The amendment filed 7/22/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1-30 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 13-15, 21-22 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210203468 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260190023 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Yi and Cheng.
In regard to Claim 1, Yi teaches A method for wireless communications at user equipment (UE) (a wireless device, Para. 503, FIG. 38), comprising: receiving first control signaling indicating a plurality of bandwidth parts for the UE (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches receiving, from a network entity (the base station, Para. 503, FIG. 38), second control signaling (The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI, Para. 509, FIG. 38) indicating one or more first configuration parameters for a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity or one or more second configuration parameters for a discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity (The wireless device transitions the one or more SCells from the dormant state to the active state during the DRX active time based on receiving a DCI indicating an uplink or a downlink grant (e.g., Scheduling DCI in FIG. 29), Para. 454, FIG. 29, 38. FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches switching an active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) for communication between the network entity and the UE from a first bandwidth part (the first downlink BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38) to a second bandwidth part (The second downlink BWP is a PS-active BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi fails to teach, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity.
Cheng teaches, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters (configuration information for the NES cell is transmitted by an anchor cell, Para. 6. The processor, further configured to receive a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell, Para. 83) indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (the gNB 120A may control multiple cells each operating on a different carrier, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1), and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Yi since Cheng provides a technique for a base station to send information related to a DRX/DTX configuration of a network energy saving cell to UE, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi to permit a base station to configure DRX states and DTX states in wireless bandwidth resources for efficient network energy savings.
In regard to Claim 2, Yi teaches receiving, with the first control signaling, an indication of a default bandwidth part (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38), wherein the second bandwidth part is the default bandwidth part (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38).
In regard to Claim 3, Yi teaches receiving, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling (a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38), an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with at least one of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle (one or more third RRC messages comprising a second configuration parameter of a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP for transitioning from the dormant state to the non-dormant state, Para. 505, FIG. 38). [the examiner notes that the one or more third RRC messages of Yi may act as a type of command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state)].
In regard to Claim 13, Yi teaches A method for wireless communications at a network entity (the base station, Para. 503, FIG. 38), comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (a wireless device, Para. 503, FIG. 38), first control signaling indicating a plurality of bandwidth parts for the UE (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches transmitting, to the UE (a wireless device, Para. 503, FIG. 38), second control signaling (The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI, Para. 509, FIG. 38) indicating one or more first configuration parameters of a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity or one or more second configuration parameters of a discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity (The wireless device transitions the one or more SCells from the dormant state to the active state during the DRX active time based on receiving a DCI indicating an uplink or a downlink grant (e.g., Scheduling DCI in FIG. 29), Para. 454, FIG. 29, 38. FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches switching an active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) for communication between the network entity and the UE from a first bandwidth part (the first downlink BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38) to a second bandwidth part (The second downlink BWP is a PS-active BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi fails to teach, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity.
Cheng teaches, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters (configuration information for the NES cell is transmitted by an anchor cell, Para. 6. The processor, further configured to receive a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell, Para. 83) indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (the gNB 120A may control multiple cells each operating on a different carrier, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1), and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Yi since Cheng provides a technique for a base station to send information related to a DRX/DTX configuration of a network energy saving cell to UE, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi to permit a base station to configure DRX states and DTX states in wireless bandwidth resources for efficient network energy savings.
In regard to Claim 14, Yi teaches transmitting, with the first control signaling, an indication of a default bandwidth part (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38), wherein the second bandwidth part is the default bandwidth part (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38).
In regard to Claim 15, Yi teaches transmitting, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling (a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38), an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with at least one of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle (one or more third RRC messages comprising a second configuration parameter of a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP for transitioning from the dormant state to the non-dormant state, Para. 505, FIG. 38). [the examiner notes that the one or more third RRC messages of Yi may act as a type of command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state)].
