal storage is a geothermal energy storage ([0010]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to use a heat pump within the circuit to allow for heating and cooling as well as utilizing geothermal heat storage in order to store large amount of heat with a minimal surface footprint.
Regarding claim 21, Reichenbacher (R) discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control system is in communication with a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature of the one or more rechargeable batteries (R-15, Paragraph 12, it stated that the batteries operate within a temperature range which implies that the temperature is monitored, i.e., via a sensor).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reichenbacher et al. (WO 2015/007603- translation referenced), Rosen et al. (US 2021/00882270), and Amerman et al. (US 6,276,438).
Regarding claim 4, Reichenbacher (R), as modified, discloses the system of claim 3, but not that the geothermal energy storage comprises an array of geothermal boreholes.
However, Amerman (A) discloses an energy system (Abstract), wherein the one or more geothermal energy storages (11, C11,L38-45) comprises an array of geothermal boreholes (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a plurality of well bores in order to increase the heat transfer load of the system, just as multiple fins on heat exchangers transfer more energy than finless heat exchangers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/ Supervisory Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 3762