DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2012/0031085), in view of Shimano et al. (JP-2021104474-A).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 8
Zhang discloses a catalyst for purifying exhaust gas comprising a base material (i.e., substrate) and two catalyst layers (abstract).
Zhang discloses a slurry A comprising gamma-alumina, ceria-zirconia, barium hydroxide (i.e., compound with greater basicity the metal oxide) and palladium nitrate; and a slurry B comprising gamma-alumina (i.e., metal oxide), ceria-zirconia (i.e., metal oxide) and rhodium nitrate (para 0030).
Zhang discloses that slurry A is applied to 80% (i.e., Lb) of the length of the exhaust gas passage (i.e., Ls) from the gas introduction port side (i.e., upstream portion) (para 0031); and the slurry B is applied to 80 % (i.e., La) of the length of the exhaust gas passage (i.e., Ls) from the exhaust gas discharge port side (i.e., downstream portion) (para 0032). Here Ls is < La + Lb.
Although Zhang does not disclose the particle size of the rhodium particles, Zhang does disclose the other limitations of the claim. However, Shimano discloses that in exhaust catalyst using rhodium that the rhodium particles may have a size of 1 to 2 nm with a standard deviation of 0.8 nm or less (abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Zhang by using rhodium particles with a size of 1 to 2 nm with a standard deviation of 0.8 nm or less, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Shimano.
As the particle size of Shimano overlaps with the claimed size, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 3
Shimano discloses that it is known to make noble metal particles on an oxide carrier between 3 to 4.1 nm (para 0004).
As the particle size of Shimano overlaps with the claimed size, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 4
Shimano discloses that the rhodium is used in an amount of 3 wt % or less based on the weight of the carrier (approx. para 0032).
Regarding claims 6-7
La + Lb = 1.6 Ls.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734