In regard to Claim 21, Yi teaches An apparatus for wireless communications at user equipment (UE) (a wireless device, Para. 503, FIG. 38), comprising: at least one processor (processor 314, Para. 228, FIG. 3); memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor (program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314, Para. 228, FIG. 3) to cause the apparatus to: receive first control signaling indicating a plurality of bandwidth parts for the UE (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches receive, from a network entity (the base station, Para. 503, FIG. 38), second control signaling (The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI, Para. 509, FIG. 38) indicating one or more first configuration parameters of a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity or one or more second configuration parameters of a discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity (The wireless device transitions the one or more SCells from the dormant state to the active state during the DRX active time based on receiving a DCI indicating an uplink or a downlink grant (e.g., Scheduling DCI in FIG. 29), Para. 454, FIG. 29, 38. FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches switch an active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) for communication between the network entity and the UE from a first bandwidth part (the first downlink BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38) to a second bandwidth part (The second downlink BWP is a PS-active BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi fails to teach, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity.
Cheng teaches, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters (configuration information for the NES cell is transmitted by an anchor cell, Para. 6. The processor, further configured to receive a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell, Para. 83) indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (the gNB 120A may control multiple cells each operating on a different carrier, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1), and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Yi since Cheng provides a technique for a base station to send information related to a DRX/DTX configuration of a network energy saving cell to UE, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi to permit a base station to configure DRX states and DTX states in wireless bandwidth resources for efficient network energy savings.
In regard to Claim 22, Yi teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, with the first control signaling, an indication of a default bandwidth part (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38), wherein the second bandwidth part is the default bandwidth part (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38).
In regard to Claim 23, Yi teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling (a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38), an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with at least one of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle (one or more third RRC messages comprising a second configuration parameter of a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP for transitioning from the dormant state to the non-dormant state, Para. 505, FIG. 38). [the examiner notes that the one or more third RRC messages of Yi may act as a type of command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state)].
In regard to Claim 30, Yi teaches An apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (the base station, Para. 503, FIG. 38), comprising: at least one processor (processor 321A, Para. 215, FIG. 3); memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor (program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A, Para. 215, FIG. 3) to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (a wireless device, Para. 503, FIG. 38), first control signaling indicating a plurality of bandwidth parts for the UE (one or more first RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of a plurality of BWP indices, wherein each BWP index of the plurality of BWP indicis corresponds to a downlink BWP of a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches transmit, to the UE (a wireless device, Para. 503, FIG. 38), second control signaling (The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI, Para. 509, FIG. 38) indicating one or more first configuration parameters of a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity or one or more second configuration parameters of a discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity (The wireless device transitions the one or more SCells from the dormant state to the active state during the DRX active time based on receiving a DCI indicating an uplink or a downlink grant (e.g., Scheduling DCI in FIG. 29), Para. 454, FIG. 29, 38. FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi teaches switch an active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) for communication between the network entity and the UE from a first bandwidth part (the first downlink BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a plurality of downlink BWPs, Para. 503, FIG. 38) to a second bandwidth part (The second downlink BWP is a PS-active BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) of the plurality of bandwidth parts (a second BWP index, from the plurality of BWP indices, indicating the second downlink BWP, Para. 505, FIG. 38) based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (in response to a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38. The wireless device may receive a second command via a DCI indicating transitioning from a dormant state to a normal state of the secondary cell, Para. 509, FIG. 38).
Yi fails to teach, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity.
Cheng teaches, wherein the one or more first configuration parameters (configuration information for the NES cell is transmitted by an anchor cell, Para. 6. The processor, further configured to receive a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell, Para. 83) indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (the gNB 120A may control multiple cells each operating on a different carrier, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1), and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of active durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1) and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle (a discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration of the selected NES cell comprising a DRX/DTX cycle having a plurality of inactive durations, Para. 83, FIG. 5) of the network entity (gNB 120A, Para. 24, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Yi since Cheng provides a technique for a base station to send information related to a DRX/DTX configuration of a network energy saving cell to UE, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi to permit a base station to configure DRX states and DTX states in wireless bandwidth resources for efficient network energy savings.
