Status of Claims
Claims 1-35, as filed 16 May 2023, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites the limitation “The battery pack of claim 19, wherein the pair of end plates may further comprise the ninth protrusion not to couple with the seventh groove.” The meaning of “not to couple” is not clear. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claim limitation is determined to include the ninth protrusion coupling with the seventh groove or the ninth protrusion not coupling. Examiner notes that the term “may further comprise” is optional language and the entire limitation following it is therefore optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi ‘211 teaches a battery module (abstract) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells provided as a pouch type; ([0025], FIG. 4 cell 100a)
a plurality of cartridges, each of the cartridges holding an adjacent pair of the battery cells; ([0050-0051] dualizing components; FIG. 4 battery cell holder 200)
Choi ‘211 discloses (FIG. 4) and [0031-0032] “electrical connector 440 provided with connection terminals 422 connected … to receiving grooves … so as to be electrically connected to the battery cells 100”) coupled to a lateral side of the plurality of cartridges 200 to bind the plurality of cartridges to each other, and comprises a first connector to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells. Choi ‘211 discloses at FIG. 2 and [0031] a lateral cover (side frame 420) coupled to an outward side of the electrical connector 440 to bind the electrical connector and the cartridges (cells 100) to each other. While Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach that the lateral cover comprises a first opening to expose the first connector to an outside and a second opening to expose the second connector to the outside, a person of ordinary skill would understand that for the battery to function, openings are required for wiring to exit the cover, and therefore the connectors are exposed. However, Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach that electrical connector 440 includes voltage sensors to make it a sensing block coupled to a lateral side of the plurality of cartridges to bind the plurality of cartridges to each other, the sensing block comprising a first connector to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells and a second connector to measure voltage of the plurality of battery cells;
Kim, in the field of (abstract) a battery module assembly for a vehicle battery pack, discloses ([0078-0079], FIG. 15) connector 210 for transferring a voltage measurement value, sensing assembly 200, plurality of terminals 220 … may be welded to cell tap (bus bar). Examiner notes that because the sensing assembly 200 is welded to the cell tap, it will also act to bind the plurality of cartridges to each other. While Kim does not explicitly teach a purpose for voltage sensors on individual cells, a person of ordinary skill would understand that the voltage sensors improve battery safety by providing earlier detection of charging issues and of impending cell failure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to add the sensing capability of Kim to the electrical connector of Choi ‘211, for the purpose of improving safety, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Choi ‘211 further teaches (FIG. 4-FIG. 7 and [0038-0040]) first fasteners (mounting parts 320) provided in each of first and second portions of each of the plurality of cartridges to fasten adjacent cartridges of the plurality of cartridges to each other, wherein the first fasteners comprise: first protrusions protruding from the plurality of cartridges; (clip protrusions 322) and first grooves recessed to receive the first protrusions of the adjacent cartridge (seat grooves 222). This also teaches the limitation of claim 5, wherein the first fasteners are provided at one or more positions in upper and lower portions of the plurality of cartridges.
Regarding claim 3, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Choi ‘211 further teaches wherein each of the cartridges comprises first channels on an upper portion and a lower portion corresponding to the upper portion to dissipate heat of the battery module. (As shown in modified FIG. 4)
Regarding claim 4, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach wherein each of the cartridges comprises first double-sided tapes at front and rear sides thereof to which the battery cells are attached. Kim, in the field of (abstract) a battery module assembly for a vehicle battery pack, discloses ([0050-0053] and FIG. 6) the use of double-sided adhesive tape to secure the pouch cells to the cooling pin 111A-1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that at tape connection will provide better thermal coupling than no tape connection, and therefore would have been motivated to modify the battery module of Choi ‘211 in view of Kim with the tape connection of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of achieving improved battery cooling.
Claims 6 to 11 require a second fastener configured to fasten the plurality of cartridges and the sensing block to each other, wherein the second fastener comprises: a second protrusion protruding from an inward side of the sensing block; and a second groove provided in the lateral side of the plurality of cartridges and recessed to couple with the second protrusion, wherein (claim 7) the fastener is provided at upper or lower positions, and (claim 8) guide protrusions and grooves are provided, (claim 9) at upper and lower positions, including (claims 10 and 11) a hook and groove structure. Choi ‘211 and Kim do not explicitly teach the stated coupling methods used between the stated structures.
