DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 17, and 18 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soriaga et al., (hereinafter Soriaga), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0020457, in view of Bertrand et al., (hereinafter Bertrand), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0200833, and in further view Kushalnagar et al., (hereinafter Kushalnagar), U.S. Publication No. 2006/0217137.
As per claim 1, Soriaga discloses a method of scheduling wireless communications based on channel estimate aging [fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0049, 0060, a method of scheduling wireless communications based on channel estimate aging (wireless communications channels between UEs 102 and wireless base stations 104, enhance the efficiency of use of available bandwidth in wireless communications channels between one or more UEs 102 and one or more base stations 104)], the method comprising:
generating channel estimates based on signals wirelessly transmitted by user equipments [fig. 10, 14, paragraphs 0004, 0011, 0050, 0051, 0066, 0084, 0085, 0089, 0102, 0105, generating channel estimates based on signals wirelessly transmitted by user equipments (the UE or base station may determine that channel conditions are poor; the base station 104 determines whether the channel conditions between the base station 104 and a UE 102 are poor)];
determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates [paragraphs 0005, 0051, 0066, 0069, 0071, 0089, 0102, 0105, 0118, determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates (maintain the channel at an acceptable quality level; use information (such as a multipath delay profile) from one channel; use the processing gain information to determine a minimum length of SRS necessary, and transmit a request for the minimum length SRS to the UE 102)]; and
scheduling wireless communications with at least some of the user equipments based on the aging metrics [paragraphs 0004, 0050, 0051, 0065, 0066, 0112, scheduling wireless communications with at least some of the user equipments based on the aging metrics (base station 104 may schedule transmissions with multiple UEs 102 to allow them the time needed to complete communications at the minimum PG; each UE may use a sounding reference signal (SRS) to aid in scheduling (e.g., determining which frequency bands are good or bad for data))].
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the aging metrics comprising a first aging metric for a first channel and a second aging metric for a second channel; such that a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first aging metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second aging metric.
However, Bertrand teaches the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel [fig. 11A, 45A, table 2, 4, paragraphs 0008, 0083, 0089, 0092, 0106, 0117, 0126, 0130, 0136, the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel (the UE's channel estimates and derive the relevant scheduling metric; the noise variance estimation performance for both TU and PA channels when varying the number of SRS users at 20 PRB SRS bandwidth)]; such that a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second metric [fig. 11A, 45A, table 2, 4, paragraphs 0008, 0083, 0089, 0092, 0102, 0106, 0117, 0126, 0130, 0136, a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second metric (better channel estimation performance with PA channel compared to TU channel is due to the slower channel variations in frequency domain; timing uncertainty for different channels; better channel estimation performance with PA channel compared to TU channel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by including the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel as taught by Bertrand because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of efficiently providing better channel estimation [Bertrand, paragraph 0089, 0095].
The modified Soriaga does not explicitly disclose determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate.
However, Kushalnagar teaches determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate [fig. 2, claim 7, paragraphs 0009, 0018, 0022, 0025, 0027, 0041, determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate (channel information may be weighted by their age; more recent interference information may be weighted more heavily than less recent interference information in the process of selecting a channel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the modified method described in Soriaga by including w the aging metrics comprising aging metrics for the different channels as taught by Kushalnagar because it would provide the Soriaga's the modified method with the enhanced capability of mitigating interference problem in growing networks [Kushalnagar, paragraph 0002].
As per claim 2, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1,
wherein the signals wirelessly transmitted by the user equipments are sounding reference signals [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0004, 0007, 0050, 0061, 0067, wherein the signals wirelessly transmitted by the user equipments are sounding reference signals (each UE may use a sounding reference signal (SRS); broadcasts a sounding reference signal (SRS))].
As per claim 3, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 2,
wherein a first sounding reference signal of the sounding reference signals is wirelessly transmitted by a first user equipment of the user equipments in a first time slot, and a second sounding reference signal of the sounding reference signals is wirelessly transmitted by a second user equipment of the user equipments in a second time slot, the second time slot following the first time slot [fig. 5, 6, paragraphs 0063, 0067-0070, 0099, wherein a first sounding reference signal of the sounding reference signals is wirelessly transmitted by a first user equipment of the user equipments in a first time slot, and a second sounding reference signal of the sounding reference signals is wirelessly transmitted by a second user equipment of the user equipments in a second time slot, the second time slot following the first time slot (two UEs 102 scheduled to communicate during one SF 500; scheduled to communicate with the first and second UEs 102, the base station 104 allocates a first UL portion of the SF 500 to an SRS from the first UE 102 (e.g., SRS 1) and a second UL portion of the SF 500 to an SRS from the second UE 102 (e.g., SRS 2); communications between UE 102 and base station 104 can be divided in the time domain into subframes (SFs) 300)].