Claim(s) 4-5, 16-17 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Cheng, and further in view of Wang (Pub. No.: US 20250261275 A1), hereafter referred to as Wang.
In regard to Claim 4, Yi teaches switching the active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach receiving third control signaling indicating a triggering condition for switching the active bandwidth part, wherein switching the active bandwidth part is based at least in part on the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle satisfying the triggering condition.
Wang teaches receiving third control signaling indicating a triggering condition for switching the active bandwidth part, wherein switching the active bandwidth part is based at least in part on the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle satisfying the triggering condition (The terminal or the network device may work on several frequency ranges, Para. 34. In FIG. 3A, the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, Para. 54, FIG. 3A. The configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, Para. 55, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Wang provides a technique for messaging that configures parameters for DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit a base station to configure DRX states of terminals in relation to switching to a PS-active BWP.
In regard to Claim 5, Yi teaches the discontinuous reception cycle (a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the triggering condition comprises at least one of a first duration between active periods of the discontinuous transmission cycle or a second duration between active periods of the discontinuous reception cycle.
Wang teaches the triggering condition comprises at least one of a first duration between active periods of the discontinuous transmission cycle or a second duration between active periods of the discontinuous reception cycle (The terminal or the network device may work on several frequency ranges, Para. 34. In FIG. 3A, the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, Para. 54, FIG. 3A. The configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle, Para. 55, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Wang provides a technique for messaging that configures parameters for DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit a base station to configure DRX states of terminals in relation to switching to a PS-active BWP.
In regard to Claim 16, Yi teaches switching the active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach transmitting, to the UE, third control signaling indicating a triggering condition for switching the active bandwidth part, wherein switching the active bandwidth part is based at least in part on the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle satisfying the triggering condition.
Wang teaches transmitting, to the UE, third control signaling indicating a triggering condition for switching the active bandwidth part, wherein switching the active bandwidth part is based at least in part on the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle satisfying the triggering condition (The terminal or the network device may work on several frequency ranges, Para. 34. In FIG. 3A, the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, Para. 54, FIG. 3A. The configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, Para. 55, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Wang provides a technique for messaging that configures parameters for DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit a base station to configure DRX states of terminals in relation to switching to a PS-active BWP.
In regard to Claim 17, Yi teaches the discontinuous reception cycle (a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the triggering condition comprises at least one of a first duration between active periods of the discontinuous transmission cycle or a second duration between active periods of the discontinuous reception cycle.
Wang teaches the triggering condition comprises at least one of a first duration between active periods of the discontinuous transmission cycle or a second duration between active periods of the discontinuous reception cycle (The terminal or the network device may work on several frequency ranges, Para. 34. In FIG. 3A, the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, Para. 54, FIG. 3A. The configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle, Para. 55, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Wang provides a technique for messaging that configures parameters for DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit a base station to configure DRX states of terminals in relation to switching to a PS-active BWP.
In regard to Claim 24, Yi teaches switching the active bandwidth part (FIG. 38 illustrates a diagram of switching to a PS-active BWP, Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive third control signaling indicating a triggering condition for switching the active bandwidth part, wherein switching the active bandwidth part is based at least in part on the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle satisfying the triggering condition.
Wang teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive third control signaling indicating a triggering condition for switching the active bandwidth part, wherein switching the active bandwidth part is based at least in part on the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle satisfying the triggering condition (The terminal or the network device may work on several frequency ranges, Para. 34. In FIG. 3A, the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, Para. 54, FIG. 3A. The configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, Para. 55, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Wang provides a technique for messaging that configures parameters for DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit a base station to configure DRX states of terminals in relation to switching to a PS-active BWP.
In regard to Claim 25, Yi teaches the discontinuous reception cycle (a command indicating transition from a first power state (e.g., DRX off state) to a second power state (e.g., DRX active state), Para. 503, FIG. 38).
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the triggering condition comprises at least one of a first duration between active periods of the discontinuous transmission cycle or a second duration between active periods of the discontinuous reception cycle.