However, Choi ‘211 at [0006-0016] teaches the use of ([0008]) connection structures at upper and lower portions including seat grooves and clip protrusions to lock together parts, resulting in reduced manufacturing costs. At [0054-0056] Choi ‘211 contemplates the use of integrated couplers and snap-fit engagement to reduce the number of components during assembly. Examiner notes that at FIG. 5, clip protrusions 322 act as guide protrusions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that fastening structures as disclosed by Choi ‘211 can be used to connect any adjacent structures of the battery module of modified Choi ‘211 to each other, in a limited number of potential configurations, and therefore would have been motivated to trial the connection of cartridges to the sensing block as set forth in claims 6-11, with a reasonable expectation of successfully reducing component counts and manufacturing costs.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach the module comprising a fourth fastener configured to fasten the lateral cover and the sensing block to each other, wherein the fourth fastener comprises: a fourth protrusion provided on an outer side of the sensing block, the fourth protrusion comprising a hook; and a fourth groove provided on an inward side of the lateral cover and coupling with the hook of the fourth protrusion wherein (claim 13) the fourth fastener is provided at one or more positions in upper and lower portions of the sensing block and the lateral cover.
However, Choi ‘211 at [0006-0016] teaches the use of ([0008]) connection structures at upper and lower portions including seat grooves and clip protrusions to lock together parts such as adjacent frames 200, as shown at FIG. 4, resulting in reduced manufacturing costs. At [0054-0056] Choi ‘211 contemplates the use of integrated couplers and snap-fit engagement to reduce the number of components during assembly. Examiner notes that at FIG. 5, clip protrusions 322 are a type of hook.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that fastening structures as disclosed by Choi ‘211 can be used to connect any adjacent structures of the battery module of modified Choi ‘211 to each other, in a limited number of potential configurations, and therefore would have been motivated to trial the connection of the lateral cover to the sensing block as set forth in claims 12-13, with a reasonable expectation of successfully reducing component counts and manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 14, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Choi ‘211 further teaches wherein the lateral cover comprises wing plates provided at opposite sides thereof to hold outermost cartridges among the plurality of cartridges and to partially cover the outermost cartridges. (as shown FIG. 2, side frames 420)
Claim(s) 15 – 20 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Joerg (US 20170237050 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Choi ‘211 teaches [0004] a battery pack comprising multiple battery modules. However, Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach a battery module stacking body comprising a plurality of battery modules stacked in a thickness direction of a pouch-type battery cell; a lower plate extended along a stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and positioned beneath the battery module stacking body; an upper plate extended along the stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and positioned on the battery module stacking body; a pair of end plates disposed at front and rear sides in the stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and fastened to the lower plate and the upper plate, respectively, to support the battery module stacking body; and an upper cover covering an upper portion of the battery module and fastened to the upper plate;
Kim, in the field of (abstract) a battery module assembly for a vehicle battery pack, discloses a battery module stacking body comprising a plurality of battery modules stacked in a thickness direction of a pouch-type battery cell; (FIG. 3 and [0035] showing cartridge A, B, C, and D stacked in a horizontal manner) At [0010] Kim discloses the use of multiple stacked cartridges and modules to decrease assembly time, even for an increased number of elements.. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select Kim’s horizontal stacking of cartridges and modules for the battery of Choi ‘211, with a reasonable expectation of successfully decreasing assembly time. Kim teaches (FIG. 16 and [0080] upper case 300), but does not explicitly teach that the upper case is fastened to an upper plate. Kim does not explicitly teach a lower plate extended along a stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and positioned beneath the battery module stacking body; an upper plate extended along the stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and positioned on the battery module stacking body; and a pair of end plates disposed at front and rear sides in the stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and fastened to the lower plate and the upper plate, respectively, to support the battery module stacking body;
Joerg, in the field of (abstract) energy storage cell housings, discloses a frame device 18, further comprising:
a lower plate extended along a stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and positioned beneath the battery module stacking body; (FIG. 12 and [0049] heat transport plate 34)
an upper plate extended along the stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and positioned on the battery module stacking body; (FIG. 5, FIG. 6 and [0037] connection elements 30, equivalent to upper and lower guide support bars)
a pair of end plates disposed at front and rear sides in the stacking direction of the battery module stacking body and fastened to the lower plate and the upper plate, respectively, to support the battery module stacking body; (FIG. 5, FIG 6 and [0036] plate like closure elements 20 and 22)
an upper cover covering an upper portion of the battery module and fastened to the upper plate; (FIG. 5 cover 48)
Joerg discloses at [0006] that the frame device has a simple construction and ease of installation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to use the frame device of Joerg to secure multiple battery modules as taught by modified Choi ‘211, with a reasonable expectation of successfully creating a battery pack.