As per claim 4, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the wireless communications are multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) wireless communications [fig. 2, 4, paragraphs 0002, 0049, 0081, wherein the wireless communications are multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) wireless communications (enhance the efficiency of use of available bandwidth in wireless communications channels between UEs 102 and wireless base stations 104, include more antennas (e.g., 16, 32, etc.) in MIMO arrays)].
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless communications are time division duplexing (TDD).
However, Bertrand teaches wherein the wireless communications are time division duplexing (TDD) [fig. 2, paragraphs 0007, 0024, 0072, wherein the wireless communications are time division duplexing (TDD) (wireless telecommunications network, time division duplex (TDD) Frame Structure)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by including wherein the wireless communications are time division duplexing as taught by Bertrand because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of efficiently providing evaluation of the performance [Bertrand, paragraph 0008, 0083].
As per claim 5, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1,
wherein an aging metric of the aging metrics is solely based on a time delay associated with a respective channel estimate [paragraphs 0005, 0050, wherein an aging metric of the aging metrics is solely based on a time delay associated with a respective channel estimate (use information (such as a multipath delay profile) from one channel)].
As per claim 6, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1,
wherein an aging metric of the aging metrics is based on a mobility of a channel associated with a respective channel estimate and a time delay associated with the respective channel estimate [paragraphs 0064, 0112, wherein an aging metric of the aging metrics is based on a mobility of a channel associated with a respective channel estimate and a time delay associated with the respective channel estimate (the base station 104 may retrain the beams to accommodate for UE 102 motion and channel decorrelation related to that movement; base station 104 can retrain its antennas as the channel changes over time)].
As per claim 7, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1,
wherein an aging metric of the aging metrics is based on a prediction of quality of a channel associated with a respective channel estimate and a time delay associated with the respective channel estimate [Abstract, paragraphs 0005, 0050, 0064, 0065, 0070, 0072, 0086, 0112, wherein an aging metric of the aging metrics is based on a prediction of quality of a channel associated with a respective channel estimate and a time delay associated with the respective channel estimate (determine a period during which the downlink channel will predictably remain coherent; scheduling information that allows the base station 104 to schedule future SFs 300)].
As per claim 16, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising
performing modulation and coding scheme selection for a group of antenna ports of the user equipments scheduled for a time slot based on at least some of the aging metrics [fig. 16, 17, paragraphs 0049, 0065, 0067, 0113, 0114, 0119, 0120, performing modulation and coding scheme selection for a group of antenna ports of the user equipments scheduled for a time slot based on at least some of the aging metrics (RF unit 1614 may provide the modulated and/or processed data, to the antenna 1616 for transmission to one or more other devices, using a modulation and coding scheme (MCS))].
As per claim 17, Soriaga discloses non-transitory, computer-readable storage comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a baseband unit, cause a method to be performed [fig. 17, paragraphs 0117, 0123, non-transitory, computer-readable storage comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a baseband unit, cause a method to be performed (memory 1704 may store instructions 1706, instructions that, when executed by the processor 1702, cause the processor 1702 to perform operations; memory 1704 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium)], the method comprising:
generating channel estimates based on signals wirelessly transmitted by user equipments [fig. 10, 14, paragraphs 0004, 0011, 0050, 0051, 0066, 0084, 0085, 0089, 0102, 0105, generating channel estimates based on signals wirelessly transmitted by user equipments (the UE or base station may determine that channel conditions are poor; the base station 104 determines whether the channel conditions between the base station 104 and a UE 102 are poor)];
determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates [paragraphs 0005, 0051, 0066, 0069, 0071, 0089, 0102, 0105, 0118, determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates (maintain the channel at an acceptable quality level; use information (such as a multipath delay profile) from one channel; use the processing gain information to determine a minimum length of SRS necessary, and transmit a request for the minimum length SRS to the UE 102)]; and
scheduling wireless communications with at least some of the user equipments based on the aging metrics [paragraphs 0004, 0050, 0051, 0065, 0066, 0112, scheduling wireless communications with at least some of the user equipments based on the aging metrics (base station 104 may schedule transmissions with multiple UEs 102 to allow them the time needed to complete communications at the minimum PG; each UE may use a sounding reference signal (SRS) to aid in scheduling (e.g., determining which frequency bands are good or bad for data))].
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the aging metrics comprising a first aging metric for a first channel and a second aging metric for a second channel; such that a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first aging metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second aging metric.