Wang teaches the triggering condition comprises at least one of a first duration between active periods of the discontinuous transmission cycle or a second duration between active periods of the discontinuous reception cycle (The terminal or the network device may work on several frequency ranges, Para. 34. In FIG. 3A, the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, Para. 54, FIG. 3A. The configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle, Para. 55, FIG. 3A. The terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration, Para. 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Wang provides a technique for messaging that configures parameters for DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit a base station to configure DRX states of terminals in relation to switching to a PS-active BWP.
Claim(s) 6-7, 18-19 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Cheng, and further in view of Murray (Pub. No.: US 20220191793 A1), hereafter referred to as Murray.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the active bandwidth part.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach switching the active bandwidth part from the second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling, wherein switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle comprises switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling.
Murray teaches switching the active bandwidth part from the second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling, wherein switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle comprises switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (a BWP may be configured per DRX state, thereby allowing a suitable BWP to be activated implicitly when the UE transitions to a different DRX state, Para. 207, FIG. 7. The DRX cycle may be defined to include a plurality of DRX states and a BWP may be associated with each DRX state. In one example, 3 DRX states are defined where State 1 corresponds to the time when the UE monitors the WUS; State 2 corresponds to the Active Time during the on duration and State 3 corresponds to the Active Time after the on duration. BWP1, BWP2 and BWP3 are associated with DRX State 1, DRX State 2 and DRX State 3 respectively, Para. 337, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Murray with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Murray provides a technique for configuring respective bandwidth parts in relation to different times of DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit appropriate changes of utilized bandwidth parts based on the different times of DRX cycles are being entered by a device.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the first control signaling.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach receiving, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with the discontinuous transmission cycle and that a third bandwidth part of the plurality of bandwidth parts is associated with the discontinuous reception cycle; monitoring for downlink signaling from the network entity in the second bandwidth part during the discontinuous transmission cycle; and transmitting uplink signaling to the network entity in the third bandwidth part during the discontinuous reception cycle.
Murray teaches receiving, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with the discontinuous transmission cycle and that a third bandwidth part of the plurality of bandwidth parts is associated with the discontinuous reception cycle; monitoring for downlink signaling from the network entity in the second bandwidth part during the discontinuous transmission cycle; and transmitting uplink signaling to the network entity in the third bandwidth part during the discontinuous reception cycle (the CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion is shown to be in the active BWP, Para. 205, FIG. 5. FIG. 7 shows an example where the time that corresponds to the WUS monitoring occasion may be defined as the first DRX state; the time that corresponds to the on-duration is defined as the second DRX state; and the time that corresponds to the portion of the active-time following the on-duration; i.e. where the drx-onDurationTimer has expired, is defined as the third DRX state, Para. 207, FIG. 7. 3 DRX states are defined where State 1 corresponds to the time when the UE monitors the WUS; State 2 corresponds to the Active Time during the on duration and State 3 corresponds to the Active Time after the on duration. BWP1, BWP2 and BWP3 are associated with DRX State 1, DRX State 2 and DRX State 3 respectively, Para. 337, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Murray with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Murray provides a technique for configuring respective bandwidth parts in relation to different times of DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit appropriate changes of utilized bandwidth parts based on the different times of DRX cycles are being entered by a device.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the active bandwidth part.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach switching the active bandwidth part from the second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling, wherein switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle comprises switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling.