Joerg does not explicitly teach that the upper cover covering an upper portion of the battery module is fastened to the upper plate, however at [0010-0014] Joerg discloses several ways to connect components together, and at [0004] Joerg contemplates the use of high voltage batteries in electric vehicles. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to secure the upper covering of the battery of modified Choi ‘211 to the upper plate, in order to make the battery suitable for use in an electric vehicle.
Returning to Choi ‘211, Choi ‘211 teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises:
• a plurality of battery cells provided as a pouch type; ([0025], FIG. 4 cell 100a)
• a plurality of cartridges, each of the cartridges holding an adjacent pair of the battery cells; ([0050-0051] dualizing components; FIG. 4 battery cell holder 200)
Choi ‘211 discloses (FIG. 4) and [0031-0032] “electrical connector 440 provided with connection terminals 422 connected … to receiving grooves … so as to be electrically connected to the battery cells 100”) coupled to a lateral side of the plurality of cartridges 200 to bind the plurality of cartridges to each other, and comprises a first connector to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells. Choi ‘211 discloses at FIG. 2 and [0031] a lateral cover (side frame 420) coupled to an outward side of the electrical connector 440 to bind the electrical connector and the cartridges (cells 100) to each other. While Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach that the lateral cover comprises a first opening to expose the first connector to an outside and a second opening to expose the second connector to the outside, a person of ordinary skill would understand that for the battery to function, openings are required for wiring to exit the cover, and therefore the connectors are exposed.
However, Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach that electrical connector 440 includes voltage sensors to make it a sensing block coupled to a lateral side of the plurality of cartridges to bind the plurality of cartridges to each other, the sensing block comprising a first connector to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells and a second connector to measure voltage of the plurality of battery cells;
Kim, in the field of (abstract) a battery module assembly for a vehicle battery pack, discloses ([0078-0079], FIG. 15) connector 210 for transferring a voltage measurement value, sensing assembly 200, plurality of terminals 220 … may be welded to cell tap (bus bar). Examiner notes that because the sensing assembly 200 is welded to the cell tap, it will also act to bind the plurality of cartridges to each other. While Kim does not explicitly teach a purpose for voltage sensors on individual cells, a person of ordinary skill would understand that the voltage sensors improve battery safety by providing earlier detection of charging issues and of impending cell failure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to add the sensing capability of Kim to the electrical connector of Choi ‘211, for the purpose of improving safety, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 16 -20, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, these claims require a fifth fastener configured to fasten the plurality of battery modules and the lower plate to each other, wherein the fifth fastener comprises: a fifth protrusion provided in a lower end of the plurality of cartridges; and a guide support bar provided in the lower plate and accommodating the fifth protrusion therein, wherein (claim 17) the upper cover and the upper plate are fastened to each other, (claim 18) the end plates, the upper plate, and the lower plate are fastened to each other, (claim 19) the end plates and the upper cover are fastened to each other, including a seventh groove formed penetrating the upper cover and coupling with the ninth protrusion, and (claim 20) the “may further comprise” limitation is optional as set forth in the claim interpretation above. Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg do not explicitly teach the exact combination of protrusions and grooves to couple the claimed structures. However, Choi ‘211 at [0006-0016] teaches the use of ([0008]) connection structures at upper and lower portions including seat grooves and clip protrusions to lock together parts, resulting in reduced manufacturing costs. At [0054-0056] Choi ‘211 contemplates the use of integrated couplers and snap-fit engagement to reduce the number of components during assembly. Examiner notes that at FIG. 5, clip protrusions 322 act as guide protrusions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that fastening structures as disclosed by Choi ‘211 can be used to connect any adjacent structures of the battery module of modified Choi ‘211 to each other, (for example heat transport plate 34, connection elements 30, equivalent to upper and lower guide support bars, plate like closure elements 20 and 22 and cover 48, as disclosed by Joerg and rendered obvious with respect to claim 15, above) in a limited number of potential configurations, and therefore would have been motivated to trial the connection of upper and lower guide bars, upper an lower plates, and end plates, as set forth in claims 16-20, with a reasonable expectation of successfully reducing component counts and manufacturing costs.