However, Bertrand teaches the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel [fig. 11A, 45A, table 2, 4, paragraphs 0008, 0083, 0089, 0092, 0106, 0117, 0126, 0130, 0136, the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel (the UE's channel estimates and derive the relevant scheduling metric; the noise variance estimation performance for both TU and PA channels when varying the number of SRS users at 20 PRB SRS bandwidth)]; such that a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second metric [fig. 11A, 45A, table 2, 4, paragraphs 0008, 0083, 0089, 0092, 0102, 0106, 0117, 0126, 0130, 0136, a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second metric (better channel estimation performance with PA channel compared to TU channel is due to the slower channel variations in frequency domain; timing uncertainty for different channels; better channel estimation performance with PA channel compared to TU channel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by including the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel as taught by Bertrand because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of efficiently providing better channel estimation [Bertrand, paragraph 0089, 0095].
The modified Soriaga does not explicitly disclose determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate.
However, Kushalnagar teaches determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate [fig. 2, claim 7, paragraphs 0009, 0018, 0022, 0025, 0027, 0041, determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate (channel information may be weighted by their age; more recent interference information may be weighted more heavily than less recent interference information in the process of selecting a channel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the modified method described in Soriaga by including w the aging metrics comprising aging metrics for the different channels as taught by Kushalnagar because it would provide the Soriaga's the modified method with the enhanced capability of mitigating interference problem in growing networks [Kushalnagar, paragraph 0002].
As per claim 18, Soriaga discloses a system for wireless communications [fig. 1, paragraphs 0011, 0049, 0060, a system for wireless communications (wireless communications channels between UEs 102 and wireless base stations 104, enhance the efficiency of use of available bandwidth in wireless communications channels between one or more UEs 102 and one or more base stations 104)], the system comprising:
a baseband unit comprising at least one processor and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the baseband unit to perform operations [fig. 17, paragraphs 0117, 0123, a baseband unit comprising at least one processor and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the baseband unit to perform operations (memory 1704 may store instructions 1706, instructions that, when executed by the processor 1702, cause the processor 1702 to perform operations; memory 1704 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium)], the operations comprising:
generating channel estimates based on signals received from user equipments [fig. 10, 14, paragraphs 0004, 0011, 0050, 0051, 0066, 0084, 0085, 0089, 0102, 0105, generating channel estimates based on signals received from user equipments (the UE or base station may determine that channel conditions are poor; the base station 104 determines whether the channel conditions between the base station 104 and a UE 102 are poor)];
determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates [paragraphs 0005, 0051, 0066, 0069, 0071, 0089, 0102, 0105, 0118, determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates (maintain the channel at an acceptable quality level; use information (such as a multipath delay profile) from one channel; use the processing gain information to determine a minimum length of SRS necessary, and transmit a request for the minimum length SRS to the UE 102)]; and
scheduling wireless communications with at least some of the user equipments based on the aging metrics [paragraphs 0004, 0050, 0051, 0065, 0066, 0112, scheduling wireless communications with at least some of the user equipments based on the aging metrics (base station 104 may schedule transmissions with multiple UEs 102 to allow them the time needed to complete communications at the minimum PG; each UE may use a sounding reference signal (SRS) to aid in scheduling (e.g., determining which frequency bands are good or bad for data))].
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the aging metrics comprising a first aging metric for a first channel and a second aging metric for a second channel; such that a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first aging metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second aging metric.
However, Bertrand teaches the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel [fig. 11A, 45A, table 2, 4, paragraphs 0008, 0083, 0089, 0092, 0106, 0117, 0126, 0130, 0136, the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel (the UE's channel estimates and derive the relevant scheduling metric; the noise variance estimation performance for both TU and PA channels when varying the number of SRS users at 20 PRB SRS bandwidth)]; such that a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second metric [fig. 11A, 45A, table 2, 4, paragraphs 0008, 0083, 0089, 0092, 0102, 0106, 0117, 0126, 0130, 0136, a first wireless data transmission over the first channel is prioritized over a second wireless data transmission over the second channel when the first metric indicates lower channel uncertainty than the second metric (better channel estimation performance with PA channel compared to TU channel is due to the slower channel variations in frequency domain; timing uncertainty for different channels; better channel estimation performance with PA channel compared to TU channel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Soriaga by including the metrics comprising a first metric for a first channel and a second metric for a second channel as taught by Bertrand because it would provide the Soriaga's system with the enhanced capability of efficiently providing better channel estimation [Bertrand, paragraph 0089, 0095].
The modified Soriaga does not explicitly disclose determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate.