Murray teaches switching the active bandwidth part from the second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling, wherein switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle comprises switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (a BWP may be configured per DRX state, thereby allowing a suitable BWP to be activated implicitly when the UE transitions to a different DRX state, Para. 207, FIG. 7. The DRX cycle may be defined to include a plurality of DRX states and a BWP may be associated with each DRX state. In one example, 3 DRX states are defined where State 1 corresponds to the time when the UE monitors the WUS; State 2 corresponds to the Active Time during the on duration and State 3 corresponds to the Active Time after the on duration. BWP1, BWP2 and BWP3 are associated with DRX State 1, DRX State 2 and DRX State 3 respectively, Para. 337, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Murray with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Murray provides a technique for configuring respective bandwidth parts in relation to different times of DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit appropriate changes of utilized bandwidth parts based on the different times of DRX cycles are being entered by a device.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the first control signaling.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach transmitting, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with the discontinuous transmission cycle and that a third bandwidth part of the plurality of bandwidth parts is associated with the discontinuous reception cycle; transmitting downlink signaling to the UE in the second bandwidth part during the discontinuous transmission cycle; and receiving uplink signaling from the UE in the third bandwidth part during the discontinuous reception cycle.
Murray teaches transmitting, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with the discontinuous transmission cycle and that a third bandwidth part of the plurality of bandwidth parts is associated with the discontinuous reception cycle; transmitting downlink signaling to the UE in the second bandwidth part during the discontinuous transmission cycle; and receiving uplink signaling from the UE in the third bandwidth part during the discontinuous reception cycle (the CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion is shown to be in the active BWP, Para. 205, FIG. 5. FIG. 7 shows an example where the time that corresponds to the WUS monitoring occasion may be defined as the first DRX state; the time that corresponds to the on-duration is defined as the second DRX state; and the time that corresponds to the portion of the active-time following the on-duration; i.e. where the drx-onDurationTimer has expired, is defined as the third DRX state, Para. 207, FIG. 7. 3 DRX states are defined where State 1 corresponds to the time when the UE monitors the WUS; State 2 corresponds to the Active Time during the on duration and State 3 corresponds to the Active Time after the on duration. BWP1, BWP2 and BWP3 are associated with DRX State 1, DRX State 2 and DRX State 3 respectively, Para. 337, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Murray with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Murray provides a technique for configuring respective bandwidth parts in relation to different times of DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit appropriate changes of utilized bandwidth parts based on the different times of DRX cycles are being entered by a device.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the active bandwidth part.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: switch the active bandwidth part from the second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling, wherein switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle comprises switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling.
Murray teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: switch the active bandwidth part from the second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling, wherein switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle comprises switching the active bandwidth part from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part based at least in part on the network entity entering an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle in accordance with the second control signaling (a BWP may be configured per DRX state, thereby allowing a suitable BWP to be activated implicitly when the UE transitions to a different DRX state, Para. 207, FIG. 7. The DRX cycle may be defined to include a plurality of DRX states and a BWP may be associated with each DRX state. In one example, 3 DRX states are defined where State 1 corresponds to the time when the UE monitors the WUS; State 2 corresponds to the Active Time during the on duration and State 3 corresponds to the Active Time after the on duration. BWP1, BWP2 and BWP3 are associated with DRX State 1, DRX State 2 and DRX State 3 respectively, Para. 337, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Murray with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Murray provides a technique for configuring respective bandwidth parts in relation to different times of DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit appropriate changes of utilized bandwidth parts based on the different times of DRX cycles are being entered by a device.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the first control signaling.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with the discontinuous transmission cycle and that a third bandwidth part of the plurality of bandwidth parts is associated with the discontinuous reception cycle; monitor for downlink signaling from the network entity in the second bandwidth part during the discontinuous transmission cycle; and transmit uplink signaling to the network entity in the third bandwidth part during the discontinuous reception cycle.