Regarding claims 21 -23, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach a bus bar assembly configured to electrically connect the battery modules of the battery module stacking body, wherein the bus bar assembly comprises: a bus bar coupled to the first connector; and a bus bar cover accommodating the bus bar therein.
Kim, in the field of (abstract) a battery module assembly for a vehicle battery pack, discloses at [0079] a cell tap assembly (bus bar) at a side surface of assembly 110, and discloses [0081] covers 410 and 420 protecting the cell tap (bus bar) on both sides of the module. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to use the bus bar assembly and covers of Kim for the battery pack of modified Choi ‘211, with a reasonable expectation of having a functioning battery pack and successfully protecting the bus bars. Regarding claims 22 and 23, a person of ordinary skill would understand the need to fasten the bus bar and onto the bus bar and the sensing block to the bus bar cover and would be motivated to use the mounting parts 320 of Choi ‘211 including clip protrusions 322 and seat grooves 222, with a reasonable expectation of successfully securing the components in a manner that reduces manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 24, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Choi ‘211 teaches at (FIG. 2 and [0032]) an electrical connector connected to the battery cells and mounted to the side frames 420. further comprising a wire harness connected to the second connector and configured to transmit an electric signal and current.
Regarding claim 26, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach wherein the lower plate comprises a pair of support bars shaped like a plate to support the plurality of battery modules.
Joerg, in the field of (abstract) energy storage cell housings, discloses a frame device 18, having [0006] simple construction and ease of installation, and at [0004] suitable for use in electric vehicles. At [0010-0014] Joerg discloses several ways to connect components together. At FIG. 12 Joerg shows support bars 30 which support the battery modules. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the battery modules of modified Choi ‘211 by adding the support bars of Joerg, with a reasonable expectation of supporting the modules and having ease of installation.
Regarding claim 27, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach wherein the battery pack is mounted to a base plate through the lower plate; a first end plate of the pair of end plates comprises a first lower surface protruding to come into close contact with the base plate; and a second end plate of the pair of end plates comprises a second lower surface that is spaced apart from the base plate and defines a second channel between the second lower surface and the base plate.
Joerg, in the field of (abstract) energy storage cell housings, discloses a frame device 18, having [0006] simple construction and ease of installation, and at [0004] suitable for use in electric vehicles. At [0010-0014] Joerg discloses several ways to connect components together. At [0042] and FIG. 5 Joerg discloses heat transport plate 34 which is designed as a base plate. As shown in FIG. 12, a channel is created A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the battery modules of modified Choi ‘211 with the base plate mounting structures of Joerg, with a reasonable expectation of supporting the modules and having ease of installation.
Regarding claim 28, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach wherein the lower plate comprises: an insert pin configured to be fastened to the base plate; and an insert bush corresponding to the insert pin.
Joerg, in the field of (abstract) energy storage cell housings, discloses a frame device 18, having [0006] simple construction and ease of installation, and at [0004] suitable for use in electric vehicles. At [0010-0014] Joerg discloses several ways to connect components together. At FIG. 12 Joerg shows a notch (equivalent to an insert bush) in member 30 and a pin attached to base plate 34. However, a person of ordinary skill would understand that the notch and member could be swapped, creating a pin attached to member 30 a notch in the base plate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the battery modules of modified Choi ‘211 with the frame of Joerg, including notch and bush, with a reasonable expectation of supporting the modules and having ease of installation.
Regarding claim 30, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor configured to measure an internal temperature of the battery pack, wherein the temperature sensor comprises: a measurer coupled to the inside of the plurality of cartridges; and a wire configured to transmit measurement information of the measurer to the outside. Kim teaches ([0059-0060]) the use of temperature sensors and (FIG 15 and [0078] sensor assembly 200 and connector 210. Examiner notes that a person of ordinary skill would expect that a temperature sensor would include a wire configured to transmit measurement information of the measurer to the outside as shown in FIG. 15, in order to monitor internal temperature for the purpose of safety.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the battery pack of modified Kim with the temperature sensor and wire of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of improving the safety of the battery pack.
Claim(s) 25 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Joerg (US 20170237050 A1), as set forth above, and in further view of Alloway (US 20070063444 A1).
Regarding claims 25 and 31, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach a binder configured to bind the wire harness, the pair of end plates, and the lower plate to one another, wherein the binder comprises: one or more third openings provided as holes through the pair of end plates and the lower plate; and one or more binding devices coupling with the third openings and binding the wire harness.