However, Kushalnagar teaches determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate [fig. 2, claim 7, paragraphs 0009, 0018, 0022, 0025, 0027, 0041, determining aging metrics associated with the channel estimates based on ages of the channel estimates, and wherein aging metric is associated with a more recent channel estimate (channel information may be weighted by their age; more recent interference information may be weighted more heavily than less recent interference information in the process of selecting a channel)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the modified system described in Soriaga by including w the aging metrics comprising aging metrics for the different channels as taught by Kushalnagar because it would provide the Soriaga's the modified system with the enhanced capability of mitigating interference problem in growing networks [Kushalnagar, paragraph 0002].
As per claim 19, Soriaga discloses the system of Claim 18, further comprising
one or more radio units in communication with the baseband unit, the one or more radio units configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least some of the user equipments via the wireless communications [fig. 1, 2, 17, paragraphs 0013, 0052, 0115, 0119, 0120, one or more radio units in communication with the baseband unit, the one or more radio units configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least some of the user equipments via the wireless communications (base station 104 may include a processor 1702, a memory 1704, a beamforming module 1708, a transceiver 1710; transceiver 1710 can be configured to communicate bi-directionally with other devices, such as UE 102)].
As per claim 20, Soriaga discloses the system of Claim 19,
wherein the one or more radio units comprise distributed remote radio units [fig. 1, 2, 17, paragraphs 0013, 0052, 0115, 0119, 0120, 0123, wherein the one or more radio units comprise distributed remote radio units (base station 104 may include a processor 1702, a memory 1704, a beamforming module 1708, a transceiver 1710; transceiver 1710 can be configured to communicate bi-directionally with other devices, such as UE 102; functions may also be physically located at various positions, including being distributed such that portions of functions are implemented at different physical locations)].
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soriaga, in view of Bertrand, in view of Kushalnagar, and in further view Xue et al., (hereinafter Xue), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0070921
As per claim 12, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1,
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the scheduling comprises using at least some of the aging metrics in determining user equipment priority for a time slot.
However, Xue teaches wherein the scheduling comprises using at least some of the aging metrics in determining user equipment priority for a time slot [paragraphs 0117, 0122, 0151, wherein the scheduling comprises using at least some of the aging metrics in determining user equipment priority for a time slot (determine whether the slot(i) has been preempted (reserved) by another UE, for example, due to the other UE having a higher priority traffic than the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by determining user equipment priority for a time slot as taught by Xue because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of allowing for a flexible transmission starting time [Xue, paragraphs 0094].
As per claim 13, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 12,
wherein the determining user equipment priority is also based on one or more Quality of Service metrics [claim 5, paragraphs 0064, 0067, 0073, 0082, 0112, wherein the determining user equipment priority is also based on one or more Quality of Service metrics (channel changes over time (e.g., periodically or randomly); transmissions from different base stations 104 may be approximately aligned in time; determine a period that would allow each UE 102 the time needed to complete communications to achieve a desired PG)].
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose determining user equipment priority for the time slot.
However, Xue teaches determining user equipment priority for a time slot [paragraphs 0117, 0122, 0151, determining user equipment priority for a time slot (determine whether the slot(i) has been preempted (reserved) by another UE, for example, due to the other UE having a higher priority traffic than the UE)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by determining user equipment priority for a time slot as taught by Xue because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of allowing for a flexible transmission starting time [Xue, paragraphs 0094].
As per claim 14, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 12,
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the scheduling comprises reducing a number of layers for the wireless communications for a time slot.
However, Xue teaches wherein the scheduling comprises reducing a number of layers for the wireless communications for a time slot [paragraphs 0162, 0205, 0237, 0238, wherein the scheduling comprises reducing a number of layers for the wireless communications for a time slot (reduce, by the MAC layer based on a number of candidate resources … resource within the reduced number of contiguous slots)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by determining user equipment priority for a time slot as taught by Xue because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of allowing for a flexible transmission starting time [Xue, paragraphs 0094].
As per claim 15, Soriaga discloses the method of Claim 1,
Soriaga does not explicitly disclose wherein the scheduling comprises reducing a number of layers for the wireless communications for a time slot.
However, Xue teaches wherein the scheduling comprises reducing a number of layers for the wireless communications for a time slot [paragraphs 0162, 0205, 0237, 0238, wherein the scheduling comprises reducing a number of layers for the wireless communications for a time slot (reduce, by the MAC layer based on a number of candidate resources … resource within the reduced number of contiguous slots)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Soriaga by determining user equipment priority for a time slot as taught by Xue because it would provide the Soriaga's method with the enhanced capability of allowing for a flexible transmission starting time [Xue, paragraphs 0094].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lappetelainen et al., U.S. Patent No. 6,671,495 discloses maximum age data AGE of the measurement indicates to the wireless terminal
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469