Murray teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, with the first control signaling or the second control signaling, an indication that the second bandwidth part is associated with the discontinuous transmission cycle and that a third bandwidth part of the plurality of bandwidth parts is associated with the discontinuous reception cycle; monitor for downlink signaling from the network entity in the second bandwidth part during the discontinuous transmission cycle; and transmit uplink signaling to the network entity in the third bandwidth part during the discontinuous reception cycle (the CORESET for the WUS monitoring occasion is shown to be in the active BWP, Para. 205, FIG. 5. FIG. 7 shows an example where the time that corresponds to the WUS monitoring occasion may be defined as the first DRX state; the time that corresponds to the on-duration is defined as the second DRX state; and the time that corresponds to the portion of the active-time following the on-duration; i.e. where the drx-onDurationTimer has expired, is defined as the third DRX state, Para. 207, FIG. 7. 3 DRX states are defined where State 1 corresponds to the time when the UE monitors the WUS; State 2 corresponds to the Active Time during the on duration and State 3 corresponds to the Active Time after the on duration. BWP1, BWP2 and BWP3 are associated with DRX State 1, DRX State 2 and DRX State 3 respectively, Para. 337, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Murray with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Murray provides a technique for configuring respective bandwidth parts in relation to different times of DRX cycles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit appropriate changes of utilized bandwidth parts based on the different times of DRX cycles are being entered by a device.
Claim(s) 8-12, 20 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Cheng, and further in view of Lai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250008431 A1), hereafter referred to as Lai.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the active bandwidth part.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach switching the active bandwidth part further comprises: switching the active bandwidth part based at least in part on an inactivity timer satisfying a threshold.
Lai teaches switching the active bandwidth part further comprises: switching the active bandwidth part based at least in part on an inactivity timer satisfying a threshold ((DRX) active time: the total duration that the UE monitors PDCCH. This includes the “on-duration” of the DRX cycle, the time UE is performing continuous reception while the inactivity timer has not expired, Para. 76, FIG. 1. The UE may monitor a PDCCH on an active BWP. The UE may use a BWP inactivity timer to switch the active BWP to the default one. The BWP inactivity timer may be restarted upon a successful PDCCH decoding, and the UE may switch to the default BWP when the BWP inactivity timer expires, Para. 77, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the discontinuous reception cycle.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach running the inactivity timer during an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle; and pausing the inactivity timer during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle.
Lai teaches running the inactivity timer during an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle; and pausing the inactivity timer during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle ((DRX) active time: the total duration that the UE monitors PDCCH. This includes the “on-duration” of the DRX cycle, the time UE is performing continuous reception while the inactivity timer has not expired, Para. 76, FIG. 1. The UE may monitor a PDCCH on an active BWP. The UE may use a BWP inactivity timer to switch the active BWP to the default one. The BWP inactivity timer may be restarted upon a successful PDCCH decoding, and the UE may switch to the default BWP when the BWP inactivity timer expires, Para. 77, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the method.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach pausing the inactivity timer comprises: pausing the inactivity timer during the inactive period based at least in part on the inactive period satisfying a threshold duration.
Lai teaches pausing the inactivity timer comprises: pausing the inactivity timer during the inactive period based at least in part on the inactive period satisfying a threshold duration (The UE may use a BWP inactivity timer to switch the active BWP to the default one. The BWP inactivity timer may be restarted upon a successful PDCCH decoding, Para. 77, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the discontinuous reception cycle.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach starting the inactivity timer a period of time after the network entity enters the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle.
Lai teaches starting the inactivity timer a period of time after the network entity enters the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle ((DRX) active time: the total duration that the UE monitors PDCCH. This includes the “on-duration” of the DRX cycle, the time UE is performing continuous reception while the inactivity timer has not expired, Para. 76, FIG. 1. The UE may monitor a PDCCH on an active BWP. The UE may use a BWP inactivity timer to switch the active BWP to the default one. The BWP inactivity timer may be restarted upon a successful PDCCH decoding, and the UE may switch to the default BWP when the BWP inactivity timer expires, Para. 77, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the discontinuous reception cycle.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach receiving third control signaling indicating the period of time.
Lai teaches receiving third control signaling indicating the period of time (the UE may be indicated, when configured accordingly, whether it is required to monitor the PDCCH during the next occurrence of the on-duration by a DCP monitored on the active BWP. The UE may only be configured to monitor the DCP when connected mode DRX is configured, and at occasion(s) that have a configured offset before the on-duration. More than one monitoring occasion may be configured before the on-duration, Para. 78, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the discontinuous reception cycle.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach transmitting, to the UE, third control signaling indicating a period of time after the network entity enters the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle for initiation of an inactivity timer at the UE.
