Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the instant application uses the terminology “the one or more transition elements” when defining Y but there are two points where transition elements are invoked, once regarding the transition element dopants of Co, Ni, Mn, and Fe and another time regarding the transition elements of D. For the purposes of examination, “the one or more transition elements” is referring to the dopants of Co, Ni, Mn, or Fe present in the electrolyte. Further, the claim requires one or more transition metal elements selected from the group consisting of Co, Ni, Mn, and Fe. The claim then says the solid electrolyte having a chemical composition represented by ABDO (I); however, none of the variables ABDO encompass the transition metal elements. Thus, the claim is not clear. “Represented by” does not appear to be open to additional elements. For the purposes of examination, it is being interpreted that there are at least trace amounts of the one or more transition metal elements in addition to ABDO.
Claims 2-16 depend upon claim 1 and are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 11, the instant application uses the terminology “the one or more transition elements” but it is unclear which set of transition metals it is referring to in the same manner as described regarding claim 1 above. For the purposes of examination, “the one or more transition elements” is referring to the dopants of Co, Ni, Mn, or Fe present in the electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (US 10854930 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamoto teaches a composition of a solid-state electrolyte for a lithium battery that can be LiuRevMwAxOy (Sakamoto, Column 7, lines 21-40) this meets the limitation of the claim of the instant application as Li and O are present, Re can be La, M can be a combination of the listed metals, such as Zr, Ta, and Bi, and the dopant A can be Co, the combination of Li, La, Zr, and O is known in the art to be abbreviated as LLZO which Sakamoto describes as a garnet structure (Column 2, lines 34-35). As the ranges of Sakamoto are given, it would be reasonable to result in a composition including Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 as all of the elements and values are within the ranges allowed by Sakamoto and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. This composition is also present in claim 12 and therefore meets all the limitations of claim 1 as claim 12 is dependent upon claim 1 and necessarily limits it.
Regarding claim 2, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and the composition of Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 meets the limitation of claim 2 as all of the values are within the range claimed by the instant application and allowed by Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 3, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 meets the limitation of claim 3 as bismuth is present.
Regarding claim 4, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 3 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 has a Bi mol content of 15% when D is regarded as 100 mol% which is a value under 50%.
Regarding claim 5, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 4 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 has a Bi mol content of 15% when D is regarded as 100 mol% which is a value within the range of 0-35 mol%.
Regarding claim 6, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 4 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 has a Bi mol content of 15% when D is regarded as 100 mol% which is a value within the range of 0.5-20 mol%.
Regarding claim 7, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 4 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 has a Bi mol content of 15% when D is regarded as 100 mol% which is a value within the range of 2.5-17.5 mol%.
Regarding claim 8, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 4 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 has a Bi mol content of 15% when D is regarded as 100 mol% which is a value within the range of 10-17.5 mol%.
Regarding claim 9, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 satisfies the relational expression (1) as Y = 5 mol% which is within the range of .01-6.0 mol% and X = 149.5 mol% which is within the range of 147.5-150 mol% when the content of D is regarded as 100 mol%.
Regarding claim 10, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 satisfies the relational expression (1) as Y = 5 mol% which is within the range of .01-6.0 mol% and X = 149.5 mol% which is within the range of 147.5-150 mol% when the content of D is regarded as 100 mol%.
Regarding claim 11, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 satisfies the limitation as it contains Co.
Regarding claim 12, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and further teaches the composition Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 which is listed as one of the potential compositions of a solid electrolyte ceramic.
Regarding claim 13, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state electrolyte of claim 1 as described above and further teaches the composition can be used in a lithium-ion battery (Page 7, line 21).
Regarding claim 14, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state battery of claim 13 as described above and further teaches that there is a positive electrode and a negative electrode with the solid electrolyte between them and it is a lithium-ion battery (fig. 1, column 6, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 15, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state battery of claim 14 as described above and further teaches that the constituents of the electrochemical device are sintered and can be connected together (column 10, lines 4-30).
Regarding claim 16, Sakamoto teaches the solid-state battery of claim 13 as described above and further teaches Li6.3La2.99Zr1.3Ta0.4Bi0.3O12Co0.1 as a suitable material as part of a solid-state electrolyte which is further part of the lithium-ion battery (column 7, lines 21-40).
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743