Alloway, in the field of (abstract) vehicle wiring, discloses [0001] a clip or retainer for a flat flexible cable, and in particular to a retainer that can be positioned at a desired location along the cable and having an undulated surface for frictional engaging and positively securing the clip or retainer to the cable at a desired location when the retainer has been placed in a locked position. (FIG. 4 clip 30)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the battery pack of modified Kim with the clip of Alloway, with a reasonable expectation securing the cable. This also meets the limitation of claim 31, a band cable connected to an end plate.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Joerg (US 20170237050 A1), as set forth in claim 15, above, and in further view of Choi ‘093 (US 20190379093 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach wherein the upper cover comprises a third channel configured to dissipate heat of the battery pack.
Choi ‘093, in the field of (abstract) a coolant type battery, teaches a battery module having (FIG. 2 and [0028-0029] busbar housing 17 (equivalent to top plate) having a cooling channel 15. Art [0012], excellent cooling performance may be realized compared to indirect cooling. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the module of modified Choi ‘211 by adding the cooling channel of Choi’093, with a reasonable expectation of achieving excellent cooling performance.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Joerg (US 20170237050 A1), as set forth in claim 15, above, and in further view of in view of Zhao (US 2010301048 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach, wherein the upper cover comprises a bracket configured to be fastened to an upper portion of the upper cover. Zhao, in the field of (abstract) battery power modules, discloses FIG. 18 clip brackets 200 secured to the upper portion of the upper cover. At [0041] the line snap-fit 200 (refers to bracket) is detachably disposed on the separator body 11, such that lines or wires may be prevented from shaking, and the structure is stable. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the battery housing of modified Choi ‘211 with the bracket of Zhao, with a reasonable expectation of successfully preventing shaking of the wiring harness.
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Joerg (US 20170237050 A1), as set forth in claim 15, above, and in further view of in view of Lim (US 20130040189 A1).
Regarding claims 33 and 34, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach a polycarbonate film provided at front and rear sides of the plurality of battery modules, wherein the polycarbonate film is configured to protect an outermost battery cell of the plurality of battery modules and to keep an insulation distance.
Lim, in the field of (abstract) battery pack protection, discloses ([0010-0011]) the use of an insulating film member and a support member inside the battery pack housing to protect the battery cells from sharp object punctures. At [0038] the film may be polycarbonate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to install a polycarbonate film as suggested by Lim with a reasonable expectation of successfully protecting battery cells from sharp object punctures. Regarding claim 34, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that placement of the film on a surface of the outermost battery cell could provide protection from sharp objects, and would further understand (based on Kim’s teaching at [0083] that tape can be used to secure objects inside a battery) that this placement could be facilitated with double-sided tape attachable to the outermost battery cell. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use double-sided tape to attach the polycarbonate film to the outermost battery cell, with a reasonable expectation of successfully reducing sharp object punctures.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘211 (US 20180097211 A1) in view of Kim (US 20210057692 A1) and Joerg (US 20170237050 A1), as set forth in claim 15, above, and in further view of Elliot (US 20160149276 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Choi ‘211 in view of Kim and Joerg teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Choi ‘211 does not explicitly teach wherein the lower plate comprises a first ethylene propylene member in a portion that is in contact with the plurality of battery modules; the upper plate comprises a second ethylene propylene member in a portion that is in contact with the plurality of battery modules; and the upper cover comprises a third ethylene propylene member in a third channel and in a portion that is in contact with the plurality of battery modules and a temperature sensor.
Elliot, in the field of (abstract) heat exchangers for [0013] optimized cooling of electrochemical cells, discloses at [0028] “the heat exchanger of the battery module comprises at least one plate made of elastic material arranged between the electrochemical cells positioned between two heat exchange portions; each plate made of elastic material is attached the face of a cell opposite the face in contact with the heat exchange portion”; [0030] “according to an execution variant, the plate made of elastic material is produced in a plastic material such as an electrical insulator that can be EPDM (ethylene-propylene-diene-monomer);” A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to add heat exchangers comprising ethylene propylene on either end of the battery stack of modified Choi ‘211, with a reasonable expectation of having optimized cooling. With regards to a portion in contact with a temperature sensor, a person of ordinary skill would understand the importance of monitoring temperature in a component of an optimized cooling system, therefore rendering obvious the placement of a thermocouple in the ethylene propylene heat exchanger.
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 3/30/2026