Lai teaches transmitting, to the UE, third control signaling indicating a period of time after the network entity enters the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle for initiation of an inactivity timer at the UE ((DRX) active time: the total duration that the UE monitors PDCCH. This includes the “on-duration” of the DRX cycle, the time UE is performing continuous reception while the inactivity timer has not expired, Para. 76, FIG. 1. The UE may be indicated, when configured accordingly, whether it is required to monitor the PDCCH during the next occurrence of the on-duration by a DCP monitored on the active BWP. The UE may only be configured to monitor the DCP when connected mode DRX is configured, and at occasion(s) that have a configured offset before the on-duration. More than one monitoring occasion may be configured before the on-duration, Para. 78, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the active bandwidth part.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the instructions to switch the active bandwidth part are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: switch the active bandwidth part based at least in part on an inactivity timer satisfying a threshold.
Lai teaches the instructions to switch the active bandwidth part are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: switch the active bandwidth part based at least in part on an inactivity timer satisfying a threshold ((DRX) active time: the total duration that the UE monitors PDCCH. This includes the “on-duration” of the DRX cycle, the time UE is performing continuous reception while the inactivity timer has not expired, Para. 76, FIG. 1. The UE may monitor a PDCCH on an active BWP. The UE may use a BWP inactivity timer to switch the active BWP to the default one. The BWP inactivity timer may be restarted upon a successful PDCCH decoding, and the UE may switch to the default BWP when the BWP inactivity timer expires, Para. 77, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Yi in view of Cheng teaches the discontinuous reception cycle.
Yi in view of Cheng fails to teach the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: run the inactivity timer during an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle; and pause the inactivity timer during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle.
Lai teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: run the inactivity timer during an active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle; and pause the inactivity timer during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle or the discontinuous reception cycle ((DRX) active time: the total duration that the UE monitors PDCCH. This includes the “on-duration” of the DRX cycle, the time UE is performing continuous reception while the inactivity timer has not expired, Para. 76, FIG. 1. The UE may monitor a PDCCH on an active BWP. The UE may use a BWP inactivity timer to switch the active BWP to the default one. The BWP inactivity timer may be restarted upon a successful PDCCH decoding, and the UE may switch to the default BWP when the BWP inactivity timer expires, Para. 77, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Yi in view of Cheng since Lai provides a technique for utilizing a BWP inactivity timer with respect to a DRX cycle for monitoring downlink channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Yi in view of Cheng to permit control utilization of bandwidth parts through an inactivity timer to ensure optimal usage of bandwidth parts by controlling durations of inactivity.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 14 of the Remarks presents the argument that Put another way, the Office Action fails to show that Mitra describes a UE that "receiv[es],from a network entity, second control signaling" that indicates the respective lengths of DTX/DRX active and inactive durations "of the [same] network entity" itself, as claimed. The limitations introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 13, 21 and 30, which are not taught by Yi, are taught by Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260190023 A1). Both Yi and Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260190023 A1) disclose DRX/DTX in general, but the rejection relies on each reference for different particular aspects of the DRX/DTX implementation/execution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260231281 A1) teaches wherein the one or more first configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity (receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX patter, Para. 120, FIG. 10. Identifying 1004, based on the first periodicity, the first offset, and the first active duration length, a first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern during which the first serving cell is in a first non-active state, Para. 121, FIG. 10).
LY et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260247480 A1) teaches wherein the one or more first configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, and wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate respective lengths of an active duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and an inactive duration of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity (At 605, the UE 115-b may receive a first indication that the network entity 105-b is operating in a discontinuous operation mode (e.g., a cell-based DTX mode, a cell-based DRX mode, or both) that includes both an active period and an inactive period that are both within a periodicity, Para. 158, FIG. 6). The examiner notes this reference has the same Applicant as the current Application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
9-8-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477