DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on January 13, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that there would be no undue burden to consider all of the claims together. This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the Requirement for Restriction, the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; and the inventions require a different field of search based on their different classification. Therefore, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasaka et al. (US 2003/0017223) in view of Hara et al. (US 2018/0178469).
Regarding claims 1-6, 9, and 10, Tasaka et al. teaches a thermoplastic elastomeric resin composition (¶36) comprising 100 parts by weight of a block copolymer (¶37) that may be styrene-isoprene-styrene (SIS), styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS), or styrene-ethylene-propylene-styrene (SEPS) (¶107); from preferably 3 to 50 parts by weight (¶124) of a maleic anhydride modified copolymer (¶116) (interfacial compatible resin); from 1 to 1200 parts by weight of a polyester-type copolymer, which contains a hard segment of an aromatic polyester and a soft segment of an aliphatic polyether (thermoplastic polyetherester, TPEE) (¶142, 143); from 0 to 60 parts by weight of an inorganic filler (reinforcing additive) (¶153, 154); from 0.1 to 3 parts by weight of an organic peroxide (crosslinking agent) (¶155, 158), and from 0.1 to 10 parts by weight of a crosslinking aid (¶160, 163). The organic peroxide and the crosslinking aid form the claimed crosslinking formulation, which is present in 0.2 to 13 parts by weight.
Tasaka et al. does not teach that the block copolymer is dispersed in the thermoplastic polyetherester, or that the block copolymer has a particle size of about 0.5 to 10 microns. However, Hara et al. teaches a thermoplastic resin composition comprising elastomers of SEBS or SEPS dispersed in a thermoplastic resin such as a polyester or a polyamide (¶48-52). Hara et al. also teaches that the elastomer component has a particle size of 10 microns or less (¶54). Tasaka et al. and Hara et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as that of the instant invention, namely that of thermoplastic vulcanizates used for molded articles. At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form a continuous phase of the thermoplastic component and a dispersed phase of the elastomeric component having a particle size of less than 10 microns, as taught by Hara et al., from the thermoplastic polyetherester component and the block copolymer, as taught by Tasaka et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to have both high barrier properties and high durability of the composition (¶49).
Regarding claim 7, Tasaka et al. teaches that the organic peroxide may be 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-di(tert-butylperoxy) hexane, dicumyl peroxide, benzoyl peroxide, or di-tert-butyl peroxide (¶156).
Regarding claim 8, Tasaka et al. teaches that the crosslinking aid may be trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate or triallylcyanurate (¶161).
Regarding claims 11-13, since the non-aromatic rubber may be contained in 0 parts by weight, it is not a required component of the composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,490,797 (“the ‘797 patent”) in view of Tasaka et al. (US 2003/0017223).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4-8, claims 1-3 of the ‘797 patent teach a vulcanizate comprising 100 parts by weight of rubber particles that are a styrene copolymer rubber, 40 to 90 parts by weight of a thermoplastic elastomer that is a thermoplastic polyester elastomer (TPEE), and from 5 to 15 parts by weight of a maleic anhydride grafted polymer, wherein a content of the rubber particles is greater than a content of the thermoplastic elastomer in the vulcanizate and the rubber particles are dispersed in the thermoplastic elastomer in a form of spherical particles with particle sizes of 0.5-10 μm.
The claims of the ‘797 patent do not teach that the vulcanizate further comprises from 0.2 to 3 parts by weight of a crosslinking formulation comprising a crosslinking agent and a crosslinking assistant/aid. However, Tasaka et al. teaches a thermoplastic composition comprising a styrene-based copolymer, a TPEE, a maleic anhydride grafted copolymer, and from 0.1 to 3 parts by weight of an organic peroxide (crosslinking agent) (¶155, 158), and from 0.1 to 10 parts by weight of a crosslinking aid (¶160, 163). The organic peroxide and the crosslinking aid form the claimed crosslinking formulation, which is present in 0.2 to 13 parts by weight. Further, the organic peroxide may be 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-di(tert-butylperoxy) hexane, dicumyl peroxide, benzoyl peroxide, or di-tert-butyl peroxide (¶156); and the crosslinking aid may be trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate or triallylcyanurate (¶161). The ‘797 patent and Tasaka et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely that of thermoplastic vulcanizate compositions. At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a crosslinking formulation, as taught by Tasaka et al., to the vulcanizate, as taught by the ‘797 patent, and would have been motivated to do so in order to crosslink the composition so it can be used for molded articles.
Regarding claim 3, Tasaka et al. further teaches that the styrene copolymer rubber particles may be SIS, SEBS, or SEPS (¶107). At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use SIS, SEBS, or SEPS as the styrene copolymer rubber, and would have been motivated to do so because Tasaka et al. teaches that these are suitable for use in a very similar composition.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Tasaka et al. further teaches that the vulcanizate may contain from 0 to 60 parts by weight of a reinforcing filler (¶152-154). At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add from 0 to 60 parts by weight of a reinforcing filler to the vulcanizate, and would have been motivated to do so in order to provide reinforcement and durability to the vulcanizate.
Regarding claims 11-13, since the non-aromatic rubber may be contained in 0 parts by weight, it is not a required component of the composition.
Correspondence
/ANGELA C SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767